CTNF 18/604,485 CTNF 101973 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5, 7, 8-10, 13, 15-19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Shim, Jaenam et al.(US 20230284155 A1, hereinafter referred to as Shim) . Regarding claim 1, Shim teaches an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (Shim discloses a device that has at least one processor and memory. See paragraphs [0207], [0208] and Figure 21) and cause the apparatus to: enable a first periodic timer to trigger transmission of a power headroom report (PHR) for full-duplex operation (FD-PHR) and send the FD-PHR based on expiration of the first periodic timer (Shim discloses an apparatus with a first periodic timer that triggers a PHR and sends the report based on the expiration of the timer for full-duplex operations. See paragraphs [0184], [0188], [0189], [0191] and [0194]). Regarding claim 3, Shim teaches enabl[ing] a second periodic timer to trigger transmission of a PHR for half-duplex operation (HD-PHR); and send the HD-PHR based on expiration of the second periodic timer (Shim discloses an apparatus with a second periodic timer that operates in regions where half-duplex transmission and reception are configured and triggers a PHR to send the report based on the expiration of the timer. See paragraphs [0182-0184], [0187]-[0189], [0191] and [0194]). Regarding claim 5, Shim further teaches wherein: the FD-PHR is sent using a single entry PHR medium access control control element (MAC-CE), and the single entry PHR MAC-CE comprises an indication the PHR corresponds to full-duplex operation (Shim discloses the PHR being sent using a single entry and indicating by a timer field if it is full duplex, denoted by FD-phr-PeriodicTimer. See paragraphs [0185] and Table 6). Regarding claim 7, Shim further teaches wherein: the FD-PHR is sent using a multiple entry power headroom report (PHR) medium access control control element (MAC-CE), and the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE comprises an indication that the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE includes one or more PHRs for a half-duplex operation or the full-duplex operation (Shim discloses a full duplex phr MAC-CE indicating if it is multiple entry by a Boolean value and indicating by a timer field if it is full duplex, denoted by FD-phr-PeriodicTimer or half duplex, denoted by phr-PeriodicTimer. See paragraphs [0185] and Table 6). Regarding claim 8, Shim further teaches wherein a first PHR result within the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE is the FD-PHR (Shim discloses a report with slots that contain half duplex operations that are followed by full duplex operations. However, order is not specified in the disclosure and can be interpreted as starting with a full duplex operation. See paragraphs [0171], [0176] and Figure 13). Regarding claim 9, Shim further teaches wherein a first PHR result reported within the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE is the FD-PHR and a subsequent PHR result reported within the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE is a PHR for half-duplex operation (HD-PHR) (Shim discloses a report with slots that contain half duplex operations that are followed by full duplex operations. However, order is not specified in the disclosure and can be interpreted as starting with a full duplex operation and being followed by half duplex operations. See paragraphs [0171], [0176] and Figure 13). Regarding claim 10, Shim further teaches wherein a first PHR result reported within the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE is a PHR for half-duplex operation (HD-PHR) and a subsequent PHR result reported within the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE is the FD-PHR (Shim discloses a report with slots that contain half duplex operations that are followed by full duplex operations. See paragraphs [0171], [0176] and Figure 13). Regarding claim 13, Shim further teaches an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (Shim discloses a device that has at least one processor and memory. See paragraphs [0207], [0208] and Figure 21) and cause the apparatus to: enable a periodic timer to trigger transmission of a power headroom report (PHR) for half-duplex operation (HD-PHR) and a PHR for full-duplex operation (FD-PHR); and send the HD-PHR and the FD-PHR based on expiration of the periodic timer (Shim discloses an apparatus with a first periodic timer that triggers a PHR and sends the report based on the expiration of the timer for full-duplex and half-duplex operations. See paragraphs [0184], [0188], [0189], [0191] and [0194]). Regarding claim 15, Shim teaches a device that will: send the HD-PHR using a first single entry PHR medium access control control element (MAC-CE), wherein the first single entry PHR MAC-CE comprises an indication the HD-PHR corresponds to half-duplex operation (Shim discloses a phr MAC-CE indicating if it is single entry by a Boolean value and indicating by a timer field if it is full duplex, denoted by FD-phr-PeriodicTimer or half duplex, denoted by phr-PeriodicTimer. See paragraphs [0185] and Table 6). and send the FD-PHR using a subsequent single entry PHR MAC-CE, wherein the subsequent single entry PHR MAC-CE comprises an indication the FD-PHR corresponds to full-duplex operation (Shim discloses a report with slots that contain half duplex operations that are followed by full duplex operations. See paragraphs [0171], [0176] and Figure 13). Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 15. Regarding claim 17, Shim teaches a device that will send the HD-PHR and the FD-PHR using a multiple entry PHR medium access control control element (MAC-CE), wherein the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE comprises an indication that the multiple entry PHR MAC-CE includes one or more PHRs for half-duplex operation or full-duplex operation (Shim discloses a phr MAC-CE indicating if it is multiple entry by a Boolean value and indicating by a timer field if it is full duplex, denoted by FD-phr-PeriodicTimer or half duplex, denoted by phr-PeriodicTimer. See paragraph [0185] and Table 6). Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 9. Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 10. Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 1. Claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 13 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Cheng, Yu-Hsin et al. (US 20200100193 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cheng) . Regarding claim 2, Shim teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except to reset the first periodic timer based on the one or more processors causing the apparatus to send the FD-PHR. In the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses that when a timer expires, it triggers a PHR to then transmit to a base station and restart the timer (See paragraphs [0043] and [0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Shim reference to incorporate the timer resetting once expired and using that as an indication to send out the report. The motivation to combine is to control when the PHR is sent and avoid stale data. Resetting the timer curates a fresh measurement window and supports dynamic scheduling. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 2 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Matsumura, Yuki et al. (US 20240040520 A1, hereinafter referred to as Matsumura) . Regarding claim 6, Shim teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except, wherein a value of a reserve field of the single entry PHR MAC-CE is set as the indication. In the same field of endeavor, Matsumura discloses a reserved bit "R" that can be set as an indication (See paragraph [0055] and Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Shim reference to incorporate a single-entry MAC-CE that has a reserved bit. This reserved bit can be used to denote what the operation is. The motivation to combine is to provide scalability and allow the protocol to evolve over time without conflicting with existing implementations . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 12, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Lim, Seongmok et al.(US 20230045905 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lim) . Regarding claim 11, Shim teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except, wherein the FD-PHR is based on an actual physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using the full-duplex operation. In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a PHR that is based on an actual PUSCH transmission (See paragraphs [0011]-[0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Shim reference to incorporate the report coming from an actual uplink transmission. The motivation to combine is to have data that reflects real-time power data, curating a more accurate PHR. This allows the network to allocate the right number of resources. Regarding claim 12, Shim teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except, wherein the FD-PHR is based on a reference physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using the full-duplex operation. In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a PHR that is based on a reference PUSCH transmission (See paragraphs [0011]-[0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Shim reference to incorporate the report using a reference transmission. The motivation to combine is to have a baseline transmission to compare the actual data to. This allows the device to detect when there are power estimations that are out of normal data standards. Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 11. Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 12 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kazmi et al.(EP 3266145 B1, FULL-DUPLEX POWER REPORTING) Zhou et al. (US 20240049182 A1, PAGING EARLY INDICATION) Zhang et al.(US 20230072920 A1, TECHNIQUES FOR MANAGING SEMI-STATIC SCHEDULING OCCASION OVERWRITES) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAMILLE J ETIENNE whose telephone number is (571)721-1789. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 9:00- 7:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached at (571) 272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/604,485 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464