DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to restriction filed 3/16/2026 is considered.
It appears from the record that a complete search of invention I would yield a complete search of Invention II and III, claims 46-48. As such, the Restriction mailed 1/16/2026 is withdrawn.
In terms of the Election of Species mailed 7/30/2025, these species appear to be obvious variants. As such, the Election of Species if withdrawn.
Preliminary Amendment
The applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 4/10/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 24-41, 47, and 48 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further, in view of Examiner Notice.
In regard to claim 24, Shuy discloses a light emitting diode (LED) light fixture comprising:
a housing (228 and 236) functioning as a heat sink for the LED light fixture;
at least one LED (222) coupled to a first side of the housing;
a control component (116) for control of the light fixture;
a cover (230 and 232) allowing at least a portion of light emitted by the at least one LED to create an illumination pattern; and
a fastening mechanism (240) for coupling the cover to the housing. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fails to disclose remote control.
Recker et al teaches wireless control of a light source. (See at least abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the wireless controller of Recker et al into the controller of Shuy in order to allow for wireless control of the light.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 24 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 25, Shuy discloses the cover being attached to the light fixture and enclosing at least a portion of the housing.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 25 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 26, Shuy discloses the cover being coupled to the housing and directing the light emitted by the at least one LED in a specific direction (the forward direction).
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 26 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 27, Shuy discloses the cover being coupled to the housing such that an interior portion of the light fixture is maintained in at least a partially enclosed environment.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 27 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 28, Shuy discloses the control component is mounted as an integral component within the light fixture, and wherein the control component is configured to control one or more LEDs.
Where this is argued, if the component is mounted it can’t be integral. At best, the proper BRI of this limitation is that is it attached.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 28 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 29, Shuy discloses a substantially planar surface (136 and 146) of the light fixture having a first side to which the lighting strip is mounted, and a second side to which the control component is integrally mounted. (See Figure 3 and 4)
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 29 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 30, Shuy discloses the housing comprising a baseplate (136 and 146) to which the at least one LED is coupled, the baseplate functioning as a heat sink for the at least one LED. (See Figure 3 and 4)
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 30 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 31, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teaches the housing being configured for attachment of the control component for remote control of the light fixture.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 31 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 32, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al fail to explicitly teach a power supply that converts AC power to DC power to manage the flow of power from the power supply to the at least one LED. However, most LEDs are DC powered, and the incoming electric line is AC power. An AC/DC converter power supply is inherent to the invention. (AC LEDs exist, but they did not exist at the time of filing of Shuy and Recker et al.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a rectifier power supply in the combination in order to properly power the LEDs.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 32 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 33, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teach a wireless communication component for communication with a remote device for remote programming of operation of the light fixture, wherein the remote control of the light fixture includes control of an amount of light output by the light fixture (see [0032] of Recker et al which teaches control of brightness).
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 33 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 34, Recker et al further teach the wireless communication component communicates by two-way radio frequency communication. (See [0045])
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 34 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 35, Recker et al further teach the wireless communication component communicates by infrared communication. (See abstract)
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 35 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 36, Recker et al further teach the control component adjusts the amount of light output by the at least one LED (see [0032] of Recker et al which teaches control of brightness).
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 36 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 37, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED during an interval of time. (See [0032]—turning off is “reducing light output” under BRI.)
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 37 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 38, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED at a programmed time. (See [0032]—turning off is “reducing light output” under BRI.)
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 38 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 39, Recker et al further teach the control component reduces the light output of the at least one LED after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the time that the light fixture turned on. (See [0032])
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 39 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 40, Recker et al further teach the control component controls when the light fixture is turned on and turned off. (See [0032])
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 40 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 41, Recker et al further teach the control component turns the light on and off at programmed times. (See [0032])
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 41 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 47, Shuy discloses a light fixture having a housing, the light fixture comprising:
at least one LED (112) connected to a substantially planar surface (136) of the housing, the housing functioning as an integrated heat transfer device dissipating heat generated by the at least one LED; and
a first control component (116) for control of light output by the light fixture. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fails to disclose remote control.
Recker et al teaches a wireless communication component for communication with a second, remote control component, wherein the first control component receives remote programming from the second control component via the wireless communications component for controlling the light fixture. (See at least abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the wireless controller of Recker et al into the controller of Shuy in order to allow for wireless control of the light.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 47 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 48, the combination of Shuy and Recker et al teach the first control component being mounted to the light fixture.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 48 are notoriously old and well-known.
Claim 42 and 45 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1) and further, in view of Examiner Notice.
In regard to claim 42, Shuy fail to disclose a light sensor.
Richmond teaches a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component turns the light fixture on when the light detector senses that the ambient light falls below a first predetermined level. (See [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Richmond into the lamp panel of Shuy in order to automatically turn the light on when light is needed.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 42 are notoriously old and well-known.
In regard to claim 45, Shuy fail to disclose solar power.
Richmond teaches a solar power source (22) for powering the control component. (See [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the solar panel of Richmond to the lamp of Shuy in order to power the light with solar power.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 45 are notoriously old and well-known.
Claim 43 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1), and further view of Lau (US 2006/0092652 A1) and further, in view of Examiner Notice.
In regard to claim 43, the combination of Shuy and Richmond fails to expressly teach the control component turns the light fixture off when the light detector senses that the ambient light is above a second predetermined level.
Lau teaches the control component turns the light fixture off when the light detector senses that the ambient light is above a second predetermined level. (See [0027])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Lau to the panel of Shuy in order to automatically shut off the light when it is not needed.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 43 are notoriously old and well-known.
Claim 44 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Recker et al (US 2007/0229250 A1), and further in view of Shaffer et al (US 5,008,865) and further, in view of Examiner Notice.
In regard to claim 44, Recker et al further teach the control component controls the at least one LED to turn on and to operate at different levels of light over a predetermined time interval. (On and off are different light levels under BRI.)
Where the BRI is argued, Shaffer et al teach the control component controls the at least one LED to turn on and to operate at different levels of light over a predetermined time interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the lamp of Shuy to operate at various light intensities in order to allow for various light outputs.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 44 are notoriously old and well-known.
Claim 46 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shuy (US 2007/0230185 A1) in view of Richmond (US 2007/0242451 A1), and further, in view of Examiner Notice.
In regard to claim 46, Shuy discloses a light emitting diode (LED) light fixture comprising:
a base plate (136 and 146) mounted integrally within the light fixture;
at least one LED (112) coupled to the base plate to facilitate heat transfer from the at least one LED to the base plate;
a control component (116) adapted to be mounted within the light fixture, the control component controlling light output by the at least one LED. (Figure 3 and 10A; see at least [0064] onward)
Shuy fail to disclose a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component controls light output by the at least one LED in response to a signal from the light detector.
Richmond teaches a light detector that senses ambient light, wherein the control component controls light output by the at least one LED in response to a signal from the light detector. (See [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the light sensor of Richmond into the lamp panel of Shuy in order to automatically turn the light on when light is needed.
Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the limitations of claim 46 are notoriously old and well-known.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Villard (US 2007/0247847 A1) disclose an LED panel.
Piepgras et al (US 2007/0206375 A1) disclose LEDs.
Froese (US 2007/0175599 A1) disclose a window blind.
Hsiao (US 2007/0103902 A1) disclose a lighting fixture.
Talamo et al (US 2007/0070618 A1) disclose a light strip.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875