DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 should be changed to “providing an e-machine including providing a plurality of stator bobbin…the stator bobbin .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrard et al. (US20150207386, “Garrard”) in view of Guntermann et al. (US20200018300, “Guntermann”).
Re claim 1, Garrard discloses a stator member for a directly-cooled e-machine comprising:
a plurality of bobbins 200 (figs 1-2, 4-5 & 8, [0046] & [0048] note: employing embodiment of figs 6-8 but has similar element as figs 1-5), each bobbin with a winding support (figs 6-8 & below, [0048], winding support portion of 200 w/ winding), with a plurality of winding supports arranged about an axis (figs 6 & 8), the bobbins 200 including a first axial end and a second axial end spaced apart along the axis (figs 7-8 & below), the plurality of winding supports including a first winding support (figs 6-8 & below), the first winding support including an inner radial portion (figs 8 & below), an outer radial portion (figs 8 & below), and an intermediate portion defined radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion with respect to the axis (figs 8 & below);
a first isolator barrier member 180 supported on a first angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & below, [0047]) and a second isolator barrier member 180 supported on a second angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & below), the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extending radially (figs 6, 8 & below) and between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & below);
the first isolator barrier member 180, the inner radial portion, the second isolator barrier member 180, and the outer radial portion cooperatively defining an axial flow channel 240 extending through the bobbin between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & below, [0050], along w/ portion of 108); and
an end fluid deflector member 162 that is supported proximate the first axial end to define a redirection surface of the axial flow channel (figs 6-8 & below, [0049]), the redirection surface configured to redirect flow at the first axial end substantially from a first direction along the axis toward a second direction along the axis (figs 7 & below), the first direction being opposite the second direction (figs 7 & below).
Garrard discloses claim 1 except for:
a bobbin with the plurality of winding supports; and
the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion;
Specifically Garrard discloses a plurality of bobbins each having a winding support and the outer radial portion not extending to the isolator barrier member 180.
Guntermann discloses a bobbin 4 with a plurality of winding supports (figs 2a-3, [0065]); and
the plurality of winding supports each include an outer radial portion that joins an outer radial portion of a neighboring winding support (figs 2d-3 & below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of bobbins of Garrard as a bobbin with a plurality of winding supports, as disclosed by Guntermann, in order to reduce the number of parts by forming the plurality of bobbins as one piece, as taught by Guntermann ([0065]).
It is pointed out that Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion, since: Garrard discloses the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extend radially to the stator core 108 circumferentially midway between bobbins 200 (fig 8); and Guntermann discloses the outer radial portion extends between neighboring winding supports (figs 2d-3 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 12, Garrard discloses a turbomachine (fig 1, [0037]; note: employing figs 6-8 for rejection but has similar structure as embodiment of figs 1-5) comprising:
a housing assembly 72, 73 (fig 1, [0038]);
a rotating group 66 supported for rotation about an axis within the housing assembly 72, 73 (fig 1, [0037-0038]);
an e-machine 52 that is operable as at least one of an electric motor and an electric generator ([0036]), the e-machine 52 housed within the housing assembly 72, 73 and operatively coupled to the rotating group 66 (fig 1, [0013]), the e-machine 52 configured to attach within a fluid system that provides a fluid coolant thereto (fig 1, [0039-0040]);
a stator member of the e-machine that includes:
a plurality of bobbins 200 (figs 1-2, 4-5 & 8, [0046] & [0048] note: employing embodiment of figs 6-8 but has similar element as figs 1-5), each bobbin with a winding support (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0048], winding support portion of 200 w/ winding), with a plurality of winding supports arranged about an axis (figs 6 & 8), the bobbins 200 including a first axial end and a second axial end spaced apart along the axis (figs 7-8 & above for claim 1), the plurality of winding supports including a first winding support (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1), the first winding support including an inner radial portion (figs 8 & above for claim 1), an outer radial portion (figs 8 & above for claim 1), and an intermediate portion defined radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion with respect to the axis (figs 8 & above for claim 1);
a first isolator barrier member 180 supported on a first angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1, [0047]) and a second isolator barrier member 180 supported on a second angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1), the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extending radially (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1) and between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1);
the first isolator barrier member 180, the inner radial portion, the second isolator barrier member 180, and the outer radial portion cooperatively defining an axial flow channel 240 extending through the bobbin between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0050], along w/ portion of 108); and
an end fluid deflector member 162 that is supported proximate the first axial end to define a redirection surface of the axial flow channel (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0049]), the redirection surface configured to redirect flow at the first axial end substantially from a first direction along the axis toward a second direction along the axis (figs 7 & above for claim 1), the first direction being opposite the second direction (figs 7 & above for claim 1).
Garrard discloses claim 12 except for:
a bobbin with the plurality of winding supports; and
the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion;
Specifically Garrard discloses a plurality of bobbins each having a winding support and the outer radial portion not extending to the isolator barrier member 180.
Guntermann discloses a bobbin 4 with a plurality of winding supports (figs 2a-3, [0065]); and
the plurality of winding supports each include an outer radial portion that joins an outer radial portion of a neighboring winding support (figs 2d-3 & above for claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of bobbins of Garrard as a bobbin with a plurality of winding supports, as disclosed by Guntermann, in order to reduce the number of parts by forming the plurality of bobbins as one piece, as taught by Guntermann ([0065]).
It is pointed out that Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion, since: Garrard discloses the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extend radially to the stator core 108 circumferentially midway between bobbins 200 (fig 8); and Guntermann discloses the outer radial portion extends between neighboring winding supports (figs 2d-3 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 2, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses at least one of the first isolator barrier member 180 and the second isolator barrier member 180 are removably attached to the end fluid deflector member 162 (fig 6, since 180 is formed as one piece w/ 170 it is capable of being removed from 162 where 170 is attached to 162 through 102).
Re claim 3, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses at least one of the first isolator barrier member 180 and the second isolator barrier member 180 are removably attached to the bobbin 200 (figs 6 & 8, since 180 is formed as one piece w/ 170 it is capable of being removed from 200).
Re claims 4 and 14, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the bobbin includes a slot 15 between the first winding support and a neighboring one of the plurality of winding supports (Guntermann, figs 3 & above for claim 1); and wherein the first isolator barrier member 180 is received in the slot (Garrard, fig 8).
Re claims 5 and 15, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the slot is included between the inner radial portion and the neighboring one of the plurality of winding supports (figs 8 & above for claim 1).
Re claims 6 and 16, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claims 4 and 14, respectively, as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the end fluid deflector member 162 extends circumferentially about the axis to cover over the plurality of winding supports (figs 3 & 6-7).
Re claim 7, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the end fluid deflector member 162 includes an opening 164 configured to allow an end of a winding 104 to pass from an interior of the bobbin to an exterior of the bobbin (figs 3 & 6, [0047]).
Re claim 8, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the end fluid deflector member 162 includes a cover plate that extends normal to the axis and that includes the redirection surface (figs 6-7, above for claim 1 & below), and wherein the end fluid deflector member 162 includes a side lip that extends from the cover plate and that fits over the first axial end of the bobbin (figs 3, 6-7 & below).
Re claim 11, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the bobbin at least partly defines an inner segment that extends substantially axially along the axis in the first direction (figs 6-8 & below, one side of the inner radial portion as indicated below); and wherein the redirection surface is configured to redirect flow from the inner segment substantially from the first direction along the axis toward the second direction along the axis (figs 6-8, above for claim 1 & below).
Re claim 13, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claim 12 as discussed above. Garrard further discloses the rotating group 66 includes a compressor wheel 62 of a fluid compressor stage 50 (fig 1, [0037]).
Re claim 20, Garrard discloses a method of manufacturing a turbomachine comprising:
providing a housing 72, 73 (fig 1, [0038]);
providing a rotating group 66 (fig 1, [0037-0038]);
providing an e-machine 52 including providing a stator bobbin (figs 1-2, 4-5 & 8, [0046] & [0048], stator bobbin formed by plurality of bobbins 200; note: employing embodiment of figs 6-8 but has similar element as figs 1-5);
supporting the rotating group 66 for rotation about an axis within the housing 72, 73 (fig 1, [0037-0038]);
housing the e-machine 52 within the housing 72, 73 and operably coupling the e-machine 52 to the rotating group 66 to be operable as at least one of an electric motor and an electric generator (fig 1, [0013] & [0036]);
the stator bobbin member of the e-machine 52 including:
a plurality of bobbins 200 (figs 1-2, 4-5 & 8, [0046] & [0048] note: employing embodiment of figs 6-8 but has similar element as figs 1-5), each bobbin with a winding support (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0048], winding support portion of 200 w/ winding), with a plurality of winding supports arranged about an axis (figs 6 & 8), the bobbins 200 including a first axial end and a second axial end spaced apart along the axis (figs 7-8 & above for claim 1), the plurality of winding supports including a first winding support (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1), the first winding support including an inner radial portion (figs 8 & above for claim 1), an outer radial portion (figs 8 & above for claim 1), and an intermediate portion defined radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion with respect to the axis (figs 8 & above for claim 1);
a first isolator barrier member 180 supported on a first angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1, [0047]) and a second isolator barrier member 180 supported on a second angular side of the first winding support (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1), the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extending radially (figs 6, 8 & above for claim 1) and between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1);
the first isolator barrier member 180, the inner radial portion, the second isolator barrier member 180, and the outer radial portion cooperatively defining an axial flow channel 240 extending through the bobbin between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0050], along w/ portion of 108); and
an end fluid deflector member 162 that is supported proximate the first axial end to define a redirection surface of the axial flow channel (figs 6-8 & above for claim 1, [0049]), the redirection surface configured to redirect flow at the first axial end substantially from a first direction along the axis toward a second direction along the axis (figs 7 & above for claim 1), the first direction being opposite the second direction (figs 7 & above for claim 1).
Garrard discloses claim 20 except for:
a bobbin with the plurality of winding supports; and
the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion;
Specifically Garrard discloses a plurality of bobbins each having a winding support and the outer radial portion not extending to the isolator barrier member 180.
Guntermann discloses a bobbin 4 with a plurality of winding supports (figs 2a-3, [0065]); and
the plurality of winding supports each include an outer radial portion that joins an outer radial portion of a neighboring winding support (figs 2d-3 & above for claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of bobbins of Garrard as a bobbin with a plurality of winding supports, as disclosed by Guntermann, in order to reduce the number of parts by forming the plurality of bobbins as one piece, as taught by Guntermann ([0065]).
It is pointed out that Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion, since: Garrard discloses the first and second isolator barrier members 180 extend radially to the stator core 108 circumferentially midway between bobbins 200 (fig 8); and Guntermann discloses the outer radial portion extends between neighboring winding supports (figs 2d-3 & above for claim 1).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrard in view of Guntermann and in further view of Walisko et al. (US20200366149, “Walisko”).
Re claims 9 and 17, Garrard in view of Guntermann disclose claims 1 and 12, respectively, as discussed above, but are silent with respect to the end fluid deflector member includes a notch that receives the first isolator barrier member.
Walisko discloses the cover element 6 includes a notch 13 that receives the first isolator barrier member 10 (figs 1a-2 & 4a-5, [0099], [0110] & [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the end fluid deflector member of Garrard in view of Guntermann to include a notch that receives the first isolator barrier member, as disclosed by Walisko for a cover element, in order to mount the end of the first isolator member, as taught by Walisko ([0110]). The free end of the first isolator barrier member 180 is not connected to 162 in order to allow coolant to flow, but providing the notch 13 of Walisko radially inside the lip side of 162 of Garrard will mount the end of the first isolator barrier member 180 with out blocking coolant passage.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrard in view of Guntermann and Walisko and in further view of Hiramitsu (US20130313939, “Hiramitsu”).
Re claims 10 and 18, Garrard in view of Guntermann and Walisko disclose claims 9 and 17, respectively, as discussed above but are silent with respect to the first isolator barrier member includes a hooked end that is received in the notch.
Hiramitsu discloses the first isolator barrier member 33 includes a hooked end 42 that is received in the notch 25a (figs 1 & 3, [0028-0029] & [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first isolator barrier member of Garrard in view of Guntermann and Walisko to include a hooked end that is received in the notch, as disclosed by Hiramitsu, in order to prevent movement of the first isolator barrier member, as taught by Hiramitsu ([0030]).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP2016200122, “Takano”, using machine translation) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP2022080466, “Watanabe”, using machine translation).
Re claim 12, Takano discloses a machine comprising:
a housing assembly 1 (fig 1, [0013]);
a rotating group supported for rotation about an axis within the housing assembly 1 (fig 1, [0018], includes 3 & 10);
an e-machine 3 that is operable as at least one of an electric motor and an electric generator ([0012]), the e-machine 3 housed within the housing assembly 1 (fig 1) and operatively coupled to the rotating group (fig 1), the e-machine 3 configured to attach within a fluid system that provides a fluid coolant thereto (fig 1, [0011-0012]);
a stator member 3b of the e-machine 3 (figs 1-2, [0022]) that includes:
a bobbin 33 with a plurality of winding supports arranged about an axis (figs 1-4 & below, [0024]), the bobbin 33 including a first axial end and a second axial end spaced apart along the axis (figs 1 & below), the plurality of winding supports including a first winding support (figs 4 & below), the first winding support including an inner radial portion 33a (fig 4, [0030]), an outer radial portion 33b (fig 4, [0030]), and an intermediate portion 33c defined radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion with respect to the axis(fig 4, [0030]);
the stator slot 30d defining an axial flow channel extending through the bobbin 33 between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 1-2 & 7, [0027] & [0049-0052], refrigerant gas w/ oil mist travels up rotor/stator air gap 16 away from oil reservoir 11 & then reverses direction down 30d as indicated in fig 7 by cl1 & cl2); and
an end fluid deflector member 34 that is supported proximate the first axial end to define a redirection surface 34a of the axial flow channel (fig 7, [0054], 34a redirects cl2), the redirection surface 34a configured to redirect flow at the first axial end substantially from a first direction along the axis (figs 1, 7 & below, first direction through 16) toward a second direction along the axis (figs 7 & below, direction through 30d toward 11), the first direction being opposite the second direction (figs 1, 7 & below).
Takano discloses claim 12 except for:
a turbomachine;
a first isolator barrier member supported on a first angular side of the first winding support and a second isolator barrier member supported on a second angular side of the first winding support, the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion and between the first axial end and the second axial end; and
the first isolator barrier member, the inner radial portion, the second isolator barrier member, and the second isolator barrier member defining the axial flow channel.
With respect to a turbomachine, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP 2111.02, II.).
Watanabe discloses a first isolator barrier member 50 supported on a first angular side of the first winding support (fig 1 & below, [0038]) and a second isolator barrier member 50 supported on a second angular side of the first winding support (figs 1 & below), the first and second isolator barrier members 50 extending radially between the inner radial portion 43 and the outer radial portion 42 (fig 1, [0034-0035]) and between the first axial end and the second axial end (figs 1 & 3, [0041]); and
the first isolator barrier member 50, the inner radial portion 43, the second isolator barrier member 50, and the second isolator barrier member 42 defining the axial channel (figs 1 & below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bobbin of Takano to include a first isolator barrier member supported on a first angular side of the first winding support and a second isolator barrier member supported on a second angular side of the first winding support, the first and second isolator barrier members extending radially between the inner radial portion and the outer radial portion and between the first axial end and the second axial end; and the first isolator barrier member, the inner radial portion, the second isolator barrier member, and the second isolator barrier member defining the axial flow channel, as disclosed by Watanabe for an axial channel, in order to insulate adjacent windings in the slot from each other, as taught by Watanabe ([0008]).
Re claim 19, Takano in view of Watanabe disclose claim 12 as discussed above. Takano further disclose the bobbin 33 and the rotating group cooperatively define at least part of an inner segment flow path 16 that extends substantially axially along the axis in the first direction (figs 1 & above for claim 12); and
wherein the redirection surface 34a is configured to redirect flow from the inner segment flow path 16 substantially from the first direction along the axis toward the second direction along the axis and into the axial flow channel (figs 1, 7 & above for claim 12).
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834