DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to applicant communication filed on December 24, 2025.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-40 have been amended.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 24, 2025 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 24, 2025 with respect to the double patenting rejection have been fully considered, but maintained until the terminal disclaimer filed in view of US 11,968,241.
Applicant’s argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the amended limitation of independent claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made using the newly find prior arts to Weingarten (US Pub. No. 2019/0052659).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,968,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and ‘241 is directed to a method of implementing an access control management system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Parimi (US Pub. No. 2017/0295181) in view of Weingarten (US Pub. No. 2019/0052659).
As per claim 21 Parimi discloses:
A system, comprising: one or more computing devices configured to implement an access control management system, configured to: (paragraph 2 of Parimi, this disclosure relates generally to security technology and, more particularly, to a method, a device and/or a system of activity-based access control in heterogeneous information technology infrastructure environments).
Generate an effective access control policy for the principal; (paragraph 192 of Parimi, the state of the art may aggregate groups of privileges into roles (e.g., associated with role privileges 1708), and/or assign them to a user 104 as permissions (e.g., user permissions 1706)) and (paragraph 138 of Parimi, the secure rule definitions 1504 include the rule, violation triggering conditions, and/or remediation actions 1510. [0142] 4. For every rule in the SRD 1504, defaults should exist for triggering conditions, and/or remediation actions 1510).
Monitor, during a learning mode, access requests of the principal to a plurality of services or resources in the computing environment under the effective access control policy; (paragraph 23 of Parimi, the method further includes monitoring an activity of the user when accessing any of the set of heterogeneous cloud-based services over a period of time using a processor and a memory. In addition, the method includes dynamically adjusting access privileges to the set of heterogeneous cloud-based services based on the monitoring of the activity of the user over the period of time) and (paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
Determine, based at least in part on the access requests of the principal observed during the learning mode, that one or more permissions in the effective access control policy are associated with one or more unused service or resources; determining that the one or more permissions in the effective access control policy are associated with one or more unused service or resources. (Paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
Parimi teaches the method of having machine learning algorithm to control access of information technology infrastructure (See abstract of Parimi), but fails to clearly disclose:
Identify different source of access control polices for different aspects of a computing environment; aggregate permission from two or more distinct access control policies associated with a principal from the identified different sources to generate an effective access control policy and modifying one or more of the two or more distinct access control policies in response to the determination that the one or more permissions in the effective access control policy.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Weingarten teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 71 of Weingarten, in some embodiments, the access policies are synthesized through the data collected from the continuous monitoring of endpoints through agents and the determination of baseline usage of users and/or endpoint devices. In some embodiments, the aggregate of the access policies applied to each individual and/or endpoint device comprise a network access policy as a whole. In some embodiments, the access policies can be inferred or generated directly from the baseline usage of users and/or endpoint devices, and then updated manually or automatically through AI analysis. In some embodiments, because the network can be managed by individual agents installed on endpoint devices and a central server, the access policies can be implemented on any and all levels of the network) and (paragraph 87 of Weingarten, in some embodiments, the agents can regulate network access by employing AI techniques to generate access policies for an endpoint, allowing or restricting connection to, from, and/or of an endpoint and/or an asset, setting authentication criteria for a connection, establishing roles for endpoints, change and/or update policies at endpoints).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Parimi and include the above limitation using the teaching of Weingarten in order to ensure the security of each of the plurality or user/endpoint devices by applying proper security aggregated policies (see paragraphs 5, 71 and 87 of Weingarten).
Claim 33 is rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 21.
As per claim 22 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the set of access control policy includes two or more of a delegation policy, a resource policy, a user account policy, a user group policy, a role policy, and an organization policy. (Paragraph 27 of Parimi, the policy may be a time-based policy, a rule-based policy, a predictive policy, a role-based policy, a context-based policy, a risk-score based policy, a segment based policy, and/or a customized policy) and (paragraph 62 if Parimi, the infrastructure security server 100 may include a policy based automation module 606 to enable an administrator of the infrastructure security server 100 to automatically adjust a privilege 110 of the user 104 based on a policy of an organization responsible for security of access to the set of heterogeneous cloud-based services (e.g., 108A, 108B)).
Claim 34 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 22.
As per claim 23 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein effective access control policy automatically changes as the set of access control policies associated with the principal changes. (Paragraph 62 of Parimi, the infrastructure security server 100 may include a policy-based automation module 606 to enable an administrator of the infrastructure security server 100 to automatically adjust a privilege 110 of the user 104 based on a policy of an organization responsible for security of access to the set of heterogeneous cloud-based services (e.g., 108A, 108B)).
Claim 35 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 23.
As per claim 24 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein a particular policy in the set of access control policies is a temporarily policy that is temporarily associated with the principal. (Paragraph 91 of Parimi, the revocation 1800 of access may be manual, semi-automatic, or completely automatic (e.g., privileges unassigned due to recent non-usage 1108). The grant 1800 of access may be manual (e.g., privilege assigned upon approval 1110), semi-automatic (e.g. privilege assigned upon approval 1110), or completely automatic (e.g., privilege auto assigned upon recent usage 1106). These newly granted access privileges (user privileges 1710) may be set to expire after some time. A newly granted access privilege (e.g., user privileges 1710) may be time limited with a TTL (time to live) based on a set of policies).
Claim 36 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 24.
As per claim 25 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the principal is associated with an application in the computing environment and the effective access control policy is associated with the application. (Paragraph 62 of Parimi, the policies may be applicable to one or more authorization systems covering all aspects of the information technology (IT) infrastructure (e.g., physical, virtual, containers, private cloud, public cloud infrastructures, applications, SaaS applications, and/or devices, etc.))
As per claim 27 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein to generate the effective access control policy, the access control management system is configured to: resolve a permission conflict between two or more access control policies in the set of access control policies; or remove a redundant permission between two or more access control policies in the set of access control policies. (Paragraph 138 of Parimi, provide the ability for the system user 904 to create new SRDs 1504. [0144] 6. Provide the ability for the system user 904 to modify any existing SRDs 1504. These modifications should create new SRDs 1504 specific to the system user 904. [0145] 7. Find any SRDs 1504 that conflict with each other, and/or flag them. [0146] 8. Group SRDs 1504 to create a “Security Profile” (SP) 1512. [0147] 9. Do not allow the system user 904 to add two conflicting SRDs 1504 to the same SP 1512. [0148] 10. Provide the ability for the system user 904 to create, and/or modify SPs 1512. [0149] 11. Provide the system user 904 with the ability to share SRDs 1504, and/or SPs 1512 with others via some network (e.g., social network)).
Claim 37 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 27.
As per claim 28 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein to remove the one or more permissions from the effective access control policy, the access control management system is configured to: perform one or more removal actions selected from a set of removal actions, the set of removal actions including two or more of:(a) removing the principal from a group, (b) releasing the principal from a role, (c) modifying permissions of a group or a role, (d) adding the principal to a new group with different permissions, and (e) deprovisioning a service or resource. (Paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
Claim 38 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 28.
As per claim 29 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein to remove the one or more permissions from the effective access control policy, the access control management system is configured to: split a group associated with the principal into two or more groups with different permissions; and assign the principal to one of the two or more groups. (Paragraph 102 of Parimi, the risk score 210 may be multi-dimensional across heterogeneous authorization systems (e.g., 112A, 112B). The multiple dimensions may be at least one of a risk score 210 based on a privilege 110, a risk score 210 based on a group of privileges 110, a risk score 210 based on a user, a risk score 210 based on a group, a risk score 210 based on a role (e.g., associated with role privileges 1708), a risk score 210 based on a project, a risk score 210 based on a service, a risk score 210 based on an application, a risk score 210 based on one of the set of heterogeneous cloud-based services (e.g., 108A, 108B), a risk score 210 based on an authorization system (e.g., 112A, 112B), a risk score 210 based on a network, a risk store 210 based on context, a risk score 210 based on an infrastructure, a risk score 210 based on an action, a risk score 210 based on an operation, a risk score 210 based on a software, a risk score 210 based on a hardware, a risk score 210 based on a configuration, a risk score 210 based on a configuration violation, a risk score 210 based on a common vulnerability, a risk score 210 based on a risk exposure, a risk score 210 based on one of the heterogeneous authorization systems (e.g., 112A, 112B), a risk score 210 based on a geographic region, a risk score 210 based on a logical region, a risk score 210 based on a task, a risk score 210 based on a function, a risk score 210 based on a company, and/or a risk score 210 based on an enterprise).
Claim 39 is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejection of claim 29.
As per claim 30 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the computing environment is provided by a multi-tenant resource provider network that provides virtualized compute and storage resource for a plurality of tenants. (Paragraph 255 of Parimi, the central component of infrastructure security server 900 also computes the risk scores 210 and analyses the risk 1102 at any granularity. It also provides visibility 1508 and insights of the risk score 210 analysis, and allows benchmarking with peers. It provides work flow and notifications. It supports auditing, reporting and compliance. It has a multi-tenant data store. The infrastructure security server 100 allows its security settings to be configured and/or modified by the system user 904 including policy-based automation 606 (e.g., using rules, policies and profiles) to grant/revoke privileges).
As per claim 31 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the access control management system is configured to: modify the effective access control policy based at least in part on whether a number of access requests observed for a particular service or resource during the learning mode exceeds a threshold. (Paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
As per claim 32 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the access control management system is configured to: add a particular permission to the effective access control policy based at least in part on the access requests observed during the learning mode. (Paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
As per claim 40 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The method as recited in claim 33, further comprising the access control management system: generating a recommendation to remove the one or more permissions from the effective access control policy, wherein the removing of the one or more permissions is performed in response a user approval of the recommendation. (Paragraph 91 of Parimi, the grant 1800 of access may be manual (e.g., privilege assigned upon approval 1110), semi-automatic (e.g. privilege assigned upon approval 1110), or completely automatic (e.g., privilege auto assigned upon recent usage 1106)).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Parimi (US Pub. No. 2017/0295181) in view of Weingarten (US Pub. No. 2019/0052659) and further in view of Kraemer (US Pub. No. 2007/0113270).
As per claim 26 Parimi in view of Weingarten discloses:
The system as recited in claim 25, wherein the access requests are generated in response to historical or synthetic client traffic. (Paragraph 28 of Parimi, policy based automation module may perform the following to remove unused privileges: (1) finds a user permission, a role privilege, and/or a role access control list of the user, (2) finds the operations performed by the user from the history, (3) analyzes the operations performed by the user, (4) finds the operations likely to be performed by the user frequently using a machine learning algorithm of a computer, (5) finds the required privileges for operations identified, (6) creates a unique role specific to the user, (7) updates the user permission with the newly created role for the specific user, and/or (8) removes any other roles assigned to the user).
The combination of Parimi and Weingarten teaches the method of having machine learning algorithm to control access of information technology infrastructure (See abstract of Parimi), but fails to clearly disclose:
The learning mode is conducted during a pre-production phase of the application.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 9 of Kraemer, in a preferred embodiment, the learning mode is enabled at a time of initial deployment of a networked computer system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Parimi and Weingarten to include the above limitation using the teaching of Kraemer in order to secure the computing system by handling the access request oof the computing resource according to the pre learned method during the learning phase (see abstract of Kraemer).
Conclusion
The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is Tovar (US Pub. No. 2011/0231890). Tovar discloses:
Various embodiments of the present invention include methods and systems for managing Internet access. An exemplary method for managing Internet access includes three steps. First a request is received to access the Internet. Second, a determination is made whether the request is being made during a restricted time period. Third, Internet access is selectively managed Internet access for an end user via a computing device, by blocking Internet access if the determination is that the request was made during a restricted time period or granting Internet access if the determination is that the request was made outside the restricted time period.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434