DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on May 12, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 10-20 are cancelled; claims 5, 8, 9 and 21-26 are hereby examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100012280 to Hans et al. (hereinafter “Hans”) in view of US 3957102 to Kempel in view of US 3246684 to Rudnick in view of US 9234376 to Trulaske, Sr. in view of US 3672424 to Brown in view of US 20210396057 to Spork in view of US 3085298 to Metzger.
Hans discloses a frame and flexible sheet system for an opening to a space, comprising:
a top lineal track body 42 (see FIG. 1) with a side that faces a space;
a bottom lineal track body 44 (see FIG. 1)
a first assembly component and a second assembly component, (see Fig. 13c; each assembly component is on a side within the frame) wherein each assembly component comprises:
an articulating frame segment pair; (see annotated figure below)
an engagement and rolling component 96 (see FIG. 7a and [0082]) for a first top corner of the articulating frame segment pair, configured to roll within the top lineal track body, and whereby the articulating frame segment pair hangs; and
an engagement and pivoting component 50 for a second top corner of the articulating frame segment pair configured to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair;
a swinging fame segment (see annotated figure below) engaged via a hinge to the articulating frame segment pair of the first assembly component or the second assembly component, the swinging frame segment configured as a door;
wherein the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component comprises a first frame segment comprising the first top corner, and wherein the first top corner hangs from the engagement and rolling component; (see annotated figure below)
wherein the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component comprises a second frame segment comprising the second top corner, and wherein the second frame segment hangs from the engagement and pivoting component. (see annotated figure below)
Hans fails to disclose an engagement and pivoting component for a second top corner of the articulating frame segment pair, configured for sliding onto and along a bottom side of the top lineal track body and to be tightened to clamp to the bottom side to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair; and
a bottom lineal track insert, configured to be received by the bottom lineal track body, and configured to anchor a bottom corner of the articulating frame segment pair to the bottom lineal track body and to set the pivot axis.
Kempel teaches of a frame and flexible sheet system that includes an engagement and pivoting component 18,20 for a second top corner of the articulating frame segment pair, configured for sliding onto and along a bottom side of the top lineal track body 14 and to be tightened to clamp to the bottom side to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair. (see FIGS. 1-7 and col. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engagement and pivoting component disclosed in Hans with the engagement and pivoting component taught in Kempel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for detachment of the articulating frame segment pair from an opening jamb and therefore allow for additional positioning of each articulating frame segment pair along at least the top lineal track body.
Rudnick teaches of a bottom lineal track insert 46-48, configured to be received by a bottom slot body, and configured to anchor a bottom corner of the panel to the bottom slot body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a bottom lineal track insert to Hans, as taught by Rudnick with a reasonable expectation of success for aesthetic reasons, to facilitate engagement and disengagement of the articulating frame segment pair with the bottom lineal track body; thus allowing for various positioning of the articulating frame segment pair along the bottom lineal track body, and since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (see MPEP 2144.06 II)
Furthermore, by combining the teachings of Rudnick in view of Hans, Has, as applied above, further discloses wherein the bottom lineal track body defines a track groove, wherein the track groove is on a top side of the bottom lineal track body, (see Fig. 6 of Hans) and wherein the bottom lineal track insert is configured to be received by the track groove to set the pivot axis of the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component; (see FIG. 4 of Rudnick) and
wherein the bottom corner comprises a bolt mechanism with a retractable bolt 49, and wherein the retractable bolt is configured to be received by the bottom lineal track insert to set the pivot axis. (see FIG. 4 and col. 3 of Rudnick)
Hans fails to disclose a top weather-stripping lineal attached to a first side of the top lineal track body.
Trulaske, Sr. teaches of a top weather-stripping lineal 44, 36 attached to a first side of a top lineal track body 48. (see FIG. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the top lineal track body disclosed in Hans with the top weather-stripping lineal taught in Trulaske, Sr. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent dirt and debris from passing around and over the assembly component.
Hans fails to disclose a bottom weather-stripping lineal for each frame segment of each assembly component.
Brown teaches of a bottom weather-stripping lineal 11 attached to a frame segment 1 of the assembly component. (see FIGS. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine each frame segment of the assembly component disclosed in Hans with a bottom weather-stripping lineal taught in Brown with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent dirt and debris from passing around and below the assembly component.
Hans fails to disclose the hinge engaging the swinging frame segment to the articulating frame segment pair is a butt hinge.
Spork teaches of a butt hinge 13 between a first frame segment and a second frame segment. (see FIG. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge disclosed in Hans with the butt hinge taught in Spork with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate assembly and movement of the articulating frame segment pair as well as since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Although Hans discloses a glass panel 14 for each frame segment and notes that, besides glass, “other transparent or translucent materials may also be used, including but not limited to, acrylic and vinyl,” (see [0062] of Hans) Hans fails to disclose wherein each frame segment of each assembly component comprises a replaceable flexible sheet or panel, and wherein each frame segment of each assembly component further comprises a spline groove and a removable spline, the spline groove configured to receive the removable spline for holding a portion of the replaceable flexible sheet.
Metzger teaches of a frame segment 9 comprising a replaceable flexible sheet or panel 16, and wherein the frame segment further comprises a spline groove 15 and a removable spline 17, the spline groove configured to receive the removable spline for holding a portion of the replaceable flexible sheet. (see FIGS. 1 and 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each Hans frame segment with the flexible sheet, spline groove and removable spline, as taught in Metzger with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for air to pass through the frame and flexible sheet system; thus ventilating the spaces in front and behind the frame and flexible sheet system. (claim 5)
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans in view of Kempel in view of Rudnick in view of Trulaske, Sr. in view of Brown in view of Spork in view of Metzger, as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of US 3479682 to McNinch.
Hans, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the top lineal track body defines an internal wheel track and a track groove, wherein the track groove is on the bottom side of the top lineal track body, and wherein the engagement and rolling component is configured to roll within the top lineal track body along the internal wheel track.
McNinch teaches wherein the top lineal track body (houses wheels 20 and is attached to door frame 24; see FIG. 3) defines an internal wheel track (with the wheel therein) and a track groove (between the two internal wheel tracks with element 14 passing therethrough; see FIG. 3), wherein the track groove is on the bottom side of the top lineal track body, and wherein the engagement and rolling component 10 is configured to roll within the top lineal track body along the internal wheel track. (see FIGS. 1 and 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top lineal track body disclosed in Hans with the top lineal track body taught in McNinch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate engagement of the wheels of the engagement and rolling component with the top lineal track body and to facilitate assembly of the engagement and rolling component with the top lineal track body. (claim 8)
Hans, as applied above, further discloses wherein the engagement and rolling component comprises an engagement prong 14 configured to extend through the bottom side of the top lineal track body via the track groove, and wherein the first top corner is configured to receive and securely latch (via latch 16) the engagement prong such that the first top corner hangs from the engagement and rolling component. (see FIGS. 2-4) (claim 9)
[AltContent: textbox (Second assembly component)][AltContent: textbox (First assembly component)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First frame segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Swinging frame segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hans in view of Kempel in view of Rudnick in view of Trulaske, Sr. in view of Brown in view of Metzger.
Hans discloses a frame and flexible sheet system for an opening to a space, comprising:
a. a top lineal track body 42 (see FIG. 1) with a first side facing the space;
b. a bottom lineal track body 44 (see FIG. 1)
c. a first assembly component and a second assembly component, (see FIG. 13c; each assembly component is on a side within the frame) wherein each assembly component comprises:
i. an articulating frame segment pair; (see annotated figure above)
ii. a bottom weather-stripping lineal for each frame segment of each assembly
component;
iii. an engagement and rolling component 96 (see FIG. 7a and [0082]) for a first top corner of the articulating frame segment pair, configured to roll within the top lineal track
body, and whereby the articulating frame segment pair hangs;
iv. an engagement and pivoting component 50 for a second top corner of the
articulating frame segment pair configured to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair, and
d. a swinging frame segment (see annotated figure above) engaged to the articulating frame segment pair of the first assembly component or the second assembly component, the swinging frame segment configured as a door. (claim 21)
Hans fails to disclose
the top lineal track body having a top weather-stripping lineal attached to a first side of the top lineal track body
the bottom lineal track body defining a track groove on a top side of the bottom lineal track body;
iv. an engagement and pivoting component for a second top corner of the
articulating frame segment pair, configured for sliding onto and along a bottom side of the top lineal track body and to be tightened to clamp to the bottom side to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair, and whereby the articulating frame segment pair hangs;
v. a bottom lineal track insert configured to be received by the track groove of
the bottom lineal track body, and configured to anchor a bottom corner of the articulating frame segment pair to the bottom lineal track body, to set the pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair; and
wherein each frame segment of each assembly component comprises a replaceable flexible sheet or panel, and wherein each frame segment of each assembly component further
comprises a spline groove and a removable spline, the spline groove configured to receive
the removable spline for holding a portion of the replaceable flexible sheet.
Kempel teaches of a frame and flexible sheet system that includes an engagement and pivoting component 18,20 for a second top corner of the articulating frame segment pair, configured for sliding onto and along a bottom side of the top lineal track body 14 and to be tightened to clamp to the bottom side to fix a pivot axis for the articulating frame segment pair. (see FIGS. 1-7 and col. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engagement and pivoting component disclosed in Hans with the engagement and pivoting component taught in Kempel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for detachment of the articulating frame segment pair from an opening jamb and allow for additional positioning of each articulating frame segment pair along at least the top lineal track body.
Rudnick teaches of a bottom lineal track insert 46-48, configured to be received by a bottom slot body, and configured to anchor a bottom corner of the panel to the bottom slot body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a bottom lineal track insert to Hans, as taught by Rudnick with a reasonable expectation of success for aesthetic reasons, to facilitate engagement and disengagement of the articulating frame segment pair with the bottom lineal track body; thus allowing for various positioning of the articulating frame segment pair along the bottom lineal track body, and since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (see MPEP 2144.06 II)
Furthermore, by combining the teachings of Rudnick in view of Hans, Has, as applied above, further discloses wherein the bottom lineal track body defines a track groove, wherein the track groove is on a top side of the bottom lineal track body, (see Fig. 6 of Hans) and wherein the bottom lineal track insert is configured to be received by the track groove to set the pivot axis of the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component; (see FIG. 4 of Rudnick) and
wherein the bottom corner comprises a bolt mechanism with a retractable bolt 49, and wherein the retractable bolt is configured to be received by the bottom lineal track insert to set the pivot axis. (see FIG. 4 and col. 3 of Rudnick)
Trulaske, Sr. teaches of a top weather-stripping lineal 44, 36 attached to a first side of a top lineal track body 48. (see FIG. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the top lineal track body disclosed in Hans with the top weather-stripping lineal taught in Trulaske, Sr. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent dirt and debris from passing around and over the assembly component.
Hans fails to disclose a bottom weather-stripping lineal for each frame segment of each assembly component.
Brown teaches of a bottom weather-stripping lineal 11 attached to a frame segment 1 of the assembly component. (see FIGS. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine each frame segment of the assembly component disclosed in Hans with a bottom weather-stripping lineal taught in Brown with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent dirt and debris from passing around and below the assembly component.
Metzger teaches of a frame segment 9 comprising a replaceable flexible sheet or panel 16, and wherein the frame segment further comprises a spline groove 15 and a removable spline 17, the spline groove configured to receive the removable spline for holding a portion of the replaceable flexible sheet. (see FIGS. 1 and 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each Hans frame segment with the flexible sheet, spline groove and removable spline, as taught in Metzger with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for air to pass through the frame and flexible sheet system; thus ventilating the spaces in front and behind the frame and flexible sheet system. (claim 21)
Hans, as applied above, further discloses wherein the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component comprises a first frame segment comprising the first top corner, and wherein the first top corner hangs from the engagement and rolling component. (see annotated figure above) (claim 22)
Hans, as applied above, further discloses wherein the articulating frame segment pair of each assembly component comprises a second frame segment comprising the second top corner, and wherein the second frame segment hangs from the engagement and pivoting component. (see annotated figure above) (claim 23)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans in view of Kempel in view of Rudnick in view of Trulaske, Sr. in view of Brown in view of Metzger, as applied to claim 21 above.
Hans, as applied above, fails to disclose the bottom corner comprises a bolt mechanism with a retractable bolt, and wherein the retractable bolt is configured to be received by the bottom lineal track insert to set the pivot axis.
Rudnick teaches of the bottom corner comprises a bolt mechanism with a retractable bolt 49, and wherein the retractable bolt is configured to be received by the bottom lineal track insert to set the pivot axis. (see FIG. 4 and col. 3 of Rudnick)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Hans bottom corner with the retractable bolt taught in Rudnick with a reasonable expectation of success in order to set the vertical position of the bottom linear track insert. (claim 24)
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hans in view of Kempel in view of Rudnick in view of Trulaske, Sr. in view of Brown in view of Metzger, as applied to claim 21 above, in further view of US 3479682 to McNinch.
Hans, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the top lineal track body defines an internal wheel track and a track groove, wherein the track groove is on the bottom side of the top lineal track body, and wherein the engagement and rolling component is configured to roll within the top lineal track body along the internal wheel track.
McNinch teaches wherein the top lineal track body (houses wheels 20 and is attached to door frame 24; see FIG. 3) defines an internal wheel track (with the wheel therein) and a track groove (between the two internal wheel tracks with element 14 passing therethrough; see FIG. 3), wherein the track groove is on the bottom side of the top lineal track body, and wherein the engagement and rolling component 10 is configured to roll within the top lineal track body along the internal wheel track. (see FIGS. 1 and 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top lineal track body disclosed in Hans with the top lineal track body taught in McNinch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate engagement of the wheels of the engagement and rolling component with the top lineal track body and to facilitate assembly of the engagement and rolling component with the top lineal track body. (claim 25)
Hans, as applied above, further discloses wherein the engagement and rolling component comprises an engagement prong 14 configured to extend through the bottom side of the top lineal track body via the track groove, and wherein the first top corner is configured to receive and securely latch (via latch 16) the engagement prong such that the first top corner hangs from the engagement and rolling component. (see FIGS. 2-4) (claim 26)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 5 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Please see the citation of the Kempel reference above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634