DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/14/2024.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claim 1 is amended in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 2-14 are newly added.
Claims 1-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sangsoo Jeong et al (US 20200389935 A1) in view of Jinsook Ryu et al (US 20210211960 A1).
For Claim 1, Jeong discloses a wireless communication method for use in a first session management function (SMF) (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0015, lines 1-4, a method, performed by a first Session Management Function (SMF), for providing a continuous service to a user equipment (UE)), the wireless communication method comprising:
receiving [information] related to a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by a second SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0019, a context request response message may include … information about a User Plane Function (UPF) to be selected by the second SMF);
taking over control of the PDU, session from the second SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0096, lines 1-7, the SMF #2 440 determines whether a request is able to be processed … the SMF #2 440 may perform a process of searching for a UPF (PGW-U) 450 by using PGW-U Tunnel Information included in the received context and changing an N4 path to the changed SMF), and
transmitting, to at least one network function associated with the PDU session, SMF change information associated with the PDU session (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0104, lines 1-4, the SMF #2 440 may perform an operation for changing an SMF to transmit or receive a session management (SM) message and process the SM message with the AMF 420), wherein the SMF change information comprises an identifier of the first SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0104, lines 5-9, To search for the AMF 420, the SMF #2 440 may use AMF information (AMF ID) included in the received UE context and may request an update for N2, and the update request may include a UE (subscriber) as a target, a PDU Session ID, and an ID/address of the SMF).
Examiner notes that since SMF 2 searches for a UPF (PGW-U) 450 by using PGW-U Tunnel Information and changes an N4 path to the changed SMF, it is considered to have taken over the PDU session, absent specificity, in the claim, about what constitutes taking over a pdu session.
Jeong fails to expressly disclose receiving, from a user plane function, a request related to a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by a second SMF.
However, Ryu, in the analogous art, discloses receiving, from a user plane function, a request related to a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by a second SMF (Ryu teaches, FiG. 21, step 1: The UPF2 initiates Activate session request procedure for the establishment of UP connection to the SMF2).
Ryu also teaches, in ¶ 0436, that The SMF2 initiates Activate session request procedure towards the CCNF (e.g. AMF). SMF2 includes session ID, QoS parameters, paging priority and UPF ID (needed for NG3 tunnel establishment, e.g. IP address, tunneling endpoint ID and/or transport layer port ID). Ryu also teaches, in ¶ 0441, that SMF2 updates UPF2 with the information needed for NG3 tunnel establishment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong with the activated PDU session information taught in Ryu. The motivation is so that unnecessary signaling/process operation is minimized, and delay of handover procedure and release procedure may be prevented [Ryu: ¶ 0022].
For Claim 2, Jeong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the at least one network function comprises an intermediate SMF or a visited SMF.
However, Ryu, in the analogous art, discloses exception that the at least one network function comprises an intermediate SMF or a visited SMF (Ryu teaches, in ¶ 0331: N16 (or NG16): Reference point between two SMFs, (in roaming case between the visited SMF and the home network SMF)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong with the activated PDU session information taught in Ryu. The motivation is so that unnecessary signaling/process operation is minimized, and delay of handover procedure and release procedure may be prevented [Ryu: ¶ 0022].
For Claim 6, Jeong discloses updating the SMF information of the plurality of PDU sessions served by the second SMF based on the SMF change information (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0105, In operation 410, the AMF 420 transmits a response for a process for updating SMF information to the SMF #2).
Jeong fails to expressly disclose a plurality of PDU sessions served by the second SMF.
However, Ryu, in the analogous art, discloses a plurality of PDU sessions served by the second SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0280, that SMF provides session management function, and in the case that a UE has multiples sessions, each session may be managed by different SMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong with the activated PDU session information taught in Ryu. The motivation is so that unnecessary signaling/process operation is minimized, and delay of handover procedure and release procedure may be prevented [Ryu: ¶ 0022].
For Claim 8, Jeong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of a plurality of PDU sessions served by the second SMF.
However, Ryu, in the analogous art, discloses a plurality of PDU sessions served by the second SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0280, that SMF provides session management function, and in the case that a UE has multiples sessions, each session may be managed by different SMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong with the activated PDU session information taught in Ryu. The motivation is so that unnecessary signaling/process operation is minimized, and delay of handover procedure and release procedure may be prevented [Ryu: ¶ 0022].
For Claim 11, please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Claims 3-4, 12, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sangsoo Jeong et al (US 20200389935 A1) in view of Jinsook Ryu et al (US 20210211960 A1) as applied to claim 1, or 11 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS29.244 V17.0.0 (January 30, 2021).
For Claims 3, 13, Jeong and Ryu disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of a Session Endpoint Identifier (SEID) and a Control Plane Fully Qualified SEID (CP F-SEID).
However, 3GPP, in the analogous art, discloses a Session Endpoint Identifier (SEID) and a Control Plane Fully Qualified SEID (CP F-SEID) (3GPP teaches, in 5.22.2, that When establishing a PFCP session, the SEID that the SMF assigns in the CP F-SEID of the PFCP Session Establishment Request may be unique or not within the SMF set. However the assigned CP F-SEID shall be unique within the SMF set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong and Ryu with the Session Endpoint Identifier taught in 3GPP. The motivation is so that PFCP session can be successively controlled by different SMF(s) in the same SMF set.
For Claims 4, 14, Jeong and Ryu disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the SEID is set to 0, and the CP F-SEID is assigned by the second SMF.
However, 3GPP, in the analogous art, discloses that the SEID is set to 0, and the CP F-SEID is assigned by the second SMF (3GPP teaches, in 5.22.2, that When sending the request to another PFCP entity pertaining to the same SMF or to the new SMF, the UPF shall set the SEID field to zero in the PFCP header of the PFCP request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong and Ryu with the Session Endpoint Identifier taught in 3GPP. The motivation is so that PFCP session can be successively controlled by different SMF(s) in the same SMF set.
For Claim 12, Jeong and Ryu disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of an intermediate session management function (SMF).
Jeong fails to expressly disclose an intermediate session management function (SMF).
However, 3GPP, in the analogous art, discloses that the SEID is set to 0, and the CP F-SEID is assigned by the second SMF (3GPP teaches, in D.1, page 679, that This Annex applies to PDU session involving an Intermediate SMF (I-SMF), when the I-SMF has an uplink classifier (UL CL) or branching point (BP) into the data path of the PDU session).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong and Ryu with the Session Endpoint Identifier taught in 3GPP. The motivation is so that PFCP session can be successively controlled by different SMF(s) in the same SMF set.
Claims 5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sangsoo Jeong et al (US 20200389935 A1) in view of 3GPP TS29.244 V17.0.0 (January 30, 2021).
For Claim 5, Jeong discloses a wireless communication method for use in session management function (SMF), the wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, from a first SMF, SMF change information associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by a second SMF (Jeong teaches, in FIG. 4, step 406: the SMF #1 430 may know that the status of the UE 410 is appropriate to perform an operation for transferring an SMF, and may perform an operation for transmitting a context for a specific PDU session to a target SMF), and transmitting, to an access and mobility management function associated with the PDU session, the SMF change information (Jeong teaches, in FIG. 4, step 409-2: the SMF #2 440 may perform an operation for changing an SMF to transmit or receive a session management (SM) message and process the SM message with the AMF 420), wherein the SMF change information comprises an identifier of the first SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0104, lines 5-9, To search for the AMF 420, the SMF #2 440 may use AMF information (AMF ID) included in the received UE context and may request an update for N2, and the update request may include a UE (subscriber) as a target, a PDU Session ID, and an ID/address of the SMF).
Jeong fails to expressly disclose an intermediate session management function (SMF).
However, 3GPP, in the analogous art, discloses that the SEID is set to 0, and the CP F-SEID is assigned by the second SMF (3GPP teaches, in D.1, page 679, that This Annex applies to PDU session involving an Intermediate SMF (I-SMF), when the I-SMF has an uplink classifier (UL CL) or branching point (BP) into the data path of the PDU session).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong and Ryu with the Session Endpoint Identifier taught in 3GPP. The motivation is so that PFCP session can be successively controlled by different SMF(s) in the same SMF set.
For Claim 10, Jeong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of an intermediate session management function (SMF).
Jeong fails to expressly disclose an intermediate session management function (SMF).
However, 3GPP, in the analogous art, discloses that the SEID is set to 0, and the CP F-SEID is assigned by the second SMF (3GPP teaches, in D.1, page 679, that This Annex applies to PDU session involving an Intermediate SMF (I-SMF), when the I-SMF has an uplink classifier (UL CL) or branching point (BP) into the data path of the PDU session).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission system taught in Jeong and Ryu with the Session Endpoint Identifier taught in 3GPP. The motivation is so that PFCP session can be successively controlled by different SMF(s) in the same SMF set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sangsoo Jeong et al (US 20200389935 A1).
For Claim 7, Jeong discloses a wireless communication method for a network function, the wireless communication method comprising: receiving, from a first session management function (SMF), SMF change information associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session served by a second SMF (Jeong teaches, in FIG. 4, step 406: the SMF #1 430 may know that the status of the UE 410 is appropriate to perform an operation for transferring an SMF, and may perform an operation for transmitting a context for a specific PDU session to a target SMF), and updating SMF information of at least one PDU session based on the SMF change information (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0105, In operation 410, the AMF 420 transmits a response for a process for updating SMF information to the SMF #2), wherein the SMF change information comprises an identifier of the first SMF (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0104, lines 5-9, To search for the AMF 420, the SMF #2 440 may use AMF information (AMF ID) included in the received UE context and may request an update for N2, and the update request may include a UE (subscriber) as a target, a PDU Session ID, and an ID/address of the SMF).
For Claim 9, Jeong discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the network function comprises at least one of an access and mobility management function, a policy control function or a unified data management (Jeong teaches, in ¶ 0105, In operation 410, the AMF 420 transmits a response for a process for updating SMF information to the SMF #2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chandramouli (US 12107927 B2) teaches a method comprising: receiving at a user plane function a request to establish an association from a session management function; and causing a response to be provided to the session management function comprising information indicating that the user plane function is part of a set of user plane functions.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412