DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hisler (2011/0036130). In regard to claims 1 and 7, Hisler discloses a protection device comprising first and second tube structures shaped to engage at least a portion of a device to be protected and attachable to a vehicle frame (Fig. 1, end portions of item 105), and first and second wire ropes encased within the first and second tube structures (Fig. 1, item 113), and wherein at least a portion of the first and second tube structures hides the wire rope from view (Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 2 and 7, Hisler discloses wherein the first and second tube structures includes one or more curvatures to surround at least a portion of the device to be protected (Fig. 1, item 111).
In regard to claim 3, Hisler discloses wherein the tube structure includes one or more attachment plates to attach the tube structure to a mounting structure (Fig. 1, item 109).
In regard to claim 4, Hisler discloses wherein the one or more curvatures of the tube structure are configured to prevent removal of the device to be protected when the one or more attachment plates are attached to the mounting structure (paragraph 21).
In regard to claim 5, Hisler discloses wherein the device to be protected is a catalytic converter and the mounting structure is a portion of a vehicle frame, wherein the one or more curvatures of the tube structure are configured to surround the catalytic converter to prevent removal when the one or more attachment plates are mounted to the vehicle frame (paragraphs 3, 15, and 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisler (2011/0036130) as applied to claims 1 – 5 and 7 above. Hisler does not disclose the dimensions recited in claim 6. In regard to claim 6, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide components sized as recited in claim 6, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Hisler (2011/0036130) discloses a protection similar to the instant invention; however Hisler, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a protection device wherein the first tube structure has a U shape. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dusa (8,453,784) discloses an exhaust system protection device;
Todd (11,713,706) discloses a catalytic converter anti-theft device;
Tamagni (11,897,418) discloses a system for deterrence of catalytic converter theft;
Pringle (D879,008) discloses a lockable, removable, attachable, catalytic converter cage.
/JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613