DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the Grounds that groups I and II relate to a single patentably indistinct inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the product can be made by another process such as cold bonding a shell material including one or more of GGBS, fly ash, recycled concrete powder, recycled glass powder, OPC or biochar powder on a porous core materials selected from expanded polyethylene or expanded polypropylene.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 3 recites “wherein the aggregate size ranges” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “wherein aggregate size ranges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turpin (US Patent Application No. 2016/0332911) in view of Zhu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2023/0042195).
Regarding claim 1, Turpin teaches lightweight core-shell aggregates (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0011], page 2, paragraph [0012]) from waste materials (page 3, paragraph [0033], page 4, paragraph [0042]) comprising porous core materials (page 3, paragraphs [0033], [0038]) the at least one layer of shell material including fly ash (page 4, paragraph [0048]).
Turpin does not disclose wherein the porous core materials selected from large size cenospheres having a size of approximately 1.18 mm to 4.75 mm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in size involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the porous core materials size of Turpin in order to provide adequate void space within lightweight aggregates (Turpin, page 3, paragraph [0038]).
The product-by-process limitation “at least one layer of shell material formed on the porous core materials by cold bonding” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the shell material. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the shell material of Turpin possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed shell material.
Turpin does not disclose wherein the aggregates have a carbon emission of approximately 181 kgCO2eq/t or less. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in carbon emission involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the carbon emission of the aggregates of Turpin in order to create a green lightweight aggregate (Turpin, page 3, paragraph [0033]).
Turpin fails to teach high strength core-shell aggregates having a loose bulk density less than approximately 980 kg/m3, a crushing strength higher than approximately 4 MPa, a water absorption of less than 20%. However, Zhu et al. teach high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates (page 1, paragraphs [0006], [0007]) comprising porous core materials (page 1, paragraph [0007]); at least one layer of shell material including fly ash (page 1, paragraphs [0007], [0013]); wherein the high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates having a density of about 850 kg/m3 which reads on Applicant’s claimed bulk density less than approximately 980 kg/m3 (page 3, paragraph [0043]), a crushing strength over 4.2 MPa which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of higher than approximately 4 MPa (page 3, paragraph [0043]), and a water absorption of below 3% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of less than 20% (page 4, paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the density, crushing strength and water absorption rate of the aggregates of Turpin to that of Zhu et al. in order to provide lightweight granules with lower and stable water absorption rate, which improve durability and strength, and crushing strength (Zhu et al., page 1, paragraph [0006], page 3, paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Turpin teaches wherein the aggregates further comprise a second layer of shell material comprising fly ash (page 2, paragraph [0012], page 4, paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Turpin teaches wherein the aggregate size ranges from 0.5 mm to about 2 cm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of approximately 2.36 mm to 30 mm (page 3, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Turpin fails to teach wherein aggregates have been strengthened by one or more hydration, geopolymerization or carbonization. However, Zhu et al. teach high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates (page 1, paragraphs [0006], [0007]) comprising porous core materials (page 1, paragraph [0007]); at least one layer of shell material including fly ash (page 1, paragraphs [0007], [0013]); wherein the high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates having a density of about 850 kg/m3 (page 3, paragraph [0043]), a crushing strength over 4.2 MPa (page 3, paragraph [0043]), and a water absorption of below 3% (page 4, paragraph [0054]), wherein the aggregates have been strengthened by hydration (page 3, paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to hydrate the aggregates of Turpin as that of Zhu et al. in order to increase the strength of the lightweight particles (Zhu et al., page 3, paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Turpin teaches a lightweight concrete (page 7, paragraphs [0069], [0072]) including lightweight core-shell aggregates (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0011], page 2, paragraph [0012]) from waste materials (page 3, paragraph [0033], page 4, paragraph [0042]) comprising porous core materials (page 3, paragraphs [0033], [0038]) the at least one layer of shell material including fly ash (page 4, paragraph [0048]).
Turpin does not disclose wherein the porous core materials selected from large size cenospheres having a size of approximately 1.18 mm to 4.75 mm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in size involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the porous core materials size of Turpin in order to provide adequate void space within lightweight aggregates (Turpin, page 3, paragraph [0038]).
The product-by-process limitation “at least one layer of shell material formed on the porous core materials by cold bonding” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the shell material. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the shell material of Turpin possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed shell material.
Turpin does not disclose wherein the aggregates have a carbon emission of approximately 181 kgCO2eq/t or less. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in carbon emission involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the carbon emission of the aggregates of Turpin in order to create a green lightweight aggregate (Turpin, page 3, paragraph [0033]).
Turpin fails to teach high strength core-shell aggregates having a loose bulk density less than approximately 980 kg/m3, a crushing strength higher than approximately 4 MPa, a water absorption of less than 20%. However, Zhu et al. teach lightweight concrete (page 3, paragraph [0045]) including high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates (page 1, paragraphs [0006], [0007]) comprising porous core materials (page 1, paragraph [0007]); at least one layer of shell material including fly ash (page 1, paragraphs [0007], [0013]); wherein the high strength, lightweight core shell aggregates having a density of about 850 kg/m3 (page 3, paragraph [0043]), a crushing strength over 4.2 MPa (page 3, paragraph [0043]), and a water absorption of below 3% (page 4, paragraph [0054]), the lightweight concrete having a density of 1680 kg/m3 which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 1900 kg/m3 or less (page 3, paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the density of the concrete of Turpin to that of Zhu et al. in order to produce lightweight concrete (Zhu et al., page 3, paragraph [0045]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 8/28/2026