Notice of FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US2023/0045456 A1 by Hill et al (Hill).
Referring to claim 16 Hill Fig 1-21 teaches : A gas decomposition system (Fig 10 item 17 abstract) comprising:
a plasma generator ( Fig 10 item 10 paragraph [0252]) configured to receive a fluid containing compound molecules (Paragraph [0248]) and generate atmospheric-pressure low-temperature plasma that ionizes at least a portion of the compound molecules into charged particles (paragraph [0254] item 35) ;
a separation unit (item 21) positioned adjacent to or downstream of the plasma generator (item 10) and configured to receive the charged particles from the plasma generator, the separation unit (item 21) including: a first separation electrode (See Fig12 item 25a) ; a second separation electrode (item 25b) ; and a fluid separator (item 25c) disposed between the first separation electrode and the second separation electrode (See paragraph [0256] –[0259] where Hill teaches the separation unit and its operation in association with plasma generator);
wherein the first separation electrode (item 25a) and the second separation electrode (item 25b) are configured to establish an electric field that separates the charged particles before recombination of the charged particles into the compound molecules ( See paragraph [0157] , [0279] –[0282] where Hill teaches before recombination ); and
a collection apparatus configured to collect at least a portion of the separated charged particles ( See paragraph [0252] and [0258]where Hill teaches the collection devices in the separation unit).
Referring to claim 17, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the fluid comprises carbon dioxide (see Fig 1-4 and paragraph [0157] where Hill teaches filtering CO2 gas).
Referring to claim 18, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the fluid comprises combustion exhaust gas. (See paragraph [0254]).
Referring to claim 19, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the fluid comprises flue gas. (See paragraph [0254]).
Referring to claim 20, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the plasma generator ionizes carbon dioxide into positively charged carbon atoms and negatively charged oxygen atoms. (see paragraph [0157])
Referring to claim 21, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the collection apparatus is configured to collect separated charged particles within the separation unit. ( See paragraph [0252] and [0258]where Hill teaches the collection devices in the separation unit).
Referring to claim 22, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16, wherein the collection apparatus is configured to collect separated charged particles outside the separation unit. ( See Fig paragraph [0252] and [0258]where Hill teaches the collection devices in the separation unit).
Referring to claim 23, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16 further comprising a control circuit (Fig 7, and Fig 11 item 70) configured to control operation of the plasma generator. (See paragraph [0243] –[0244]).
Referring to claim 24, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 23, wherein the control circuit (Fig 11 and item 70) further controls operation of the separation unit. (item 17 and paragraph [0243] –[0244]).
Referring to claim 25, Hill teaches the gas decomposition system of claim 16 further comprising at least one catalyst disposed upstream of the plasma generator, downstream of the plasma generator, or within the separation unit. (see Fig 1-6, 10-17 paragraphs [0005] and [0306] where Hill teaches using catalysts in capturing the carbon atoms and other positive ions to be filtered or separated during gas separation process.)
Conclusion
Claims 16-25 are rejected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 09/30/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845