DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 03/14/2024, claims 1-21 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 03/14/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 201711128511.1 with the priority date 11/15/2017. The US publication “US 2020/0323016” is being used as a translated version in English in this Office Action) in view of Byun et al. (US 2019/0037631 A1), and further in view of Lim et al (US 2020/0196374 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Zhang discloses a radio link control (RLC) failure processing method (See Fig 4: The logical channel reconstruction operation performed by the DU includes, but is not limited to, a reconstruction operation of related RLC entities, ¶ [0059]), performed by a central unit (CU) in a CU-distributed unit (DU) architecture, the method comprising:
sending a first message to the DU, wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the Radio Bearer (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer/link) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); and
receiving a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 2; Zhang in view of Lim the method wherein comprising: sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to a terminal device, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the CellGroupConfig (Lim: Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Regarding claim 3; Zhang teaches the method wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 4; Zhang teaches the method wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, and the second message is a response message of the UE context modification request message (Zhang: sending the layer 2 reset indication information or the synchronization reconfiguration indication information to the DU through one indication bit in a UE context modification message. See Zhang’s claim 3).
Regarding claim 5; Zhang discloses a radio link control (RLC) failure processing method (See Fig 4: The logical channel reconstruction operation performed by the DU includes, but is not limited to, a reconstruction operation of related RLC entities, ¶ [0059]), performed by a distributed unit (DU) in a CU-DU architecture, the method comprising:
receiving a first message from the CU, wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); performing layer 2 (L2) handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., receiving message for handling L2) sent by the DU. ¶ [0058]); and
sending a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 6; Zhang teaches the method wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 7; Zhang teaches the method wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, and the second message is a response message of the UE context modification request message (Zhang: sending the layer 2 reset indication information or the synchronization reconfiguration indication information to the DU through one indication bit in a UE context modification message. See Zhang’s claim 3).
Regarding claim 8; Zhang teaches a communications apparatus for a central unit (CU) in a CU-distributed unit (DU), architecture, comprising: at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations including:
generating a first message wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the Radio Bearer; sending the first message to the DU (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer/link) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); and
receiving a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 9; Zhang in view of Lim the communications apparatus wherein comprising: sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to a terminal device, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the CellGroupConfig (Lim: Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Regarding claim 10; Zhang teaches the communications apparatus wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 11; Zhang teaches the communications apparatus wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, and the second message is a response message of the UE context modification request message (Zhang: sending the layer 2 reset indication information or the synchronization reconfiguration indication information to the DU through one indication bit in a UE context modification message. See Zhang’s claim 3).
Regarding claim 12; Zhang teaches a communications apparatus (130) for a distributed unit (DU) in a central unit (CU)-DU, architecture, comprising: at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations including:
receiving a first message from the CU, wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); performing layer 2 (L2) handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., receiving message for handling L2) sent by the DU. ¶ [0058]); and
sending a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 13; Zhang teaches the communications apparatus wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 14; Zhang teaches the communications apparatus wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, and the second message is a response message of the UE context modification request message (Zhang: sending the layer 2 reset indication information or the synchronization reconfiguration indication information to the DU through one indication bit in a UE context modification message. See Zhang’s claim 3).
Regarding claim 15; Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
generating a first message wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the Radio Bearer; sending the first message to the DU (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer/link) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); and
receiving a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 16; Zhang in view of Lim the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations wherein comprising: sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to a terminal device, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the CellGroupConfig (Lim: Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Regarding claim 17; Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 18; Zhang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, the second message is a UE context modification response message. (Zhang:See Fig. 4: see steps S42-S44 and ¶. [0077]-¶. [0084]).
Regarding claim 19; Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first message from the CU, wherein the first message comprising one identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (See Figs. 3 and 4: Step 301: sending channel reconstruction indication information (i.e., the first message) to the DU. The channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer (i.e., the ID of the radio bearer) on which the logical channel (i.e., layer 2) needs to be reconstructed/changed and instruct the DU to perform the logical channel reconstruction operation on the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reconstructed. ¶. [0058-0059]); performing layer 2 (L2) handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., receiving message for handling L2) sent by the DU. ¶ [0058]); and
sending a second message from the DU, wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration of the L2 handling (See Fig. 3: step 302: Step 302: receiving the new logical channel identification information (i.e., second message for handling L2) sent by the DU. The new logical channel identification information may be carried in a response message sent by the DU to the CU, for subsequent use by the UE. When receiving the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU, the CU may receive the new logical channel identification information sent by the DU in the RRC container mode, that is, the DU may send the new logical channel identification information in the RRC container mode. ¶. [0161-0162]).
Even though, Zhang discloses sending the channel reconstruction indication information is used to indicate the bearer, Zhang doesn’t explicitly provide using a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure.
However, BYUN further teaches a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure (BYUN: the DU of the base station may receive information on a failed radio bearer from the CU of the base station. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a cause. The information on the failed radio bearer may include a list of a radio bearer which is failed to be modified. The list of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified may include an ID of the radio bearer which is failed to be modified. ¶. [0112]. Notes: The DU configuration for each requested radio bearer may include an RLC configuration that encompasses that the failure of Radio Bearer is the failure of RLC. See also ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a identity of a logical channel (LCID) with the RLC failure as taught by BYUN to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide to decide to modify the radio bearer for the user equipment; control the transceiver to transmit information on the radio bearer to a CU of the base station; control the transceiver to receive information on an accepted radio bearer from the CU of the base station; and modify the accepted radio bearer. BYUN: ¶. [0006].
Neither Zhang nor BYUN explicitly states the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration.
However, LIM discloses the method wherein the second message comprises a cell group configuration (LIM: See Fig. 5: the bearer configuration 500 (i.e., second message) may be considered as a data radio bearer (DRB) 510 with Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and above protocol layers as the main “bearer or DRB” with one more logical channels of RLC and below such as Logical Channel 512 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 1, Logical Channel 514 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 2, Logical Channel 516 (RLC and below) for Cell Group 3, and so on, as shown in FIG. 5. ¶. [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the second message comprises a cell group configuration as taught by LIM to have incorporated in the system of Zhang, so that it would provide that a logical channel also may be suspended for any reason, such as cell is not Active, or a cell is released, while communication can continue over the other logical channels. The suspended logical channel configuration 518 may be later “revived” or cleared or transferred to another cell group. LIM: ¶. [0138].
Regarding claim 20; Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising wherein the L2 handling comprises at least one of: RLC re-establishment (Zhang: The response message may also carry a downlink transmission address (such as a tunnel identifier) that the DU is newly allocated to the bearer on which the logical channel needs to be reestablished. ¶ [0109]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 21; Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) context modification request message, and the second message is a response message of the UE context modification request message (Zhang: sending the layer 2 reset indication information or the synchronization reconfiguration indication information to the DU through one indication bit in a UE context modification message. See Zhang’s claim 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2018/0368109 A1); and
Zhang et al. (US 2016/00338136 A1).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416