Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chou et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0239658 A1 and Chou hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig below) a mounting system for a mobile computer, the mounting system comprising: a mount base; a housing secured to (attached/connected to) the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism (170, 180, 120, 130 and 150) located within the compartment, the latching mechanism comprising a button (180) and at least one latch element (including 170, 120, 130 and 150), the latching mechanism biased to a first position (fig.3); wherein the housing includes at least one opening (111) in which the at least one latch element is configured to secure to the mobile computer.
Regarding Claim 2, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, wherein, when the latching mechanism is in the first position, the latching mechanism is configured to secure the mobile computer to the mount base (fig.3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, wherein actuation of the button is operable to move the latching mechanism from the first position (fig.3) to a second position (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 4, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 3, wherein the second position releases the mobile computer from the mount base (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 5, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, wherein the at least one latching element is configured to engage with a corresponding recess (201) on the mobile computer (fig.3).
Regarding Claim 15, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, wherein the button is pressed and the mobile computer removed from the mounting system with one hand.
Regarding Claim 16, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) a mobile computer mounting system comprising: a mobile computer (200) having a cleat (201) located on a surface of the mobile computer; a mount including: a mount base; a housing secured to the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism (170, 180, 120, 130 and 150) located within the compartment, the latching mechanism configured to mesh to the cleat to secure the mobile computer to the mount.
Regarding Claim 17, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the mobile computer mounting system of claim 16, wherein: the latching mechanism includes at least one latch element (including 170, 120, 130 and 150), and the cleat includes at least one recess (201), wherein the at least one latch element is configured to mesh with the at least one recess through at least one opening in the housing.
Regarding Claim 18, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the mobile computer mounting system of claim 16, wherein the latching mechanism includes a button (180) configured to translate the latching mechanism within the compartment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Hoover et al (US Patent No. 10299553 B1 and Hoover hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 6, Chou discloses the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mobile computer further comprises an additional button configured to actuate the button when pressed. However, Hoover teaches (fig.8) an additional button (912) configured to actuate the button (852) when pressed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an additional button of Hoover to device of Chou in order to provide button cover that flex and move when a force is applied to the button cover to actuate the button( Hoover, and col 12, lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 19, Chou discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 18, but fails to disclose wherein an additional button is located on the mobile computer, the additional button is configured to engage the button and translate the latching mechanism. However, Hoover teaches (fig.8) an additional button is located on the mobile computer, the additional button (912) is configured to engage the button (852) and translate the latching mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an additional button of Hoover to device of Chou in order to provide button cover that flex and move when a force is applied to the button cover to actuate the button( Hoover, and col 12, lines 10-15).
Claims 7-8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Jankura et al (US Patent No. 11548451 B2 and Jankura hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 7, Chou discloses the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mount base is secured to an arm. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount base is secured to an arm (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to an arm of Jankura to device of Chou in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 8, Chou discloses the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mount base is configured to be secured to a belt. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount base is configured to be secured to a belt (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to the mount secured an belt of Jankura to device of Chou in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 20, Chou discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the mount is secured to an arm. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount is secured to an arm (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to an arm of Jankura to device of Chou in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 21, Chou discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the mount is configured to be secured to a belt. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount is configured to be secured to a belt (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to the mount secured an belt of Jankura to device of Chou in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Claims 9-12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Bruns et al (US Patent No. 9510662 B1 and Bruns hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mount base is pivotable from a secured position to a viewing position wherein the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position. However, Bruns teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the mount base is pivotable from a secured position to a viewing position (fig.3) wherein the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position (fig.1) and in a horizontal position in the viewing position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position of Bruns to device of Chou in order to allow the viewing screen to be seen or hidden if applicable (Bruns and col 9, lines 28-30).
Regarding Claim 10, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mount base further includes: a main body supporting the mounting mechanism, and a clip element wherein the clip element is rotatably secured to the main body via a first hinge. However, Bruns teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the mount base further includes: a main body supporting the mounting mechanism, and a clip element (44) wherein the clip element is rotatably secured to the main body via a first hinge (60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou in order to allow the user to control the amount of closure needed for clipping the unit to an article such as a strap or belt for example (Bruns and col 9, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 11, Chou/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10. However, Bruns further teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the clip element is configured to secure to a belt (26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou in order to allow the user to control the amount of closure needed for clipping the unit to an article such as a strap or belt for example (Bruns and col 9, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 12, Chou/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10. However, Bruns further teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the clip element includes a first arm (40) and a second arm (48) wherein the first arm is secured to the second arm via a second hinge (64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou in order to rotate mechanism has been tilted outwardly between 90 and 180 degrees and rotated between 0 and 90 degrees from center (Bruns and col 5, lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 22, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the mount is configured to be pivotably secured such that in a first position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially vertical position and in a second position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially horizontal position. However, Bruns teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the mount is configured to be pivotably secured such that in a first position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially vertical position and in a second position (fig.3), the mobile computer is supported in a substantially horizontal position (fig.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position of Bruns to device of Chou in order to allow the viewing screen to be seen or hidden if applicable (Bruns and col 9, lines 28-30).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Bruns et al and further in view of Bastian (US Patent No. 9427070 B1 and Bastian hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 13, Chou/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the clip element includes a first magnetic element, the first magnetic element configured to magnetically secure to a second magnetic element located on the main body, the second magnetic element opposite the main body from the mounting mechanism. However. Bastian teaches (figs. 1-3) wherein the clip element includes a first magnetic element (37), the first magnetic element configured to magnetically secure to a second magnetic element (31) located on the main body, the second magnetic element opposite the main body from the mounting mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine magnetic elements of Bastian to device of Chou/Bruns in order to adapt to be attached to an electronic device and magnetically and removably attached to the magnet for supporting the electronic device upon the clip assembly (Bastian and col 3, lines 60-65).
Regarding Claim 14, Chou/Bruns/Bastian discloses the mounting system of claim 13. Bastian further teaches (figs. 1-3) wherein the mobile computing can secure to the main body via the mounting mechanism and the mobile computer can be pivoted up by forcing apart the first and second magnet (col 3 lines 58-68), and when the mobile computer is pivoted down, the first and second magnet reattach (shows in fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine magnetic elements of Bastian to device of Chou/Bruns in order to adapt to be attached to an electronic device and magnetically and removably attached to the magnet for supporting the electronic device upon the clip assembly (Bastian and col 3, lines 60-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “ neither Chou nor remaining cited art teaches or suggests “a mount base; a housing secured to the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism located within the compartment,” as recited in claims 1 and 16.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chou (US Pub No. 2008/0239658) clearly teaches
“a housing secured to the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism located within the compartment” (see annotated fig below). Applicant argues that Chou corresponds to the same element (110) for both housing and mount base . However, The claims 1 and 16 fail to define that the “housing” and “the mount base” are two separate structures.
Additionally, there is no specific structure mentioned in the claim to define any tools/structure to secure the housing to the mount base. As the claim states “a housing secured to the mount base”, Examiner interprets the claimed limitation as a housing connected/attached to a mount base to hold, protect or stabilize the mount. Therefore, the annotated fig above clearly shows the claimed features recited in claims 1 and 16.
Another way to interpret the claimed limitation "secured to" is a process step therefore at least in the prior art when everything is assembled all the components as labeled are secured to each other.
The objections for claims 2,4 and 7-10 have been withdrawn due to the amendments filed on 02/17/2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841