DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-18 are objected to because of the following reasons, and appropriate correction is required.
-Each of claims 8, 11 and 14 recites the limitation “the logic circuit”. Said limitation is lack of antecedent basis. It suggests, and hereafter assumed, that in the claim, the limitation “The electronic device as claimed in claim 6” is changed to -- The electronic device as claimed in claim 7--.
-Claim(s), (if any) depended on above claims, are therefore also objected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Homchaudhuri et al (2015/0346807).
-Regarding claim 1, Homchaudhuri et al teaches an electronic device “wireless communication device 115-b”, [0071]), the device (see figure 6B) comprising:
a modem (605, 610, 615, 630) performed for a modulation scheme (represented by “MCS”, [0004] or “modem 515”, [0056]) and, configured to receive, via (605), a control signal (“control information”, [0069]), and send out, via (610), a resource request (being a communication signal comprising the control signal from (610) to (620-a) based on the control signal (see [0046, 0069, 0074]) when the modem determines to operate in a dynamic mode (“desired power mode” , [0074]) for scheduling to turn on/off a plurality of resources (referred to “components thereof”, [0069]) (see [0054, 0069, 0074]); and
a system power controller (620-a), configured to receive the resource request from the modem, and to supply, in accordance to a power scheme (“power scheme”, [0074]), power (“voltages and/or currents”, [0069]) to at least one of the plurality of resources based on the resource request (see [0069, 0074]),
wherein the modem comprises a modem power controller (630), configured to determine, for each of the plurality of resources, whether to operate in the dynamic mode (see [0069, 0074]), and output an enabled signal (represented by the power scheme outputted from the modem power controller), based on the determination for each of the plurality of resources (see [0069, 0074]),
wherein the control signal is generated based on different requirements on each of the plurality of resources, in a manner that the control signal comprises a modulation and coding scheme (MSC) value (“modulation and coding scheme (MSC) value”, [0014]), e.g., a MSC value (“MCS6”, [0051]), which indicates requirements (being required power status) on each of the plurality of resources (see [0051]) .
-Regarding claim 3, Homchaudhuri et al teaches that the control signal is generated by base station (“base station 135”, [0038]) with a processor (“processor”, [0098]) executing dynamic resource-control software (“software”, [0098]) being a software for dynamic resource control (see [0012, 0038, 0098]).
-Regarding claim 4, Homchaudhuri et al teaches that each of the resources can be, or namely can comprise, a bus phase-locked loop (PLL) (“PLL”, 0051]), a clock (“XTAL”, [0051]) or a power management integrated circuit (“LDO”, [0051]), (see [0051]).
-Regarding claim 5, Homchaudhuri et al teaches that the modem is configured to receive configurations (being the control signal) from a base station (“base station 135”, [0038]) through a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (“PDCCH”, [0012]) , (see [0012, 0038]).
-Regarding claim 6, Homchaudhuri et al teaches that the modem power controller is configurable to: output the enabled signal for at least one of the plurality of resources when determining to operate in the dynamic mode (see [0069, 0074]); and output the disabled signal (being power down signal(s)) for the one of the plurality of resources (referred to “certain components”, [0037]) to power down the one of the plurality of resources when determining to operate in a static mode (“network sleep mode”, [0037]) (see [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-18 would be allowable if rewritten, as suggested, to overcome the objection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHUONG PHU/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632