Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US Pub No. 2008/0239658 A1 and Chou hereinafter) in view of Naderzad et al (US Patent No. 12385291 B2 and Naderzad hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig below) a mounting system for a mobile computer, the mounting system comprising: a mount base; a housing secured to (attached/connected to) the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism (170, 180, 120, 130 and 150) located within the compartment, the latching mechanism comprising a button (180) and at least one latch element (including 170, 120, 130 and 150), the latching mechanism biased to a first position (fig.3); wherein the housing includes at least one opening (111) in which the at least one latch element is configured to secure to the mobile computer.
Chou does not explicitly the housing and the mount base being separate structures that cooperate to form a compartment between the housing and the mount base.
However, Naderzad teaches (figs 1-2) the housing (112) and the mount base (152) being separate structures that cooperate to form a compartment between the housing and the mount base (fig.1E).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the housing and the mount base being separate structures of Naderzad to device of Chou in order to provide a fasteners that used to secure the adjustable housing to mounting base (Naderzad and col 6, lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 2, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein, when the latching mechanism is in the first position, the latching mechanism is configured to secure the mobile computer to the mount base (fig.3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein actuation of the button is operable to move the latching mechanism from the first position (fig.3) to a second position (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 4, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 3. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the second position releases the mobile computer from the mount base (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 5, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the at least one latching element is configured to engage with a corresponding recess (201) on the mobile computer (fig.3).
Regarding Claim 9, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1. Naderzad further teaches wherein the mount base is pivotable (192) from a secured position to a viewing position wherein the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position of Naderzad to device of Chou in order to allow the viewing screen to be seen or hidden if applicable (Naderzad and col 2, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 15, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the button is pressed and the mobile computer removed from the mounting system with one hand.
Regarding Claim 16, Chou discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) a mobile computer mounting system comprising: a mobile computer (200) having a cleat (201) located on a surface of the mobile computer; a mount including: a mount base; a housing secured to the mount base forming a compartment between the housing and the mount base; and a latching mechanism (170, 180, 120, 130 and 150) located within the compartment, the latching mechanism configured to mesh to the cleat to secure the mobile computer to the mount. Chou does not explicitly the housing and the mount base being separate structures that cooperate to form a compartment between the housing and the mount base. However, Naderzad teaches (figs 1-2) the housing (112) and the mount base (152) being separate structures that cooperate to form a compartment between the housing and the mount base (fig.1E).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the housing and the mount base being separate structures of Naderzad to device of Chou in order to a fasteners that used to secure the adjustable housing to mounting base (Naderzad and col 6, lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 17, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mobile computer mounting system of claim 16. Chou discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein: the latching mechanism includes at least one latch element (including 170, 120, 130 and 150), and the cleat includes at least one recess (201), wherein the at least one latch element is configured to mesh with the at least one recess through at least one opening in the housing.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Naderzad et al and further in view of Hoover et al (US Patent No. 10299553 B1 and Hoover hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 6, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the mobile computer further comprises an additional button configured to actuate the button when pressed. However, Hoover teaches (fig.8) an additional button (912) configured to actuate the button (852) when pressed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an additional button of Hoover to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to provide button cover that flex and move when a force is applied to the button cover to actuate the button( Hoover, and col 12, lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 19, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 18 but fails to disclose wherein an additional button is located on the mobile computer, the additional button is configured to engage the button and translate the latching mechanism. However, Hoover teaches (fig.8) an additional button is located on the mobile computer, the additional button (912) is configured to engage the button (852) and translate the latching mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an additional button of Hoover to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to provide button cover that flex and move when a force is applied to the button cover to actuate the button( Hoover, and col 12, lines 10-15).
Claims 7-8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Naderzad et al and further in view of Jankura et al (US Patent No. 11548451 B2 and Jankura hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 7, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the mount base is secured to an arm. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount base is secured to an arm (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to an arm of Jankura to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 8, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the mount base is configured to be secured to a belt. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount base is configured to be secured to a belt (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to the mount secured an belt of Jankura to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types (Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 20, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16 but fails to disclose wherein the mount is secured to an arm. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount is secured to an arm (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to an arm of Jankura to device of Chou in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types (Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Regarding Claim 21, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16 but fails to disclose wherein the mount is configured to be secured to a belt. However, Jankura teaches (figs. 4A-B) wherein the mount is configured to be secured to a belt (col 4, lines 50-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mount is secured to the mount secured an belt of Jankura to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to provide a device case that interfaces with a suite of mounts assembled in various configurations and configured to affix to various object or surface types.(Jankura and col 4, lines 50-60).
Claims 10-12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et in view of Naderzad et al and further in view of Bruns et al (US Patent No. 9510662 B1 and Bruns hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 10, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mounting system of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the mount base further includes: a main body supporting the mounting mechanism, and a clip element wherein the clip element is rotatably secured to the main body via a first hinge. However, Bruns teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the mount base further includes: a main body supporting the mounting mechanism, and a clip element (44) wherein the clip element is rotatably secured to the main body via a first hinge (60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to allow the user to control the amount of closure needed for clipping the unit to an article such as a strap or belt for example (Bruns and col 9, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 11, Chou/Naderzad/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10. However, Bruns further teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the clip element is configured to secure to a belt (26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to allow the user to control the amount of closure needed for clipping the unit to an article such as a strap or belt for example (Bruns and col 9, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 12, Chou/Naderzad/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10. However, Bruns further teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the clip element includes a first arm (40) and a second arm (48) wherein the first arm is secured to the second arm via a second hinge (64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clip element of Bruns to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to rotate mechanism has been tilted outwardly between 90 and 180 degrees and rotated between 0 and 90 degrees from center (Bruns and col 5, lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 22, Chou/ Naderzad discloses the mobile computing mounting system of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the mount is configured to be pivotably secured such that in a first position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially vertical position and in a second position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially horizontal position. However, Bruns teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the mount is configured to be pivotably secured such that in a first position, the mobile computer is supported in a substantially vertical position and in a second position (fig.3), the mobile computer is supported in a substantially horizontal position (fig.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mobile computer is in a vertical position when in the secured position and in a horizontal position in the viewing position of Bruns to device of Chou/ Naderzad in order to allow the viewing screen to be seen or hidden if applicable (Bruns and col 9, lines 28-30).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al in view of Naderzad et al and further in view of Bruns et al and further in view of Bastian (US Patent No. 9427070 B1 and Bastian hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 13, Chou/Naderzad/Bruns discloses the mounting system of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the clip element includes a first magnetic element, the first magnetic element configured to magnetically secure to a second magnetic element located on the main body, the second magnetic element opposite the main body from the mounting mechanism. However. Bastian teaches (figs. 1-3) wherein the clip element includes a first magnetic element (37), the first magnetic element configured to magnetically secure to a second magnetic element (31) located on the main body, the second magnetic element opposite the main body from the mounting mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine magnetic elements of Bastian to device of Chou/Naderzad/Bruns in order to adapt to be attached to an electronic device and magnetically and removably attached to the magnet for supporting the electronic device upon the clip assembly (Bastian and col 3, lines 60-65).
Regarding Claim 14, Chou/Naderzad/Bruns /Bastian discloses the mounting system of claim 13. Bastian further teaches (figs. 1-3) wherein the mobile computing can secure to the main body via the mounting mechanism and the mobile computer can be pivoted up by forcing apart the first and second magnet (col 3 lines 58-68), and when the mobile computer is pivoted down, the first and second magnet reattach (shows in fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine magnetic elements of Bastian to device of Chou/Naderzad/Bruns in order to adapt to be attached to an electronic device and magnetically and removably attached to the magnet for supporting the electronic device upon the clip assembly (Bastian and col 3, lines 60-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oberpriller et al (US 9743731 B2) A wearable sled system 10 for a mobile computer device 12 generally includes a rigid, open-ended sled housing 14, a rigid, removable end cap 16, and a mounting assembly 18 for mounting the sled housing 14 to the user.
Bastian et al (US 8662362 B1) FIGS. 1 through 5, the apparatus and method for supporting and operating an electronic device upon a user's forearm 10 generally comprises an arm mount assembly 38 including a curved arm mount 11 made of a rigid material such as plastic and being laterally curved and adapted to fit upon a forearm 35 of a user.
Jin et al (US 12442483) FIGS. 1 and 5, when it is necessary to fix the mobile device 500 on the clamping device, first two clamping ends of the clamping jaws 162 are stretched, and the mobile device 500 is clamped therein; then, the snap parts 1634 of the two buttons 163 are aligned with the snap-fit groove 111, and the clamping member 160 is pressed toward the supporting member 110 as a whole, so that the snap parts 1634 of the two buttons 163 slides into the two first snap grooves 111a in one-to-one correspondence, thereby being snap-fitted with the two first snap grooves 111a.
Snyder et al (US 8328055 B1) FIG. 1 illustrates a wrist holder 10 for a handheld computing device such as a smartphone or a PDA (personal digital assistant) according to the present invention. The invention has a wrist strap 200 which is adjustable lengthwise to snugly fit around a user's wrist to accommodate different sized wrists. The wrist holder 10 has a shell case 100 to securely cradle the handheld device that is rotatably mounted on the wrist strap 200 by a spring assembly interlockingly connected to a socket assembly.
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841