DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 14- 20 are Allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
1. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art made of record fails to teach the limitations underlined within the independent claims mentioned below.
Regarding Claim 14, An optical module used in a communication device, the optical module comprising: a first interface apparatus, a second interface apparatus, an optical signal transceiver apparatus, a control apparatus, and a power supply apparatus, wherein the first interface apparatus is connected to a connection apparatus and is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first electrical signal provided by the connection apparatus, or transmit, to the connection apparatus, a second electrical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit; the second interface apparatus is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and is connected to an external transmission medium, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first optical signal provided by the external transmission medium, or is configured to: transmit, to the external transmission medium, a second optical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the external transmission medium is configured to transmit the second optical signal; the optical signal transceiver apparatus is configured to: convert the first optical signal into the second electrical signal under control of the control apparatus, and then output the second electrical signal to the first interface apparatus; or convert the first electrical signal into the second optical signal under control of the control apparatus, and send the second optical signal by using the second interface apparatus; the power supply apparatus is configured to supply power to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and the control apparatus; and the control apparatus is configured to control the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly.
Regarding Claim 20, A communication device comprising: an optical module, wherein the optical module comprises a first interface apparatus, a second interface apparatus, an optical signal transceiver apparatus, a control apparatus, and a power supply apparatus, wherein the first interface apparatus is connected to a connection apparatus and is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first electrical signal provided by the connection apparatus, or transmit, to the connection apparatus, a second electrical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit; the second interface apparatus is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and is connected to an external transmission medium, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first optical signal provided by the external transmission medium, or is configured to: transmit, to the external transmission medium, a second optical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the external transmission medium is configured to transmit the second optical signal; the optical signal transceiver apparatus is configured to: convert the first optical signal into the second electrical signal under control of the control apparatus, and then output the second electrical signal to the first interface apparatus; or convert the first electrical signal into the second optical signal under control of the control apparatus, and send the second optical signal by using the second interface apparatus; the power supply apparatus is configured to supply power to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and the control apparatus; and the control apparatus is configured to control the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly.
Regarding Claim 14: Takemoto et al. teaches An optical module used in a communication device ( FIG. 2- OBK and Paragraph [0043]-“The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals…”), the optical module comprising: a first interface apparatus( FIG. 3 – OBK – LD connected to OFtx and LDD- AFEBK for transmission of signal…”) , a second interface apparatus FIG. 3 – OBK –PD connected to OFrx and TIA- AFEBK for receiving of signal…”), an optical signal transceiver apparatus( Paragraph [0044]- “… converts the electric signals to those of 25 Gbps.times.4 (4 channels) and transmits/receives the signals to/from AFEBK…”), a control apparatus( Paragraph [0043]- “ … a control circuit LDDCTL…”), and a power supply apparatus( FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0047]- “…LN1 is typically a wiring which transmits drive signals from LDD to LD or a wiring which supplies a power-supply …”) , wherein the first interface apparatus is connected to a connection apparatus ( FIG. 3 – OBK – LD connected to OFtx and LDD- AFEBK for transmission of signal And Paragraph [0043]- “The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals)…”) ,and is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( FIG. 2- AFEBK and Paragraph [0043]- “…The analog front end block AFEBK includes a laser diode driver circuit LDD which drives LD, a control circuit LDDCTL which controls driving power of LDD, and a transimpedance amplifier circuit TIA which amplifies a current signal from PD and converts the signal to a voltage signal. AFEBK herein is composed of one semiconductor chip. …”) , and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first electrical signal provided by the connection apparatus, or transmit, to the connection apparatus( FIG. 2- Electric Signal from SDC2 to OBK taught and Paragraphs [0040-0041]-“… an optical communication module OMDi which converts electric signals serving as input/output of LSI_LGi to optical signals and carries out input/output to/from the optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC. …”), a second electrical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( Paragraph [0044]- “… converts the electric signals to those of 25 Gbps.times.4 (4 channels) and transmits/receives the signals to/from AFEBK…”) , wherein the connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit( FIG. 1B – OF taught as printed circuit connection and further taught by Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC…”) ; the power supply apparatus is configured to supply power to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and the control apparatus ( FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0047]- “…LN1 is typically a wiring which transmits drive signals from LDD to LD or a wiring which supplies a power-supply voltage of a high-potential side or a low-potential side; …”) ; and the control apparatus is configured to control the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( Paragraph [0043]- “ … a control circuit LDDCTL which controls driving power of LDD,…”), wherein the optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly( FIG. 2 – OBK – optical module does not have CDR and no ODSP sub-assembly) .
But does not teach the limitations as mentioned within the claim: “ the second interface apparatus is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and is connected to an external transmission medium, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first optical signal provided by the external transmission medium, or is configured to: transmit, to the external transmission medium, a second optical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the external transmission medium is configured to transmit the second optical signal; the optical signal transceiver apparatus is configured to: convert the first optical signal into the second electrical signal under control of the control apparatus, and then output the second electrical signal to the first interface apparatus; or convert the first electrical signal into the second optical signal under control of the control apparatus, and send the second optical signal by using the second interface apparatus;”
Regarding Claim 20: Takemoto et al. teaches A communication device comprising: an optical module( FIG. 2- OBK and Paragraph [0043]-“The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals…”), wherein the optical module comprises a first interface apparatus( FIG. 3 – OBK – LD connected to OFtx and LDD- AFEBK for transmission of signal…”), a second interface apparatus(FIG. 3 – OBK –PD connected to OFrx and TIA- AFEBK for receiving of signal…”), an optical signal transceiver apparatus( Paragraph [0044]- “… converts the electric signals to those of 25 Gbps.times.4 (4 channels) and transmits/receives the signals to/from AFEBK…”), a control apparatus( Paragraph [0043]- “ … a control circuit LDDCTL…”), and a power supply apparatus( FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0047]- “…LN1 is typically a wiring which transmits drive signals from LDD to LD or a wiring which supplies a power-supply …”), wherein the first interface apparatus is connected to a connection apparatus and is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( FIG. 3 – OBK – LD connected to OFtx and LDD- AFEBK for transmission of signal And Paragraph [0043]- “The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals)…”), and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( FIG. 2- AFEBK and Paragraph [0043]- “…The analog front end block AFEBK includes a laser diode driver circuit LDD which drives LD, a control circuit LDDCTL which controls driving power of LDD, and a transimpedance amplifier circuit TIA which amplifies a current signal from PD and converts the signal to a voltage signal. AFEBK herein is composed of one semiconductor chip. …”), a first electrical signal provided by the connection apparatus, or transmit, to the connection apparatus( FIG. 2- Electric Signal from SDC2 to OBK taught and Paragraphs [0040-0041]-“… an optical communication module OMDi which converts electric signals serving as input/output of LSI_LGi to optical signals and carries out input/output to/from the optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC. …”), a second electrical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( Paragraph [0044]- “… converts the electric signals to those of 25 Gbps.times.4 (4 channels) and transmits/receives the signals to/from AFEBK…”), wherein the connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit( FIG. 1B – OF taught as printed circuit connection and further taught by Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC…”); the power supply apparatus is configured to supply power to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and the control apparatus ( FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0047]- “…LN1 is typically a wiring which transmits drive signals from LDD to LD or a wiring which supplies a power-supply voltage of a high-potential side or a low-potential side; …”); and the control apparatus is configured to control the optical signal transceiver apparatus ( Paragraph [0043]- “ … a control circuit LDDCTL which controls driving power of LDD,…”), wherein the optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly( FIG. 2 – OBK – optical module does not have CDR and no ODSP sub-assembly).
But does not teach the limitations as mentioned within the claim: “ the second interface apparatus is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and is connected to an external transmission medium, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, a first optical signal provided by the external transmission medium, or is configured to: transmit, to the external transmission medium, a second optical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the external transmission medium is configured to transmit the second optical signal; the optical signal transceiver apparatus is configured to: convert the first optical signal into the second electrical signal under control of the control apparatus, and then output the second electrical signal to the first interface apparatus; or convert the first electrical signal into the second optical signal under control of the control apparatus, and send the second optical signal by using the second interface apparatus;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being patentable over Takemoto et al. ( USPUB 20110249980) in view of Thacker et al. ( USPUB 20140270784).
As per claim 1, Takemoto et al. teaches A communication device ( FIG. 1 B and Paragraph [0014]- “ FIG. 1B illustrates the optical communication device …”) comprising: a processing module ( FIG. 2- SDC2 ( SerDes) and Paragraph [0042]) , at least one optical module ( FIG. 2- OBK and Paragraph [0043]-“The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals…”), and at least one connection apparatus ( FIG. 2- AFEBK AND Paragraph [0042-0043]- “…an analog front end block AFEBK, and an optical element block OBK. Herein, for example, LSI_LG is assumed to be composed of one semiconductor package,…”) , wherein each of the at least one optical module is connected to the processing module by using a corresponding one of the at least one connection apparatus ( FIG. 2- SDC2 connected to the OBK by the AFEBK and further taught within Paragraphs [0042-0043]) ; the processing module is configured to: provide a first electrical signal for each of the at least one optical module ( FIG. 2- Electric Signal from SDC2 to OBK taught and Paragraphs [0040-0041]-“… an optical communication module OMDi which converts electric signals serving as input/output of LSI_LGi to optical signals and carries out input/output to/from the optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC. …”) , or receive a second electrical signal provided by the at least one optical module ( FIG. 2 – Electrical Signal from AFEBK to OBK AND Paragraph [0043]- “…The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals). …”) ; each of the at least one optical module is configured to: convert the first electrical signal provided by the processing module into a second optical signal and then send the second optical signal ( FIG.2 and Paragraph [0042]- “… optical communication module OMD includes a transmission speed converter circuit SDC2, an analog front end block AFEBK, and an optical element block OBK….”) , or convert a received first optical signal into the second electrical signal and then provide the second electrical signal for the processing module ( FIG. 2 and Paragraph [0043]- “..the optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals)….”) ; and wherein the at least one connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit ( FIG. 1B – OF taught as printed circuit connection and further taught by Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC…”) , and each of the at least one optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly ( FIG. 2 – OBK – optical module does not have CDR and no ODSP sub-assembly) .
Takemoto et al. does not explicitly teach the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module is configured to: transmit the first electrical signal provided by the processing module to each of the at least one optical module, or transmit the second electrical signal provided by each of the at least one optical module to the processing module,
However, within analogous art, Thacker et al. teaches one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module is configured ( FIG. 1 – INTERCONNECT MODULE and Paragraph [0035]- “…FIG. 1, in some embodiments the optical source(s) (such as lasers or optical diodes) that power optical modulators in interconnect module 100 may optionally be placed outside interconnect module 100 (for example, in a cooler and/or a more thermally controlled environment), and the optical signals may be brought in on the one or more optical fibers. (In some embodiments, redundant optical power may also be provided to interconnect module 100 using a space fiber or an optical waveguide on bridge chip 120.) …”) to: transmit the first electrical signal provided by the processing module to each of the at least one optical module ( Paragraph [0026]- “…This interconnect module communicates electrical signals and optical signals. In particular, an integrated circuit in the interconnect module receives and transmits the electrical signals with other components in the system via an electrical connector. In addition, the integrated circuit receives and transmits electrical signals to a hybrid silicon-photonic bridge chip that performs electrical-to-optical and optical-to-electrical conversion….”) , or transmit the second electrical signal provided by each of the at least one optical module to the processing module ( Paragraphs [0027-0028]- “…an convert and output this electrical data as optical data on the optical fiber. Similarly, the interconnect module can accept received optical data and can output this optical data as electrical data that can be fed directly into the system. Therefore, the interconnect module can address the challenge of how to integrate optical communication into a viable electrical-connector-based system, and thus can provide direct I/O interconnects to chips in large-scale computing and switching systems….”) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Thacker et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical communication module and optical communication device mentioned by Takemoto et al. because the Stackable photonic interconnect module mentioned by Thacker et al. provides a method and system for implementation of photonic interconnect assembled for optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Stackable photonic interconnect module mentioned by Thacker et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical communication module and optical communication device mentioned by Takemoto et al. for implementing a system and method for photonic interconnect assembled for optical communication system.
As per claim 2,Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 1,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein the processing module comprises a serializer/deserializer apparatus ( FIG. 2- SDC2( SerDer) and Paragraph [0042]- “… FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration example of a logical device LSI_LG and an optical communication module OMD of the optical communication device of FIGS. 1A and 1B. In FIG. 2, the logical device LSI_LG includes a logical operation processor circuit LGC and a transmission speed converter circuit SDC1. The optical communication module OMD includes a transmission speed converter circuit SDC2,…”) , and each of the at least one optical module is connected to the serializer/deserializer apparatus by using the corresponding one of at least one connection apparatus ( FIG. 2- OBK block and Paragraph [0042]- “…an optical element block OBK. Herein, for example, LSI_LG is assumed to be composed of one semiconductor package, OMD is assumed to be composed of one module printed circuit board, …”) ; and the serializer/deserializer apparatus has an electrical signal medium-distance transmission capability (MR) or an electrical signal long-distance transmission capability (LR) ( FIG. 2- showing electrical signal transmission and teaches the speed capability within Paragraph [0042]- “…The transmission speed converter circuit SDC1 converts a transmission speed of signals input to or output from LGC and a transmission speed of signals input to or output from the outside of the logical device LSI_LG (i.e., OMD).”) .
As per claim 3, Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 1,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein each of the at least one optical module is detachably connected to the corresponding one of at least one connection apparatus ( FIG. 1B teaches the modules are within card connector that is known within the art to be detachable and taught within Paragraph [0039]- “…Each of the cards is connected to a card connector provided on a part called, for example, backplane BKP. Each card connector includes a connector for supplying electric power from BKP to the card and an optical connector (optical fiber connector) CNo for carrying out communication between the cards via optical communication lines (typically, optical fiber cables) OF. Herein, each of the interface cards IFC is connected to the switch card SWC via CNo and the optical communication line OF so as to enable communication between the communication connectors CNc belonging to respective IFC via SWC…”) .
As per claim 4, Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 1,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module further comprises a first connector; and the first connector is configured to connect the processing module and the coaxial cable or the flexible printed circuit ( FIG. 1B shown below teaching the Optical module ( OMDi) connector ( CNo) and the flexible printed circuit ( OF ) further taught within Paragraphs [0040-0041]) .
As per claim 5, Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 1,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module further comprises a connector; and the connector is configured to connect a corresponding one of the at least one optical module and the coaxial cable or the flexible printed circuit ( FIG. 1B shown below teaching the Optical module ( OMDi) connector ( CNo) and the flexible printed circuit ( OF ) further taught within Paragraphs [0040-0041]) ..
As per claim 6, Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 4,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein: the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module further comprises a second connector, and the second connector is configured to connect a corresponding one of the at least one optical module and the coaxial cable or the flexible printed circuit; the communication device further comprises a printed circuit board, wherein the processing module is disposed on the printed circuit board ( Paragraphs [0067-0068]- “FIG. 10A is a cross-sectional view illustrating an example of a schematic mounting structure of the optical communication device of FIG. 9, FIG. 10B is a cross-sectional view illustrating a structure example wherein part of the module printed circuit board of FIG. 10A is enlarged, and FIG. 10C is a cross-sectional view illustrating a structure example cut along A-A' of FIG. 10B. …”) ; the first connector is located on the processing module or the printed circuit board ( Paragraph [0068]- “…BD_MD is connected to a first surface of a card printed circuit board BD_CD corresponding to any of the cards (IFC, SWC) of FIGS. 1A and 1B via bumps BP3' formed on a second surface of BD_MD. As a result, part of BP2' is connected to part of BP3' via wiring LN2' in BD_MD. …”) ; and/or the second connector is located on the printed circuit board, or the second connector is fastened to the printed circuit board by using a fastening apparatus( FIGs 10A-10C teaches the connection/fastened via wiring to the modules within the semiconductor , further detailed within Paragraphs [0067-0068]) .
As per claim 7, Combination of Takemoto et al. and Thacker et al. teach claim 1,
Takemoto et al. teaches wherein a distance between each of the at least one optical module and the processing module is less than or equal to a preset distance threshold, and the preset distance threshold does not exceed 40 centimeters ( Paragraph [0054]- “… the accuracy as high as that of the transmission of a long distance on the order of, for example, kilometers is not required in the case of the optical communication device as illustrated in FIGS. 1A and 1B since the transmission therein is a short-distance transmission on the order of several tens of centimeters to meters….”) .
As per claim 13, Takemoto et al. teaches A communication system ( FIG. 1 B and Paragraph [0014]- “ FIG. 1B illustrates the optical communication device …”) comprising: a communication device and a first device, wherein the first device exchanges an optical signal with the communication device; wherein the communication device ( FIG. 1 B and Paragraph [0014]- “ FIG. 1B illustrates the optical communication device …”) comprises: a processing module( FIG. 2- SDC2 ( SerDes) and Paragraph [0042]), at least one optical module ( FIG. 2- OBK and Paragraph [0043]-“The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals…”), and at least one connection apparatus, wherein each of the at least one optical module is connected to the processing module by using a corresponding one of at least one connection apparatus( FIG. 2- SDC2 connected to the OBK by the AFEBK and further taught within Paragraphs [0042-0043]); the processing module is configured to: provide a first electrical signal for each of the at least one optical module ( FIG. 2- Electric Signal from SDC2 to OBK taught and Paragraphs [0040-0041]-“… an optical communication module OMDi which converts electric signals serving as input/output of LSI_LGi to optical signals and carries out input/output to/from the optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC. …”), or receive a second electrical signal provided by the of the at least one optical module ( FIG. 2 – Electrical Signal from AFEBK to OBK AND Paragraph [0043]- “…The optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals). …”); each optical module is configured to: convert the first electrical signal provided by the processing module into a second optical signal and then send the second optical signal ( FIG.2 and Paragraph [0042]- “… optical communication module OMD includes a transmission speed converter circuit SDC2, an analog front end block AFEBK, and an optical element block OBK….”), or convert a received first optical signal into a second electrical signal and then provide the second electrical signal for the processing module( FIG. 2 and Paragraph [0043]- “..the optical element block OBK includes a laser diode LD which carries out output to a transmitting optical communication line OFtx and a photodiode PD which converts optical signals input from a receiving optical communication line OFrx to electric signals (current signals)….”); and wherein the at least one connection apparatus comprises a coaxial cable or a flexible printed circuit( FIG. 1B – OF taught as printed circuit connection and further taught by Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…optical communication line OF via the optical connector CNo are mounted on each IFC…”), and each of the at least one optical module has no optical digital signal processing (ODSP) sub-assembly or clock data recovery (CDR) sub-assembly( FIG. 2 – OBK – optical module does not have CDR and no ODSP sub-assembly) .
Takemoto et al. does not explicitly teach the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module is configured to: transmit the first electrical signal provided by the processing module to each of the at least one optical module, or transmit the second electrical signal provided by each of the at least one optical module to the processing module,
However, within analogous art, Thacker et al. teaches the at least one connection apparatus corresponding to each of the at least one optical module is configured ( FIG. 1 – INTERCONNECT MODULE and Paragraph [0035]- “…FIG. 1, in some embodiments the optical source(s) (such as lasers or optical diodes) that power optical modulators in interconnect module 100 may optionally be placed outside interconnect module 100 (for example, in a cooler and/or a more thermally controlled environment), and the optical signals may be brought in on the one or more optical fibers. (In some embodiments, redundant optical power may also be provided to interconnect module 100 using a space fiber or an optical waveguide on bridge chip 120.) …”) to: transmit the first electrical signal provided by the processing module to each of the at least one optical module ( Paragraph [0026]- “…This interconnect module communicates electrical signals and optical signals. In particular, an integrated circuit in the interconnect module receives and transmits the electrical signals with other components in the system via an electrical connector. In addition, the integrated circuit receives and transmits electrical signals to a hybrid silicon-photonic bridge chip that performs electrical-to-optical and optical-to-electrical conversion….”) , or transmit the second electrical signal provided by each of the at least one optical module to the processing module ( Paragraphs [0027-0028]- “…an convert and output this electrical data as optical data on the optical fiber. Similarly, the interconnect module can accept received optical data and can output this optical data as electrical data that can be fed directly into the system. Therefore, the interconnect module can address the challenge of how to integrate optical communication into a viable electrical-connector-based system, and thus can provide direct I/O interconnects to chips in large-scale computing and switching systems….”) ,
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Thacker et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical communication module and optical communication device mentioned by Takemoto et al. because the Stackable photonic interconnect module mentioned by Thacker et al. provides a method and system for implementation of photonic interconnect assembled for optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Stackable photonic interconnect module mentioned by Thacker et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical communication module and optical communication device mentioned by Takemoto et al. for implementing a system and method for photonic interconnect assembled for optical communication system.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 8,9,10,11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 8, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 8: “…the second interface apparatus is connected to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and is connected to an external transmission medium, and is configured to: transmit, to the optical signal transceiver apparatus, the first optical signal provided by the external transmission medium, or is configured to: transmit, to the external transmission medium, the second optical signal provided by the optical signal transceiver apparatus, wherein the external transmission medium is configured to transmit the second optical signal; the optical signal transceiver apparatus is configured to: convert the first optical signal into the second electrical signal under control of the control apparatus, and then output the second electrical signal to the first interface apparatus; or convert the first electrical signal into the second optical signal under control of the control apparatus, and send the second optical signal by using the second interface apparatus; the power supply apparatus is configured to supply power to the optical signal transceiver apparatus and the control apparatus; and the control apparatus is configured to control the optical signal transceiver apparatus.”
As to claims 9,10 and 12 , The following claims depend objected allowable claim 8, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 11 , The following claims depend objected allowable claim 9, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635