DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IEEE (802.11-2020, hereinafter IEEE) in view of Wi-Fi Alliance Wi-fi Direct Specification (v1.7, hereinafter Wi-Fi A).
Regarding claim 1, IEEE discloses a method for performing channel management in a wireless communication system (CLAUSES 4.1 and 4.3) , the wireless communication system comprising a first wireless transceiver device (clause 4.3.1., the AP is the first transceiver device ) and a second wireless transceiver device (clause 4.3.2, the STA is the second transceiver device), the method comprising (CLAUSe 10.14 channel switch announcement) receiving, by the first wireless transceiver device, a channel switch request in a first communication frame (clause 9.4.2.20, Clause 10.15, wherein the CSA is contained in a management frame, the CSA containing management frame is the channel switch request ); and
triggering a channel switch (CS) mechanism, by the first wireless transceiver device,
to inform the second wireless transceiver device to switch from a first channel
to a target channel, for subsequent communication of the second wireless
transceiver device (Clause 10.15 herein the initiating channel switching and specifying target channel via CSA includes the triggering, clause 9.4.2.20 wherein the CSA element fields include channel number and count , Clause 10.15.3.3 subsequent communication includes operation after the sqitch ).
IEEE does not disclose from the second wireless transceiver device. Wi-FI A discloses from the second wireless transceiver device (section 4, wherein the peer signaling includes the peer signaling from the second device) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the peer signaling as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to improve responsiveness.
Regarding claim 2, IEEE discloses wherein the first wireless transceiver device is an access point (AP) device (clause 4.3.1, the AP is the first device) , and the second wireless transceiver device is a non-access-point (non-AP) station (STA) device (clause 4.3.2).
Regarding claim 3, IEEE discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the first wireless transceiver device and the second wireless transceiver device being in a first peer to peer (P2P) communication group, wherein the first wireless transceiver device is acting as a group owner (GO), and the second wireless transceiver device is acting as a group client (GC). Wi-Fi A discloses the first wireless transceiver device and the second wireless transceiver device being in a first peer to peer (P2P) communication group (section 4, wherein the P2P communication group is included in the protocol procedures), wherein the first wireless transceiver device is acting as a group owner (GO) (section 3.1, wherein the group owner is the device that performs AP like functions ), and the second wireless transceiver device is acting as a group client (GC) (section 3.1, wherein the group client is the device associated with the GO) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to arrive at a predictable use of known roles for same communication purposes.
Regarding claim 4, IEEE discloses triggering CS mechanism, by the second wireless transceiver device, to inform the third wireless transceiver device to switch to a second target channel for
communication between the second wireless transceiver device and the third
wireless transceiver device (clause 10.15) . IEEE discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the second wireless transceiver device and a third wireless
transceiver device are in a second P2P communication group, the second wireless
transceiver device is acting as a group owner (GO) with the third wireless transceiver
device acting as a group client (GC). Wi-Fi A discloses wherein the second wireless transceiver device and a third wireless transceiver device are in a second P2P communication group, the second wireless
transceiver device is acting as a group owner (GO) (section 3.1) with the third wireless transceiver
device acting as a group client (GC) (section 3.1, section 4) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to arrive at a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 5, IEEE discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the second wireless transceiver device and a fourth
wireless transceiver device are in a third P2P communication group, the second wireless
transceiver device is acting as a group client (GC) with the fourth wireless transceiver
device is acting as a group owner (GO), wherein the third P2P communication group
coexists with the first P2P communication group. Wi-FI A discloses wherein the second wireless transceiver device and a fourth wireless transceiver device are in a third P2P communication group, the second wireless transceiver device is acting as a group client (GC) with the fourth wireless transceiver
device is acting as a group owner (GO), wherein the third P2P communication group
coexists with the first P2P communication group (Section 3, wherein the P2P architecture includes a device may participate in multiple P2P groups (e.g. concurrent or sequential roles across groups). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to coordinate management of multiple groups and communication channels.
Regarding claim 6, IEEE does not disclose wherein the first wireless transceiver device and a fifth wireless transceiver device are in a fourth P2P communication group, the first wireless transceiver
device is acting as a group owner (GO) with the fifth wireless transceiver device acting as a
group client (GC), wherein the fourth P2P communication group coexists with the first P2P
communication group. WI-Fi A discloses, wherein the first wireless transceiver device and a fifth wireless transceiver device are in a fourth P2P communication group (section 4, wherein the group operation and cannel selection include multiple P2P groups), the first wireless transceiver
device is acting as a group owner (GO) with the fifth wireless transceiver device acting as a
group client (GC), wherein the fourth P2P communication group coexists with the first P2P
communication group (section 4, wherein the operation and separation of channels exist to avoid interference). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to coordinate management of multiple groups and communication channels.
Regarding claim 7, IEEE discloses, sending a management frame by the first wireless transceiver device in the target channel, to the second wireless transceiver
Device (clause 9.3.3). after triggering the CS mechanism and deciding whether to switch to the target channel according to whether receiving an acknowledgement from the second wireless transceiver device (clause 10.15.3.3)
Regarding claim 8, IEEE discloses an ACK mechanism (Clause 10.3.2.8) management frames (Clause 9.3.3) and retransmission behavior (Clause 10.22). IEEE does not disclose wherein the deciding step comprises: deciding to switch to the target channel when the acknowledgement is received. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to decide not to switch to the target channel when transmission is unsuccessful because lack of ACK indicates communication failure, switching channels without successful communication would risk loss of connectivity and maintaining communication on a known working channel is a predictable and necessary design choice. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to decide to switch to the target channel when the acknowledgement is received. ACK reception confirms successful communication. IEEE relies on ACK to determine whether a transmission succeeded hence proceeding with a channel switch only after successful communication is a predictable reliability-based decision.
Regarding claim 9, IEEE discloses an ACK mechanism (Clause 10.3.2.8) and retransmission behavior (Clause 10.22). IEEE discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the deciding step further comprises: deciding not to switch to the target channel when no acknowledgement is received (clause 10.3, lack of ACK indicates failure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to decide not to switch to the target channel when transmission is unsuccessful because lack of ACK indicates communication failure, switching channels without successful communication would risk loss of connectivity and maintaining communication on a known working channel is a predictable and necessary design choice. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to decide not to switch to the target channel when no acknowledgement is received.
Regarding claim 10, IEEE discloses after deciding not to switch to the target channel when no
Acknowledgement is received in the target channel, further comprising (clause 10.3):
sending another management frame by the first wireless transceiver device, in the first channel, to the second wireless transceiver device; and when no acknowledgement is received, triggering another CS mechanism (clause 10.3). IEEE does not disclose deciding not to switch to the target channel based on lack of acknowledgment and switching back to the first channel in response to that decision. IEEE already uses ACK failure to trigger corrective actions (i.e. retransmission). Since maintaining communication requires staying on a known working channel when communication fails, applying ACK based decision making to channel switching is a predictable use of a known reliability mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to decide not to switch to a target channel when no acknowledgement is received and instead remain on or return to the original channel because lack of ACK indicates unsuccessful communication.
Regarding claim 11, IEEE discloses wherein triggering the CS mechanism is performed by sending a channel switch announcement defined in IEEE 802.11 protocol, or another channel switch
protocols pre-defined in the wireless communication system (Clause 9.4.2.20).
Regarding claim 12, IEEE discloses. wherein triggering the CS mechanism, by the first wireless
transceiver device, to inform the second wireless transceiver device to switch from the first
channel to the target channel, for subsequent communication of the second wireless
transceiver device further comprises: triggering the CS mechanism, by the first wireless transceiver device, to inform the second wireless transceiver device to switch from the first channel to the target
channel, for subsequent communication of the second wireless transceiver
device in a situation where no radar is detected on the first channel (clause 11.9, devices must switch channels when radar is detected and may operate when no radar is detected).
Regarding claim 13, IEEE discloses triggering a CS mechanism, by the
first wireless transceiver device, to inform the device to switch from another first channel to another target channel, for subsequent
communication of the (channel switching using CSA (clause 9.4.2.20), triggering a channel switch procedure (Clause 10.15.3) informing devices of a target channel transmitting management frames after switching (Clause 9.3.3), and acknowledgement-based communication reliability (clause 10.3.2.8);
after triggering the CS mechanism regarding the fourth P2P communication group,
sending a management frame by the first wireless transceiver device in the other target channel, to the device (clause 9.3, Clause 10.15.3.3); and
regarding the fourth P2P communication group, deciding whether to switch from the
another first channel to the other target channel according to whether an
acknowledgement from the wireless transceiver device is received, (clause 10.3.2.8_
wherein the deciding step comprises: in response to no acknowledgement from the fifth wireless transceiver device being received, deciding not to switch to the other target channel, and
switching back to the other first channel (Clause 10.22). IEEE does not disclose multiple P2P communication groups specifically: a fourth P2P communication group, involving a fifth wireless transceiver device, performing a separate CS mechanism specific to that additional P2P group, or coordinating channel switching independently across multiple concurrent P2P groups. Wi-Fi A discloses multiple P2P communication groups specifically: a fourth P2P communication group, involving a fifth wireless transceiver device, performing a separate CS mechanism specific to that additional P2P group, and coordinating channel switching independently across multiple concurrent P2P groups. (see P2P specification, section 4.1.3 a P2P device may operate in multiple P2P groups simultaneously including acting as a group client (GC) in another group thereby teaching the recited multiple P2P communication groups and role assignments). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to arrive at a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 14, IEEE discloses sending a management frame by a wireless transceiver device to another transceiver device (clause 9.3.3), when no acknowledgement from the fifth wireless transceiver device is received, triggering another CS mechanism regarding the fourth P2P communication group including repeated transmissions when communication is not susccesfully completed (Clause 10.22, Clause 10.3.2.9 and Clause 10.15.3). IEEE discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of after switching back to the other first channel regarding the fourth P2P communication group, sending another management frame by the first
wireless transceiver device, in the other first channel, to the fifth wireless
transceiver device;
. WI-Fi A discloses after switching back to the other first channel regarding the fourth P2P communication group, sending another management frame by the first
wireless transceiver device, in the other first channel, to the fifth wireless
transceiver device (sections 3.3, 3.4, and 4.1.3 disclose communication within P2P groups and concurrent multi-group operation, supporting the continued communication and coordination between devices with specific P2P communication group following channel operations). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the P2P and group features as disclosed by Wi-Fi A with the channel switching as disclosed by IEEE to coordinate management of multiple groups and communication channels.
Regarding claim 15, IEEE discloses, wherein the channel switch request is implemented by way of at least one channel-switching-related information element (IE) (Clause 9.4 and 9.4.2.20 (Information Elements))
Regarding claim 16, IEEE discloses, wherein the channel switch request is implemented by way of at least one first channel-switching-related. information element (IE); and triggering the CS
mechanism, by the first wireless transceiver device, to inform the second wireless
transceiver device to switch from the first channel to the target channel, for subsequent
communication of the second wireless transceiver device further comprises:
sending, by the first wireless transceiver device, a second communication frame
carrying at least one second channel-switching-related IE to the second
wireless transceiver device, for informing the second wireless transceiver
device to switch from the first channel to the target channel.
Regarding claim 17, IEEE discloses a wireless transceiver device, for performing channel management in a wireless communication system, the wireless transceiver device being one of multiple devices within the wireless communication system, the wireless transceiver device comprising:
a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the wireless transceiver device;
and at least one communication control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to
perform communication control (clause 4.3), wherein the at least one communication control
circuit is arranged to perform wireless communication operations with another
device among the multiple devices for the wireless transceiver device; wherein: the wireless transceiver device is arranged to receive a channel switch request in a first
communication frame from the other device; and the wireless transceiver device is arranged to trigger a channel switch (CS) mechanism, to inform the other device to switch from a first channel to a target channel, for subsequent communication of the other device (clause 10).
Regarding claim 18, IEEE discloses, wherein the wireless transceiver device is an
access point (AP) device (clause 3.1), and the other device is a non-access-point (non-AP) station
(STA) device (clause 3.2).
Regarding claim 19, IEEE discloses a wireless transceiver device, for performing channel management in a wireless communication system, the wireless transceiver device being one of multiple devices within the wireless communication system, the wireless transceiver device comprising:
a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the wireless transceiver device (clause 4.3);
and at least one communication control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to
perform communication control, wherein the at least one communication control
circuit is arranged to perform wireless communication operations with another
device among the multiple devices for the wireless transceiver device (Clause 4.3, (includes the device architecture), Clause 10 (MAC control)); wherein:
the wireless transceiver device is arranged to send a channel switch request in a first
communication frame to the other device, to make the other device trigger a
channel switch (CS) mechanism to inform the wireless transceiver device to
switch from a first channel to a target channel, for subsequent communication of
the wireless transceiver device (clause 4.3, device architecture, and MAC control is covered by clause 10).
Regarding claim 20, IEEE discloses, wherein the other device is an access point
(AP) device (clause 4.3.2), and the wireless transceiver device is a non-access-point (non-AP) station
(STA) device (Clause 4.3.1).
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412