Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0061998 (Kasashima et al) (hereinafter “Kasashima”) (a reference of record) in view of Japanese Publication No. 6-183588 (hereinafter “JP’588”).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a feed roller (113) to feed a media (sheets) one by one;
a separation roller (114) located to face the feed roller (113);
a regulating guide (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114) is not regulated; and
a processor (202) to control the feed roller (113), the separation roller (114), and the regulating guide (121), wherein,
when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the processor (202) controls the feed roller (113) and the regulating guide (121) such that the regulating guide (121) moves from the first position (Fig. 5B) toward the second position (Fig. 5A), then the feed roller (113) feeds a medium positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (113) when the regulating guide (121) is located at the first position (Fig. 5B) among the media (sheets), and wherein the regulating guide (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guides the media (sheets), at the first position (Fig. 5B). However, Kasashima does not explicitly show that the feed roller (113) feeds a medium after any medium among the media (sheets) contacts the separation roller (114) before contacting the feed roller (113), as claimed.
JP’588 shows that it is well-known in the art to operate a medium conveying apparatus (1) such that when feeding of media (sheets) is started, a processor (control means in numbered paragraph [0005] or CPU on page 3) controls a feed roller (9) and a regulating guide (6) such that the regulating guide (6) moves from a first position (pivoted up when sheets full) toward a second position (pivoted down as sheets are removed), then the feed roller (9) feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (9) when the regulating guide (6) is located at the first position (pivoted up) among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Figures 1-2 show upper sheets in contact with the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Also, numbered paragraphs [0005] – [0006] of the machine translation explain that the processor (control means or CPU) rotates the separation device (10) prior to rotating feed roller (9), for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device (10) and the feed roller (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to operate the feed roller of Kasashima such that when feeding of the media is started, the processor controls the feed roller and the regulating guide such that the regulating guide moves from the first position to the second position, then the feed roller feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller when the regulating guide is located at the first position among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device before contacting the feed roller, for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device and the feed roller, as taught by JP’588.
Regarding claim 21, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a medium conveying apparatus comprising:
a feed roller (113) to feed media (sheets) one by one;
a separation part (114) located to face the feed roller (113);
a regulating guide (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation part (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation part (114) is not regulated;
a moving member (122) to contact the regulating guide (121) to move the regulating guide (121); and
a driving part (123) to generate a driving force, wherein
when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the regulating guide (121) is moved from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A) by the moving member (122) and the driving force, then the feed roller (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (113) when the regulating guide (121) is located at the first position (Fig. 5B) among the media (sheets), and wherein the regulating guide (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guides the media (sheets), at the first position (Fig. 5B). However, Kasashima does not explicitly show that the feed roller (113) feeds a medium after any medium among the media (sheets) contacts the separation part (114) before contacting the feed roller (113), as claimed.
JP’588 shows that it is well-known in the art to operate a medium conveying apparatus (1) such that when feeding of media (sheets) is started, a processor (control means in numbered paragraph [0005] or CPU on page 3) controls a feed roller (9) and a regulating guide (6) such that the regulating guide (6) moves from a first position (pivoted up when sheets full) toward a second position (pivoted down as sheets are removed), then the feed roller (9) feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (9) when the regulating guide (6) is located at the first position (pivoted up) among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Figures 1-2 show upper sheets in contact with the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Also, numbered paragraphs [0005] – [0006] of the machine translation explain that the processor (control means or CPU) rotates the separation device (10) prior to rotating feed roller (9), for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device (10) and the feed roller (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to operate the feed roller of Kasashima such that when feeding of the media is started, the processor controls the feed roller and the regulating guide such that the regulating guide moves from the first position to the second position, then the feed roller feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller when the regulating guide is located at the first position among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device before contacting the feed roller, for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device and the feed roller, as taught by JP’588.
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that the moving member (122) is located in such a way as not to overlap a shaft which is a rotation axis of at least one of the feed roller (113) and a roller (114) included in the separation part (114) in a direction intersecting with a medium conveying direction.
Regarding claim 23, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that an opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is formed in a medium guide surface through which a substance adhered to the medium can pass, and wherein the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is located below the separation part (114).
Regarding claim 24, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that the moving member (122) is located in such a way as not to overlap the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) in a direction intersecting with a medium conveying direction.
Regarding claim 25, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a housing (101) provided with the moving member (122), wherein the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2) is formed on the housing side.
Regarding 26, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that the feed roller (113) is located on the housing side.
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a holding part (including 116 and 117) to hold a substance which passes through the opening (lower opening between 108b and 108a in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that the moving member (122) includes a cam mechanism.
Regarding claim 29, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a medium conveying apparatus comprising:
a feed roller (113) to feed a media (sheets) one by one;
a separation part (114) located to face the feed roller (113); and
a regulating part (121) provided to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5B) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation part (114) is regulated and a second position (Fig. 5A) where contact of the media (sheets) with the feed roller (113) and the separation part (114) is not regulated, wherein
when feeding of the media (sheets) is started, the regulating part (121) is moved from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A), then the feed roller (113) feeds a medium (uppermost sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (113) when the regulating part (121) is located at the first position (Fig. 5B) among the media (sheets). However, Kasashima does not explicitly show that the feed roller (113) feeds a medium after any medium among the media (sheets) contacts the separation part (114) before contacting the feed roller (113), as claimed.
JP’588 shows that it is well-known in the art to operate a medium conveying apparatus (1) such that when feeding of media (sheets) is started, a regulating part (6) is moved from a first position (pivoted up when sheets full) to a second position (pivoted down as sheets are removed), then a feed roller (9) feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller (9) when the regulating part (6) is located at the first position (pivoted up) among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Figures 1-2 show upper sheets in contact with the separation device (10) before contacting the feed roller (9). Also, numbered paragraphs [0005] – [0006] of the machine translation explain that a processor (control means or CPU) rotates the separation device (10) prior to rotating feed roller (9), for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device (10) and the feed roller (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to operate the feed roller of Kasashima such that when feeding of the media is started, the regulating part moves from the first position to the second position, then the feed roller feeds a medium (bottom sheet) positioned closest to a center of rotation of the feed roller when the regulating part is located at the first position among the media (sheets) after any medium (any of the sheets) among the media (sheets) contacts the separation device before contacting the feed roller, for the purpose of better separating sheets before feeding such sheets between the separation device and the feed roller, as taught by JP’588.
Regarding claim 30, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show a stopper (112) for preventing the media (sheets) from entering a nip part of the feed roller (113) and the separation roller (114), wherein the stopper (112) allows the media (sheets) to enter the nip part in response to a movement of the regulating guide (121) from the first position (Fig. 5B) to the second position (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 31, Figs. 1-6 of Kasashima show that the regulating part (121) supports the media (sheets) from below and guides the media, at the first position (Fig. 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasashima in view of JP’588 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0367307 (Kanamitsu) (hereinafter “Kanamitsu”) (a reference of record). With regard to claim 2, Kasashima in view of JP’588 teaches most of the limitations of this claim, but does not teach first, second and third motors, as claimed.
Kanamitsu shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 2) with a first motor (21A) to drive a feed roller (24); a second motor (21B) to drive a separation roller (25); and a third motor (numbered paragraphs [0047] - [0048]) to move a regulating guide (34). Because both Kanamitsu and Kasashima teach movement arrangements for moving feed rollers, separation rollers and regulating guides, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the movement arrangement with first, second and third motors in Kanamitsu for the movement arrangement of Kasashima to achieve the predictable result of controlling the movement of the feed roller, the separation roller and the regulating guide. Providing the apparatus of Kasashima in view of JP’588 with first, second and third motors and operating the apparatus of Kasashima in view of JP’588, in a manner as shown in Fig. 5A of Kasahima, results in an apparatus that operates such that when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started, the processor controls the first motor, the second motor, and the third motor such that the feed roller feeds the medium (uppermost sheet) after the regulating guide moves from the first position toward the second position and the separation roller contacts the medium (uppermost sheet).
Regarding claim 3, Figs. 3 and 5A of Kanamitsu show that a processor (22) operates the first motor (DRIVE FIRST MOTOR in step S13) after operating the second motor (DRIVE SECOND MOTOR in step S12) and the third motor (numbered paragraphs [0047] – [0048] that releases the regulating guide) when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started.
Regarding claim 4, numbered paragraph [0059] of Kasashima teaches a torque limiter to define a maximum torque exerted on the separation roller (114).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 5B of Kasashima shows a cam (122) provided to be rotatable, wherein the regulating guide (121) is provided to move by rotation of the cam (122). Providing the apparatus of Kasashima in view of JP’588 with a third motor, according to the teachings of Kanamitsu, results in the third motor operating the regulating guide and associated cam, as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 5A of Kanamitsu shows that, when feeding of a second or subsequent medium (second from the bottom sheet) out of media (sheets) set on a regulating guide (34) is started, the processor (22) controls the first motor (21A) and the second motor (21B) such that the feed roller (24) rotates after the separation roller (25) rotates.
4. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasashima in view of JP’588 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0002124 (Miyauchi) (hereinafter “Miyauchi”) (a reference of record). With regard to claim 9, Kasashima in view of JP’588 teaches most of the limitations of this claim, but does not teach first and second motors, as claimed.
Miyauchi shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium conveying apparatus (Fig. 3) with a first motor (31) to drive a feed roller (10); and a second motor (32) to drive a separation roller (11) and move a regulating guide (23). Because both Kanamitsu and Miyauchi teach movement arrangements for moving feed rollers, separation rollers and regulating guides, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the movement arrangement of Miyauchi for the movement arrangement of Kasashima to achieve the predictable result of controlling the movement of the feed roller, the separation roller and the regulating guide. Providing the apparatus of Kasashima in view of JP’588 with first and second motors and operating the apparatus of Kasashima in view of JP’588, in a manner as shown in Fig. 5A of Kasahima, results in an apparatus that operates such that when feeding of a medium (uppermost sheet) is started, the processor controls the first motor and the second motor such that the feed roller feeds the medium (uppermost sheet) after the regulating guide moves from the first position toward the second position and the separation roller contacts the medium (uppermost sheet).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Fig. 17 of Miyauchi shows that a processor (35 in Fig. 8) can operate the first motor (31) after operating the second motor (32) when feeding of a medium is started.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11 in the response, filed 7/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 21-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and the rejections of claims 2-5, 7 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, several new ground(s) of rejection are made above.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653