DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 1/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are pending. Claim 3 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 5-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation of “ wherein the portion of each of the plurality of heat exchange fin below the bottommost micro-channel flat tube is provided with a guiding structure” renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it is not clear whether applicant refer “a guiding structure” to “ the guiding structure is a portion of the fin below the bottommost micro-channel flat tube” cited in claim 1.
Claim 2 is further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner, in which a guiding structure is the same with the guiding structure already cited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 11,499,784) in view of Jindou et al. (CN 103314269A). Maeda et al. discloses (figure 1, 3, 4 and 20) a micro-channel heat exchanger, comprising a first manifold (101) and a second manifold (102), wherein the first manifold and the second manifold are spaced apart; a plurality of micro-channel flat tubes (30), sequentially connected from top to bottom between the first manifold and the second manifold; and a plurality of heat exchange fins (10), spaced at a predetermined distance from each other and formed with the tube holes for the plurality of micro-channel flat tubes to pass through, and a drainage area (13) is arranged vertically at the same side of the plurality of heat exchange fins, wherein, a portion of at least one heat exchange fin of the plurality of heat exchange fins below the bottommost micro-channel flat tube is provided with a guiding structure (10d4) for guiding water droplets condensed on a surface of the at least one heat exchange fin to the drainage area, wherein the guiding structure (10d4) is a portion of the fin below the bottommost micro-channel flat tube, and wherein an area of the guiding structure gradually increases toward one side of the drainage area (see figure 5). Regarding claims 1,6 and 11, Maeda does not disclose that the drainage area include a drainage groove. Jindou et al discloses (figures 9-10 and paragraphs 118 and 124) that the fin (36) that has a drainage area including a drainage groove (57b) located in at the rear edge of the fin for a purpose of guiding the condensate water to flow rapidly downward to a water receiving plate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Jindou et al’s teaching in Maeda’s device for a purpose of guiding the condensate water to flow rapidly downward to a water receiving plate.
Maeda does not disclose the plurality of heat exchange fins are provided with heat dissipation structures (corrugated structure or structure with protrusions, claim 6) for increasing the heat exchange area. Jindou et al. discloses (figures 9-10 and paragraph 16) the plurality of fins (36) further includes heat dissipation structures (corrugated or protrusions 51,52, 53) for a purpose of increasing heat exchange area of the fin to improve heat transfer performance of the fin. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to use Jindou’s teaching in Maeda’s device for a purpose of increasing heat transfer area of the fin to improve heat transfer performance of the fin.
Regarding claim 2, Maeda further discloses that the portion of each of the plurality of heat exchange fins below the bottommost micro-channel flat tube is provided with a guiding structure (10d4), and the guiding structure has smooth planes on both sides. (figure 3)
Regarding claim 5, Maeda further discloses that the bottom of the guiding structure has a linear contour. (10d3, see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Maeda further discloses (figures 1-3) that the plurality of heat exchange fins (10) are of the same size and shape, and are spaced apart from each other at the same distance.
Regarding claim 8, Maeda further discloses (column 3, line 60) that the plurality of heat exchange fins (10) are made of aluminum alloy.
Regarding claim 9, Maeda further discloses (column 18, line 15-16, and lines 46- 47) that the micro heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein the microchannel is a condenser or an evaporator.
Regarding claim 10, Maeda further discloses (figure 19) that the heat pump system (200) comprises the microchannel heat exchanger according to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (CN 110425904A) discloses a flat fin and a micro- channel heat exchanger.
Ishibashi et al. (WO 2013161802A1) discloses a heat exchanger in air condenser.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763