DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection. See rejections below for details.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20130283169 A1) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 20220086246 A1).
Claim 1: Wie teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, from a first client device of a first participant (i.e. FIG. 1 shows an example of a network communications environment 10 that includes a first client network node 12 (Client Node A), a second client network node 14 (Client Network Node B); para. [0045]) of a group of participants within a virtual environment (i.e. FIG. 3 shows an example of a two-dimensional visualization of the Sococo HQ virtual area 100. The Sococo HQ virtual area includes a lobby 102, a Main conference room 104, a West Conference room 106, an East Conference room 108, a West Nook zone 110, an East Nook zone 112, a Courtyard zone 114, and sixteen offices. Each of the conference rooms 104-108 includes respective viewscreen objects 116-122 and 388-304, table objects 124, 126, and 396, and respective telephone objects 128, 130, 132 and supports realtime audio, chat, and application and network resource sharing communications between the network nodes in the same conference room; para. [0078]), interaction data relating to the first participant being present at the first client device (i.e. fig. 2, communicants typically are represented in the virtual areas 44 by respective avatars (e.g., sprites). In audio output interfaces, communicants' states and activities are described using audio signals (e.g., synthesized speech). Communicant avatars typically move about the virtual areas 44 in response to commands that are input by the communicants at their respective network nodes. In some examples, the communications applications 26, 32 establish realtime data stream connections between the first and second client network nodes 12, 14 and other network nodes connected to the virtual area 44 based on the positions of the communicants' avatars in the virtual areas 44; para. [0052, 0172]), the group of participants having been selected from among plural participants of the virtual environment (i.e. FIG. 2 shows an exemplary graphical user interface 270 that is generated by an example of the communications application 26 in a window 259 on a display of the client network node from which a user of the client application ("Art" in this example) is operating. The graphical user interface 270 includes a people panel 265, a viewer panel 266, a people interaction toolbar 267, an audio interaction toolbar 268, and a set of panel view controls 269; para. [0062]);
detecting, based on the interaction data, a change in presence of the first participant with respect to the first client device (i.e. fig. 2, communicants typically are represented in the virtual areas 44 by respective avatars (e.g., sprites). In audio output interfaces, communicants' states and activities are described using audio signals (e.g., synthesized speech). Communicant avatars typically move about the virtual areas 44 in response to commands that are input by the communicants at their respective network nodes. In some examples, the communications applications 26, 32 establish realtime data stream connections between the first and second client network nodes 12, 14 and other network nodes connected to the virtual area 44 based on the positions of the communicants' avatars in the virtual areas 44; para. [0052, 0172]);
causing, in response to the detecting, output of a sound (i.e. In audio output interfaces, communicants' states and activities are described using audio signals (e.g., synthesized speech); para. [0052]) on one or more second client devices of respective one or more second participants of the group of participants (i.e. fig. 2, communicants typically are represented in the virtual areas 44 by respective avatars (e.g., sprites). In audio output interfaces, communicants' states and activities are described using audio signals (e.g., synthesized speech). Communicant avatars typically move about the virtual areas 44 in response to commands that are input by the communicants at their respective network nodes. In some examples, the communications applications 26, 32 establish realtime data stream connections between the first and second client network nodes 12, 14 and other network nodes connected to the virtual area 44 based on the positions of the communicants' avatars in the virtual areas 44; para. [0052, 0172]), the sound indicating the change in presence of the first participant (i.e. In audio output interfaces, communicants' states and activities are described using audio signals (e.g., synthesized speech); para. [0052, 0172]).
Wie does not explicitly teach determining that a third participant of the group of participants has enabled a focus mode to mute sound indicating changes in presence for any of the group of participants, the third participant being associated with a third device; and causing, based on the determining, the sound indicating the change in presence of the first participant to be muted on the third device.
However, Chen teaches determining that a third participant of the group of participants has enabled a focus mode to mute sound (i.e. The output of a notification by a device can include the display of the notification on a user interface, the production of an audible sound, and/or other types of user feedback configured to grab the attention of the user (e.g., a device vibration); para. [0007, 0050]) indicating changes in presence for any of the group of participants, the third participant being associated with a third device (i.e. The user engages with the first device to initiate the focus mode for the focus session. The focus mode prevents notifications from being output on the first device during the focus session. Stated alternatively, the focus mode suppresses or blocks notifications during the focus session; para. [0039]); and causing, based on the determining, the sound indicating the change in presence of the first participant to be muted on the third device (i.e. The user engages with the first device to initiate the focus mode for the focus session. The focus mode prevents notifications from being output on the first device during the focus session. Stated alternatively, the focus mode suppresses or blocks notifications during the focus session; para. [0007, 0039, 0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wie to include the feature of Chen. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an improved way to enable a user to remain focused on a task and to be more productive because distractions are completely removed or are limited as a result of suppressed notifications.
Claim 2: Wie and Chen teach the method of claim 1. Wie further teaches comprising: providing, for the one or more second client devices, display of a presence indicator corresponding to the change in presence of the first participant with respect to the first client device (i.e. fig. 2, the activities on the communication channel are represented in the graphical user interface 270 by visual cues that are depicted in association with the graphical representations of the communicants in the virtual area section 272 and the contacts section 276. For example, the "on" or "off" state of a communicant's local speaker channel is depicted by the presence or absence of a headphones graphic 290 on the communicant's sprite; para. [0065]).
Claim 5: Wie and Chen teach the method of claim 1. Wie further teaches comprising, prior to the receiving: providing a configuration interface for configuring the virtual working environment for the plural participants, the configuration interface for specifying groups of participants within the virtual working environment, each group comprising respective participants selected from among the plural participants (i.e. A virtual area typically is associated with a specific set of communicants (e.g., members of the virtual area) and a plurality of persistent zones that define respective sub-contexts within the virtual area. Each zone of a virtual area may support an independent communication session between the network nodes in the zone; para. [0077]).
Claim 7: Wie and Chen teach the method of claim 1. Wie further teaches wherein each group of participants is provided to simulate a group of co-workers in a physical office (i.e. fig. 3, a "virtual area" (also referred to as an "area," a "place," or a "space") is a representation of a computer-managed space or scene. Virtual areas typically are one-dimensional, two-dimensional, or three-dimensional representations; although in some examples a virtual area may correspond to a single point. Oftentimes, a virtual area is designed to simulate a physical, real-world space; para. [0040]).
Claims 8-9, 12, 14-16, and 19 are similar in scope to Claims 1-2, 5, 7 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
6. Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie in view of Chen, and further in view of Hochmuth (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20060168537 A1).
Claim 3: Wie and Chen teach the method of claim 2. Wie further teaches comprising: providing, for each participant of the plural participants, display of a window to overlay a desktop display, wherein the presence indicator is presented on a dock that is displayed on the window (i.e. fig. 2, When a communicant's speakers are on, the headphones graphic 290 is present (see sprites Art, Carl, and Dan) and, when a communicant's speakers are off, the headphones graphic 290 is absent (see sprites Beth and Ed). The "on" or "off" state of the communicant's microphone is depicted by the presence or absence of a microphone graphic 292 on the communicant's sprite. When a communicant's microphone is on, the microphone graphic 292 is present (see sprite Dan); and, when a communicant's microphone is off, the microphone graphic 292 is absent (see sprites Art, Beth, Carl, and Ed). The headphones graphic 290 and the microphone graphic 292 provide visual cues of the activity states of the communicant's sound playback and microphone devices; para. [0065]).
Wie does not explicitly teach display of a transparent, full- screen window to overlay a desktop display, wherein the indicator is presented on a dock that is displayed on the transparent, full-screen window.
However, Hockmuth teaches display of a transparent, full- screen window to overlay a desktop display, wherein the indicator is presented on a dock that is displayed on the transparent, full-screen window (i.e. composited desktop display 50 is formed by displaying the various desktop images in plurality of stacked windows. For example, if client computer desktop 10 is selected or otherwise designated as the primary desktop image, particular image information corresponding to remote computer 32 is displayed in a transparent window (e.g., a window with a transparent background). Thus, for example, as described above, the source color key is selected, designated or otherwise used to display remote background 34 in a transparent state (or at least semi-transparent) such that objects below the window corresponding to remote computer desktop 30 are visible (e.g., objects in a window corresponding to client computer desktop 10). Portions of remote computer desktop 30 that are not background, for example graphics elements 35, are displayed as opaque or non-transparent and hence are visible; para. [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wie and Chen to include the feature of Hockmuth. One would have been motivated to make this modification because of the transparency of remote background of the remote computer desktop, a user of client computer can view multiple desktops simultaneously in full-screen mode (e.g., as a single desktop display), thereby enabling the user to view portions of client computer desktop that are behind the transparent window.
Claim 4: Wie, Chen, and Hockmuth teach the method of claim 3. Wie further teaches wherein the virtual working environment is implemented by a virtual conferencing system which provides for displaying the window (i.e. fig. 2, the virtual area platform 18 includes at least one server network node 40 that provides a network infrastructure service environment 42 that manages sessions of the first and second client nodes 12, 14 in one or more virtual areas 44 in accordance with respective virtual area applications 46. One or more of the virtual area applications 44 typically are synchronous conferencing applications that support one or more types of communications between the client nodes 12, 14 (e.g., text chat, audio conferencing, video conferencing, application sharing, and file sharing); para. [0048]).
Wie does not explicitly teach displaying the transparent, full-screen window.
However, Hockmuth further teaches displaying the transparent, full-screen window (i.e. composited desktop display 50 is formed by displaying the various desktop images in plurality of stacked windows. For example, if client computer desktop 10 is selected or otherwise designated as the primary desktop image, particular image information corresponding to remote computer 32 is displayed in a transparent window (e.g., a window with a transparent background); para. [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wie and Chen to include the feature of Hockmuth. One would have been motivated to make this modification because of the transparency of remote background of the remote computer desktop, a user of client computer can view multiple desktops simultaneously in full-screen mode (e.g., as a single desktop display), thereby enabling the user to view portions of client computer desktop that are behind the transparent window.
Claims 10, 11, 17, and 18 are similar in scope to Claims 3, 4 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
7. Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie in view of Chen, and further in view of Moyers (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20140047027 A1).
Claim 6: Wie and Chen teach the method of claim 5. Wie does not explicitly teach receiving an indication of user input provided via the configuration interface, the user input specifying the group of participants.
However, Moyers teaches receiving an indication of user input provided via the configuration interface, the user input specifying the group of participants (i.e. FIG. 11B, the dialog box lists the current members of the new area, which automatically includes the user (i.e., "Art") who initiated the virtual area creation process. The dialog box 230 also includes an Invite Members box 232 that allows the user to designate new members who will be invited to the new virtual area and a Message box 234 that allows the user to specify a message (e.g., "Please join me in Beach Combers") that will be included with each invitation; para. [0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wie and Chen to include the feature of Moyers. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides a quick and easy way for users to wrap virtual areas around contexts of interest. Examples of such contexts may be defined in terms of one or more of content, people, and real-world location. The virtual areas support realtime communications between communicants (e.g., one or more of text chat, voice, video, application sharing, and file sharing) and provide a persistent historical repository for interactions in the virtual area. Summaries of activities and other events in virtual areas typically are published in realtime so that other communicants can readily obtain a quick summary of the activities occurring in a particular context and decide whether or not to join or otherwise participate in those activities.
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to Claim 6 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Graham et al. (Pub. No. US 20230367452 A1), different focus modes have different notification settings, which affect which notifications are delivered, suppressed, and/or deferred.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
/TAN H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141