Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the feed roller" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the feed roller" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 22-28 and 30 depend from independent claims 21 and 29, respectively, and therefore, have the same indefiniteness issues as outlined above with regard to independent claims 21 and 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 21-30, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0061998 (Kasashima et al.) (hereinafter “Kasashima”) (a reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-6 show a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a feed roller (113) to feed a media (sheets) one by one;
a separation roller (114) located to face the feed roller (113);
a regulating guide (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114) is not regulated; and
a processor (202) to control the feed roller (113), the separation roller (114), and the regulating guide (121),
wherein, when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the processor (202) controls the feed roller (113), the separation roller (114), and the regulating guide (121) such that the feed roller (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) closest to the feed roller (113) among the media (sheets) after the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the separation roller (114) contacts any medium (second sheet directly below uppermost sheet) among the media (sheets), and wherein the regulating guide (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guides the media (sheets), at the first position (Fig. 5B). After the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the second sheet directly below the uppermost sheet contacts the separation roller (114) and is fed out, the uppermost sheet is closest to the feed roller (113) and is fed out by feed roller (113). This scenario meets all of the limitations of claim 1 as now amended.
Regarding claim 21, Figs. 1-6 show a medium conveying apparatus comprising:
a feed part (113) to feed media (sheets) one by one;
a separation part (114) located to face the feed part (113);
a regulating guide (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed part (113) and the separation part (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed part (113) and the separation part (114) is not regulated;
a moving member (122) to contact the regulating guide (121) to move the regulating guide (121); and
a driving part (123) to generate a driving force;
wherein when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the regulating guide (121) is moved from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A) by the moving member (122) and the driving force, then the feed part (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) positioned closest to the feed roller (113) among the media (sheets) after any medium (second sheet directly below uppermost sheet) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation part (114), and wherein
the regulating guide (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guide the media (sheets), at the first position (Fig. 5B). After the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the second sheet directly below the uppermost sheet contacts the separation roller (114) and is fed out, the uppermost sheet is closest to the feed roller (113) and is fed out by feed roller (113). This scenario meets all of the limitations of claim 21 as now amended.
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 show that the moving member (122) is located in such a way as not to overlap a shaft which is a rotation axis of at least one roller (113) of the feed part and the separation part (114) in a direction intersecting with a medium conveying direction.
Regarding claim 23, Figs. 1-6 show that an opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is formed in a medium guide surface through which a substance adhered to the medium can pass, and wherein the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is located below the separation part (114).
Regarding claim 24, Figs. 1-6 show that the moving member (122) is located in such a way as not to overlap the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) in a direction intersecting with a medium conveying direction.
Regarding claim 25, Figs. 1-6 show a housing (101) provided with the moving member (122), wherein the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is formed on the housing side.
Regarding 26, Figs. 1-6 show that the feed part (113) is located on the housing side.
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 show a holding part (including 116 and 117) to hold a substance which passes through the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Figs. 1-6 show that the moving member (122) includes a cam mechanism.
Regarding claim 29, Figs. 1-6 show a medium conveying apparatus comprising:
a feed part (113) to feed a media (sheets) one by one;
a separation part (114) located to face the feed part (113); and
a regulating guide (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed part (113) and the separation part (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed part (113) and the separation part (114) is not regulated;
wherein when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the regulating guide (121) is moved from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A), then the feed part (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) closest to the feed roller (113) among the media (sheets) after any medium (second sheet directly below uppermost sheet) among the media contacts the separation part (114), and wherein
the regulating guide (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guides the media (sheets) at the first position (Fig. 5B). After the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the second sheet directly below the uppermost sheet contacts the separation roller (114) and is fed out, the uppermost sheet is closest to the feed roller (113) and is fed out by feed roller (113). This scenario meets all of the limitations of claim 29 as now amended.
Regarding claim 30, Figs. 1-6 show a stopper (112) for preventing the media (sheets) from entering a nip part of the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114), wherein the stopper (112) allows the media (sheets) to enter the nip part in response to a movement of the regulating guide (121) from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasashima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0367307 (Kanamitsu) (hereinafter “Kanamitsu”) (a reference of record). With regard to claim 2, Kasashima teaches most of the limitations of this claim, but does not teach first, second and third motors, as claimed.
Kanamitsu shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 2) with a first motor (21A) to drive a feed roller (24); a second motor (21B) to drive a separation roller (25); and a third motor (numbered paragraphs [0047] - [0048]) to move a regulating guide (34). Because both Kanamitsu and Kasashima teach movement arrangements for moving feed rollers, separation rollers and regulating guides, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the movement arrangement with first, second and third motors in Kanamitsu for the movement arrangement of Kasashima to achieve the predictable result of controlling the movement of the feed roller, the separation roller and the regulating guide. Providing the Kasashima apparatus with first, second and third motors and operating the Kasashima apparatus, in a manner as shown in Fig. 5A of Kasahima, results in an apparatus that operates such that when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started, the processor controls the first motor, the second motor, and the third motor such that the feed roller feeds the medium (uppermost sheet) after the regulating guide moves from the first position toward the second position and the separation roller contacts the medium (uppermost sheet).
Regarding claim 3, Figs. 3 and 5A of Kanamitsu show that a processor (22) operates the first motor (DRIVE FIRST MOTOR in step S13) after operating the second motor (DRIVE SECOND MOTOR in step S12) and the third motor (numbered paragraphs [0047] – [0048] that releases the regulating guide) when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started.
Regarding claim 4, numbered paragraph [0059] of Kasashima teaches a torque limiter to define a maximum torque exerted on the separation roller (114).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 5B of Kasashima shows a cam (122) provided to be rotatable, wherein the regulating guide (121) is provided to move by rotation of the cam (122). Providing the Kasashima apparatus with a third motor, according to the teachings of Kanamitsu, results in the third motor operating the regulating guide and associated cam, as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 5A of Kanamitsu shows that, when feeding of a second or subsequent medium (second from the bottom sheet) out of media (sheets) set on a regulating guide (34) is started, the processor (22) controls the first motor (21A) and the second motor (21B) such that the feed roller (24) rotates after the separation roller (25) rotates.
5. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasashima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0002124 (Miyauchi) (hereinafter “Miyauchi”) (a reference of record). With regard to claim 9, Kasashima teaches most of the limitations of this claim, but does not teach first and second motors, as claimed.
Miyauchi shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 3) with a first motor (31) to drive a feed roller (10); and a second motor (32) to drive a separation roller (11) and move a regulating guide (23). Because both Kanamitsu and Miyauchi teach movement arrangements for moving feed rollers, separation rollers and regulating guides, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the movement arrangement of Miyauchi for the movement arrangement of Kasashima to achieve the predictable result of controlling the movement of the feed roller, the separation roller and the regulating guide. Providing the Kasashima apparatus with first and second motors and operating the Kasashima apparatus, in a manner as shown in Fig. 5A of Kasahima, results in an apparatus that operates such that when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started, the processor controls the first motor and the second motor such that the feed roller feeds the medium (uppermost sheet) after the regulating guide moves from the first position toward the second position and the separation roller contacts the medium (uppermost sheet).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Fig. 17 of Miyauchi shows that a processor (35 in Fig. 8) can operate the first motor (31) after operating the second motor (32) when feeding of a medium is started.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues
Kasashima discloses that "The paper conveying apparatus 100 comprises ... paper feed rollers 113a, 113b, retard rollers 114a, 114b" (paragraph [0026]), "The paper set guide 121 adjusts the contact between the paper M1 and the paper feed rollers 113." (paragraph [0044]).
In Kasashima, a relationship between a time when any document among the documents fed by the paper feed rollers 113a, 113b one by one contacts the retard rollers 114a, 114b and a time when the paper feed rollers 113a, 113b feeds a document positioned closest to the paper feed rollers 113a, 113b among the documents fed by the paper feed rollers 113a, 113b one by one, after the paper set guide 121 moves when feeding of the documents is started, is not described.
Therefore, Kasashima does not disclose or suggest "a feed roller to feed media one by one", and "wherein when feeding of the media is started, the processor controls the feed roller, the separation roller, and the regulating guide such that the feed roller feeds a medium positioned closest to the feed roller among the media after the regulating guide moves from the first position toward the second position and the separation roller contacts any medium among the media", as recited in amended claim 1, and amended independent claims 21 and 29 include the limitation "a feed part to feed media one by one", and "wherein when feeding of the media is started, the regulating guide is moved from the first position to the second position by the moving member and the driving force, then the feed part feeds a medium positioned closest to the feed roller among the media after any medium among the media contacts the separation part", as recited in amended claims 21 and 29.
The examiner disagrees with this argument. Kasashima teaches that when feeding of a media (sheets) is started, the processor (202) controls the feed roller (113), the separation roller (114), and the regulating guide (121) such that the feed roller (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) closest to the feed roller (113) among the media (sheets) after the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the separation roller (114) contacts any medium (second sheet directly below uppermost sheet) among the media (sheets), as claimed. After the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A) and the second sheet directly below the uppermost sheet contacts the separation roller (114) and is fed out, the uppermost sheet is the sheet closest to the feed roller (113) and is fed out by feed roller (113). This scenario meets all of the limitations of claim 1 as now amended. For similar reasons as noted above with regard to independent claim 1, independent claims 21 and 29 are also rejected.
The rejections of dependent claims 2-7, 9-10, 22-28 and 30 also outlined above.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653