Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 9 in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that are merely different mechanical implementations (e.g., sliding rails, hinges, or pins) designed to achieve the same functional goal defined in generic claim 1.
This is not found persuasive because each of the species are independent and distinct as shown by the individual different embodiments as also shown in the different figures for each embodiment. Additionally, there is a patentable difference between the species as claimed and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jadrich (US 2020/0064501; February 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Jadrich teaches a bendable detector comprising:
a first housing (Figure 5A Element 505 – extended rigid section) comprising a control unit (Paragraph 34 -may be configured to at least partially enclose a replaceable battery 501, in addition to a radio transceiver 502 and antenna 503 for wireless operation of the flexible and bendable detector 500 as described herein, such as for transmitting image data of captured radiographic images. ) therein and made of an inelastic material or a material having higher rigidity than a material of a second housing (Paragraph 34- an extended rigid section 505);
the second housing comprising a detection panel therein and made of an elastic material or composite material including an elastic material and an inelastic material ( a flexible radiographic detector disclosed herein, FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate a flexible detector 300 having a two-dimensional photosensor array; Paragraph 27 - housing components such as front and rear laminate covers 333, 334, respectively, and two conformable, flexible, parallel side walls 329 that are parallel to the flexible y axis. ); and
a connection mechanism having a connection (Figure 6B Element 603 – tethered type connector; Paragraph 35)structure configured to couple the first housing and the second housing so that the first housing and the second housing are separable (Paragraph 35 a radiographic detector 600 shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, similar in most respects to the detector 300, 400, 500, embodiments described herein, except that the digital & power PCB 317 is moved off-detector into a separate control and power module 601 that is interfaced to the detector's array section disposed in a bendable image sensor module 605, through a tethered type connector 603. ).
Regarding claim 2, Jadrich teaches the bendable detector of claim 1. Jadrich further teaches comprising: a first connector provided on a first opposing surface of the first housing (Seen in Figure 6A and 6B – connecter from 601); and a second connector provided on a second opposing surface of the second housing and configured to be connected to the first connector (Seen in Figure Figure 6A and 6B – Connector from 605).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadrich (US 2020/0064501; February 27, 2020) in view of Wulff (US 20040115994 A1; June 17, 2004)
Regarding claim 3, Jadrich teaches the bendable detector of claim 2. Jadrich does not teach wherein any one of the first and second connectors is a connector having a pogo pin, and the other of the first and second connectors is a connector to which the pogo pin is connected.
Wulff teaches wherein any one of the first and second connectors is a connector having a pogo pin (Figure 5 Element 502; Paragraph 37 - In this preferred embodiment, the male connector 502 includes pin contacts 506 of a pogo style (e.g., a compressible recoilable spring probe or plunger) assembled in a predetermined arrangement within a plastic housing block 508.), and the other of the first and second connectors is a connector to which the pogo pin is connected (Figure 500 Element 512; Paragraph 37- The system 500 includes both a male connector 502 and a female connector 504, each having an arrangement of electrically conductive contacts manufactured therein suitable for making an appropriate electrical connection according to the particular application.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bendable detector of Jadrich with the pogo connector of Wulff. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to provide increase security and stability of the connection between the housings.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadrich (US 2020/0064501; February 27, 2020) in view of Makoto (US 20100258730 A1; October 14, 2010).
Regarding claim 18, Jadrich teaches the bendable detector of any one of claims 1, but does not teach wherein the connection mechanism is a ninth connection mechanism comprising: a sliding groove provided in a lower portion of the first housing and formed in a longitudinal direction; and a sliding rail provided on an upper portion of the second housing and formed in the longitudinal direction, the sliding rail conforming to the sliding groove so that the sliding rail is slidably inserted into the sliding groove.
Makoto teaches wherein the connection mechanism is a ninth connection mechanism comprising: a sliding groove (Figure 24 Element 622/632) provided in a lower portion of the first housing and formed in a longitudinal direction (Seen in Figure 24 ; Paragraph 194 - It is also possible to arrange such a configuration, as shown in FIG. 24, that the cover bodies 621, 631 of the cover members 62, 63 are provided with grooves 622 and 632, and each opening end of the housing body 61 is equipped with an insertion section 611 as an engagement device. This insertion section 611 is inserted into the grooves 622, 632, whereby the cover members 62, 63 and housing body 61 are engaged with each other. ); and a sliding rail (Figure 24 Element 611 -insertion section in a ) provided on an upper portion of the second housing and formed in the longitudinal direction, the sliding rail conforming to the sliding groove so that the sliding rail is slidably inserted into the sliding groove (Seen in Figure 24; Paragraph 194 - It is also possible to arrange such a configuration, as shown in FIG. 24, that the cover bodies 621, 631 of the cover members 62, 63 are provided with grooves 622 and 632, and each opening end of the housing body 61 is equipped with an insertion section 611 as an engagement device. This insertion section 611 is inserted into the grooves 622, 632, whereby the cover members 62, 63 and housing body 61 are engaged with each other.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bendable detector of Jadrich with the groove and rail connection of Makoto. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to provide increase security and stability of the connection between the housings.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadrich (US 2020/0064501; February 27, 2020) in view of Makoto (US 20100258730 A1; October 14, 2010) in view of Kim (KR1020140147594; June 20, 2013).
Regarding claim 19, Jadrich in view of Makoto teaches the bendable detector of claim 18, but does not teach wherein the ninth connection mechanism further comprises:
a guide hole provided in the first housing and formed in a direction intersecting the sliding groove;
a locking member having one end elastically supported by an elastic member inserted into the guide hole, and the other end inserted into a insertion groove provided in the sliding rail; and
a locking adjustment device connected to the locking member and configured to move the locking member while moving along an operating space provided in the first housing.
Kim teaches wherein the ninth connection mechanism further comprises:
a guide hole (Figure 6 Element 114 - the receiving portion 114 of the housing 110) provided in the first housing (Figure 6 Element 110) and formed in a direction intersecting the sliding groove (Figure 6 Central Opening of Element 110; Paragraph 37-40);
a locking member (Figure 6 Element 130 - The hook members 130 are respectively disposed in the receiving portions 114 ) having one end elastically supported by an elastic member (Figure 6 Element 140 - The elastic member 140 ) inserted into the guide hole (Figure 6 Element 114 - the receiving portion 114 of the housing 110), and the other end inserted into a insertion groove (Figure 6 Element 133-A first latching protrusion 133 is formed at an end portion facing the insertion groove 111 ) provided in the sliding rail (Paragraph 37-40); and
a locking adjustment (Figure 4 Element 120 - Meanwhile, when the hook member (130) moves in the unlocking direction within the insertion part of the housing (110) due to the movement of the handle (120),) device connected to the locking member and configured to move the locking member while moving along an operating space provided in the first housing (Paragraph 64 - Meanwhile, when the hook member (130) moves in the unlocking direction within the insertion part of the housing (110) due to the movement of the handle (120),).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bendable detector of Jadrich in view of Makoto with locking mechanism of Kim. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to provide increase security and stability of the connection between the housings that allows for sliding locking and unlocking.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US 20100072379 A1 teaches a bendable detector.
/GISSELLE GUTIERREZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884