Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: 1) “heating unit” in claim 12; 2) “recording unit” in claim 13; and 3) “post-processing unit” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Publication No. 59-69331 (hereinafter “JP’331”).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-4 show a medium transportation device (Fig. 1) transporting a medium (8) onto which liquid is discharged, the medium transportation device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a transportation roller pair (including 2 and 6) that nips and transports the medium (8), wherein the transportation roller pair (including 2 and 6) includes a first uneven roller (2) of which a surface coming into contact with the medium (8) is provided with protrusions and recesses (see elements 22-24), and
a second uneven roller (6) that is a roller disposed to face the first uneven roller (2) and of which a surface coming into contact with the medium (8) is provided with protrusions and recesses (see elements 32-34), and
a protrusion portion (e.g., 24) of one (2) of the first uneven roller (2) and the second uneven roller (6) faces a recess portion of another (6) of the first uneven roller (2) and the second uneven roller (6).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 shows that a gap is provided between a protrusion portion (24) of the first uneven roller (2) and a protrusion portion (34) of the second uneven roller (6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’331 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,918,069 (Brown, Jr. et al.) (hereinafter “Brown”). With regard to claim 2, JP’331 shows that the rollers (2 and 6) are driven, but does not show any first or second gears, as claimed.
Brown shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium transportation device (Fig. 1) with a first gear (37) provided at a first roller (including 22 and 28); and a second gear (37’) provided at a second uneven roller (including 25’ and 23), wherein the first gear (37) and the second gear (37’) mesh with each other, for the purpose of driving the first and second rollers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the apparatus of JP’331 with first and second gears, for the purpose of driving the first and second rollers, as shown in Brown.
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’331 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,607,836 (Miyasaka) (hereinafter “Mikasaka”). JP’331 teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, except for a heating unit, as claimed.
Miyasaka teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a roller pair (including 5a and 5) in a photocopier for conveying sheets in the photocopier. Also, lines 62-67 in column 1 teach that “As is well known, the ambient temperature around the copying machine tends to rise partly due to the heat emitted by the working machine, and also to the climatic factor. It is therefore unavoidable for the feed rollers 105 and input pulley 105b to be subjected to a rising temperature.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the roller arrangement of JP’331 in a photocopier because Miyasaka explicitly shows that it is common in the art to utilize roller pairs to convey sheets in photocopiers. Utiliziing the roller pair arrangement of JP’331, in a photocopier, in a manner as taught by Fig. 2 and column 1, lines 62-67 of Miyasaka, results in the roller pair being heated, as claimed.
6. Claims 1, 4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0198370 (Harada et al.) (hereinafter “Harada”) in view of JP’331.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-2 of Harada show a medium transportation device (Fig. 2) transporting a medium (P) onto which liquid is discharged, the medium transportation device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a transportation roller pair (e.g., 68) that nips and transports the medium (P), wherein the transportation roller pair (68) includes a first roller (one roller 68), and
a second roller (other roller 68) that is a roller disposed to face the first roller (one roller 68) and of which a surface coming into contact with the medium (P). Harada teaches the medium transportation device (Fig. 2) with the first and second rollers (68), but does not show that the first and second rollers (68) have protrusions and recesses, as claimed.
JP’331 shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a medium transportation device (Fig. 1) with a transportation roller pair (including 2 and 6) that nips and transports the medium (8), wherein the transportation roller pair (including 2 and 6) includes a first uneven roller (2) of which a surface coming into contact with the medium (8) is provided with protrusions and recesses (see elements 22-24), and
a second uneven roller (6) that is a roller disposed to face the first uneven roller (2) and of which a surface coming into contact with the medium (8) is provided with protrusions and recesses (see elements 32-34), and
a protrusion portion (e.g., 24) of one (2) of the first uneven roller (2) and the second uneven roller (6) faces a recess portion of another (6) of the first uneven roller (2) and the second uneven roller (6). Page 1 of the machine translation of JP’331 teaches that the roller pair with protrusions and recesses provides a simple paper feeder with excellent paper feed accuracy. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Harada apparatus with a roller pair having protrusions and recesses, for the purpose of providing a simple paper feeder with excellent paper feed accuracy, as taught by JP’331.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 of JP’331 shows that a gap is provided between a protrusion portion (24) of the first uneven roller (2) and a protrusion portion (34) of the second uneven roller (6).
Regarding claim 13, Figs. 1-2 of Harada show a recording apparatus comprising:
a recording unit (20) performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium (P); and
the medium transportation device (Fig. 2) according to claim 1 that transports the medium (P) on which the recording is performed by the recording unit (20).
Regarding claim 14, Figs. 1-2 of Harada show a post-processing apparatus (including 42) directly or indirectly coupled to a recording apparatus (2) performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium, the post-processing apparatus (including 42) comprising:
a post-processing unit (42) performing post-processing on the medium (P) on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus (2); and
the medium transportation device (Fig. 2) according to claim 1 that transports, toward the post-processing unit (including 42), the medium (P) on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus (2).
Regarding claim 15, Figs. 1-2 of Harada show a relay apparatus (50) that is disposed between a recording apparatus (2) performing recording by discharging liquid onto a medium and a post-processing apparatus (including 42) performing post-processing (e.g., stitching) on the medium (P) on which the recording is performed by the recording apparatus (2) and that passes the medium (P) from the recording apparatus (2) to the post-processing apparatus (5), the relay apparatus (50) comprising:
the medium transportation device (Fig. 2) according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3 and 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653