Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 6-7, 13-14 and 17-19 have been fully considered. The objection of claim 6-7, 13-14 and 17-19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 16, 21 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 16-17 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240214948 A1 (hereinafter Rudolf) in view of US 20220110072 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf teaches An apparatus configured for wireless communications,
comprising (Rudolf UE 111-116 in Fig. 1; [0034] As shown in FIG. 1, the wireless network 100 includes a gNB 101 (e.g., base station, BS), a gNB 102, and a gNB 103. [0035] The first plurality of UEs includes a UE 111, a UE 112, ...a UE 116.
[0038] one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof for power headroom reporting in FD systems.
[0049] FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116. The embodiment of the UE 116 illustrated in FIG. 3 is for illustration only, and the UEs 111-115 of FIG. 1 could have the same or similar configuration.):
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions (Rudolf Fig. 3, memory 360; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362.); and
one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (Rudolf Fig. 3, processor 340; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a processor 340.
[0053] The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116. For example, the processor 340 could control the reception of DL channel signals and the transmission of UL channel signals by the transceiver(s) 310 in accordance with well-known principles. In some embodiments, the processor 340 includes at least one microprocessor or microcontroller.
[0054] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360. For example, the processor 340 may execute processes for power headroom reporting in FD systems as described in embodiments of the present disclosure.):
determine that a power headroom report (PHR) is triggered for full-duplex (FD) operation (Rudolf [0094] FD communications offer a potential for increased spectral efficiency, improved capacity, and reduced latency in wireless networks. When using FD communications, a gNB or a UE simultaneously receives and transmits on fully or partially overlapping, or adjacent, frequency resources, thereby improving spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes.
[0096] Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as Subband-Full-Duplex (SBFD).
[0104] a UE operating in full-duplex mode may be referred to as SBFD-capable UE, or as full-duplex capable UE, or as a full-duplex UE.
[0119] When compared to the configured UE maximum output power, the UE 116 can provide to the gNB 102 the available UE transmission power or a power headroom report (PHR). A UE can provide PHR through a MAC control element (CE) in a PUSCH.
[0120] PHR Type 1 for PUSCH transmission. PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0146] there is need for novel methods and enhanced procedures enabling to indicate, control, and adjust the UE power headroom reporting in a full-duplex or SBFD wireless communication system.
[0147] where a UE is provided higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, multiple reporting or prohibit timer values for PHR reporting on selected non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, and multiple parameter sets for PHR evaluation of reference PUSCH transmission. where a UE determines or selects a PHR format for an actual PUSCH transmission or a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format in a slot/symbol based on a slot/symbol type.
[0177] In 1340, the UE 116 processes PHR trigger condition(s), e.g., timer expiry for first and second reference PUSCH transmissions, respectively. In 1350, if PHR trigger condition is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR using selected parameter set for reference PUSCH transmission.);
determine an absence of an actual physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type.), or an absence of an actual sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0120] PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0131] For brevity, the disclosure evaluates PUSCH transmissions and same principles can apply SRS transmissions on non-SBFD slots/symbols versus on SBFD slots/symbols.).
calculate a power headroom (PH) for full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on a difference between a maximum transmit power for the FD operation and a reference power of a reference PUSCH transmission Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR. If the UE 116 determines that a PHR Type 1 for an activated serving cell is based on a reference PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.); and
send the PHR, wherein the PHR comprises the FD-PH (Rudolf [0177] In 1350, if PHR trigger condition is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR using selected parameter set for reference PUSCH transmission.).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation.
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation (Zhang
[0102] the network entity (e.g., a gNB) may indicate PHR reporting for a single mode (e.g., FD or HD) or both modes.
[0103] When reporting one PHR for one particular mode, the UE may indicate the mode for which the UE is reporting by including a mode flag.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. (Zhang [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Rudolf teaches An apparatus configured for wireless communications,
comprising (Rudolf UE 111-116 in Fig. 1; [0034] As shown in FIG. 1, the wireless network 100 includes a gNB 101 (e.g., base station, BS), a gNB 102, and a gNB 103. [0035] The first plurality of UEs includes a UE 111, a UE 112, ...a UE 116.
[0038] one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof for power headroom reporting in FD systems.
[0049] FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116. The embodiment of the UE 116 illustrated in FIG. 3 is for illustration only, and the UEs 111-115 of FIG. 1 could have the same or similar configuration.):
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions (Rudolf Fig. 3, memory 360; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362); and
one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (Rudolf Fig. 3, processor 340; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a processor 340.
[0053] The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116. For example, the processor 340 could control the reception of DL channel signals and the transmission of UL channel signals by the transceiver(s) 310 in accordance with well-known principles. In some embodiments, the processor 340 includes at least one microprocessor or microcontroller.
[0054] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360. For example, the processor 340 may execute processes for power headroom reporting in FD systems as described in embodiments of the present disclosure):
determine that a power headroom report (PHR) is triggered for a full-duplex (FD) operation (Rudolf [0094] FD communications offer a potential for increased spectral efficiency, improved capacity, and reduced latency in wireless networks. When using FD communications, a gNB or a UE simultaneously receives and transmits on fully or partially overlapping, or adjacent, frequency resources, thereby improving spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes.
[0096] Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as Subband-Full-Duplex (SBFD).
[0104] a UE operating in full-duplex mode may be referred to as SBFD-capable UE, or as full-duplex capable UE, or as a full-duplex UE.
[0119] When compared to the configured UE maximum output power, the UE 116 can provide to the gNB 102 the available UE transmission power or a power headroom report (PHR). A UE can provide PHR through a MAC control element (CE) in a PUSCH.
[0120] PHR Type 1 for PUSCH transmission. PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0146] there is need for novel methods and enhanced procedures enabling to indicate, control, and adjust the UE power headroom reporting in a full-duplex or SBFD wireless communication system.
[0147] where a UE is provided higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, multiple reporting or prohibit timer values for PHR reporting on selected non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, and multiple parameter sets for PHR evaluation of reference PUSCH transmission. where a UE determines or selects a PHR format for an actual PUSCH transmission or a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format in a slot/symbol based on a slot/symbol type.
[0168] In 1140, the UE 116 processes PHR trigger condition(s), e.g., timer expiry for first and second PHR configuration, respectively. In 1150, if the PHR trigger is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR for associated slot(s)/symbol(s).);
determine a presence of an actual uplink transmission for the FD operation (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type.);
calculate a power headroom (PH) for full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on a difference between a maximum transmit power for the FD operation and a transmission power configured for the actual uplink transmission for the FD operation (Rudolf [0161] If a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i when indicated as enabled by phr-Restriction on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
where P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i), P.sub.O_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), M.sub.RB,b,f,c.sup.PUSCH(i), α.sub.b,f,c(j), PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d), Δ.sub.TF,b,f,c(i) and f.sub.b,f,c(i, l) are defined in TS 38.213.); and
send the PHR, wherein the PHR comprises the FD-PH (Rudolf [0168] In 1150, if the PHR trigger is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR for associated slot(s)/symbol(s).).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation.
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation (Zhang
[0102] the network entity (e.g., a gNB) may indicate PHR reporting for a single mode (e.g., FD or HD) or both modes.
[0103] When reporting one PHR for one particular mode, the UE may indicate the mode for which the UE is reporting by including a mode flag.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. (Zhang [0007]).
Claims 21 and 22 recite similar limitations of claims 1 and 16 respectively, are thus rejected
under similar rational.
Regarding claim 2, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine the absence of the actual PUSCH transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type); and
calculate the power headroom (PH) for the full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on the difference between the maximum transmit power for the FD operation and the reference power of the reference PUSCH transmission for the FD operation (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR. If the UE 116 determines that a PHR Type 1 for an activated serving cell is based on a reference PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.
).
Regarding claim 3, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf teaches wherein the maximum transmit power is based on at least one of a maximum
power reduction (MPR) value, an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) value, or a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.).
Regarding claim 4, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value
is stored in the one or more memories, and the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value is based on a specification (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
[0178] a UE is provided multiple parameter sets and selects a parameter set to determine a PHR for an activated cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol or based on an SBFD subband type.
[0179] For example, a parameter set to determine a PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may include one or more or a combination of an MPR value, an A-MPR value, a P-MPR value. A parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may be indicated to the UE 116 or may be tabulated/specified in system specifications. Multiple parameter sets to determine PHR for reference PUSCH transmissions may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications.
Note: Since multiple parameters sets (MPR, A-MPR and P-MPR) may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications and UE selects a parameter set to determine PHR, this implies that parameters sets are stored at the UE, i.e. stored in the memory.).
Regarding claim 5, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to:
receive, via a radio resource control (RRC) signal, the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value; and store the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value in the one or more memories (Rudolf [0115] In the following, unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.
[0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
[0178] a UE is provided multiple parameter sets and selects a parameter set to determine a PHR for an activated cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol or based on an SBFD subband type.
[0179] For example, a parameter set to determine a PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may include one or more or a combination of an MPR value, an A-MPR value, a P-MPR value. A parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may be indicated to the UE 116. Multiple parameter sets to determine PHR for reference PUSCH transmissions may be indicated to the UE 116.
Note: Since multiple parameters sets (MPR, A-MPR and P-MPR) may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications and UE selects a parameter set to determine PHR, this implies that parameters sets are stored at the UE, i.e. stored in the memory.).
Regarding claim 6, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value
comprises a non-zero value (Rudolf [0181] a second parameter set {MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=2 dB, P-MPR=2 dB, ΔT.sub.C=0 dB} to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol may be used by the UE 116 on SFBD slots or symbols.).
Regarding claim 8, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf teaches wherein the PHR comprises the maximum transmit power for the FD operation
(Rudolf [0183] the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
).
Regarding claim 17, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 16.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to: determine that the actual uplink transmission is based on an actual physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type.) or an actual sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (Rudolf [0120] PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0131] For brevity, the disclosure evaluates PUSCH transmissions and same principles can apply SRS transmissions on non-SBFD slots/symbols versus on SBFD slots/symbols.).
Regarding claim 20, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 16.
Rudolf teaches wherein the PHR comprises the maximum transmit power for the FD operation
(Rudolf [0161] If a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i when indicated as enabled by phr-Restriction on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
where P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i), P.sub.O_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), M.sub.RB,b,f,c.sup.PUSCH(i), α.sub.b,f,c(j), PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d), Δ.sub.TF,b,f,c(i) and f.sub.b,f,c(i, l) are defined in TS 38.213).
Regarding claim 23, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the transmission other than for FD is a half- duplex operation.
Zhang teaches wherein the transmission other than for FD is a half- duplex operation (Zhang Zhang
[0102] the network entity (e.g., a gNB) may indicate PHR reporting for a single mode (e.g., FD or HD) or both modes.
[0103] When reporting one PHR for one particular mode, the UE may indicate the mode for which the UE is reporting by including a mode flag.).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220159580 A1 (hereinafter Su).
Regarding claim 24, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the first field is a reserve field of a PHR Medium Access
Control-Control Element (MAC-CE).
Su in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first field is a reserve field of a PHR Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) (Su Table 2;
[0236] The single entry PHR MAC CE has a variable size, the size can be two bytes or three bytes, and the single entry PHR MAC CE contains two fixed bytes and one byte for dynamic indication. In the single entry PHR MAC CE illustrated by Table 2: R is the reservation bit; PH represents the power headroom in the non-full duplex mode, for example, the length of PH is set to be 6 bits, but the present disclosure may not be limited to this. PH.sub.FD represents the power headroom of the terminal working under the full duplex mode. … V.sub.1 is an indication domain indicating whether PH.sub.FD exists, PHR MAC CE may not include the field V.sub.1; in this case, the reservation bit may be placed at the position where V.sub.1 is located, marked as R; at this time, the size of the single entry PHR MAC CE is two bytes.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by Zhang with Su’s above teachings. The motivation is improving spectrum utilization (Su [0135]).
Claim(s) 1-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf, in view of “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical layer procedures for control (Release 18)”, 3GPP TS 38.213 V18.1.0 (2023-12) (hereinafter 38.213) and Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf teaches An apparatus configured for wireless communications,
comprising (Rudolf UE 111-116 in Fig. 1; [0034] As shown in FIG. 1, the wireless network 100 includes a gNB 101 (e.g., base station, BS), a gNB 102, and a gNB 103. [0035] The first plurality of UEs includes a UE 111, a UE 112, ...a UE 116.
[0038] one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof for power headroom reporting in FD systems.
[0049] FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116. The embodiment of the UE 116 illustrated in FIG. 3 is for illustration only, and the UEs 111-115 of FIG. 1 could have the same or similar configuration.):
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions (Rudolf Fig. 3, memory 360; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362.); and
one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (Rudolf Fig. 3, processor 340; [0050] As shown in FIG. 3, The UE 116 also includes a processor 340.
[0053] The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116. For example, the processor 340 could control the reception of DL channel signals and the transmission of UL channel signals by the transceiver(s) 310 in accordance with well-known principles. In some embodiments, the processor 340 includes at least one microprocessor or microcontroller.
[0054] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360. For example, the processor 340 may execute processes for power headroom reporting in FD systems as described in embodiments of the present disclosure.):
determine that a power headroom report (PHR) is triggered for full-duplex (FD) operation (Rudolf [0094] FD communications offer a potential for increased spectral efficiency, improved capacity, and reduced latency in wireless networks. When using FD communications, a gNB or a UE simultaneously receives and transmits on fully or partially overlapping, or adjacent, frequency resources, thereby improving spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes.
[0096] Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as Subband-Full-Duplex (SBFD).
[0104] a UE operating in full-duplex mode may be referred to as SBFD-capable UE, or as full-duplex capable UE, or as a full-duplex UE.
[0119] When compared to the configured UE maximum output power, the UE 116 can provide to the gNB 102 the available UE transmission power or a power headroom report (PHR). A UE can provide PHR through a MAC control element (CE) in a PUSCH.
[0120] PHR Type 1 for PUSCH transmission. PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0146] there is need for novel methods and enhanced procedures enabling to indicate, control, and adjust the UE power headroom reporting in a full-duplex or SBFD wireless communication system.
[0147] where a UE is provided higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, multiple reporting or prohibit timer values for PHR reporting on selected non-SBFD/SBFD slots/symbols, and multiple parameter sets for PHR evaluation of reference PUSCH transmission. where a UE determines or selects a PHR format for an actual PUSCH transmission or a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format in a slot/symbol based on a slot/symbol type.
[0177] In 1340, the UE 116 processes PHR trigger condition(s), e.g., timer expiry for first and second reference PUSCH transmissions, respectively. In 1350, if PHR trigger condition is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR using selected parameter set for reference PUSCH transmission.);
determine an absence of an actual physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type.), or an absence of an actual sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0120] PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0131] For brevity, the disclosure evaluates PUSCH transmissions and same principles can apply SRS transmissions on non-SBFD slots/symbols versus on SBFD slots/symbols.).
calculate a power headroom (PH) for full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on a difference between a maximum transmit power for the FD operation and a reference power of a reference PUSCH transmission (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR. If the UE 116 determines that a PHR Type 1 for an activated serving cell is based on a reference PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.); and
send the PHR, wherein the PHR comprises the FD-PH (Rudolf [0177] In 1350, if PHR trigger condition is met, the UE 116 evaluates and transmits PHR using selected parameter set for reference PUSCH transmission.).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach calculate a power headroom (PH) for full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on a difference between a maximum transmit power for the FD operation and a reference power of a reference SRS transmission for the FD operation, and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation.
38.213 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches calculate a power headroom (PH) for full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on a difference between a maximum transmit power for the FD operation and a reference power of a reference SRS transmission for the FD operation (38.213, Section 7.7.3, page 55, If the UE determines that a Type 3 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on a reference SRS transmission then, for SRS transmission occasion i on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, and if the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c and a resource for the reference SRS transmission is provided by SRS-Resource, the UE computes a Type 3 power headroom report as
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and the PHR is configured to provide a first indication value in a first field for indicating that the PH is for FD operation or a second indication value in the first field for indicating that the PH is for a transmission other than for FD operation (Zhang
[0102] the network entity (e.g., a gNB) may indicate PHR reporting for a single mode (e.g., FD or HD) or both modes.
[0103] When reporting one PHR for one particular mode, the UE may indicate the mode for which the UE is reporting by including a mode flag.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by 38.213 with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. (Zhang [0007]).
Claims 21 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 2, Rudolf in view of 38.213 and Zhang (hereinafter combination) teaches The
apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine the absence of the actual PUSCH transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0153] In one embodiment, a UE is provided by higher layers information to selectively enable or disable PHR for an actual PUSCH transmission, or for a transmission based on a reference PUSCH format, based on a slot or symbol type or based on an SBFD subband type); and
calculate the power headroom (PH) for the full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on the difference between the maximum transmit power for the FD operation and the reference power of the reference PUSCH transmission for the FD operation (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR. If the UE 116 determines that a PHR Type 1 for an activated serving cell is based on a reference PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.
).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf teaches wherein the maximum transmit power is based on at least one of a maximum
power reduction (MPR) value, an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) value, or a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
where {tilde over (P)}.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is computed using parameters by phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters when provided or assuming MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=0 dB, P-MPR=0 dB when not provided.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value
is stored in the one or more memories, and the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value is based on a specification (Rudolf [0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
[0178] a UE is provided multiple parameter sets and selects a parameter set to determine a PHR for an activated cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol or based on an SBFD subband type.
[0179] For example, a parameter set to determine a PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may include one or more or a combination of an MPR value, an A-MPR value, a P-MPR value. A parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may be indicated to the UE 116 or may be tabulated/specified in system specifications. Multiple parameter sets to determine PHR for reference PUSCH transmissions may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications.
Note: Since multiple parameters sets (MPR, A-MPR and P-MPR) may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications and UE selects a parameter set to determine PHR, this implies that parameters sets are stored at the UE, i.e. stored in the memory.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to:
receive, via a radio resource control (RRC) signal, the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value; and store the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value in the one or more memories (Rudolf [0115] In the following, unless otherwise explicitly noted, providing a parameter value by higher layers includes providing the parameter value by a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling.
[0183] a UE is provided a parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission using a configuration phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters provided by higher layers and associated with a set of slots/symbols. For example, phr-Ref-Pusch-parameters may provide values for MPR, A-MPR, and P-MPR.
[0178] a UE is provided multiple parameter sets and selects a parameter set to determine a PHR for an activated cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol or based on an SBFD subband type.
[0179] For example, a parameter set to determine a PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may include one or more or a combination of an MPR value, an A-MPR value, a P-MPR value. A parameter set to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may be indicated to the UE 116. Multiple parameter sets to determine PHR for reference PUSCH transmissions may be indicated to the UE 116.
Note: Since multiple parameters sets (MPR, A-MPR and P-MPR) may be indicated to the UE 116 or tabulated/specified in system specifications and UE selects a parameter set to determine PHR, this implies that parameters sets are stored at the UE, i.e. stored in the memory.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 3.
Rudolf teaches wherein the at least one of the MPR value, the A-MPR value, or the P-MPR value
comprises a non-zero value (Rudolf [0181] a second parameter set {MPR-0 dB, A-MPR=2 dB, P-MPR=2 dB, ΔT.sub.C=0 dB} to determine PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission in a slot/symbol may be used by the UE 116 on SFBD slots or symbols.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the
processor-executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to: determine the reference power of the reference PUSCH transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the reference PUSCH transmission comprising a fractional power control multiplier, a reference path loss measurement value, and a closed loop power control component (Rudolf [0131] It should be regarded that a power for PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS or physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions in normal UL (or non-SBFD) slot(s)/symbol(s) and the full-duplex (or SBFD) slot(s)/symbol(s) may need to be controlled separately. Separate UL power control may also be necessary for different SBFD slot(s)/symbol(s). Adjustment and control by the gNB for the power of a PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS or PRACH transmission by a UE on a slot/symbol is based on appropriate parameterization of the allowed or configured UE maximum output power, open-loop power control (OLPC) parameter sets including target received power and fractional pathloss compensation coefficient and closed-loop power control (CLPC) processes.
[0179] a parameter set to determine a PHR for a reference PUSCH transmission may include one or more or a combination of an MPR value, an A-MPR value, a P-MPR value, a parameter ΔT.sub.C, a parameter associated with a transmit power value, a parameter associated with a transmit power reduction value, an OLPC parameter set {P.sub.0(i), α(i)}, a target receive power level P.sub.0(i), a fractional pathloss compensation coefficient α(i), or a pathloss reference signal. ).
Although Rudolf teaches the reference power of the reference PUSCH transmission comprising a
(see rejection of claim 2 above), Rudolf does not explicitly teach
contains a nominal transmit power value.
38.213 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
comprising a nominal transmit power value (38.213, Section 7.1.1, page 24,
).
Therefore Rudolf in combination with 38.213 teaches determine the reference power of the reference PUSCH transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the reference PUSCH transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, a fractional power control multiplier, a reference path loss measurement value, and a closed loop power control component.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by 38.213 and Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf teaches wherein the PHR comprises the maximum transmit power for the FD operation
(Rudolf [0183] the UE 116 computes the PHR Type 1 as
).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine the absence of the actual SRS transmission using the FD operation (Rudolf [0120] PHR Type 3 for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission.
[0127] A UE determines whether a PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format.
[0131] For brevity, the disclosure evaluates PUSCH transmissions and same principles can apply SRS transmissions on non-SBFD slots/symbols versus on SBFD slots/symbols); Rudolf does not explicitly teach calculate the power headroom (PH) for the full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on the difference between the maximum transmit power for the FD operation and the reference power of the reference SRS transmission for the FD operation.
38.213 teaches calculate the power headroom (PH) for the full-duplex operation (FD-PH) based on the difference between the maximum transmit power for the FD operation and the reference power of the reference SRS transmission for the FD operation (38.213, Section 7.7.3, page 55, If the UE determines that a Type 3 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on a reference SRS transmission then, for SRS transmission occasion i on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, and if the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c and a resource for the reference SRS transmission is provided by SRS-Resource, the UE computes a Type 3 power headroom report as
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by 38.213 and Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Claims 10, 11, 12 and 13 recite similar limitations of claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 9.
Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-
executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to determine the reference power of the reference SRS transmission for the FD operation is based on FD parameters of the reference SRS transmission comprising a fractional power control multiplier, and a closed loop power control component (Rudolf [0131] It should be regarded that a power for PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS or physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions in normal UL (or non-SBFD) slot(s)/symbol(s) and the full-duplex (or SBFD) slot(s)/symbol(s) may need to be controlled separately. Separate UL power control may also be necessary for different SBFD slot(s)/symbol(s). Adjustment and control by the gNB for the power of a PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS or PRACH transmission by a UE on a slot/symbol is based on appropriate parameterization of the allowed or configured UE maximum output power, open-loop power control (OLPC) parameter sets including target received power and fractional pathloss compensation coefficient and closed-loop power control (CLPC) processes.).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach parameters of the reference SRS transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, and a reference path loss measurement value.
38.213 teaches parameters of the reference SRS transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, and a reference path loss measurement value (38.213 Section 7.7.3, page 55, If the UE determines that a Type 3 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on a reference SRS transmission then, for SRS transmission occasion i on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, and if the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c and a resource for the reference SRS transmission is provided by SRS-Resource, the UE computes a Type 3 power headroom report as
Section 7.3.1, page 43,
P_o with qs =0 can be interpreted as a reference transmit power, i.e. nominal transmit power.
).
Therefore Rudolf in combination with 38.213 teaches determine the reference power of the
reference SRS transmission for the FD operation is based on FD parameters of the reference SRS transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, a fractional power control multiplier, a reference path loss measurement value, and a closed loop power control component.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by 38.213 and Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 9.
Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the PHR comprises the maximum transmit power for
the FD operation.
38.213 teaches wherein the PHR comprises the maximum transmit power for the FD operation (38.213, Section 7.7.3, page 55, If the UE determines that a Type 3 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on a reference SRS transmission then, for SRS transmission occasion i on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, and if the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c and a resource for the reference SRS transmission is provided by SRS-Resource, the UE computes a Type 3 power headroom report as
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by 38.213 and Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Zhang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of 38.213.
Regarding claim 18, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 17.
Although Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the
processor-executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to determine the transmission power of the actual PUSCH transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the actual PUSCH transmission comprising (Rudolf [0161] If a UE determines that a Type 1 PHR for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i when indicated as enabled by phr-Restriction on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE 116 computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
Note:
is the transmission power of the actual PUSCH transmission.), Rudolf does not explicitly teach the parameters in the above formula are a nominal transmit power value, an allocation value, a fractional power control multiplier, an actual path loss measurement value, a modulation and coding scheme offset, and a closed loop power control component.
38.213 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the parameters in the above formula are a nominal transmit power value, an allocation value, a fractional power control multiplier, an actual path loss measurement value, a modulation and coding scheme offset, and a closed loop power control component (38.213, Section 7.1.1, page 24,
page 28,
is a multiplier.
page 29,
page 32,
where Ks is provided by deltaMCS for each UL BWP b of each carrier f and serving cell c.
page 35,
is the PUSCH power control adjustment state l for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c and PUSCH transmission occasion i.).
Therefore Rudolf in combination with 38.213 teaches determine the transmission power of the actual PUSCH transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the actual PUSCH transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, an allocation value, a fractional power control multiplier, an actual path loss measurement value, a modulation and coding scheme offset, and a closed loop power control component.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Regarding claim 19, Rudolf in view of Zhang teaches The apparatus of claim 17.
Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute
the processor-executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to determine the transmission power of the actual SRS transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the actual SRS transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, an allocation value, a fractional power control multiplier, an actual path loss measurement value, and a closed loop power control component.
38.213 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determine the transmission power of the actual SRS transmission for the FD operation based on FD parameters of the actual SRS transmission comprising a nominal transmit power value, an allocation value, a fractional power control multiplier, an actual path loss measurement value, and a closed loop power control component (38.213, Section 7.7.3, page 55, If a UE determines that a Type 3 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual SRS transmission then, for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell 𝑐 and if the UE is not configured for PUSCH transmissions on carrier f of serving cell 𝑐 and the resource for the SRS transmission is provided by SRS-Resource, the UE computes a Type 3 power headroom report as
Note:
is the transmission power of the actual SRS transmission.
Section 7.3.1, page 43,
is provided by p0 for active UL BWP 𝑏 of carrier 𝑓 of serving cell 𝑐 and SRS resource set 𝑞𝑠 provided by SRS-ResourceSet and SRS-ResourceSetId. Note: It can be interpreted as a reference transmit power, i.e. nominal transmit power.
is a SRS bandwidth expressed in number of resource blocks for SRS transmission occasion 𝑖 on active UL BWP 𝑏 of carrier 𝑓 of serving cell 𝑐.
is provided by alpha for active UL BWP 𝑏 of carrier 𝑓 of serving cell 𝑐 and SRS resource set 𝑞𝑠.
is a downlink pathloss estimate in dB calculated by the UE using RS resource index 𝑞𝑑 as described in clause 7.1.1 for the active DL BWP of serving cell 𝑐 and SRS resource set 𝑞𝑠.
is the current PUSCH power control adjustment state.
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf as modified by Zhang with 38.213’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting power headroom report (38.213 Section 7.7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418