DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 and 4-6 in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2-3 and 7-8 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a control portion configured to control the refrigerating circuit in claim 1
a flow rate control portion in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the target temperature when the pressure is high is higher than that when the pressure is low”. The terms “high” and low in this claim limitation are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is not clear what pressure level would be considered to be “high” or “low”. For examination purposes, the claim is presumed to mean that the target temperature increases as suction pressure increases (for example as it appears to be shown in Fig. 4 of the instant application).
Regarding claims 4-6, the claims are rejected due to dependence from claim 1.
Further regarding claims 4-5, claim 4 recites that “the target temperature is to change in a certain range of change rate”. This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear how and why the target temperature is intended to change. For examination purposes, the claim is presumed to mean that the rate of change of the target temperature as it relates to a change in the pressure is within a predefined range.
Similarly, claim 5 recites the target temperature changing in a certain range of change rate and it is unclear how and why the target temperature is intended to change. For examination purposes, the claim is presumed to refer to the rate of change of the target temperature as it relates to a change in pressure, wherein the rate of change is higher in one range of pressures than in another (as shown in Fig. 4 of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruoss (EP 0 344 397, see attached English translation) in view of Moriwaki (EP 2 482 014) and Research Gate (“Saturation Pressure Curve for Different Refrigerants”).
As to claim 1, Ruoss teaches a refrigerating device comprising a refrigerating circuit and a control portion 13 configured to control the circuit, wherein
the circuit includes a main flow path in which a compressor 7, a condenser 8, an expansion portion 11, and an evaporator 5 are connected, and a bypass flow path that connects a discharge side of the condenser 8 and a suction side of the compressor 7 and that has a flow rate control portion 12 whose opening degree is adjustable.
The control portion 13 is configured to change the opening degree of the flow rate control portion 12 such that a temperature of the coolant introduced into the compressor 7 becomes a target temperature (page 4, 4th paragraph). Ruoss recites using a target value specified in the controller 13, but is silent regarding how the target value is determined and thus does not explicitly teach setting the target temperature according to suction pressure, wherein the target temperature increases in relation to an increase of pressure. However, Moriwaki teaches that it is known to set a target refrigerant temperature at a compressor suction end of a bypass in accordance with a saturation temperature calculated from the suction pressure and to control a bypass valve opening degree to achieve the target temperature (paragraph 29). Furthermore, Research Gate teaches that refrigerant saturation temperature increases as pressure increases (see Fig. 1 reproduced below). In light of these teachings it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to set the target temperature according to suction pressure, wherein the target temperature increases in relation to an increase of pressure in order to maintain proper compressor operation by preventing liquid refrigerant from entering the compressor.
As to claim 4, Moriwaki teaches controlling the target refrigerant temperature to be a saturation temperature (paragraph 29), and it is known that saturation temperature follows a set rate of change in relation to suction pressure (see Fig. 1 of Research Gate reproduced below), thus the target temperature of the modified apparatus necessarily changes in a certain range of change rate.
As to claim 5, in the modified operation of Ruoss the rate of change of the target temperature is within a certain range when suction pressure is in a first region (left half of the graph below) and the rate of change is higher than the certain range in a second region (the right half of the graph below).
As to claim 6, Ruoss teaches an environmental testing apparatus comprising the refrigerating device (Fig. 1).
Fig. 1 – Research Gate
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763