DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 14, 15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. [US 20240078453] in view of Yamagiwa et al. [US 20220239316].
As to claim 1. Singh discloses A method performed by a bandwidth compressed data mover system of a computing device for moving bandwidth compressed data, comprising:
accessing, from memory, bandwidth compressed data, [0167] read compressed data from memory 1908 for transmission;
generating metadata associated with the bandwidth compressed data, [0163] metadata used for indicating which portion of the memory block contains valid data, wherein the metadata includes an identification of valid bandwidth compressed data of bandwidth compressed data, [0163], stored in the memory, [fig. 18, 0165], the identification of the valid bandwidth compressed data being based on a configuration of a bandwidth compression technique used to generate the bandwidth compressed data, [0163, 0169] metadata indicates type of encoding used, wherein the bandwidth compressed data includes valid bandwidth compressed data and invalid bandwidth compressed data, [0163];
streaming the bandwidth compressed data, [fig. 21, 0170, 0173] encoding into a series of bit stream, based on the metadata, [fig. 20, 0172, 0173] wherein the metadata is used to indicate if the bit stream is valid or invalid, [0164] so that only valid data is transmitted and invalid data is omitted, wherein streamed bandwidth compressed data includes the valid bandwidth compressed data identified in the metadata, [0164] only valid data is transmitted and invalid data is omitted.
Singh fails to disclose wherein the bandwidth compression technique reduces signaling bandwidth by reducing voltage transitions during data movement, and wherein the method wherein the streaming is serializing the bandwidth compressed data based on the metadata to generate continuous serialized bandwidth compressed data, and wherein the invalid bandwidth compressed data is subject to at least one of omission from the continuous serialized bandwidth compressed data, or replacement by padded data in the continuous serialized bandwidth compressed data, wherein the padded data comprises constant values configured to require fewer voltage changes during data movement than moving the invalid bandwidth compressed data.
Yamagiwa teaches a data compression and decompression method and device that is implemented for data transmission of the compressed data, [0164]; wherein the method includes compressing the data using a compressor 11, and then serializing the compressed data using the serializer 12, [fig. 10, 0162]; wherein the compressor outputs the compressed data, Cmark bit, and data mask bits, [0163]; wherein the Cmark bit is an identifier of valid compressed data, and the data mask bits represent the number of valid bits [0163], that reads on the metadata as claimed; wherein the serializer uses the Cmark bit for serializing the compressed data, and connect the data in series, [0164]; wherein the serializer removes invalid bits from the compressed data based on the data mask, [fig. 11, 0165, 0166]; wherein removing the invalid bits reduces the number of voltage transitions needed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh with that of Yamagiwa so that compressed data can be ready for transmission.
As to claim 2. Singh fails to disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a continuous serial data stream based on the continuous serialized bandwidth compress data; and sending the continuous serial data stream to a destination interface.
Yamagiwa teaches a data compression and decompression method and device that is implemented for data transmission of the compressed data, [0164]; wherein the method includes compressing the data using a compressor 11, and then serializing the compressed data using the serializer 12, [fig. 10, 0162]; wherein the compressor outputs the compressed data, Cmark bit, and data mask bits, [0163]; wherein the Cmark bit is an identifier of valid compressed data, and the data mask bits represent the number of valid bits [0163], that reads on the metadata as claimed; wherein the serializer uses the Cmark bit for serializing the compressed data, and connect the data in series, [0164]; wherein the serializer outputs the data in series, and transmit the data to a destination interface, [0164].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh with that of Yamagiwa so that compressed data can be ready for transmission.
As to claim 5. Singh discloses The method of claim 2, further comprising:
providing the continuous serialized data stream to a decoder, [0167, 0194] encoded data stream transmitted to a decoder;
decoding the continuous serial data stream in the decoder to produce the valid bandwidth compressed data, [0167, 0194]; and
writing the valid bandwidth compressed data decoded to the output device, [0167, 0194].
As to claim 6. Singh discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the identification of the valid bandwidth compressed data of the bandwidth compressed data stored in the memory comprises identifying an address in the memory for the valid bandwidth compressed data, [0163] metadata used for indicating valid compressed data, [0193] wherein the metadata includes coordinates of the valid compressed data, and a length of the valid bandwidth compressed data from metadata associated with the bandwidth compressed data, [0164]; and
Singh fails to disclose wherein the serializing bandwidth compressed data comprises loading the valid bandwidth compressed data from the memory based on the address in the memory for the valid bandwidth compressed data and the length of the valid bandwidth compressed data.
Yamagiwa teaches a data compression and decompression method and device that is implemented for data transmission of the compressed data, [0164]; wherein the method includes compressing the data using a compressor 11, and then serializing the compressed data using the serializer 12, [fig. 10, 0162]; wherein the compressor 11 outputs the compressed data, Cmark bit, and data mask bits to the serializer 12, [0163]; wherein the Cmark bit is an identifier of valid compressed data, and the data mask bits represent the number of valid bits [0163], that reads on the metadata as claimed; wherein the serializer uses the Cmark bit to determine the valid data bits and the data mask bit to determine the length of the valid data bits for serializing the compressed data, [0163, 0164].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh with that of Yamagiwa so that serializer serializes only the valid data.
As to claim 9. Singh discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising providing the metadata associated with the valid bandwidth compressed data to an output device, [0164] transmit metadata.
As to claim 10. Singh discloses A computing device for moving bandwidth compressed data, comprising: a memory, [fig. 19, 0166] memory 1908; and a bandwidth compressed data mover system coupled to the memory, [fig. 19, 0166] DMA controller 1906, and configured to: perform the steps as claimed in claim 1 which is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claims 11, 14, 15, 18 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2, 5, 6, 9, respectively.
As to claim 19. Singh discloses A non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor executable instructions configured to cause a bandwidth compressed data mover system of a computing device to perform operations, [0045], comprising: perform the steps as claimed in claim 1 which is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claim 20 is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Yamagiwa as applied to claims 1, 10 above, further in view of Na [US 20230222622].
As to claim 4. Singh discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein metadata associated with the compressed serialized valid bandwidth compressed data includes a size of the compressed serialized valid bandwidth compressed data, [0163, 0164, 0172] the size of the compressed kernel is indicated in the metadata; and sending the continuous serial data stream to a destination interface, [0164] transmit the compressed data stream and metadata.
The combination of Singh and Yamagiwa fails to disclose wherein the method further comprising compressing the serialized continuous bandwidth compressed data using a data compression technique to produce compressed continuous serialized bandwidth compressed data; and generating a continuous serial data stream based on the compressed continuous serialized bandwidth compressed data.
Na teaches a data processing system and method wherein the system compresses the data, then serializes the compressed initial data, [0108], and then compresses the serialized data into a compressed serialized data, [0109]; wherein the compressed serialized data is transmitted to a client, [0195].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Singh and Yamagiwa with that of Na so that the transmitted data can have a smaller footprint with the second layer of compression.
As to claim 13 is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 4.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Yamagwa as applied to claims 1, 10 above, further in view of Heddes et al. [US 20150339237].
As to claim 7. Singh discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the metadata comprises:
identifying an address in the memory for the valid bandwidth compressed data using a memory address technique, [0198] provide address before encoding the data;
calculating a length of the valid bandwidth compressed data, [0164] determine the size of each KBU/FBU, [0163] which are the valid and invalid compressed data; and
generating the metadata to associate with the valid bandwidth compressed data that identifies the address in the memory for the valid bandwidth compressed data and the length of the valid bandwidth compressed data, [0163, 0164], wherein:
the rest of the limitation is the same as the steps as claimed in claim 6, and are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 6.
The combination of Singh and Yamagiwa fails to disclose wherein the address technique is a speculation address technique.
Heddes teaches a memory controller employing bandwidth compression that implements a speculation addressing for storing the compressed data, [abs.].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Singh and Yamagiwa with that of Heddes so that the system can have an additional performance can be achieved in conjunction with the bandwidth compression, as indicated in Heddes [0115].
As to claim 8. the combination of Singh and Yamagiwa fails to disclose The method of claim 7, further comprising:
identifying mis-speculated valid bandwidth compressed data associated with the address in the memory for the valid bandwidth compressed data; storing the mis-speculated valid bandwidth compressed data in a speculation memory; identifying valid bandwidth compressed data from the mis-speculated valid bandwidth compressed data stored in the speculation memory for a request for bandwidth compressed data; and loading the valid bandwidth compressed data from the speculation memory.
Heddes teaches a memory controller employing bandwidth compression that implements a speculation addressing for storing the compressed data, [abs.]; wherein when a request for access is received, the compressed memory controller 36 accesses the memory 38 to access the physical buffers (PB) for memory access based on the received physical address (PA) using an address translation technique, [0060]; wherein the translation is performed using a translation lookaside buffer (TLB), [0061]; wherein, when a TLB miss occurs, the controller 36 performs an operation to determine the valid address of the valid data requested using a replacement policy, [0063, 0083]; wherein the controller 36 reads the address using a prefetching scheme to speculatively prefetch the data from the memory 38, [0115].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Singh and Yamagiwa with that of Heddes so that the system can have an additional performance can be achieved in conjunction with the bandwidth compression, as indicated in Heddes [0115].
As to claims 16, 17 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 7, 8, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: The prior arts on file do not teach the newly added limitation.
Response 1: The Office Action is amended to address the newly added limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688