DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 2/24/26 have been received. Claims 1, 6, 9, 13, 14, 17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 15-16 have been cancelled. Claims 21-26 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Numata (US 2021/0410222).
Regarding claim 1, Numata discloses a device (Fig. 1, [0030]-[0042]) configurable to receive a signal from a battery module installed in a vehicle(a vehicle includes a power switch 70, a battery pack 60, Fig. 1, [0030], [0025]), wherein the device comprises a monitor circuit (monitoring IC 23, Fig. 1, [0032]) configurable to: compare a threshold to the signal(voltage monitor information [0025]); remain in a power save state when the signal is less than the threshold([0039]); and cause a wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to a second power state in response to the signal exceeding the threshold, wherein the signal exceeding the threshold indicates that the vehicle is powering on(main unit 16 has a power switch 16a and an antenna 16b, Fig. 1, [0031], [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Numata discloses a system (Fig. 1, [0030]-[0042]) comprising: a wireless transceiver (main unit 16 has a power switch 16a and an antenna 16b, Fig. 1, [0031]); and a monitor circuit (monitoring IC 23, Fig. 1, [0032]) coupled to the wireless transceiver ([0041]) and configurable to: receive a signal from a battery module installed in a vehicle (a vehicle includes a power switch 70, a battery pack 60, Fig. 1, [0030], [0025]), compare a threshold to the signal (voltage monitor information [0025]); remain in a power save state when the signal is less than the threshold ([0039]); and cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to a second power state in response to the signal exceeding the threshold, wherein the signal exceeding the threshold indicates that the vehicle is powering on (main unit 16 has a power switch 16a and an antenna 16b, Fig. 1, [0031], [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Numata discloses the wireless transceiver includes an antenna (16b, Fig. 1, [0031]) and is configurable to: receive a command via the antenna([0037]); and enter the second power state in response to the command([0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Numata discloses the wireless transceiver includes an antenna (16b, Fig. 1, [0031]) and is configurable to: transmit an indication via the antenna while operating in the second power state([0036]-[0037]); and refrain from transmitting the indication via the antenna while operating in the power save state([0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Numata discloses a system (Fig. 1, [0030]-[0042]) comprising: a primary network node(battery pack 60, Fig. 1); and a secondary network node (battery ECU 10, Fig. 1) including: a wireless transceiver configurable to communicate with the primary network node(main unit 16 has a power switch 16a and an antenna 16b, Fig. 1, [0031], [0037]); and a monitor circuit (monitoring IC 23, Fig. 1, [0032]) coupled to the wireless transceiver ([0037]) and configurable to: receive a signal from a battery module installed in a vehicle(a vehicle includes a power switch 70, a battery pack 60, Fig. 1, [0030], [0025]); compare a threshold to the signal(voltage monitor information [0025]); remain in a power save state when the signal is less than the threshold([0039]); and cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to a second power state in response to the signal exceeding the threshold, wherein the signal exceeding the threshold indicates that the vehicle is powering on(main unit 16 has a power switch 16a and an antenna 16b, Fig. 1, [0031], [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 18, Numata discloses the wireless transceiver includes an antenna (16b, Fig. 1) and is configurable to: receive a command from the primary network node via the antenna([0037]); and enter the second power state in response to the command([0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Numata disclose the wireless transceiver includes an antenna (16b, Fig. 1) and is configurable to: transmit an indication via the antenna while operating in the second power state([0036]-[0037]); and refrain from transmitting the indication via the antenna while operating in the power save state([0036]).
Regarding claim 21, Numata discloses the monitor circuit is configurable to: monitor a parameter of the battery module(current value [0040]); and cause the wireless transceiver to transmit data indicating a value of the monitored parameter to a primary network node while in the second power state([0041]).
Regarding claim 23, Numata discloses the monitor circuit is configurable to monitor a parameter of the battery module(current value [0040]), and wherein the wireless transceiver is configurable to transmit data indicating a value of the monitored parameter to a primary network node while in the second power state([0041]).
Regarding claim 25, Numata discloses the monitor circuit is configurable to monitor a parameter of the battery module(current value [0040]), and wherein the wireless transceiver is configurable to transmit data indicating a value of the monitored parameter to the primary network node while in the second power state([0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramachandran et al. (US 2020/0266647) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 4, Numata discloses the signal is a first signal([0025]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the device further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a second signal based on the first signal, wherein to compare the threshold to the first signal, the monitor circuit is configurable to compare the threshold to the second signal.
Ramachandran teaches the portable electronic device 100 comprises a battery 102, a battery charger circuit 104, and other circuitry 105 powered by the battery 102(Fig. 1, [0020]). Ramachandran teaches the other circuitry 105 can include microprocessor(s), memory(s), device input(s) (e.g., touchscreen(s); push-button(s); microphone(s); digital data cable(s); wireline or wireless receiver(s)), and/or device output(s) (e.g., visual output(s), such as liquid-crystal-display screen(s); speaker(s); digital data cable(s); vibration mechanism(s); wireless or wireline transmitter(s))([0020]). Ramachandran teaches the device further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a second signal based on the first signal, wherein to compare the threshold to the first signal, the monitor circuit is configurable to compare the threshold to the second signal([0041]). Ramachandran teaches each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Numata with the device further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a second signal based on the first signal, wherein to compare the threshold to the first signal, the monitor circuit is configurable to compare the threshold to the second signal as taught by Ramachandran as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
8. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) and further in view of Ramachandran et al. (US 2020/0266647) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24 as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, further in view of Machida et al. (US 2019/0260095) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 5, modified Numata discloses a first voltage comparator circuit 318 a is configured to determine whether the battery voltage VBAT is greater than a predefined fault voltage threshold VBATwarm, and provide a voltage fault threshold parameter 319 a based thereon(Ramachandran [0041]). Modified Numata discloses each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result (Ramachandran [0041]) but does not explicitly disclose the ADC is configurable to receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module.
Machida teaches a low resistance bus bar 20 is connected in series with lithium ion batteries 11 and 12 and voltages at both ends thereof are connected to a battery control unit 201 via a connector 30 by cell voltage detection lines 101 to 104(Fig. 1, [0022]). Machida teaches in the low resistance bus bar 20, a voltage drop occurs in proportion to the current by the current flowing in the lithium ion battery and a positive voltage is generated at a positive current, and further a negative voltage is generated at a negative current([0023]). Machida teaches in lithium ion batteries 11 to 24, the other negative voltage of the positive voltage is joined to a next positive voltage by an inter-cell bus bar and fourteen cells are connected in series(Fig. 4, [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of modified Numata with the ADC is configurable to receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module as taught by Machida as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ramachandran et al. (US 2020/0266647) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 9, Numata discloses the signal is a first signal([0025]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the system further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a digital value based on the first signal, wherein the monitor circuit is configurable to: compare the threshold to the digital value.
Ramachandran teaches the portable electronic device 100 comprises a battery 102, a battery charger circuit 104, and other circuitry 105 powered by the battery 102(Fig. 1, [0020]). Ramachandran teaches the other circuitry 105 can include microprocessor(s), memory(s), device input(s) (e.g., touchscreen(s); push-button(s); microphone(s); digital data cable(s); wireline or wireless receiver(s)), and/or device output(s) (e.g., visual output(s), such as liquid-crystal-display screen(s); speaker(s); digital data cable(s); vibration mechanism(s); wireless or wireline transmitter(s))([0020]). Ramachandran teaches the device further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a second signal based on the first signal, wherein to compare the threshold to the first signal, the monitor circuit is configurable to compare the threshold to the second signal([0041]). Ramachandran teaches each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Numata with the system further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a digital value based on the first signal, wherein the monitor circuit is configurable to: compare the threshold to the digital value as taught by Ramachandran as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 9, modified Numata discloses the monitor circuit is configurable to cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the first power save state to the second power state in response to the digital value exceeding the threshold(Numata [0036]-[0037], Ramanchandran [0041]).
10. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) and further in view of Ramachandran et al. (US 2020/0266647) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24 as applied to claims 6 and 9 above, further in view of Machida et al. (US 2019/0260095) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 10, modified Numata discloses a first voltage comparator circuit 318 a is configured to determine whether the battery voltage VBAT is greater than a predefined fault voltage threshold VBATwarm, and provide a voltage fault threshold parameter 319 a based thereon(Ramachandran [0041]). Modified Numata discloses each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result (Ramachandran [0041]) but does not explicitly disclose the ADC is configurable to receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module.
Machida teaches a low resistance bus bar 20 is connected in series with lithium ion batteries 11 and 12 and voltages at both ends thereof are connected to a battery control unit 201 via a connector 30 by cell voltage detection lines 101 to 104(Fig. 1, [0022]). Machida teaches in the low resistance bus bar 20, a voltage drop occurs in proportion to the current by the current flowing in the lithium ion battery and a positive voltage is generated at a positive current, and further a negative voltage is generated at a negative current([0023]). Machida teaches in lithium ion batteries 11 to 24, the other negative voltage of the positive voltage is joined to a next positive voltage by an inter-cell bus bar and fourteen cells are connected in series(Fig. 4, [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of modified Numata with the ADC is configurable to receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module as taught by Machida as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
11. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Doherty et al. (US 2020/0288395) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 12, Numata discloses the main unit 16 contains a communication controller and an RF part([0037], Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose the wireless transceiver is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel; receive a scan request from a controller on the RF configuration channel; transmit a scan response to the controller on the RF configuration channel; and communicate with the controller on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response.
Doherty teaches it can be desirable to utilize a low-power radio-frequency (RF) wakeup approach in a wireless vehicle component monitoring node([0004]). Doherty teaches the wireless transceiver([0018]) is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel([0019]); receive a scan request from a controller on the RF configuration channel([0020]-[0021]); transmit a scan response to the controller on the RF configuration channel([0021]); and communicate with the controller on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response([0022]). Doherty teaches the RF wakeup components 222 are low power components that are configured to monitor received RF energy for a wakeup packet, for example([0030], Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Numata with the wireless transceiver is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel; receive a scan request from a controller on the RF configuration channel; transmit a scan response to the controller on the RF configuration channel; and communicate with the controller on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response as taught by Doherty in order to utilize low power components.
12. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ramachandran et al. (US 2020/0266647) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24, further in view of Machida et al. (US 2019/0260095) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 17, Numata discloses the signal is a first signal([0025]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the secondary network node further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC).
Ramachandran teaches the portable electronic device 100 comprises a battery 102, a battery charger circuit 104, and other circuitry 105 powered by the battery 102(Fig. 1, [0020]). Ramachandran teaches the other circuitry 105 can include microprocessor(s), memory(s), device input(s) (e.g., touchscreen(s); push-button(s); microphone(s); digital data cable(s); wireline or wireless receiver(s)), and/or device output(s) (e.g., visual output(s), such as liquid-crystal-display screen(s); speaker(s); digital data cable(s); vibration mechanism(s); wireless or wireline transmitter(s))([0020]). Ramachandran teaches the device further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal; and output a second signal based on the first signal, wherein to compare the threshold to the first signal, the monitor circuit is configurable to compare the threshold to the second signal([0041]). Ramachandran teaches each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Numata with the secondary network node further comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) as taught by Ramachandran as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 17, modified Numata discloses a first voltage comparator circuit 318 a is configured to determine whether the battery voltage VBAT is greater than a predefined fault voltage threshold VBATwarm, and provide a voltage fault threshold parameter 319 a based thereon(Ramachandran [0041]). Modified Numata discloses each comparator (e.g., the voltage comparator circuit 318 a and the temperature comparator circuit 318 b) can be an analog comparator that compares two analog signals and provides an analog or digital comparison result, or can be a digital comparator including an ADC that converts an analog parameter from the battery 302 to a digital battery parameter value and then compares that digital battery parameter value to digital threshold value to return a digital comparison result (Ramachandran [0041]) but does not explicitly disclose an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configurable to: receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module.
Machida teaches a low resistance bus bar 20 is connected in series with lithium ion batteries 11 and 12 and voltages at both ends thereof are connected to a battery control unit 201 via a connector 30 by cell voltage detection lines 101 to 104(Fig. 1, [0022]). Machida teaches in the low resistance bus bar 20, a voltage drop occurs in proportion to the current by the current flowing in the lithium ion battery and a positive voltage is generated at a positive current, and further a negative voltage is generated at a negative current([0023]). Machida teaches in lithium ion batteries 11 to 24, the other negative voltage of the positive voltage is joined to a next positive voltage by an inter-cell bus bar and fourteen cells are connected in series(Fig. 4, [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of modified Numata with the ADC is configurable to receive the first signal from a busbar on the battery module as taught by Machida as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 17, modified Numata discloses an ADC configurable to:
output a digital value based on the first signal (Ramachandran [0041]), wherein the monitor circuit is configurable to: compare the threshold to the digital value(Ramanchandran [0041]); and cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to the second power state in response to the digital value exceeding the threshold ( Numata [0036]-[0037], Ramanchandran [0041]).
13. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numata (US 2021/0410222) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Doherty et al. (US 2020/0288395) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24.
Regarding claim 19, Numata discloses the main unit 16 contains a communication controller and an RF part([0037], Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose the wireless transceiver is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel; receive a scan request from the primary network node a controller on the RF configuration channel; transmit a scan response to the primary network node on the RF configuration channel; and communicate with the primary network node on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response.
Doherty teaches it can be desirable to utilize a low-power radio-frequency (RF) wakeup approach in a wireless vehicle component monitoring node([0004]). Doherty teaches the wireless transceiver([0018]) is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel([0019]); receive a scan request from the primary network node a controller on the RF configuration channel([0020]-[0021]); transmit a scan response to the primary network node on the RF configuration channel([0021]); and communicate with the primary network node on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response([0022]). Doherty teaches the RF wakeup components 222 are low power components that are configured to monitor received RF energy for a wakeup packet, for example([0030], Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Numata with the wireless transceiver is configurable to: scan a radio frequency (RF) configuration channel; receive a scan request from the primary network node a controller on the RF configuration channel; transmit a scan response to the primary network node on the RF configuration channel; and communicate with the primary network node on an RF data channel after transmitting the scan response as taught by Doherty in order to utilize low power components.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the monitor circuit is configurable to cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to the second power state without receiving a command from a primary network node.
Numata discloses the monitor circuit (23, Fig. 1) is configurable to cause the wireless transceiver (16b, Fig. 1) to transition from the power save state to the second power state ([0036]-[0037]) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious without receiving a command from a primary network node.
15. Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the monitor circuit is configurable to cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to the second power state without receiving a command from a primary network node. The reasons for allowance are substantially the same as provided in paragraph 14 above and apply herein.
16. Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the monitor circuit is configurable to cause the wireless transceiver to transition from the power save state to the second power state without receiving a command from the primary network node. The reasons for allowance are substantially the same as provided in paragraph 14 above and apply herein.
Response to Arguments
17. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724