DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the documents filed on 01/12/2026. Claims 1 – 20 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 dated by 01/12/2026 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in Arguments/Remarks filed on 01/12/2026 (hereafter Remarks) referring to the Office Action on 09/15/2025 (hereafter OA) have been fully considered.
In the amended claim set applicant specified that claimed are operations related not to a blockchain but to a blockchain network. That minor amendment substantially changes the scope of the claims narrowing it from a very broad area of data operations in a blockchain systems to more specific field of communications within blockchain networks.
The amendments made overcome the 112b rejection.
Applicant comments on the rejection under 101 require detailed consideration. The main argument towards the assertion in OA that limitation in claim 1 “collecting or sending/receiving information” is identified as a mantal process is formulated by applicant in the following way: “…a person is not "an apparatus comprising a circuit, and a memory" and thus would not perform "sending first information that includes a private key signature of a first blockchain network to another apparatus in response to a consensus of another node in the first blockchain network…”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and refers applicant to MPEP2106.04(a)2. subsection III (see OA, 101, section Step 2A Prong 1). The recited section of MPEP clarifies mental process in the following way (emphases added):
Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer.
See: MPEP2106.04(a)2.III Mental Processes.
This assertion clarifies the OA conclusion in recited above section:
“A human being may mentally receive or send an information, i.e., communicate with predefined objects using respective equipment. MPEP states that it is still a Mental Process if the action is aided by devices (emphases added).”
Based on the above, examiner respectfully rejects the arguments multiply recited by applicant in the Remarks as based on a not appropriate interpretation of the mental process.
Regarding the amendment made in the instant claim set, Examiner respectfully submits that new limitation, i.e., blockchain network, clearly narrows down a broad interpretation of the claims from various operations in a blockchain system to more specific network communication operations within a blockchain. Consequently, disputing limitations such as sending/receiving a specifically composed information should be interpreted now as operations of communications withing a blockchain network, which may not be qualified as mental process.
Further arguments by applicant on pp. 9 to 12 of the Remark are based on para. [0014, 0027, 0029, 0072,0103] of SPECS. These arguments supported by respective citations in paragraphs demonstrate practical applications of the invention directed to a security improvement of blockchain network communications. Therefore, based on the above the rejection under 101 withdrawn.
On the other hand, nothing from the recited paragraphs has been used in amended claim set which should otherwise demonstrate originality of the concept; note that examined are claims, not SPECS.
Changed scope of claims to network communication required additional search and consideration completed in the instant OA. However, the amended claim set still remains very broad allowing respectively broad interpretation. The new limitation “blockchain network” is disclosed by applicant in Fig. 1 of SPECS as an interconnection of blockchain nodes. This limitation is met in Shao by interconnection of different nodes in a blockchain as disclosed in para. [0019], and the new limitation cannot overcome the prior art.
Main argument of applicant in rejection the prior art of Shao is focused on interpretation of limitation in claim 1“… in response to a consensus of another node…”. On p. 15 of the Remark applicant submitted by referring to the para. [0039] of Shao: “…paragraph 0039 does not disclose that consensus was achieved, and cannot reasonably correspond to consensus of another node being successful.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The disputable part of para. [0039] in Shao reads: “…based on the consensus mechanism employed by the current blockchain…”. The consensus mechanisms are foundational protocols in blockchains. Common consensus mechanisms are: Proof-of-Work, PoW, Proof-of-Stake, PoS, delegated Proof-of-Stake (see, e.g., P. Bains. Blockchain Consensus Mechanism. A Primer for Supervisors. Int. Monetary Fund, 2022). Employment of the consensus mechanism means that operations in a blockchain occur only when respective consensus between participants achieved (see ibid.). Different wording cannot be a reason to reject the prior art. Note, that limitation “consensus mechanism” is used by applicant in claim 7 by widely accepted meaning.
In summary, presented amendments while changing the claim scope to more specific network communication in a blockchain, still leave the claim disclosure very broad without highlighting important inventive features of the concept, in particular cited by applicant. The amendment and response in the Remark do not overcome the prior art. Rejection under 102 maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a
patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed
published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names
another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (US 20220271924) (hereafter Shao).
As per claim 1 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising a circuit, and a memory configured to store non-transitory instructions, wherein the circuit is configured execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby perform: sending first information that includes a private key signature of a first blockchain network (Examiner note: The new limitation “blockchain network” is disclosed by applicant in Fig. 1 of SPECS as an interconnection of blockchain nodes. This limitation is met in Shao by interconnection of different nodes in a blockchain as disclosed in para. [0019]) to another apparatus in response to a consensus of another node in the first blockchain network on the first information being successful, (Shao in Para. [0019-0020, 0039] and Fig. 1 discloses a system comprising two blockchain networks each including respective nodes, i.e., apparatus, for interchain communication, i.e., cross-chain exchange with the first and second information, based on verification procedures using private keys and signatures as well as employing consensus mechanism);
where the first blockchain network comprises the apparatus and [[the]] a second blockchain network comprises the another apparatus; (Shao, [0020]: the system architecture 100 may include a blockchain 10, a blockchain 20, and a network 30. The blockchain 10 includes nodes 101, 102, and 103, and the blockchain 20 includes nodes 104, 105, and 106.)
receiving second information that includes a private key signature of the second blockchain network, wherein the second information corresponds to the first information; Examiner note: the first/second information is disclosed by Applicant in Para. [0077, 0087 – 0089] and Fig. 4 as portions of information processed and exchanged between first and second blockchains; the first/second information is met in Shao by the respective portion of information processed using private key/signature mechanism and exchanged between blockchains 10 and 20) (Shao, [0030]: The signature information of the query request may be signature information obtained by the first node through signing for the query request with its private key);
and recording the second information on the first blockchain in response to verification on the private key signature of the second blockchain network being successful. (Shao, [0039]: completing the storage of the first piece of submitted data in the current blockchain after the recorded first piece of submitted data passes the verification).
As per claim 2 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby perform: (Examiner note: a processing circuit is disclosed by Applicant in Para. [0200] of SPECS as part of general-purpose processor performing standard computing operations; it is met in Shao by a computing node) broadcasting the first information to the another node in the first blockchain network. (Shao, [0022]: the nodes may be various electronic devices supporting information sending including but not limited to a smart phone, a tablet computer, a laptop portable computer, a desktop computer, and the like).
As per claim 3 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first information is obtained by signing the first information based on a first private key of the first blockchain network. (Shao, [0030]: The signature information of the query request may be signature information obtained by the first node through signing for the query request with its private key
As per claim 4 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus corresponds to a private key [[share]] of the first blockchain network. (Shao, [0034]: the authentication platform indicated by the first digital certificate may sign for the authentication information of the first node with its private key to obtain the signature information of the authentication information of the first node, and process the authentication information of the first node, the signature information of the authentication information of the first node, and its public key to obtain the first digital certificate).
As per claim 5 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein private keys network are combined into a first private key of the first blockchain network. (Shao, [0033]: The first digital certificate may include authentication information of the first node, signature information of the authentication information of the first node, and a public key of the authentication platform indicated by the first digital certificate. Shao, [0034]: the authentication platform indicated by the first digital certificate may sign for the authentication information of the first node with its private key to obtain the signature information of the authentication information of the first node).
As per claim 6 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby perform: obtaining the first information signed by using the private key [[share]] corresponding to each node in the first blockchain network, (Shao, [0034]: the authentication platform indicated by the first digital certificate may sign for the authentication information of the first node with its private key to obtain the signature information of the authentication information of the first node) to thereby obtain the first information that includes the private key signature of the first blockchain network (Shao, [0030]: The signature information of the query request may be signature information obtained by the first node through signing for the query request with its private key).
As per claim 7 Shao discloses: (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
a type of the first blockchain network, a chain structure of the first blockchain network, a consensus mechanism of the first blockchain network, (Shao, [0038]: the node in the current blockchain stores the first piece of submitted data in the current blockchain through an employed consensus mechanism.);
a member admission mechanism of the first blockchain network, a genesis block state of the first blockchain network, a smart contract in an effective state on the first blockchain network, (Examiner note: a smart contract is disclosed by Applicant in Para. [0067] of SPECS as an executable code or instructions to be run at predefined conditions, smart contract is met in Shao by a code including executable instructions) (Shao, [0134]: each of the blocks in the flow charts or block diagrams may represent a module, a program segment, or a code portion, said module, program segment, or code portion including one or more executable instructions for implementing specified logic functions),
a snapshot identifier of the first blockchain network, a block height represented by a snapshot of the first blockchain network, a block in which a snapshot exchange is performed, a block hash value of a block of the first blockchain network, a running node increment of the first blockchain network, an account status increment of the first blockchain network, a smart contract increment of the first blockchain network, or an identity authentication request (Shao, [0034]: the authentication platform indicated by the first digital certificate may sign for the authentication information of the first node with its private key to obtain the signature information of the authentication information of the first node. Shao, [0054]: in response to the signature information of the query request passing the verification by the public key of the first node.).
As per claim 8 Shao discloses (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby perform: invoking a smart contract to thereby generate the first information based on at least one of a time period, a block height in the first blockchain network or a block generation speed in the first blockchain network. (Examiner note: smart contract is met in Shao by a code including executable instructions) (Shao, [0134]: each of the blocks in the flow charts or block diagrams may represent a module, a program segment, or a code portion, said module, program segment, or code portion including one or more executable instructions for implementing specified logic functions).
As per claim 9 Shao discloses: The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuit is further configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby perform: receiving a verification request, wherein the verification request is useable to verify information about a node different from a sender of the verification request; (Shao, [0030]: The signature information of the query request may be signature information obtained by the first node through signing for the query request with its private key); and generating the identity authentication request based on the verification request, wherein the verification request includes a first address that is on the second blockchain network, (Shao, [0039]: completing the storage of the first piece of submitted data in the current blockchain after the recorded first piece of submitted data passes the verification) and that is part of registration information of an authoritative (AU) institution corresponding to the node, and a second address that is on the second blockchain network, and that is of information that the node is endorsed by the AU institution (Shao, [0022]: the nodes may be provided with various communication client applications, such as a blockchain application, a web browser application).
As per claim 10 Shao discloses (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second information is useable to indicate that authentication of the identity authentication request succeeds or authentication of the identity authentication request fails. (Shao, [0051]: the executing body may decrypt the signature information of the query request with the public key of the first node, may determine that the signature information of the query request passes the verification if the decrypted result is consistent with the query request; and otherwise, may determine that the signature information of the query request fails in the verification.).
As per claim 11 Shao discloses (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises: a permission parameter of the second blockchain network; and the permission parameter of the second blockchain network is associated with a parameter range (Examiner note: permission parameters are met in Shao by the data indicating query permission) (Shao, [0054]: the executing body may determine whether the proxy node of the first node has the query permission of the query content included in the query request based on data indicating the query permission), corresponding to a smart contract deployed on the second blockchain network. (Examiner note: smart contract is met in Shao by a code including executable instructions) (Shao, [0134]: each of the blocks in the flow charts or block diagrams may represent a module, a program segment, or a code portion, said module, program segment, or code portion including one or more executable instructions for implementing specified logic functions)
As per claims 12 and 20, claims 12 and 20 disclose a method and a medium, respectively. Claims 12 and 20 each encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claims 12 and 20 are rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claims 13 – 19, claims 13 – 19 each encompasses same or similar scope as claims 2 – 8, respectively. Therefore, claims 13 – 19 are rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claims 2 – 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chan US_20230073337, Saurabh US_20220114150, P. Bains. Blockchain Consensus Mechanism. A Primer for Supervisors. Int. Monetary Fund, 2022.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Vladimir I. Gavrilenko/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431