DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on March 14, 2024, August 27, 2024 and January 13, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner. Note that several duplicate citations provided in the IDS dated January 13, 2026 have been lined through by the Examiner since they were previously cited (and considered) in the earlier filed IDS documents.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
reference numeral 41E in Figure 24; and
reference numeral 45B-2 in Figure 24.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
a medium transportation device 40A as described in paragraph [00122];
shaft portion 49 as described in paragraphs [00135]-[00139];
reference portion 51 as described in paragraphs [00135] and [00137]; and
ring portion 52 as described in paragraph [00135]
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a phase defining unit” in claim 3.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Note the phase defining unit’s structure is described in paragraphs [0051], [0052], and [0293]-[0297] in the specification and shown in Figure 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. JP 2018-8781 A).
With respect to claim 1, Harada et al. teaches a medium transportation device 280 transporting a medium M onto which liquid is discharged (via printhead 110 described in paragraph [0054] of the English language translation), the medium transportation device comprising:
a first transportation roller pair 280a that nips and transports the medium by means of a first uneven roller 291 of which a surface coming into contact with the medium M is provided with protrusions and recesses 290, 290a and a first facing roller 281 that faces the first uneven roller 291; and
a second transportation roller pair 280b that is a roller pair positioned downstream of the first transportation roller pair 280a in a medium transportation direction (see arrow in Figures 16-18) and that nips and transports the medium M by means of a second uneven roller 291 of which a surface coming into contact with the medium M is provided with protrusions and recesses 290, 290a and a second facing roller 281 that faces the second uneven roller 291, wherein
the first uneven roller 291 comes into contact with the first surface Ma of the medium M (see Figure 18), and
the second uneven roller 291 comes into contact with the second surface Mb of the medium M that is opposite to the first surface Ma (see Figure 17). Particular attention is invited to Figures 1, 6-13, 16-27 and the English language translation of Harada et al.
With respect to claim 2, Harada et al. teaches a position on the medium M with which a protrusion portion 290 of the first uneven roller 291 comes into contact and a position on the medium M a protrusion portion 290 of the second uneven roller 291 comes into contact are different from each other, at least to the extent that the uneven rollers contact the medium on different surfaces of the medium.
With respect to claim 8, Harada et al. teaches the protrusions 290 and recesses 290a provided at the first uneven roller 291 and the second uneven roller 291 are formed by a first protrusion portion row composed of a plurality of protrusion portions 290 disposed along a circumferential direction and a second protrusion portion row that is disposed adjacent to the first protrusion portion row in an axial direction and that is composed of a plurality of protrusion portions 290 disposed along the circumferential direction, and
the plurality of protrusion portions 290 of the first protrusion portion row and the plurality of protrusion portions of the second protrusion portion row are disposed at different positions in the circumferential direction, in that the each of the plurality of protrusions along the circumferential direction is located at a different position. See, for example, Figures 12A, 19, and 24-27 of Harada et al.
With respect to claim 9, Harada et al. teaches the plurality of protrusion portions of the first protrusion portion row and the plurality of protrusion portions of the second protrusion portion row partially overlap with each other in the axial direction, as shown in Figures 12A, 19, and 24-27. Note that since the protrusions of Harada et al. fully overlap with each other in the axial direction, it meets the claim language of partially overlapping as broadly recited.
With respect to claim 11, it is noted that this language is a functional recitation of a desired mode of operation and the medium is not a positively required element of claim 1. MPEP 2114 (II) states that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” and that “a claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim.” Additionally, MPEP 2115 states that “the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” Thus, since the device of Harada et al. includes all of the structure as recited and is capable of operating in the manner recited, it meets the claim language. Regardless of that, it is also noted that Harada et al. teaches the provision of duplex printing (i.e. printing on both sides of the sheet) as described in paragraph [0065] of the English language translation and therefore is capable of providing the second surface to be a surface onto which liquid is discharged last and thereby meets the claim language.
With respect to claim 14, Harada et al. teaches a recording apparatus 1 comprising:
a recording unit 100 performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium M (as described in paragraphs [0054]-[0055]); and
the medium transportation device 280 according to claim 1 that transports the medium M on which the recording is performed by the recording unit.
With respect to claim 15, Harada et al. teaches a post-processing apparatus 200, 300 directly or indirectly coupled to a recording apparatus 100 performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium M (as described in paragraphs [0054]-[0055]), the post-processing apparatus comprising:
a post-processing unit 325 performing post-processing on the medium M on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus 100; and
the medium transportation device 280 according to claim 1 that transports, toward the post-processing unit 325, the medium M on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus 100.
With respect to claim 16, Harada et al. teaches a relay apparatus 200 that is disposed between a recording apparatus 100 performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium M and a post-processing apparatus 300 performing post-processing on the medium M on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus and that passes the medium from the recording apparatus 100 to the post-processing apparatus 300, the relay apparatus 200 comprising:
the medium transportation device 280 according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 17, Harada et al. teaches a recording system 1 comprising:
a recording apparatus 100 performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium; and
the post-processing apparatus 200, 300 according to claim 15 that is directly or indirectly coupled to the recording apparatus.
With respect to claim 18, Harada et al. teaches a recording system 1 comprising:
a recording apparatus 100 performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium;
a post-processing apparatus 300 performing post-processing on the medium M on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus 100; and
the relay apparatus 200 according to claim 16 that is disposed between the recording apparatus 100 and the post-processing apparatus 300 and that passes the medium M from the recording apparatus 100 to the post-processing apparatus 300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (JP 2018-8781 A) in view of Iesaki (US 2015/0277394 A1).
With respect to claims 3-4, Harada et al. teaches a medium transportation device having all of the structure as recited with the possible exception of including a phase defining unit defining a phase of rotation of the first uneven roller and a phase of rotation of the second uneven roller. However, the provision of a phase defining unit for determining rotation positions of rollers is well known in the art, as exemplified by the teaching of Iesaki. In particular, note that Iesaki teaches the use of a phase alignment sign (i.e., an optical sensor 75) mounted on the frame of a printing device 1 in combination with a rotary encoder disk 71 having phase alignment signs 71A mounted on the conveying roller 31 that allow a user to determine the rotation phase of the roller, as shown in Figures 1 and 3 in particular. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a phase defining unit including phase alignment signs provided at the first uneven roller, the second uneven roller, and the frame in the medium transportation device of Harada et al. to allow for efficient determination of the rotation phases of the rollers and provide better control and synchronization of the transportation roller pairs transporting the medium.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (JP 2018-8781 A).
With respect to claim 5, Harada et al. teaches various driving motors for driving the different rollers of the transportation device, as described, for example, in paragraphs [0146] and [0153], but is silent with respect to whether the first uneven roller and the second uneven roller are driven by one drive source. However, the provision of a single drive source or multiple drive sources for controlling conveying rollers is well known in the art. In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide any desired rollers (such as the first uneven roller and the second uneven roller) to be driven by a single drive source to allow for a less expensive and less complicated conveying structure.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (JP 2018-8781 A) in view of Shigeno et al. (US 8,538,316 B2).
With respect to claims 10 and 12, Harada et al. teaches a medium transportation device having all of the structure as recited with the exception of including a heating units heating at least one of the first uneven roller and the second uneven roller. Shigeno et al. teaches it is well known in the art to include a heating unit in a de-curling roller to improve the de-curling force applied to the medium. See, for example, the roller 20 which includes a heater 60, as described in column 14, lines 11-30 and shown in Figure 16 of Shigeno et al. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heating unit as taught by Shigeno et al. for heating one or both of the first uneven roller and the second uneven roller in Harada et al. to provide de-curling rollers with adjustable de-curling forces.
With respect to the language in claim 12 regarding the second surface being a surface onto which liquid is discharged last, note the previous comments with respect to this same language recited in claim 11.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (JP 2018-8781 A) in view of Onodera (US 11,697,292 B2).
With respect to claim 13, Harada et al. teaches a medium transportation device as recited with the exception of including a drying unit. Onodera teaches it is well known in the art to have an imaging system including a drying unit disposed upstream from a post-processing unit to more efficiently dry the medium as it is transported to the post-processing unit. See, for example, the dryer 6 provided in the image forming apparatus 100 located upstream of the post-processing apparatus 200 as shown in figure 1 of Onodera. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a drying unit as taught by Onodera in the medium transportation device of Harada et al. to allow for the efficient drying of the medium after printing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6 in particular, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a medium transportation device as recited, in combination with and particularly including, a first drive source rotating the first uneven roller; a second drive source rotating the second uneven roller; a detection unit detecting rotation of the first uneven roller and rotation of the second uneven roller; and a control unit controlling the first drive source and the second drive source, wherein the control unit controls driving of the first drive source and the second drive source such that a position where a protrusion portion of the first uneven roller comes into contact with the medium and a position where a protrusion portion of the second uneven roller comes into contact with the medium are made different from each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akiyama et al. (US 2021/0300066 A1) and Kuo (US 5,519,481) each teach a medium transportation device having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853