DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . It is responsive to the submission dated 01/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, of which, claims 1, 10 and 17 independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 01/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly found reference to Lin et al. (CN 112124614 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Feyereisen et al. (US 20110196598) in view of Lin et al. (CN 112124614 A).
Considering claim 1, Feyereisen discloses a detection system for detecting one or more air traffic control (ATC) [light gun] signals produced by an ATC light gun (e.g., a flight deck display system 100 suitable for an aircraft that generally includes a processor architecture 104 coupled to a user interface 102 and a display element 106 … an air traffic control (ATC) datalink subsystem 113;… a terrain avoidance and warning system (TAWS) 122; a traffic and collision avoidance system (TCAS) 124; one or more onboard sensors 126; and one or more terrain sensors 128. See fig. 1 and para. 26), the detection system comprising:
an interface subsystem (104) operable to receive one or more ATC [light gun] signals from at least one detector (for example, Feyereisen discloses: The processor architecture 104 is in operable communication with the terrain database 108, the graphical features database 109, the navigation database 110, and the display element 106, and is coupled to receive various types of data, … signals, etc., from the various sensors, data sources, instruments, and subsystems See para. 29, wherein the various sensors correspond to the detectors);
a controller (104, fig. 1) operable to command a display unit (106) to communicate information on a display (For example, the processor architecture 104 may be suitably configured to obtain and process real-time aircraft status data (e.g., avionics-related data) as needed to generate a graphical synthetic perspective representation of terrain in a primary display region. See para. 29); and
a comparison module operable to generate the information in response to detecting data within the one or more ATC light gun signals corresponding to visible light emitted in at least one predetermined frequency range (for example, Feyereisen discloses: the terrain sensor 128 can include visible, low-light TV, or a radar sensor that transmit radar pulses and receives reflected echoes, which can be amplified to generate a radar signal. The radar signals can then be processed to generate three-dimensional orthogonal coordinate information having a horizontal coordinate, vertical coordinate, and depth or elevation coordinate. The coordinate information can be stored in the terrain database 108 or processed for display on the display element 106. See paras. 36 and 44, wherein the visible, low-light transmitted radar pulses and echoes encompass the at least one predetermined frequency range of the emitted light). See also paras. 47-56, 63-71 and 77-79.
Feyereisen differs from claim 1 in describing the detected signals as signals produced by an ATC light gun, wherein the information comprises an operational state, a condition, or a presence of the one or more ATC light gun signals.
However, Lin, in a similar art, discloses detecting signals produced by an ATC light gun, wherein the information comprises an operational state, a condition, or a presence of the one or more ATC light gun signals (e.g., Lin discloses an aviation portable communication device comprising a synchronous display signal light gun for emitting light signal for guiding aircraft during communication failure. See abstract and “Background” sections of Lin. Lin further teaches that the portable communication. device is capable of receiving, transmitting and displaying emitted complex lamp light signal, direction and/or other visual information for interacting with and effectively guiding the aircraft under various environments and for commanding the aircraft operator to perform action. See “ Contents of the Invention” section of Lin).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the teaching of Feyereisen to include an ATC light gun for detecting signals and generate information comprising an operational state, a condition, or a presence of the one or more ATC light gun signals, in the same conventional manner as taught by Lin; in order to ensure the navigation safety, establishing communication between the aircraft and the ground, so as to guide the aircraft. Other beneficial effects for combining Feyereisen and Lin are for ensuring effective light transmission, strong maneuverability and it is good for effectively guiding the aircraft in various environments such as radio communication failure. See “Contents of the Invention” section of Lin.
As per claim 2, Feyereisen discloses a projection subsystem configured to interface with the controller and with a display surface to provide a visual representation of the data that is detected to computer display that is viewable to a user in a cockpit of an aerial vehicle. See paras. 44-45.
As per claim 3, Feyereisen, as modified by Lin, discloses the at least one predetermined frequency range comprises frequencies of red light, green light, and white light. See para. 36 of Feyereisen in view of the descriptions of figs. 1 to 7 of Lin, and the rationale above with respect to the rejections of claim for reason of obviousness.
As per claims 8-9, Feyereisen, as modified by Lin, discloses the comparison module is configured to spectrally analyze one or more characteristics of the one or more ATC light gun signals based on one or more known light characteristics produced by the ATC light gun, wherein the one or more characteristics of the one or more ATC light gun signals is based on spectrum differences dues to distance, lighting conditions, atmospheric conditions, or combinations thereof (e.g., the terrain sensor 128 of the detection system can include visible, low-light TV, or a radar sensor that transmits radar pulses or radio frequency signals and receives reflected echoes, which can be amplified to generate radar signals. The radar signals can then be processed to generate three-dimensional orthogonal coordinate information having a horizontal coordinate, vertical coordinate, and depth or elevation coordinate. The coordinate information can be stored in the terrain database 108 and processed or rendered in a particular color(s) by the processor 104 for display on the display element 106 as warning(s) to the pilot. See paras. 36-37 and 44, wherein the generated radar signals presented as 3D dimensional orthogonal coordinate information as a result of transmitted radar pulses or radio frequency signals and received reflected echoes obviously encompass the spectrally analyzed characteristics of light gun signals based on spectrum differences dues to distance, lighting conditions, atmospheric conditions).
The invention of claim 10 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 1. As the limitations of claim 1 were found obvious over the combined teachings of Feyereisen and Lin, it is readily apparent that the applied prior arts perform the underlying elements. As such, the limitations of claim 10 are, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
The subject-matter of independent claim 17 corresponds in terms of a computer readable medium to that of independent method claim 10, and the rationale raised above to reject the later also apply, mutatis mutandis, to the former.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
5. Claims 4-5, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Feyereisen et al. in view of Lin et al. and further in view of Collins et al. (US 20230084419).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the combination of Feyereisen and Lin fail to particularly teach determine a predetermined pattern in a series of time-related ATC light gun signals corresponding to one or more known ATC light gun signal patterns, wherein the one or more known ATC light gun patterns comprise a steady red light pattern, a flashing red light pattern, a steady green light pattern, an alternating red light and green light pattern, and a white light pattern, which is disclosed by Collins at paras. 42-47.
Particularly, Collins discloses a computer-based or GUI system 100, configured for integration into the instrument panel of an aircraft, for facilitating aircraft approach and landing can include a database 102 for storing airfield information and associated approach patterns for many airfields. The airfield information can include coordinates, an identifier, a designator, a location indicator, and radio frequency associated with one or more airfields and glide paths. See paras. 42-43. The system further includes a display screen 104 with a user input interface 106, and a processing unit 108. The user input interface 106 is configured for selecting an approach pattern for aircraft approaching and landing and displaying the selected pattern in an overhead graphical view of the corresponding airfield according to the related information stored in the database 102, wherein the display screen 104 is further configured for displaying an airfield information diagram, aircraft coordinates, and timestamp of the aircraft in real-time. to indicate an aircraft real-time position in relation to a selected approach pattern. The display screen 104 can be configured to use colored indicators to distinguish between different types of airfields. See paras. 44-47 and 102-105. The processing unit 108 of the GUI system 10 can receive a calculated approach pattern from a air traffic control system to calculate one or more turning radii of an approach pattern based on aircraft location, movement and weather condition. See para. 50.
In view of the above disclosures, the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, would have found it obvious to have modify the teachings of Feyereisen and Lin to include determine a predetermined pattern in a series of time-related ATC light signals corresponding to one or more known ATC light signal patterns, in the same conventional manner as Collins, in order to provide an enhanced experience for guiding the pilot of the aircraft in performing a safe approach and landing at any moving runway in the world. Further benefits and advantages for combining the techniques of Feyereisen, Lin and Collins are to allow for a highly intuitive maneuver guidance for pilots, enhancing safety of arrival, approach and landing of aircrafts in real-time. The system can be used by student pilot, novice, and airline pilots, instructors, air traffic controllers, airfield operators, military, and regulatory agencies. See para. 106 of Collins.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 4-5.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
6. Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Feyereisen and Lin and further in view of Wang (WO 2023197302 A1).
As per claim 6, Feyereisen and Lin fail to teach received light gun signals being filtered using one or more filters, which is disclosed by Wang. See abstract and the detailed descriptions of fig. 2 of Wang, which describes a light detection device having signal light lamp (e.g., light gun) with a filter component having a plurality of filters. See also the “content of the invention” section of Wang.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the teachings of Feyereisen and Lin to include filtering light gun signals using one or more filters, in the same conventional manner as taught by Wang; in order to reduce loss and improve the accuracy of signal lights during transmission by the signal lamp or light gun.
As per claim 7, Wang, as modified by Eeyereisen and Lin, discloses the comparison module comprises one or more filtering algorithms to filter the one or more ATC light gun signals (e.g., training samples of light signal being transmitted through the filter component to convert emitted light signals of different wavelengths to yield a visual model. See “content of the invention” section of Wang and the rationale above with respect to the claim 6 rejection for reasons of obviousness.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 6 and 7, respectively.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tellechea et al. (US 20240383614) discloses a graphical user interface (GUI) system for facilitating aircraft approaching and landing includes a database for storing airfields information and associated one or more approach patterns. The system also includes a display screen with user input interface configured for selecting a pattern for an aircraft to approach and land on an airfield, displaying the selected pattern in an overhead graphical view of the airfield according to the related information stored in the database. The system further includes a processing unit in signal communication with the database, one or more aircraft position sensors, and the display screen. The processing unit is configured to receive aircraft location and movement information from one or more aircraft sensors, airfield information from the database, and user input from the user input interface to determine display content and format of the display content on the display screen.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESNER SAJOUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612
WS
02/26/2026