DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed June 18, 2026, claims 1-8, 10-12, 5, 18 and 20 have been amended, claims 9 and 19 have been canceled, claim 21-22 are newly added, claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20-22 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 12 section 2, filed June 18, 2026, with respect to claim 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 19 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 13 - page 15, filed June 18, 2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 18 and 20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 1, and 20, the applicant argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…Accordingly, Choi fails to disclose controlling "a timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that a part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns is included in the one communication cycle and a subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle," as recited by amended claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. See sections 7 and 8 below.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 20, Ly discloses, transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine (see Fig.2, Fig.9A, para. 0093-0095, FIG. 9A shows a repeating pattern of 10 slots shown by brackets 902, the UE is configured to count the number of UL slots available in a time division duplex (TDD) allocation (e.g., either a set or dynamic UL/DL slot allocation) with a combination of downlink, special (or flexible), and uplink slots over some set number or pattern of slots in an allocation (e.g., 16 slots for a TDD allocation). The capability of a UE to count or keep track of the UL slots becomes important for maintaining the phase continuity across multiple repeat PUSCH transmissions. In further aspects, when using PUSCH repetition type A, as discussed above, the UE is configured to repeat a transport block (TB) across consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot); and
transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data (see Fig.7, Fig.8, Fig.9A, para. 0071, 0094-0095, each of the PUSCH repetition transmissions is seen at slots 904, 906 908, 910, and 912, see also para. 0071, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a base station (e.g., gNB, eNB, RSU, etc.) towards one or more of a set of UEs, which may include one or more sidelink devices (e.g., V2X/D2D devices). In some examples, the DCI may include synchronization information to synchronize communication by a plurality of sidelink devices on the sidelink channel. In addition, the DCI may include scheduling information indicating one or more resource blocks within the control region 312 and/or data region 314 allocated to sidelink devices for sidelink communication. For example, the control region 312 of the slot may further include control information transmitted by sidelink devices over the sidelink channel, while the data region 314 of the slot 310 may include data transmitted by sidelink devices over the sidelink channel. In some examples, the control information may be transmitted within a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), while the data may be transmitted within a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), see also para. 0053-0056, 0060-0061, see also prov831, Fig.9A, para. 0090-0092).
Regarding amended claims 1, and 20, the applicant further argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…Applicant respectfully submits that the structural intervals included in the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 of a single macroslot 20, as taught by Choi, are inherently unrelated to communication between a controller and an industrial machine as recited by claim 1, such that even if combined with Komatsu the cited art fails to disclose the claimed execution and timing control.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. See sections 7 and 8 below.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 20, Choi discloses control a timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that a part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns is included in the one communication cycle and a subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle (see Fig.2-Fig.4, column 4, lines 9-64, column 5, line 18 to column 6, line 32, at least one macroslot 20 configured within one superslot interval 10 is configured from a static TDD interval 30, in which one or more forward-direction slots Dl and reverse-direction slots Ul are alternately and repeatedly arranged, and a dynamic TDD interval 40, in which the number and the arrangement of one or more forward-direction slots Dl and reverse-direction slots Ul can each be varied according to signal characteristics such as the call traffic, delay time, and call quality of transmitted signals; the ratio of the numbers of slots allocated to the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 is maintained throughout one superslot interval 10; the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 have an equal number of slots; and the first slot in each of the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 is a forward-direction slot. Also, with two repetitions of a TDD pattern containing the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40, set the number of reverse-direction slots in the dynamic TDD interval 40 to be equal to the number of reverse-direction slots in the static TDD interval 30, as appropriate).
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-8, 10-18 20, drawn to details to execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including: transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data.
II. Claims 21-22, drawn to details to: perform cyclic communication with each other by executing a plurality of communication cycles using the wireless communication; and control the cyclic communication so that a first part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns of the wireless communication is included in a first communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles and a second part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in a second communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles subsequent to the first communication cycle.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other because of the following reasons:
Inventions I and II are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable.
In the instant case,
Subcombination I has separate utility such configured to: execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including: transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data.
Subcombination II has separate utility such as configured to: perform cyclic communication with each other by executing a plurality of communication cycles using the wireless communication; and control the cyclic communication so that a first part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns of the wireless communication is included in a first communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles and a second part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in a second communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles subsequent to the first communication cycle, which is different from the invention I. Inventions I do not require to control the cyclic communication so that a first part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns of the wireless communication is included in a first communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles and a second part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in a second communication cycle of the plurality of communication cycles subsequent to the first communication cycle.
See MPEP § 806.05(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A communication system configured to perform wireless communication between a pair of devices by executing a plurality of time division duplex patterns each having a sequential arrangement of communication slots, the communication system comprising the pair of devices including a controller and an industrial machine controlled by the controller, the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller" in lines 1-7. For clarification, it is suggested to change “A communication system configured to perform wireless communication between a pair of devices by executing a plurality of time division duplex patterns each having a sequential arrangement of communication slots, the communication system comprising:
the pair of devices;
a controller and
an industrial machine controlled by the controller, the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller”.
Also, for clarity, see below, it is recommended to define the respective device of the pair of device and their relationship with a controller and an industrial machine controlled by the controller.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " ... the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller … transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, " ... the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller … transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data”. Paragraph 0145 of instant application disclose, “The communication system 1 may be configured to transmit the transmission data of the second attribute transmitted by the second type of communication slot 510 again by the second type of communication slot 510 of the next time division duplex pattern in a case where deterioration of communication quality in the second type of communication slot 510 is detected by the communication monitor 131. For example, when a degradation in communication quality in the asynchronous slot 522 is detected by the communication monitor 131, the communication control unit 112 controls the wireless communication unit 213 so that the transmission data of the second attribute transmitted by the asynchronous slot 522 is transmitted again by the asynchronous slot 522 of the next time division duplex pattern. For example, when a degradation in communication quality in the asynchronous slot 522 is detected by the communication monitor 131, the communication control unit 112 leaves the transmission data of the second attribute transmitted in the asynchronous slot 522 to the transmission buffer 211 as a transmission target due to the wireless communication unit 213. The transmission data left in the transmission buffer 211 is transmitted again from the wireless communication unit 213 to the mobile station 400 by the asynchronous slot 522 of the next time division duplex pattern”. The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, " ... the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller … transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data” Therefore claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 0145-0146, 0181, 0203, 0232) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claim 20 is also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 2-8 and 10-18 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected independent claim 1, as set forth above.
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite in lines 1-7, “A communication system configured to perform wireless communication between a pair of devices by executing a plurality of time division duplex patterns each having a sequential arrangement of communication slots, the communication system comprising the pair of devices including a controller and an industrial machine controlled by the controller, the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller. It is unclear whether “a pair of devices” execute a plurality of time division duplex patterns. Which specific device of the pair of devices, is executing a plurality of time division duplex pattern. It is also unclear the relationship between “the pair of devices”, “a controller” and “an industrial machine”. For clarification it is recommended to state the specific device of “the pair of device” “executing a plurality of time division duplex patterns”. Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite in lines 8-15, “wherein the pair of devices are configured to:
execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including:
transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and uplink
transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data”.
It is unclear whether the pair of devices are configured to: execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle. For clarification it is recommended to state the specific device of “the pair of device” “configured to:
execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including:
transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and uplink
transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data”. As stated above, It is also unclear the relationship between “the pair of devices”, “a controller” and “an industrial machine”. Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim 20 is also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 2-8 and 10-18 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected independent claim 1, as set forth above.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US provisional 63/176,831, prov831, 2021-03-19 and published as US Pub. No.: 2022/0337368), and further in view of Choi et al. (US Patent No.: 6741579).
As per claim 1, Ly disclose A communication system configured to perform wireless communication between a pair of devices by executing a plurality of time division duplex patterns each having a sequential arrangement of communication slots, the communication system comprising the pair of devices including a controller and an industrial machine controlled by the controller (see Fig.2, Fig. 4, Fig.9A, Fig.10, repetition transmissions in a time division duplex (TDD) between a UE and Base Station, see para. 0059), the communication slots including a first type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine and a second type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller (see Fig.2, Fig.9A, para. 0093-0095, FIG. 9A shows a repeating pattern of 10 slots shown by brackets 902, UE and Base Station perform cyclic communication, uplink (U) / a second type of slots for transmitting data from the controller to the industrial machine, downlink (D) / a first type of slots for transmitting data from the industrial machine to the controller) wherein the pair of devices are configured to:
execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including:
transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine (see Fig.2, Fig.9A, para. 0093-0095, FIG. 9A shows a repeating pattern of 10 slots shown by brackets 902, the UE is configured to count the number of UL slots available in a time division duplex (TDD) allocation (e.g., either a set or dynamic UL/DL slot allocation) with a combination of downlink, special (or flexible), and uplink slots over some set number or pattern of slots in an allocation (e.g., 16 slots for a TDD allocation). The capability of a UE to count or keep track of the UL slots becomes important for maintaining the phase continuity across multiple repeat PUSCH transmissions. In further aspects, when using PUSCH repetition type A, as discussed above, the UE is configured to repeat a transport block (TB) across consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot); and
transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data (see Fig.7, Fig.8, Fig.9A, para. 0071, 0094-0095, each of the PUSCH repetition transmissions is seen at slots 904, 906 908, 910, and 912, see also para. 0071, the control region 312 of the slot 310 may include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a base station (e.g., gNB, eNB, RSU, etc.) towards one or more of a set of UEs, which may include one or more sidelink devices (e.g., V2X/D2D devices). In some examples, the DCI may include synchronization information to synchronize communication by a plurality of sidelink devices on the sidelink channel. In addition, the DCI may include scheduling information indicating one or more resource blocks within the control region 312 and/or data region 314 allocated to sidelink devices for sidelink communication. For example, the control region 312 of the slot may further include control information transmitted by sidelink devices over the sidelink channel, while the data region 314 of the slot 310 may include data transmitted by sidelink devices over the sidelink channel. In some examples, the control information may be transmitted within a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), while the data may be transmitted within a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), see also para. 0053-0056, 0060-0061, see also prov831, Fig.9A, para. 0090-0092).
Although Ly disclose execute a plurality of communication cycles including one communication cycle and a subsequent communication cycle, each of the plurality of communication cycles including:
transmitting, from the controller to the industrial machine using one or more of the first type of slots, command data for controlling the industrial machine; and transmitting, from the industrial machine to the controller using one or more of the second type of slots, response data of the industrial machine operated according to the command data;
Ly however does not explicitly disclose control a timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that a part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns is included in the one communication cycle and a subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle;
Choi however disclose control a timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that a part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns is included in the one communication cycle and a subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle (see Fig.2-Fig.4, column 4, lines 9-64, column 5, line 18to column 6, line 32, at least one macroslot 20 configured within one superslot interval 10 is configured from a static TDD interval 30, in which one or more forward-direction slots Dl and reverse-direction slots Ul are alternately and repeatedly arranged, and a dynamic TDD interval 40, in which the number and the arrangement of one or more forward-direction slots Dl and reverse-direction slots Ul can each be varied according to signal characteristics such as the call traffic, delay time, and call quality of transmitted signals; the ratio of the numbers of slots allocated to the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 is maintained throughout one superslot interval 10; the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 have an equal number of slots; and the first slot in each of the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40 is a forward-direction slot. Also, with two repetitions of a
TDD pattern containing the static TDD interval 30 and the dynamic TDD interval 40, set the number of reverse-direction slots in the dynamic TDD interval 40 to be equal to the number of reverse-direction slots in the static TDD interval 30, as appropriate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of control a timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that a part of one time division duplex pattern of the plurality of time division duplex patterns is included in the one communication cycle and a subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle, as taught by Choi, in the system of Ly, so as to increase the transmission efficiency in case of bidirectionally transmitting data through a single channel between the base station and wireless terminal, see Choi, paragraphs 3-8.
As per claim 2, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1
Ly further disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to execute the plurality of communication cycles at a communication interval that is an integer fraction of a repetition interval of each of the plurality of time division duplex patterns (see Fig.9A, para. 0095, each of these slots in FIG. 9A, a representation of a count (starting from a slot 0) is illustrated representing the count that is kept in the UE of each PUSCH repetition transmission. The count, rather than counting all slots sequentially, is only counting the UL slots available for the PUSCH repetition transmission. In further aspects, the PUSCH repetition type may be Type A and the UE will repeat a same transport block (TB) across consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot, integer fraction, multiplication factor of 1, identical frames) and
Choi also disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to execute the plurality of communication cycles at a communication interval that is an integer fraction of a repetition interval of each of the plurality of time division duplex patterns (see para. 14, at least one macro-slot section wherein a static TDD section, in which down-link slots and up-link slots are alternately and repeatedly arranged, and a dynamic TDD section, in which the number and the arrangement of the down-link slots and the up-link slots is varied / an integer fraction, are simultaneously allocated, and which can increase the efficiency of the frequency resources by acquiring the synchronization between the terminal and the corresponding base station, see also Fig.2, para. 6, , 80% of the whole slots in the dynamic TDD section 40 is allocated as the down-link slots, and 20% thereof is allocated as the up-link slots).
As per claim 3, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1
Choi further disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to: receive timing information associated with a start timing of the plurality of time division duplex patterns ; and control a start timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles based on the timing information so that the part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the one communication cycle and the subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle (see para. 8, at least one macro-slot section 20 is provided in one super-slot section 10. The respective slots are used as the down-link and up-link slots, respectively, in the macro-slot section 20, and the rate of: the down-link slots to the up-link slots may be varied according to the amount and the characteristics of the signal transmitted through the down-link and up-link slots / a start timing/slot of the time division duplex pattern. If the allocation of the down-link and up-link slots is varied for each macro-slot 20, the corresponding information is transmitted to the corresponding wireless terminal to produce an overhead).
As per claim 4, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1
Choi further disclose wherein the controller is configured to: receive timing information associated with a start timing of the plurality of time division duplex patters pattern; recognize, based on the received timing information, a first timing for transmitting the command data to the industrial machine so that the part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the one communication cycle and the subsequent part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the subsequent communication cycle; and start transmitting the command data to the industrial machine at the recognized first timing (see Fig.4a-e, para. 20-22, two down-link slots and two up-link slots D1, U1, D2, and U2 are alternately allocated in the static TDD section 30, and three down-link slots D3 to D5 and one up-link slot U3 are allocated in turn in the dynamic TDD section 40 / the second part of the one time division duplex pattern is included in the other communication cycle; and start transmitting the first data to the second device at the recognized first timing).
As per claim 6, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1.
Ly further disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle includes an identical number of communication slots of the plurality of time division duplex patterns (see 0093-0095, Fig.9A, showing the other communication cycle includes an identical number of communication slots of one or more time division duplex patterns of the wireless communication), and
Choi disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle includes an identical number of communication slots ofthe plurality of time division duplex patterns (see Fig.2-Fig.4, column 4, lines 9-64, column 5, line 18to column 6, line 32, set the number of reverse-direction slots in the dynamic TDD interval 40 to be equal to the number of reverse-direction slots in the static TDD interval 30, as appropriate).
As per claim 7, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1.
Ly further disclose wherein the second type of slots are uplink slots of' time division duplex, and wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that an identical number of the uplink slots are used in each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle (see para. 0093-0095, Fig.9A, showing the other communication cycle includes an identical number of uplink slots of one or more time division duplex patterns), and
Choi disclose wherein the second type of slots are uplink slots of' time division duplex, and wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that an identical number of the uplink slots are used in each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle (see Fig.2-Fig.4, column 4, lines 9-64, column 5, line 18to column 6, line 32, set the number of reverse-direction slots in the dynamic TDD interval 40 to be equal to the number of reverse-direction slots in the static TDD interval 30, as appropriate).
As per claim 8, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 7.
Ly further disclose wherein the first type of slots are downlink slots of time division duplex, and wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that the identical number of uplink slots are arranged after at least one of the downlink slots in each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle (see para. 0093-0095, Fig.9A, the identical number of uplink slots are arranged after at least one downlink slot in each of the one communication cycle and the other communication cycle), and
Choi disclose wherein the first type of slots are downlink slots of time division duplex, and wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that the identical number of uplink slots are arranged after at least one of the downlink slots in each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle (see Fig.2-Fig.4, column 4, lines 9-64, column 5, line 18to column 6, line 32, set the number of reverse-direction slots in the dynamic TDD interval 40 to be equal to the number of reverse-direction slots in the static TDD interval 30, as appropriate).
As per claim 10, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1.
Choi further disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication so that at least the one communication cycle is performed across two or more consecutive time division duplex patterns including the one time division duplex pattern (see Fig.2, para. 13-4, the role of the slots D1, U1, D2, and U2 in the static TDD section 30, in which the down-link and up-link slots D1, U1, D2, and U2 are alternately and repeatedly allocated, is to bidirectionally transmit the required information, the static TDD section 30 of the macro slot 20 wherein the static TDD section 30 and the dynamic TDD section 40 are simultaneously allocated).
As per claim 11, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 10.
Choi further disclose wherein the pair of devices are configured to control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles so that the subsequent communication cycle is performed within the one time division duplex pattern (see Fig.2, para. 13-4, the macro slot 20 wherein the static TDD section 30 and the dynamic TDD section 40 are simultaneously allocated).
As per claim 18, the combination of Ly and Choi disclose the communication system according to claim 1.
Choi further disclose wherein the second type of slots are uplink slots of time division duplex and the first type of slots are downlink slots of time division duplex, and wherein the pair of devices are further configured to: set a target arrangement of at least one of the downlink slots and at least one of the uplink slots based on a configuration of the pair of devices; and control the timing of each of the plurality of communication cycles to reduce a difference between the target arrangement and an arrangement of at least one of the downlink slots and at least one of the uplink slots in each of the one communication cycle and the subsequent communication cycle (see para. 13-14, Referring to FIG. 2, the synchronization of a certain wireless unit with the corresponding base station according to the embodiment of the present invention is performed using the static TDD section 30 of the macro slot 20 wherein the static TDD section 30 and the dynamic TDD section 40 are simultaneously allocated. Specifically, the role of the slots D1, U1, D2, and U2 in the static TDD section 30, in which the downlink and up-link slots D1, U1, D2, and U2 are alternately and repeatedly allocated, is to bidirectionally transmit the required information, there are two macroslots 20 configured in one super-slot section 10, the TDD pattern that includes the static TDD section 30 and the dynamic TDD section 40 being repeated twice, to reduce a difference between the target arrangement and an arrangement of at least one downlink slot and at least one uplink slot in each of the one communication cycle and the other communication cycle).
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form (and overcoming Sections 6-8) including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-22 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeda et al (US Pub. No.:2022/0182212) – see Fig.2 – Fig.5, para. 0041, “FIG. 5 is a diagram for illustrating an example (2) of a TDD UL/DL configuration. As illustrated in FIG. 5, an NR dynamic TDD UL/DL configuration can be scheduled in units of symbols. In one slot, DL, UL, or Flexible is specified on a per symbol basis. Flexible is a DL symbol or a UL symbol. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 5, all symbols in a slot may be DL, all symbols in a slot may be UL, or all symbols in a slot may be Flexible. Additionally, as illustrated in FIG. 5, a DL symbol and a Flexible symbol may be included in one slot, or a DL symbol, a Flexible symbol, and a UL symbol may be included in one slot.”
Takano et al (US Pub. No.:2015/0156006) – see Fig.1, Fig.2, Fig.6, para. 0080, “The top part of FIG. 6 indicates Configuration 0, which may be configured as the legacy configuration. The 0th and 5th subframes of Configuration 0 are downlink subframes, while the 1st and 6th subframes are special subframes, and the 2nd to 4th and 7th to 9th subframes are uplink subframes. The CRS is transmitted from the base station in the 0th and 5th subframes. The dynamic TDD configuration may also be Configuration 0. However, if the UL-DL ratio of Configuration 0 does not fit the UL-DL traffic ratio, the dynamic TDD configuration is updated to any link configuration derived by substituting one or more uplink subframes (and special subframes) in Configuration 0 with downlink subframes. In the example in the bottom part of FIG. 6, the dynamic TDD configuration is configured to Configuration 3. In Configuration 3, the 6th subframe (special subframe) and the 7th to 9th subframes (uplink subframes) of Configuration 0 are substituted with downlink subframes”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469