DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 9/18/2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
The applicant is arguing these are not obvious variants. Are they patentably distinct? 35 USC 101 requires restriction when inventions are patentably distinct—this is irrelevant of search and examination burden. You can only have one patent for one invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 24-41, 47, and 48 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1).
In regard to claim 24, Shuy discloses a light emitting diode (LED) light fixture comprising:
a housing (228 and 236) functioning as a heat sink for the LED light fixture;
at least one LED (222) coupled to a first side of the housing;
a control component (116) for control of the light fixture;
a cover (230 and 232) allowing at least a portion of light emitted by the at least one LED to create an illumination pattern; and
a fastening mechanism (240) for coupling the cover to the housing. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fails to disclose remote control.
Recker et al teaches wireless control of a light source. (See at least abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the wireless controller of Recker et al into the controller of Shuy in order to allow for wireless control of the light.
In regard to claim 25, Shuy discloses the cover being attached to the light fixture and enclosing at least a portion of the housing.
In regard to claim 26, Shuy discloses the cover being coupled to the housing and directing the light emitted by the at least one LED in a specific direction (the forward direction).
In regard to claim 27, Shuy discloses the cover being coupled to the housing such that an interior portion of the light fixture is maintained in at least a partially enclosed environment.
In regard to claim 28, Shuy discloses the control component is mounted as an integral component within the light fixture, and wherein the control component is configured to control one or more LEDs.
Where this is argued, if the component is mounted it can’t be integral. At best, the proper BRI of this limitation is that is it attached.
In regard to claim 29, Shuy discloses a substantially planar surface (136 and 146) of the light fixture having a first side to which the lighting strip is mounted, and a second side to which the control component is integrally mounted. (See Figure 3 and 4)
In regard to claim 30, Shuy discloses the housing comprising a baseplate (136 and 146) to which the at least one LED is coupled, the baseplate functioning as a heat sink for the at least one LED. (See Figure 3 and 4)
In regard to claim 31, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teaches the housing being configured for attachment of the control component for remote control of the light fixture.
In regard to claim 32, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al fail to explicitly teach a power supply that converts AC power to DC power to manage the flow of power from the power supply to the at least one LED. However, most LEDs are DC powered, and the incoming electric line is AC power. An AC/DC converter power supply is inherent to the invention. (AC LEDs exist, but they did not exist at the time of filing of Shuy and Recker et al.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a rectifier power supply in the combination in order to properly power the LEDs.
In regard to claim 33, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teach a wireless communication component for communication with a remote device for remote programming of operation of the light fixture, wherein the remote control of the light fixture includes control of an amount of light output by the light fixture (see [0032] of Recker et al which teaches control of brightness).
In regard to claim 34, Recker et al further teach the wireless communication component communicates by two-way radio frequency communication. (See [0045])
In regard to claim 35, Recker et al further teach the wireless communication component communicates by infrared communication. (See abstract)
In regard to claim 36, Recker et al further teach the control component adjusts the amount of light output by the at least one LED (see [0032] of Recker et al which teaches control of brightness).
In regard to claim 37, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED during an interval of time. (See [0032]—turning off is “reducing light output” under BRI.)
In regard to claim 38, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED at a programmed time. (See [0032]—turning off is “reducing light output” under BRI.)
In regard to claim 39, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the time that the light fixture turned on. (See [0032])
In regard to claim 40, Recker et al further teach the control component controls when the light fixture is turned on and turned off. (See [0032])
In regard to claim 41, Recker et al further teach the control component turns the light on and off at programmed times. (See [0032])
In regard to claim 47, Shuy discloses a light fixture having a housing, the light fixture comprising:
at least one LED (112) connected to a substantially planar surface (136) of the housing, the housing functioning as an integrated heat transfer device dissipating heat generated by the at least one LED; and
a first control component (116) for control of light output by the light fixture. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fails to disclose remote control.
Recker et al teaches a wireless communication component for communication with a second, remote control component, wherein the first control component receives remote programming from the second control component via the wireless communications component for controlling the light fixture. (See at least abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the wireless controller of Recker et al into the controller of Shuy in order to allow for wireless control of the light.
In regard to claim 48, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teach the first control component being mounted to the light fixture.
Claim 42 and 45 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1).
In regard to claim 42, Shuy fail to disclose a light sensor.
Richmond teaches a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component turns the light fixture on when the light detector senses that the ambient light falls below a first predetermined level. (See [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Richmond into the lamp panel of Shuy in order to automatically turn the light on when light is needed.
In regard to claim 45, Shuy fail to disclose solar power.
Richmond teaches a solar power source (22) for powering the control component. (See [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the solar panel of Richmond to the lamp of Shuy in order to power the light with solar power.
Claim 43 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1), and further view of Lau (US 2006/0092652 A1).
In regard to claim 43, the combination of Shuy and Richmond fails to expressly teach the control component turns the light fixture off when the light detector senses that the ambient light is above a second predetermined level.
Lau teaches the control component turns the light fixture off when the light detector senses that the ambient light is above a second predetermined level. (See [0027])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Lau to the panel of Shuy in order to automatically shut off the light when it is not needed.
Claim 44 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Shaffer et al (US 5,008,865).
In regard to claim 44, Recker et al further teach the control component controls the at least one LED to turn on and to operate at different levels of light over a predetermined time interval. (On and off are different light levels under BRI.)
Where the BRI is argued, Shaffer et al teach the control component controls the at least one LED to turn on and to operate at different levels of light over a predetermined time interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the lamp of Shuy to operate at various light intensities in order to allow for various light outputs.
Claim 46 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1).
In regard to claim 46, Shuy discloses a light emitting diode (LED) light fixture comprising:
a base plate (136 and 146) mounted integrally within the light fixture;
at least one LED (112) coupled to the base plate to facilitate heat transfer from the at least one LED to the base plate;
a control component (116) adapted to be mounted within the light fixture, the control component controlling light output by the at least one LED. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fail to disclose a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component controls light output by the at least one LED in response to a signal from the light detector.
Richmond teaches a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component controls light output by the at least one LED in response to a signal from the light detector. (See [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Richmond into the lamp panel of Shuy in order to automatically turn the light on when light is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 24-48 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art.
In regard to claims 24-48, the Examiner demonstrated that the claimed limitations were instantly demonstrated through prior art—the test for Official Notice was provided on the first action. It was then up to the applicant to show that each limitation was not well-known. The applicant failed to do this in arguments. Therefore, the Official Notice on all claims is Final, and matures into Applicant Admitted Prior Art.
Claims 24-48 are thus fully rejected by Applicant Admitted Prior Art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to claim 24, applicant argues that the control circuit 116 isn’t ascribed to anything. Then what is it for? Why is it there? Is the applicant really arguing that the control component isn’t for controlling the LEDs? Let’s say this isn’t taught. The rejection was under a 103—its pretty blatantly obvious that the microprocessors control the LEDs, and if it doesn’t, then its painfully obvious that they could.
In terms of remote control, there are only two options for control: wired or remote. The secondary reference teaches that a lighting device can be controlled by a remote. The primary teaches a microcontroller. A PHOSITA would be motivated to provide remote control to any type of lamp. This is obvious.
The applicant is now going into different arguments for the other independent claims. This presents an examination burden. They have argued that these inventions are not obvious variants. This must be answered: are they patentably distinct?
In regard to claim 47, it is clear from the primary reference that these embodiments are shared features. No additional analysis is required. Again, adding a remote control is obvious.
In regard to claim 46, the scope of integral is poorly defined. What is the “lighting fixture”? The LEDs are clearly integral to the circuit board 136, they are soldiered onto that PCB.
The applicant argued that Richmond is not in the same field of endeavor. The Examiner disagrees. The field of endeavor is lighting devices. Both prior art are lighting devices. This is an obvious combination.
It should also be noted, that when the Examiner spoke to the applicant’s representative, and when the Examiner asked what the nexus of invention of the instant application was, the applicant’s representative did not have an answer.
There is no nexus of invention in this application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875