Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a first neck portion defining a first step in the base side wall, and a second neck portion defining a second step in the base side wall”. According to the specification, the first step is 462 and the second step is 466. However, in view of the provided drawing, especially fig. 4; first neck (350) appears to define step 466 and second neck (354) appears to define step 462. As such for examination purpose, first step will be considered to be 466 and second step will be considered to be 462.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9,10, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klingaman (US 3966089).
Regarding claim 1, Klingaman discloses, A container (See annotated fig. below) configured to house a consumer product (12) comprising: a base including (See annotated fig. below) ,a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end (See annotated fig. below) of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig below; neck portion above the dotted line) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below)in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below; neck portion below the dotted line) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall, the cap sidewallover-cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) configured to contact the second step such that a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall (See annotated fig. below; at the dotted axis as below where the side surface of the second neck is, there must be a surface of the cap that is coplanar with the line/axis ).
Regarding claim 2, Klingaman discloses, the first neck portion has a first thickness, the second neck portion has a second thickness, and the second thickness of the second neck portion is greater than the first thickness of the first neck portion ( outer diameter of the first and second neck share the same line as such they have equal outer diameter).
Regarding claim 3, Klingaman discloses the first neck portion includes a first neck outer diameter; the second neck portion includes a second neck outer diameter; and the second neck outer diameter is equal to the first neck outer diameter( outer diameter of the first and second neck share the same line as such they have equal outer diameter).
Regarding claim 4, Klingaman discloses, the first neck portion includes a first neck outer diameter; the second neck portion includes a second neck outer diameter; and the second neck outer diameter is greater than the first neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 6, Klingaman discloses, the base side wall has a base side wall outer diameter, the base side wall outer diameter being greater than the second neck outer diameter (See Fig. 1; base walls outer diameter is greater than the entire neck portion) .
Regarding claim 8, Klingaman discloses, an inner diameter of the first neck portion is greater than an inner diameter of the second neck portion (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 9, Klingaman discloses, an inner diameter of the first neck portion is equal to an inner diameter of the second neck portion (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 10, Klingaman discloses, the inner diameter of the first neck portion (as annotated in claim 9)and the inner diameter of the second neck portion (as annotated in claim 9) are less than an inner diameter of the base side wall (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 15, Klingaman discloses, a thickness of the cap side wall plus a thickness of the first neck portion is equal to a thickness of the second neck portion (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 16, Klingaman discloses, an outer surface of the cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) is configured to engage an inner surface of the first neck portion (See annotated fig. below) in response to engaging the cap with the base .
Regarding claim 18, Klingaman discloses the second compartment is above the first compartment (See annotated fig. of claim 1) .
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aboabdo (US 10723526 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Aboabdo discloses, A container configured to house a consumer product comprising: a base including, a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end (See annotated fig. below)of the base side wall including ,a first neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall, the cap side wall configured to contact the first step (See annotated fig. below) ; and an over-cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a second compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the cap in response to contact the over-cap with the base, the over-cap including, an over-cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and an over-cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the over-cap top wall, the over-cap side wall configured to contact the second step such that a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 2, Aboabdo discloses first neck portion has a first thickness (thickness at the top where first step is created), the second neck portion has a second thickness (thickness where the second step is created), and the second thickness of the second neck portion is greater than the first thickness of the first neck portion.
Regarding claim 3, Aboabdo discloses, the first neck portion includes a first neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below; First OD); the second neck portion includes a second neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below, Second OD); and the second neck outer diameter is equal to the first neck outer diameter.
Regarding claim 9, Aboabdo discloses an inner diameter of the first neck portion is equal to an inner diameter of the second neck portion (first and second neck has the same inner diameter; See annotated fig. of claim 10) .
Regarding claim 10, Aboabdo discloses, the inner diameter of the first neck portion and the inner diameter of the second neck portion are less than an inner diameter of the base side wall (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 15, Aboabdo discloses a thickness of the cap side wall plus a thickness of the first neck portion is equal to a thickness of the second neck portion (See annotated fig. below; the sidewall and the first neck is shown to be equal to the second neck).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingaman as applied to claim 1 in view of KAWATA (US 20120073590).
Regarding claim 11, Klingaman does not explicitly disclose, the base bottom wall is circular and the base side wall of the base is cylindrical.
KAWATA discloses a container comprising a base (4) comprising base bottom wall is circular and the base side wall of the base is cylindrical (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Klingaman to have base bottom wall is circular and the base side wall of the base is cylindrical as taught by KAWATA as it is a well-known shape for containers as it does not have any edge and thus improving ergonomics.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingaman as applied to claim 1 in view of HAYASHI (JP 2003011995).
Regarding claim 12, Klingaman does not explicitly disclose , an outer surface of the over- cap side wall is flush with an outer surface of the base side wall.
HAYASHI disclose an outer cap (1) comprising an outer surface of the over- cap side wall is flush with an outer surface of the base side wall (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Klingaman to have an outer surface of the over- cap side wall is flush with an outer surface of the base side wall as taught by HAYASHI as it would provide a seamless connection between the over cap and the base body that allows for user to hold the container easily.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingaman as applied to claim 1 in view of Hayes (US 5850951).
Regarding claim 13 Klingaman discloses, A container (See annotated fig. below) configured to house a consumer product (12) comprising: a base including (See annotated fig. below) ,a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end (See annotated fig. below) of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig below; neck portion above the dotted line) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below)in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below; neck portion below the dotted line)) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall, the cap sidewall
Klingaman discloses the claimed invention except that over cap is threadably connected instead of Press-fit. Hayes shows that press fit was an equivalent structure known in the art (Col. 2; lines 50-55). In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness-type rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Hayes represents evidence that Press-fit were art-recognized equivalent structures for thread. Therefore, because these two attaching mechanism were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute press-fit for thread as it would allow for easy opening. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Regarding claim 14, Klingaman discloses, A container (See annotated fig. below) configured to house a consumer product (12) comprising: a base including (See annotated fig. below) ,a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end (See annotated fig. below) of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig below; neck portion above the dotted line) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below)in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below; neck portion below the dotted line)) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall, the cap sidewall
Klingaman discloses the claimed invention except that cap is press fitted and over cap is threadably connected instead of Press-fit. Hayes shows that press fit was an equivalent structure known in the art (Col. 2; lines 50-55). In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness-type rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Hayes represents evidence that Press-fit were art-recognized equivalent structures for thread. Therefore, because these two attaching mechanism were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute press-fit for thread or vice versa as either connection method would work equally well. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingaman as applied to claim 1 in view of CHANG (US 20160015148).
Regarding claim 20, Klingaman does not explicitly disclose, the cap top wall of the cap is circular, the cap side wall is cylindrical, and the over-cap side wall is cylindrical.
Chang discloses , cap top wall (11) of the cap is circular (Fig. 4, 5), the cap side wall is cylindrical (Fig. 4,5), and the over-cap (200) side wall is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Klingaman to have the cap top wall of the cap is circular, the cap side wall is cylindrical, and the over-cap side wall is cylindrical as taught by Chang as these are well known shapes for containers and are proven to be ergonomic as it provides surface without shape edges.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 11, 12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mccluskey (WO 2008047087) in view of Beyers (US 20090057312).
Regarding claim 1, Mccluskey discloses, A container configured to house a consumer product comprising: a base including, a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below)configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below)), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall; and an over-cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a second compartment with the cap in response to contact the over-cap with the base, the over-cap including, an over-cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and an over-cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the over-cap top wall, the over-cap side wall configured to contact the second step.
However, Mccluskey does not disclose, the cap side wall configured to contact the first step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall.
Beyers discloses a cap comprising side wall, a neck (See annotated fig. below) and a step wherein the cap side wall is configured to contact the step immediately under and being coplanar with the neck portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mccluskey to have the cap side wall configured to contact the step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the neck portion of the base side wall as taught by Beyers for the purpose of preventing any dirt entering through any gap.
Regarding claim 2, Mccluskey discloses, the first neck portion has a first thickness (See annotated fig. below), the second neck portion has a second thickness (See annotated fig. below), and the second thickness of the second neck portion is greater than the first thickness of the first neck portion.
Regarding claim 4, Mccluskey discloses the first neck portion includes a first neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below); the second neck portion includes a second neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below) ; and the second neck outer diameter is greater than the first neck outer diameter.
Regarding claim 5, Mccluskey discloses, a depth of the first step (See annotated fig. below) is a difference between the second neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below) and the first neck outer diameter (See annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 6, Mccluskey discloses, the base side wall has a base side wall outer diameter (See annotated fig. below), the base side wall outer diameter being greater than the second neck outer diameter.
Regarding claim 7, Mccluskey discloses, a depth of the second step (See annotated fig. below) is a difference between the base side wall outer diameter and the second neck outer diameter.
Regarding claim 11, Mccluskey discloses , the base bottom wall is circular and the base sidewall of the base is cylindrical (Fig. 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, Mccluskey, an outer surface of the over-cap side wall is coplanar with an outer surface of the base side wall (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Mccluskey as modified discloses, an outer surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with an outer surface of the second neck portion.
Regarding claim 18, Mccluskey as modified discloses, the second compartment is above the first compartment.
Regarding claim 19, Mccluskey as modified discloses an inner surface of the cap side wall is configured to engage an outer surface of the first neck portion of the base (See annotated fig. of claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, Mccluskey as modified discloses, the cap top wall of the cap is circular, the cap side wall is cylindrical, and the over-cap side wall is cylindrical.
Claim(s) 13, and 14is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mccluskey (WO 2008047087) in view of Beyers (US 20090057312) and Hayes (US 5850951).
Regarding claim 13, Mccluskey discloses, A container configured to house a consumer product comprising: a base including, a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below)configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall; and an over-cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a second compartment with the cap in response to engaging the over-cap with the base, the over-cap including, an over-cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and an over-cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the over-cap top wall, the over-cap side wall configured to engage the second step.
However, Mccluskey does not disclose, the cap side wall configured to engage the first step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall.
Beyers discloses a cap comprising side wall, a neck (See annotated fig. below) and a step wherein the cap side wall is configured to contact/engage the step immediately under and being coplanar with the neck portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mccluskey to have the cap side wall configured to contact/engage the step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the neck portion of the base side wall as taught by Beyers for the purpose of preventing any dirt entering through any gap.
Mccluskey discloses the claimed invention except that the caps (cap and outer cap) is threadably connected instead of Press-fit. Hayes shows that press fit was an equivalent structure known in the art (Col. 2; lines 50-55). In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness-type rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Hayes represents evidence that Press-fit were art-recognized equivalent structures for thread. Therefore, because these two attaching mechanism were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute press-fit for thread as it would allow for easy opening. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
As a result, Mccluskey as modified would have the cap is press-fit on the base and the over-cap is press-fit on the cap and the base.
Regarding claim 14, Mccluskey discloses, A container configured to house a consumer product comprising: a base including, a base bottom wall (See annotated fig. below), and a base side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the base bottom wall, an open end of the base side wall including, a first neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a first step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, and a second neck portion (See annotated fig. below) defining a second step (See annotated fig. below) in the base side wall, the first neck portion being closer to the open end of the base side wall than the second neck portion; a cap (See annotated fig. below)configured to define a first compartment (See annotated fig. below) with the base in response to engaging the cap with the base, the cap including, a cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and a cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the cap top wall; and an over-cap (See annotated fig. below) configured to define a second compartment with the cap in response to engaging the over-cap with the base, the over-cap including, an over-cap top wall (See annotated fig. below), and an over-cap side wall (See annotated fig. below) extending vertically from the over-cap top wall, the over-cap side wall configured to engage the second step, wherein, the cap is threadably engaged with the base.
However, Mccluskey does not disclose, the cap side wall configured to engage the first step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall.
Beyers discloses a cap comprising side wall, a neck (See annotated fig. below) and a step wherein the cap side wall is configured to contact/engage the step immediately under and being coplanar with the neck portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mccluskey to have the cap side wall configured to contact/engage the step and a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the neck portion of the base side wall as taught by Beyers for the purpose of preventing any dirt entering through any gap.
Mccluskey discloses the claimed invention except that the over cap is threadably connected instead of Press-fit. Hayes shows that press fit was an equivalent structure known in the art (Col. 2; lines 50-55). In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness-type rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Hayes represents evidence that Press-fit were art-recognized equivalent structures for thread. Therefore, because these two attaching mechanism were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute press-fit for thread as it would allow for easy opening. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
As a result, Mccluskey as modified would have over-cap is press-fit on the cap and the base.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboabdo as applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Aboabdo does not disclose, inner diameter of the first neck portion is greater than an inner portion of the second neck portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aboabdo to have inner diameter of the first neck portion is greater than an inner portion of the second neck portion motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The objection regarding the specification is sustained because the reference numeral for first and second steps are incorrect and these structural are distinct and are not interchangeable. The specification must be clear for understanding the invention that corresponds with the reference numeral of the drawing provided. As explained in the objection, step 466 as per the claim and drawing has to be first step and step 462 has to be second step. However, the specification discloses them to be opposite. It is not clear and creates ambiguity, as such the objection is sustained in the current office action.
Applicants argument with regards to prior art of Kingsman failing to disclose a side surface of the cap side wall is coplanar with a side surface of the second neck portion of the base side wall is not persuasive. As explained in the rejection, when a line is drawn at a surface of the neck, the line also crosses a surface of the cap and that surface of the cap is coplanar with the surface of the neck as shown below.
Conclusion
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736