Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1
Cancelled: None
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-3 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Office has to respectfully disagree with the argument that Reichow does not disclose the limitation “so that a middle portion of the viewing window is clear to give user a clear sight line through the viewing window”. Although Reichow discloses a heads-up displays 615 and 625 at the center of the glasses (Reichow; Fig. 6) as argued by the applicant, however, the clear space around the heads up display 615 and 625 would read on the limitation “a middle portion of the viewing window is clear to give user a clear sight line through the viewing window”. Furthermore, Reichow clearly discloses that the numbers and locations of the heads up displays could be varied without departing from the scope of their invention (Reichow; Para. 0073). Therefore, it is merely a result effective variable to have fewer heads up displays.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Reichow discloses a wearable device that has multiple heads-up displays to vary the quantity and/or quality of visual information provided to the user in order to improve the physical skills (Reichow; Para. 0005). And, Vettese discloses a heads up display system with a respiratory mask for the use by the firefighters during fire. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the teaching of Vettese to include a respiratory mask in the heads up display system of Reichow for the use by the firefighters during fire.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). It was within the knowledge of ordinary skill in the art to use a heads-up display in a respiratory mask for firefighter’s use at the time the claimed invention was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichow (US 2016/0275805 A1, hereinafter “Reichow”) in view of Vettese et al. (US 2020/0366872 A1, hereinafter “Vettese”).
As to claim 1, Reichow (Fig. 6) discloses a goggle (600), comprising:
a) an enclosure (605) including a viewing window (610), and
b) a first heads-up display (611) and a second heads-up display (619) disposed on an upper portion and a lower portion of the viewing window (610, 620), respectively, so that a middle portion of the viewing window (portion between 611 and 619) is clear to give a user a clear sight line through the viewing window (Para. 0026, 0073).
Reichow does not expressly disclose the enclosure for being attached to a user’s face to seal the user’s eyes from smoke.
However, Vettese (Fig. 1) teaches the enclosure (9) for being attached to a user’s face (100) to seal the user’s eyes from smoke (Para. 0004, 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Vettese to include a protective helmet in the device disclosed by Reichow. The motivation would have been to provide the protection to the user (Vettese; Para. 0041).
As to claim 2, Reichow (Fig. 6) discloses the goggle as in claim 1, and further comprising a third heads-up display (621) and a fourth heads-up display (629) disposed on another upper portion and another lower portion of the viewing window (620), respectively, so that a middle portion of the viewing window is clear to give a user a clear sight line through the viewing window (Para. 0026, 0073).
As to claim 3, Reichow (Fig. 6) discloses the goggle as in claim 2, wherein the first (611), second (619), third (621) and fourth heads-up displays (629) are disposed inside the enclosure (605).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Hacimeroglu et al. (US 2020/0147418 A1) discloses a heads up display for first aid responders (Fig. 8).
Partridge et al. (US 10,921,597 B2) discloses a heads up display outside a breather mask (Fig. 7).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2625