DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the first notch grooves and second notch grooves are formed on the surface of the thrust disc” (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 – 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, “when it rotates” should read - - when the rotor rotates - -.
Claim 7, line 1, “wherein further comprises” should read - - further comprising - -.
Claim 8, line 1, “wherein further comprises” should read - - further comprising - -.
Claim 9, line 3, “disk” (first and second occurrence) should read - - disc - -.
Claim 9, line 3, “its edge” should read - - an edge of the thrust disc - -
Claim 11, lines 1 – 2, “the first notch grooves and second notch grooves are formed on the surface of the thrust disc” should read - - the second notch grooves are formed on the surface of the thrust disc - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "each set of second notch grooves" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the thrust grooves" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected due to their dependence on claims 9 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 9, 11 – 15, 17 – 20 and 22, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gashi USPGPUB 20230150010.
Claim 1, Gashi an air-bearing (Fig. 3), comprising: two sets of first notch grooves (ribs or grooves 32)([0033], l. 20) which are symmetrically arranged at two ends of a rotor (rotor structure 16)([0031], ll. 4 – 5), wherein each set of the first notch grooves comprise multiple radial grooves distributed circumferentially around the rotor, and the radial grooves are in a bending shape to form an air film to support the rotor when the rotor rotates ([0033], ll. 17 – 21: “[t]he front radial bearing 18 and the rear radial bearing 22 are aerodynamic bearings, and the shaft 7 has, facing the front 18 and rear 22 radial bearings, second grooves or ribs 32 arranged to create an air or gas film when the shaft is rotated in the air or gas radial bearings”).
Claim 2, Gashi discloses the radial grooves being uniformly distributed in the circumferential direction of the rotor; and/or the radial grooves being in a bent shape.
Claim 3, Gashi discloses the bending direction of the radial grooves 32 being opposite to the rotation direction of the rotor (bending direction is construed as the direction in which the legs of the groove 32 diverge away from the apex of the groove, which is opposite to the counterclockwise rotation of rotor based the orientation of impeller 10).
Claim 4, Gashi discloses the radial grooves as herringbone grooves.
Claim 6, the recitation “the radial grooves are formed on the surface of the rotor by laser or chemical etching” describes the method of making the product. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected since all claim limitations have been met as disclosed above (MPEP 2113).
Claim 7, Gashi discloses dam areas, the dam areas are arranged at two ends (two ends of shaft 7)([0034], ll. 3 – 4) of the rotor 16, and the first notch grooves 32 are arranged on the surface of the dam areas.
Claim 8, Gashi discloses a thrust disc (axial bearing 24), the thrust disc is arranged at the end of the rotor, and one set of second notch grooves (first grooves 24)(Fig. 4)([0033], l. 6) is mirror symmetrically provided respectively on two sides of the thrust disc to drive gas flow when the rotor rotates ([0033], ll. 8 – 11: “the axial bearing 24 comprises preferably spiral-shaped grooves or ribs 24a at the periphery of the disc of the axial bearing 24 on a front face and on a rear face”), forming a local high-pressure at the center of the thrust disc (inherent to pumping effect of grooves 24a during shaft rotation – [0033], ll. 14 – 17: “[t]he axial bearing 24 with its grooves or ribs 24a keeps the rotating shaft 7 longitudinally centred by generating air films from the front face and rear face”).
Claim 9, Gashi discloses each set of second notch grooves 32 comprising a plurality of thrust grooves circumferentially uniformly distributed around the center of the thrust disk, the thrust grooves extending from the center of the thrust disk toward the edge of the thrust disk, and the thrust grooves are curvilinear grooves.
Claim 11, the recitation “the second notch grooves are formed on the surface of the thrust disc through laser or chemical etching” describes the method of making the product. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected since all claim limitations have been met as disclosed above (MPEP 2113).
Claims 12 – 15, 17 – 20 and 22, Gashi discloses a centrifugal refrigeration compressor ([0052]: “[t]he centrifugal compressor can also be used in a stationary system with a refrigerant gas such as a heat pump”), comprising the air-bearings of claims 1 – 4, 6 – 9 and 11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, 16 and 21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gashi USPGPUB 20230150010.
Claim 5, Gashi does not expressly disclose the depth of the radial grooves being 8 to 20 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radial grooves of Gashi, such that the depth of the radial grooves is 8 to 20 micrometers, since it was been held that where the general conditions of a claim (an air bearing comprising radial grooves for generating an air or gas film during shaft rotation) are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 10, Gashi does not expressly disclose the depth of the thrust grooves being 8 to 20 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thrust grooves of Gashi, such that the depth of the thrust grooves is 8 to 20 micrometers, since it was been held that where the general conditions of a claim (an air bearing comprising a thrust disk including thrust grooves for generating an air or gas film during shaft rotation) are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 16 and 21, Gashi discloses a centrifugal refrigeration compressor ([0052]), comprising the air-bearings of claims 5 and 10, respectively.
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617