DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with relation to the chamfered edge is persuasive and therefore, claims 14-20 are allowed. However, independent claim 1 does not require this chamfered edge as the claim recites an or clause. Applicant argues that the prior art is different from the claimed invention in its fundamental structure with regard to clipping problems or use for mode field adaptation. These functions are not claimed. Examiner believes that as currently claimed, the prior art does anticipate the chip having to portions that connect to one another with one chip portion having a different thickness than the other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed. The prior art lacks the amended limitations that include the chamfered edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0223788 to Koos et al.
As to claims 1 and 14, Koos discloses in the abstract and figures 1-5, an optical system comprising an active optical chip optically connected to an optical device via a photonic wire, wherein the optical chip is mounted on a carrier chip, the active optical chip comprising:
A substrate layer (10);
an active layer (4) between the substrate layer and the carrier chip (2 or 3), wherein a major surface of the active layer comprises an edge region (18); and
an active waveguide (50) within the active layer, the active waveguide having an active port closer to the edge region, the active port connected to a first end of the photonic wire (20), wherein the active waveguide is extended in a longitudinal direction from the active port away from active port (50; figure 3);
wherein a thickness of an end of the carrier chip closer to the active port or a thickness of the substrate layer above the edge region is altered (figure 9). Further, figures 3a-3b and 5 show opposing portions with different chip thicknesses.
As to claims 4 and 16, the materials in the prior art conduct heat and therefore would be in thermal contact.
As to claim 9, a convergence angle is greater than 30 degrees (start of cone 30 in figure 1).
As to claims 10, the components are mounted as claimed in figure 1.
As to claim 12, the method of determining a thickness is not a positive limitation in an apparatus claim. The prior art has a thickness and an edge meeting the structural requirements of this claim.
However, Koos fails to explicitly disclose the allowance of a waist of a focused light beam to be positioned at the active port without optically interfering with any portion of the carrier chip or the substrate layer, respectively. As noted in the 35USC112 rejection above, no specifics are recited to this function. Examiner interprets the currently recited claim to have the ability to shape a beam as shown in Koos figure 9 and paragraph 69.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to shape a beam as taught by Koos to minimize interference of the carrier chip or substrate layer in order to reduce
Claim(s) 2-3, and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koos as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 9,939,578 to Chang et al.
Koos discloses the invention as claimed except for:
Claims 2-3, 7-8: thickness, distances, edge shapes and power output.
Claims 5-6: additional intermediate conductive layers.
Koos discloses the ability to modulate output light from the bonder (paragraph 50 discloses changing output to alter the wire shape) and to change a phase (paragraph 60). Different contact shapes are also shown in figures 4-5.
It is noted that intermediate layers with conductive surfaces are common in the photonic circuit art so that electrical components may be associated with a chip.
Chang discloses such an intermediate layer and conductive surface arrangement (figures 2A-2B) as well as different thickness heights where wires are bonded.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to alter adjustable characteristics such as the thickness, edge shapes and sizes as in Koos, as well as providing for additional intermediate layers as taught by Chang to optimize chip performance, size and layout.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874