DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 2, 4-5, 11-12, 15-16, 18-20 are amended in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 7, 14, 20 objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu Xin et al (US 20230216723 A1) in view of Sungjin Park et al (US 20230164829 A1).
For Claim 1, Xin discloses a signal transmission method (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0004, a data modulation method and apparatus, a device, and a storage medium), comprising:
obtaining a first bit sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0057, a data sequence D of binary bits is [0000010110101111]); mapping the first bit sequence to a first modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0034, lines 1-4, using the N constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)} to modulate the data sequence includes modulating the data sequence by alternately using the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), wherein a value of each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence belongs to a first constellation point set, the first constellation point set comprises K modulation symbols (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0039, that at least one binary bit of data in the M binary bits of data is modulated by different phases of the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0053, lines 9-13, In FIGS. 2 to 5, the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group one are different, and the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group two are different), K>2, and K is an integer (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0027, lines 3-4, that The N constellation point modulation symbols are divided into two groups of modulation symbols);
performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence to obtain a second modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on the physical resource in the manner where after discrete Fourier transform (DFT), inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT), and digital-to-analog conversion are performed on the data symbols); performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IFFT) on the third modulation symbol sequence to obtain a first signal; and sending a second signal, wherein the second signal comprises the first signal (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on a radio frequency link).
Xin fails to expressly disclose performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence (Park teaches, in ¶ 0072, that The digital beamforming unit 404 performs beamforming on a digital signal (e.g., modulation symbols). To this end, the digital beamforming unit 404 multiplies modulation symbols by beamforming weights).
Park also teaches, in ¶ 0072, The encoding and modulation unit 402 performs constellation mapping to generate modulation symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin with the weighting taught in Park. The motivation to increase an uplink signal transmission performance [Park: ¶ 0011].
For Claim 2, Xin discloses a signal transmission method, wherein the each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude comprises: each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude and each of the K modulation symbols has a same phase, or each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude and each of the K modulation symbols has a different phase (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0055, lines 1-4, Group one has 4 (N/2=4) modulation symbols with the same phase, and the phase is 0. The modulus values of the modulation symbols in group one are different, which are r.sub.1, r.sub.2, r.sub.3, and r.sub.4, respectively.).
For Claim 5, Xin discloses in ¶ 0007 that The N constellation point modulation symbols are divided into two groups of modulation symbols.
Xin fails to expressly disclose that the K modulation symbols are K points in any one of: a 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) constellation diagram, a 64QAM constellation diagram, a 256QAM constellation diagram, a 1024QAM constellation diagram, a 4096QAM constellation diagram, or an amplitude and phase-shift keying (APSK) constellation diagram.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses that the K modulation symbols are K points in any one of: a 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) constellation diagram, a 64QAM constellation diagram, a 256QAM constellation diagram, a 1024QAM constellation diagram, a 4096QAM constellation diagram, or an amplitude and phase-shift keying (APSK) constellation diagram (Park teaches, in ¶ 0103, That is, 2 bits per symbol for QPSK modulation, 4 bits per symbol for 16 QAM modulation, 6 bits per symbol for 64 QAM modulation, and 8 bits per symbol for 256 QAM modulation may be transmitted. Further, a modulation scheme of 256 QAM or more may be used according to system modification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin with the QAM mapping taught in Park. The motivation to increase an uplink signal transmission performance [Park: ¶ 0011].
For Claim 6, Xin discloses a signal transmission method, wherein K=2 (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0027, lines 3-4, that The N constellation point modulation symbols are divided into two groups of modulation symbols).
For Claim 8, Xin discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a transceiver (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0080, FIG. 11 illustrates the structure of a device … the device includes a processor 111, a memory 112, an input apparatus 113, an output apparatus 114, and a communication apparatus 115), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain a first bit sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0057, a data sequence D of binary bits is [0000010110101111]); mapping the first bit sequence to a first modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0034, lines 1-4, using the N constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)} to modulate the data sequence includes modulating the data sequence by alternately using the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), wherein a value of each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence belongs to a first constellation point set, the first constellation point set comprises K modulation symbols (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0039, that at least one binary bit of data in the M binary bits of data is modulated by different phases of the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0053, lines 9-13, In FIGS. 2 to 5, the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group one are different, and the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group two are different), K>2, and K is an integer (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0027, lines 3-4, that The N constellation point modulation symbols are divided into two groups of modulation symbols);
perform a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence to obtain a second modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on the physical resource in the manner where after discrete Fourier transform (DFT), inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT), and digital-to-analog conversion are performed on the data symbols); performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IFFT) on the third modulation symbol sequence to obtain a first signal; and the transceiver is configured to send a second signal, wherein the second signal comprises the first signal (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on a radio frequency link).
Xin fails to expressly disclose performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence (Park teaches, in ¶ 0072, that The digital beamforming unit 404 performs beamforming on a digital signal (e.g., modulation symbols). To this end, the digital beamforming unit 404 multiplies modulation symbols by beamforming weights).
Park also teaches, in ¶ 0072, The encoding and modulation unit 402 performs constellation mapping to generate modulation symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin with the weighting taught in Park. The motivation to increase an uplink signal transmission performance [Park: ¶ 0011].
For Claim 9, please refer to the rejection of Claim 2, above.
For Claim 12-13, please refer to the rejection of Claims 5-6, above.
For Claim 15, Xin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which, when executed by a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0081, a computer-readable storage medium, the memory 112 may be configured to store software programs … The processor 111 runs the software programs, instructions, and modules stored in the memory 112 to execute function applications and data processing of the device, that is, to implement the method provided in any embodiment of the present application) comprising:
obtaining a first bit sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0057, a data sequence D of binary bits is [0000010110101111]); mapping the first bit sequence to a first modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0034, lines 1-4, using the N constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)} to modulate the data sequence includes modulating the data sequence by alternately using the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), wherein a value of each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence belongs to a first constellation point set, the first constellation point set comprises K modulation symbols (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0039, that at least one binary bit of data in the M binary bits of data is modulated by different phases of the constellation point modulation symbols {S(n)}), each of the K modulation symbols has a different amplitude (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0053, lines 9-13, In FIGS. 2 to 5, the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group one are different, and the modulus values of the N/2 modulation symbols in group two are different), K>2, and K is an integer (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0027, lines 3-4, that The N constellation point modulation symbols are divided into two groups of modulation symbols);
performing a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) on each modulation symbol in the first modulation symbol sequence to obtain a second modulation symbol sequence (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on the physical resource in the manner where after discrete Fourier transform (DFT), inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT), and digital-to-analog conversion are performed on the data symbols); performing an inverse discrete Fourier transform (IFFT) on the third modulation symbol sequence to obtain a first signal; and sending a second signal, wherein the second signal comprises the first signal (Xin teaches, in ¶ 0047, that the data symbols obtained after the modulation are transmitted on a radio frequency link).
Xin fails to expressly disclose performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence.
However, Park, in the analogous art, discloses performing weighting on the second modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third modulation symbol sequence (Park teaches, in ¶ 0072, that The digital beamforming unit 404 performs beamforming on a digital signal (e.g., modulation symbols). To this end, the digital beamforming unit 404 multiplies modulation symbols by beamforming weights).
Park also teaches, in ¶ 0072, The encoding and modulation unit 402 performs constellation mapping to generate modulation symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin with the weighting taught in Park. The motivation to increase an uplink signal transmission performance [Park: ¶ 0011].
For Claim 16, please refer to the rejection of Claim 2, above.
For Claim 19, please refer to the rejection of Claim 5, above.
Claims 3, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu Xin et al (US 20230216723 A1) in view of Sungjin Park et al (US 20230164829 A1) as applied to claim 1, 8, or 15 above, and further in view of Bruno Jahan (US 20230412441 A1).
For Claims 3, 10, 17, Xin and Park disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of performing line encoding on the original bit sequence to obtain an encoded bit sequence; and performing a bit repetition operation on the encoded bit sequence to obtain the first bit sequence.
However, Jahan, in the analogous art, discloses performing line encoding on the original bit sequence to obtain an encoded bit sequence (Jahan teaches, in ¶ 0100, that The binary stream typically comprises data that has been encoded upstream in the transmission chain by a channel encoder); and performing a bit repetition operation on the encoded bit sequence to obtain the first bit sequence (Jahan teaches, in ¶ 0154, repeating the symbols according to the pattern mot and mapping the repeated symbols to the N sub-carriers of the modulator in order to obtain multi-carrier symbols after modulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin and Park with the repeating of the encoded data taught in Jahan. The motivation is to reduce the coding rate.
Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu Xin et al (US 20230216723 A1) in view of Sungjin Park et al (US 20230164829 A1) as applied to claim 1, 8, or 15 above, and further in view of Yasunori Futatsugi et al (US 20120213312 A1).
For Claim 4, 11, 18, Xin and Park disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the second signal comprises a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, and the first signal is one of the plurality of OFDM symbols; and guard interval data is comprised before each OFDM symbol in the second signal, and the guard interval data before the first signal comprises one of: N pieces of data or N zeros from front to back in the first signal, wherein N is a positive integer.
However, Futatsugi, in the analogous art, discloses the second signal comprises a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, and the first signal is one of the plurality of OFDM symbols; and guard interval data is comprised before each OFDM symbol in the second signal, and the guard interval data before the first signal comprises one of: N pieces of data or N zeros from front to back in the first signal, wherein N is a positive integer (Futatsugi teaches, in ¶ 0075, that The zero-padding inserting unit 507 inserts a zero-padding guard interval between the input transmission information OFDM symbols).
Futatsugi further teaches, in ¶ 0019, that The zero-padding inserting unit 2404 inputs the OFDM symbol generated through the inverse Fourier transform, and inserts a zero-padding (ZP) guard interval between the OFDM symbols. The zero-padding inserting unit 2404 outputs the OFDM symbol, in which the zero-padding guard interval is inserted, as a transmitting modulation signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Xin and Park with the zero-padding guard interval taught in Futatsugi. The motivation is to enhance the interference suppression effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, 20 objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7, 14, 20 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including:
“mapping the second bit sequence to a fourth modulation symbol sequence, wherein a value of each modulation symbol in the fourth modulation symbol sequence belongs to a second constellation point set, the second constellation point set comprises a third modulation symbol and a fourth modulation symbol, an amplitude of the third modulation symbol is different from an amplitude of the fourth modulation symbol, and a ratio of the amplitude of the third modulation symbol to the amplitude of the fourth modulation symbol is different from a ratio of an amplitude of the first modulation symbol to an amplitude of the second modulation symbol; performing a DFT on each modulation symbol in the fourth modulation symbol sequence to obtain a fifth modulation symbol sequence; performing weighting on the fifth modulation symbol sequence to obtain a sixth modulation symbol sequence; performing an IFFT on the sixth modulation symbol sequence to obtain a third signal,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited, in various permutations, in dependent claims 7, 14, 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Krishnan (US 20190052509 A1) teaches systems and methods for a virtual lookup table for probabilistic constellation shaping for use in data communications systems.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412