DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the “common” protrusion; “compliance”; “releasably securable” and “longitudinally curvilinear” of claim 1; and “compliance” and “longitudinally curvilinear” of claim 4 do not have proper antecedent in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 11, 13, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 4 now use the terms “compliance” and “longitudinally” curvilinear. The language “compliance” and “longitudinally” are not used within the written specification (the Examiner notes that specification amendment filed on 6/24/26 is not entered because it includes new matter as further explained). Specifically, regarding the specification amendment filed on 6/24/26, applicant points the Examiner back to pars. [0052] and [0065]-[0067] of the specification as support for the specification amendment. However, the Examiner fails to see in those paragraphs where “both” the member and the channel wall and/or protrusion can be elastic to create the “compliance” (emphasis added; noting this is clearly present in the specification amendment). The Examiner clearly sees where the member can be elastic to create an interference fit in pars. [0065]-[0067] (see also par. [0071]; noting the platform is rigid, and the member is elastic). The Examiner also sees in par. [0070] wherein the channel can be elastic, but this is used with a “rigid” member. As such, the Examiner does not see the disclosure or where applicant contemplates wherein both can the member and channel can be elastic at the same time to provide the compliance (emphasis added). For example, par. [0066] states that, “wherein the removable member 210 is inserted into the channel, an interference fit, dependent on deformation of either the removable member 210, platform, or channel” (emphasis added; noting the passage does not state “and/or” and specifically uses “either”).
For “longitudinally curvilinear”, the Examiner notes that neither word is actually used in the specification and applicant appears to take this solely from the drawing. The problem with this is that the Examiner does not understand what exact structure applicant is referring to with this language and/or what it specifically means to extend “longitudinally curvilinear” (the Examiner specifically rejecting the word “longitudinally” as amended).
Assuming arguendo that the Examiner has reached this rejection in error, then a specification is maintained as given above and applicant should state clearly on the record why the language is not considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 13, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (herein “Lee”; US Pub. No. 2013/0000089 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a toy comprising a platform (Fig. 24 below; also noting “toy” is intended use) defined by at least a surface (Fig. 24 below; noting a surface is inherent), a first channel disposed along the surface and a second channel disposed along the surface (Fig. 24 below), wherein optionally the first channel and the second channel are separated by a common protrusion (Fig. 24 below; noting this is shown, but is not needed as “optionally” is used), a flexible member having a thickness (Fig. 24 below; noting a thickness is inherent; noting this can be the left-to-right dimension of the member) such that the flexible member is releasably securable (pars. [0021] and [0035]; noting “secure” as defined by thefreedictionary.com means “fasten” and par. [0021] specifically states “a first fastening surface…and…a second fastening surface” so that the fastening surfaces can be “coupled”, see also abstract and par. [0006]) along at least a partial length thereof within the first channel or the second channel (Figs. 24, item 623a below being the “member” and pars. [0104] and [0138]; noting an object that is “elastic” would inherently be “flexible”; noting dictionary.com specifically defines “elastic” as “flexible”; noting specifically in Fig. 24, it is in the first channel), through compliance (par. [0138]; noting “elastically coupled” reads on “compliance” as thefreedictionary.com defines “compliance” as “flexibility”), such that at least a portion of the flexible member is longitudinally curvilinear (Fig. 24 below; noting “curvilinear” simply means “represented by a curved line” based on merriam-webster.com which the member clearly is as annotated, and noting that the member extends longitudinally as shown and evidenced in Fig. 23b, so that the curvilinear shape extends in a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses that the first channel and the second channel are parallel (Fig. 24 above as annotated, and seen in Fig. 23(a)/(b) clearly showing parallel channels, see also par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses a toy comprising a platform (Fig. 24) defined by at least a surface (Fig. 24 above, noting a surface is inherent) and a first channel disposed along the surface (Fig. 24 above), a member (Fig. 24 above, item 623a) having a thickness (Fig. 24; noting a thickness is inherent; noting the thickness can be left-to-right) such that the member is releasably securable (pars. [0021] and [0035]; noting “secure” as defined by thefreedictionary.com means “fasten” and par. [0021] specifically states “a first fastening surface…and…a second fastening surface” so that the fastening surfaces can be “coupled”, see also abstract and par. [0006]) along at least a partial length thereof within the first channel (Figs. 24 above), through compliance (par. [0138]; noting “elastically coupled” reads on “compliance” as thefreedictionary.com defines “compliance” as “flexibility”), such that at least a portion of the flexible member is longitudinally curvilinear (Fig. 24 above; noting “curvilinear” simply means “represented by a curved line” based on merriam-webster.com which the member clearly is as annotated, and noting that the member extends longitudinally as shown and evidenced in Fig. 23b, so that the curvilinear shape extends in a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses that the surface is planar (Fig. 24 above and abstract and par. [0014]; noting at a minimum the bottom surface can be considered planar).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses further comprising a second channel disposed along the surface, wherein the first channel and the second channel are parallel (Fig. 24 above as annotated, and seen in Fig. 23(a)/(b) clearly showing parallel channels, see also par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses that the member is slender and deformable (Fig. 24, item 623a and par. [0104]; noting as per Figs. 24 and specifically Fig.23a, the actual width/thickness of the of the member 623a is small compared to its length, meeting the term “slender”, and as per pars. [0104] and [0138], a material that is “elastic” is both “flexible” and “deformable” as thefreedictionary.com defines “elastic” as “easily resuming original size or shape after being stretched or otherwise deformed. See Synonyms at flexible”; emphasis added).
Regarding claim 25, Lee discloses that the member is discrete (Figs. 24, item 623a and Fig. 23a, item 623 being the member; noting the plain meaning of the word “discrete” is “apart from others” or “distinct”, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, item 623a is separate and distinct from the adjacent members item 623a; even if attached via a common base plate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 22,and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (herein “Lee”; US Pub. No. 2013/0000089 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses a rigid back plate having a platform disposed the platform disposed thereon (Fig. 29(b), item 810 and par. [00235]; noting this is obvious even though it is a different embodiment, while Lee does not specifically disclose that the “base plate” is “rigid”, it would be obvious to a POSA because the base plate would need to support the “platform” onto which puzzle pieces are attached, see also Fig. 34, 38, 39; also making obvious “rigid” base or backing plates). The Examiner also notes that these are different embodiments. However, the Court in Cordis Corp. v. Boston Scientific Corp., 561 F.3d 1319 (Fed. Cir. 2009) found that combining two embodiments in the same disclosure does not “require a leap of inventiveness”. Thus, the combination of two embodiments within a single prior art is obvious because using a rigid backing plate would being combining prior art elements (a connection system and a connection system having a rigid backing plate) according to known methods (using a rigid backing plate) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use a connection system with a rigid backing plate, the backing plate providing a solid base for the user).
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses that the platform is elastically deformable (par. [0138] noting “elastically coupled” and “force-fitted” make obvious “elastically deformable”, see also par. [0261]; the Examiner specifically noting that Lee states that both the “female zipper rails F and the male zipper rails M can be elastically coupled” making obvious that both are elastically deformable).
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses that the platform is flexible material (pars. [0007] and [0138] noting it an “elastic” material would be “flexible” as merriam-webster.com specifically defines “elastic” as “flexible”; the Examiner specifically noting that Lee states that both the “female zipper rails F and the male zipper rails M can be elastically coupled” making obvious that both are elastically deformable).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (herein “Lee”; US Pub. No. 2013/0000089 A1) in view of Arboleda (US Pub. No. 2017/0232354 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses that the platform includes an interconnect configured to connect with a further platform of a further toy (Fig. 23a, item 610a and par. [0199]; noting under a BRI of the language, this can simply be an “adhesive” that can functionally allow the platform to connect to another platform; i.e. the italicized language is functionally possible given the structure, see also Fig. 10, noting the platform can be connected to another platform via a channel/member, i.e. the interconnect). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Lee does not disclose an “interconnect”, Lee discloses a platform (Fig. 29(b), items 810 and 820 collectively can be considered a “platform”). In addition, Arboleda discloses a platform that includes an interconnect configured to connect it to another platform (Fig. 5, item 46 and par. [0040]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee to make the platform include an interconnect configured to connect it with another platform as taught by Arboleda because doing so would be use of a known technique (using an interconnect on a platform) to improve a similar product (a platform for a display) in the same way (using an interconnect on a platform for display, the interconnect creating the ability to connect multiple platforms to further create “a singular display”).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (herein “Lee”; US Pub. No. 2013/0000089 A1) in view of/as evidenced by Cochella et al. (herein “Cochella”; US Pub. No. 2018/0021689 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses that the flexible material is a synthetic resin (pars. [0138] and [0224]; specifically stating it can be “polypropylene (PP)”). It is noted that Lee does not specifically disclose that the flexible material is silicone. However, regarding using silicone as the material, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0060], applicant giving no criticality to the use of silicone; see also as evidence, Cochella, par. [0064], specifically stating that “silicone” is a known substitute for PP). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary person skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee to make the material silicone as taught and evidenced by Cochella because doing so would be a simple substitution of one element (silicone) for another (PP) to obtain predictable results (the continued ability to use a flexible material, the specific material being silicone; a known substitute for PP).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12/478,892 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the current application (being exemplary to claim 4) is as follows:
A toy comprising a platform defined by at least a surface, a first channel disposed along the surface and a second channel disposed along the surface, wherein optionally the first channel and the second channel are separated by a common protrusion, a flexible member having a thickness such that the flexible member is releasably securable along at least a partial length thereof within the first channel or the second channel, through compliance, such that at least a portion of the flexible member is longitudinally curvilinear.
Claim 1 of the ‘892 patent reads:
1. A toy, comprising: a platform defined by at least a surface, a first channel, and a second channel not rectilinearly parallel to the first channel, each of the first channel and the second channel including a first sidewall of a first protrusion extending from the surface and a second sidewall of a second protrusion extending from the surface, wherein optionally the first protrusion or the second protrusion of the first channel corresponds to one of the first protrusion or the second protrusion of the second channel; and a discrete flexible member being cylindrical along at least a partial length thereof and having a thickness such that a bulk of the discrete flexible member is releasably securable along the partial length thereof within the first channel or the second channel such that at least a portion of the discrete flexible member is curvilinear, wherein the discrete flexible member has a cross-sectional profile having a circumdiameter less than a length of the discrete flexible member.
As can clearly be seen, claims 1 and 4 of the current application are significantly broader in scope than claim 1 of the ‘892 patent and thus a terminal disclaimer is warranted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
102 Rejection
Applicant’s argument is that is that claiming “longitudinally curvilinear” overcomes the prior art of the Lee. Respectfully submitted, it does not. The Examiner uses the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language and Lee still reads on that claim language.
Applicant cites to par. [0007] of Lee to support their arguments. Respectfully submitted, the Examiner fails to see how this citation supports that Lee cannot be “longitudinally curvilinear” based on the annotated interpretation of Lee: Fig. 24 as outline above.
Applicant argues the term “securable” and tries to distinguish it between the word “secured” (noting the Examiner previously discussed the word “secured” in the final office action, but it is “securable” that is actually used in the claim). The Examiner does not see the distinction. “Secure” is the root word for both. Applicant appears to suggest that the Examiner interpret “securable” to mean essentially fixed immovable (i.e. impossible to “slide”). Respectfully submitted, “secure” means to “fasten” under a broadest reasonable interpretation and under the plain meaning of the word. As noted in the office action above, Lee clearly discloses this limitation of “fasten” and thus meets the limitation “secure”, “secured” or “securable”.
The Examiner also notes that Fig. 24 shows engagement of the “flexible member” within the channel. While the flexible member may be “elastic” and thus deform with “force-fitted” (see Lee par. [0138] and Fig. 4(d); noting “elastically couple”), Fig. 24 does show that the member continues to have a curved surface during engagement within the channel when engaged. Fig. 4(c) also clearly shows the member curvilinear prior to engagement. As such, it is clear that the member is curvilinear before and during engagement (noting the Examiner only discusses this because claims 1 and 4 tend to make it unclear if the member only needs to be “longitudinally curvilinear” when it is “releasably securable” by using the language “such that”, or if the member is always longitudinally curvilinear; and Lee discloses that the member is always “longitudinally curvilinear” before and after being secured; see Remarks, received 6/24/26, page 7; noting applicant actually acknowledges this issue, but does not directly answer it on the record).
Finally, the Examiner notes that arguing the exact meaning of “releasably securable” and “longitudinally curvilinear” is somewhat nonsensical. The language is never used in the specification and as such, there is no definition or context even inferred from the language based on the specification because the language is not even present in the specification.
103 Rejection
The Examiner also does not believe that using a “longitudinally curvilinear” shape would “defeat the principle operation” of Lee (i.e. render it inoperable). As noted above, the Examiner shows that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, Lee can be considered to show “longitudinally curvilinear”.
Restated, under this 103 heading, applicant does not argue the 103 rejections with any specificity other than essentially arguing that the deficiencies of Lee and “longitudinally curvilinear” are not cured under the 103 and any other references that the Examiner uses under this 103. As such, the generic argument is not compelling.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
9/21/26