DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Office Action mailed June 16, 2026, applicant submitted an amendment filed on September 19, 2026, in which the applicant traversed and requested reconsideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the prior art cited fails to teach the claims as amended. Applicants’ arguments are persuasive, but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a as being unpatentable over Mangoubi et al. (PGPUB 20180137109), hereinafter referenced as Mangoubi in view of Sung et al. (PGPUB 2013/0238336), hereinafter referenced as Sung.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Mangoubi discloses an electronic apparatus and method, hereinafter referenced as an apparatus comprising:
receive an audio signal including a user voice input (receiving a multilingual input speech signal; fig. 3A, element 310),
perform a first voice recognition on the plurality of segments based on a first language (p. 0057 with first language dictionary evaluation; fig. 3A, element, 315)
obtain a first text from at least one first segment, among the plurality of segments, that is recognized based on the first language (transcription step; fig. 3A, element 320),
based on the performing of the first voice recognition resulting in at least one second segment among the plurality of segments being unrecognizable through digital signal processing using the first voice recognition, identify the at least one second segment which is unrecognizable based on the first language (p. 0054 with further processing of unidentified phoneme sequences wherein language likelihood score is below the predetermined threshold; fig. 3C),
obtain a second text from the segment the at least one second segment by performing a second voice recognition based on a second language (p. 0052-0054; transcription of speech using identified language), and
provide a voice recognition result corresponding to the user voice input based on the first text and the second text (assembly of transcribed sequences; p. 0009-0014, 0045-0048, 0052-0055 with fig. 1), however, Mangoubi does not specifically disclose using separate language specific speech recognition modules to generate and select recognition candidates for respective audio portions.
Sung discloses an apparatus for using separate language specific recognizers to obtain recognition candidates for different portions of an audio, recognizing multiple languages and generating corresponding transcriptions (p. 0031-0033, 0043-0045 and 0068-0069), to improve recognition of speech containing multiple languages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to recognize portions of a speech signal that cannot be satisfactorily recognized using a first language.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Mangoubi discloses an apparatus further comprising:
a display (p. 0061);
wherein the processor is configured to:
control the display to display the voice recognition result (provide text results to the user via display; p. 0061).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Mangoubi discloses an apparatus further comprising:
a display (p. 0061):
wherein the processor is configured to:
control the display to display the first text and the second text (provide text results to the user via display; p. 0061).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Mangoubi discloses an apparatus
wherein the first text corresponds to the first language (identifying phoneme sequences using first and second language dictionaries, determining the language associated with a phoneme sequence, transcribing phoneme sequences in the identified language and combining transcribed sequences into a recognition result; figs. 3-4), and
wherein the second text corresponds to the second language (identifying phoneme sequences using first and second language dictionaries, determining the language associated with a phoneme sequence, transcribing phoneme sequences in the identified language and combining transcribed sequences into a recognition result; figs. 3-4).
Claim(s) 5-10 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangoubi in view of Sung and in further view of Willett et al. (PGPUB 2018/0197545), hereinafter referenced as Willett.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above, however the prior art cited fails teach the claims in combination with the named entity.
Willett discloses an apparatus
wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain a predetermined word from the first text based on the first language (first language; p. 0029-0036),
based on an entity name being unrecognizable in the first text by performing the first voice recognition based on the first language (mismatch), obtain the entity name from the second text by performing the second voice recognition based on the second language (category of the second text; p. 0030-0040), and
provide the voice recognition result corresponding to the user voice input based on the predetermined word and the entity name (provide combined ASR result; fig. 2 element, 222 with p. 0027-0040), to assist with accurately recognizing data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to assist with handling multilingual data accurately to parse the text and determine the different languages.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Willett discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to:
based the entity name being unrecognizable (mismatch) by performing the first voice recognition based on the first language, identify the at least one second segment in the user voice input in which the entity name is included (category of the voice; p. 0027-0040), and
obtain the second text based on the at least one second segment (second text; p. 0027-0040).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Willett discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to, based on a predetermined word being included in the first text, identify that the user voice input includes the entity name (voice of the category/song; p. 0027-0036).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Willett discloses an apparatus wherein the predetermined word is related to control information for performing a search in association with a content (play), and wherein the entity name is related to a content which is a subject corresponding to a search operation (song name; p. 0027-0036).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Willett discloses an apparatus wherein the first voice recognition based on the first language corresponds to a language mode of the first language that is currently set to the electronic apparatus (ASR configured to recognize a first language; p. 0027), and
wherein the processor is configured to:
based on to the second voice recognition based on the second language corresponding to a language mode of the second language different from the language mode of the first language that is currently set, obtain the second text corresponding to the at least one segment in the user voice input in which the unrecognizable entity name is included (obtain second text based on mismatch of receiving multilingual utterances of an input speech including multiple languages; p. 0027-0036).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Willett discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to;
identify, among the plurality of segments, the at least one first segment that includes the predetermined word in the user voice input (figure 1, element 112 and 108 and fig. 2), and
identify, among the plurality of segments except the at least one first segment, the at least one second segment in which the entity name is included (figure 1, element 112 and 108 and fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Mozer et al. discloses a voice interface and search for electronic devices where speech recognition fails.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657