DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) first fixing member (claims 1 and 20),
(ii) second fixing member (claims 1 and 20),
(iii) welding part (claims 1 and 20),
(iv) pressure application component (claims 1 and 20), because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation
(i) first fixing member (claims 1 and 20),
(ii) second fixing member (claims 1 and 20),
(iii) welding part (claims 1 and 20),
(iv) pressure application component (claims 1 and 20), has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(i) first fixing member (claims 1 and 20), US 2024/0253160, figures 1, 2, first fixing member 11, 0035
(ii) second fixing member (claims 1 and 20), figures 1, 2, second fixing member 12, 0035; platform 7, 0068
(iii) welding part (claims 1 and 20), figures 1, 2, welding part 2 0046, which includes at least one of a laser welding part, an electromagnetic-wave welding part, or an ultrasonic welding part
(iv) pressure application component (claims 1 and 20), figures 1, 2, pressure application component 3, gas nozzle 0054
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 20 recite “first fixing member, second fixing member, welding part, pressure application component” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what structural limitations are required by the phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claims 1, 13 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takatoshi (JP2009119465). An English machine translation of Takatoshi (JP2009119465) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Takatoshi teaches a welding device (title, abstract), comprising: a fixing component configured to fix a device group (Figs 3-6, multiple copper foils 12, 0034) to be welded and comprising a first fixing member (pressing roller member 120, 0034) and a second fixing member (top plate 58, welding table 62, 0030) that are spaced apart from each other along a first direction, at least one of the first fixing member or the second fixing member is movably disposed (0034, the first mounting stay 100 is lowered by the switching cylinder 102, the pressing roller 120 presses against the welding table 61 at its central part in the axial direction) along the first direction, and the first fixing member and the second fixing member are capable of approaching or being separated from each other (0034); a welding part (optical head 132, 0036) disposed on a side of the fixing component along the first direction and movably disposed (slide member 92, moveable member 94, 0032) relative to the fixing component, the welding part is configured to be capable of emitting energy in a direction of a current element to be welded in the device group to be welded (0036, focuses and irradiates a laser beam L toward a portion of the copper foil 12 that is being compressed by the injection of pressurized gas from the injection nozzle 130 in order to weld that portion); and a pressure application component (nozzle 130, 0035) disposed on the side of the fixing component along the first direction and movably disposed (fixing block 133, 0035, attached to moveable member 94) relative to the fixing component (58, 62); in a case where the welding device is in operation, a first work plane (top surface of copper foils 12) is comprised between the first fixing member (120) and the second fixing member (58, 62) along the first direction, an orthographic projection of the pressure application component on the first work plane at least partially surrounds an orthographic projection of the welding part on the first work plane, and the pressure application component is configured to emit gas to at least the device group to be welded at a position of the current element to be welded to apply pressure (0035, nozzle 130 injects pressurized gas supplied through an air pipe 126 from a plurality of holes 128 at its tip).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 5, 8 and 10, Takatoshi teaches the welding part (132) and the pressure application component (130) are disposed on a same side of the first work plane along the first direction;
the pressure application component comprises a nozzle portion (Fig 6, nozzle 130, 0035), and in an extension direction of the nozzle portion, the nozzle portion comprises a first end (holes 128 at tip of nozzle 130, 0035) and a second end (end adjacent to air pipe 126, 0035) that are opposite to each other, the first end is configured to emit the gas (126), the first end is disposed near the welding part (copper foils 12) relative to the second end, and the extension direction of the nozzle portion is inclined relative to an extension direction of the welding part (Fig 6, inclined nozzle 130);
the orthographic projection of the pressure application component (130) on the first work plane is spaced apart from the orthographic projection of the welding part (Fig 6, optical head 132) on the first work plane;
further comprising drive parts (Figs 3-5, moveable member 94, 0032), the welding part (132) and the pressure application component (130) are connected to a same one of the drive parts; or the welding part and the pressure application component are connected to different ones of the drive parts;
the welding part comprises at least one of a laser welding part (optical head 132, 0036, focuses and irradiates a laser beam L toward a portion of the copper foil 12 that is being compressed by the injection of pressurized gas from the injection nozzle 130 in order to weld that portion), an electromagnetic-wave welding part, or an ultrasonic welding part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takatoshi (JP2009119465) as applied to claims 1 and 2, further in view of Osborne (US 3,977,385).
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Takatoshi teaches the pressure application component comprises a first pressure application part (nozzle 130). Takatoshi discloses the claimed invention except for the pressure application component comprises a second pressure application part on the same side of the first work plane along the first direction, orthographic projections of the first pressure application part and the second pressure application part on the first work plane are located on two sides of the orthographic projection of the welding part on the first work plane, respectively; and the first pressure application part comprises a first nozzle portion, the second pressure application part comprises a second nozzle portion, an extension direction of the first nozzle portion is inclined relative to the extension direction of the welding part, and an extension direction of the second nozzle portion is inclined relative to the extension direction of the welding part.
However, Osborne discloses the pressure application component comprises a second pressure application part on the same side of the first work plane along the first direction (Figs 1-3, jet nozzles 1 and 2, or jets 3 and 4, Col 3), orthographic projections of the first pressure application part and the second pressure application part on the first work plane are located on two sides of the orthographic projection of the welding part (laser generator 12, Col 4) on the first work plane (tops surfaces of film sheets 7, 8, Col 3), respectively; and the first pressure application part comprises a first nozzle portion, the second pressure application part comprises a second nozzle portion (Fig 1, jets nozzles 1-4), an extension direction of the first nozzle portion is inclined relative to the extension direction of the welding part (see figure 3), and an extension direction of the second nozzle portion is inclined relative to the extension direction of the welding part (see figure 3) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the welding device of Takatoshi having a single pressure application device with the recited second pressure application device of Osborne for the purpose of providing a known duplicate pressure application configuration that improves a clamping effect due to impingement of air currents against outer surfaces of the workpiece (Col 3, Lines 40-50).
With respect to the limitations of claims 6 and 7, Takatoshi in view of Osborne discloses the welding part (Osborne, Fig 3, right side laser generator 12) and the pressure application component (Osborne, nozzles 1, 2) are disposed on two opposite sides of the first work plane along the first direction;
the pressure application component comprises a third pressure application part, the third pressure application part (Osborne, Fig 3, nozzles 3 or 4) and the welding part (Osborne, film sheet 8) are disposed on the two opposite sides of the first work plane along the first direction; and the third pressure application part and the welding part at least partially overlap along the first direction.
Claims 9, 1-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takatoshi (JP2009119465) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Han (CN 218476160).
With respect to the limitations of claim 9, Takatoshi teaches the second fixing member comprises the other one of the gas adsorption portion or the platform support portion (top plate 58, welding table 62) and the platform support portion comprises a support plane. Takatoshi discloses the claimed invention except for the first fixing member comprises one of a gas adsorption portion, and the gas adsorption portion is configured to provide an adsorption force. However, Han discloses the first fixing member comprises one of a gas adsorption portion (Figs 1-3, vacuum adsorption device 200, 0031, 0044, 0045), and the gas adsorption portion is configured to provide an adsorption force (0031, 0044, 0045) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the welding device of Takatoshi having a first fixing member silent to a gas adsorption portion with the first fixing member comprises one of a gas adsorption portion, and the gas adsorption portion is configured to provide an adsorption force of Han for the purpose of providing a known first fixing member configuration that is suitable for transporting alternative known workpieces such as LED substrates (0041, 0044, 0045).
With respect to the limitations of claim 11, Takatoshi teaches a welding method (title, abstract), comprising: providing a fixing component, the fixing component comprises a first fixing member (Figs 3-6, pressing roller member 120, 0034) and a second fixing member (top plate 58, welding table 62, 0030) that are spaced apart from each other along a first direction, at least one of the first fixing member or the second fixing member is movably disposed (0034, the first mounting stay 100 is lowered by the switching cylinder 102, the pressing roller 120 presses against the welding table 61 at its central part in the axial direction) along the first direction, the first fixing member and the second fixing member are capable of approaching or being separated from each other (0034), and a first work plane (top surface of multiple copper foils 12, 0034) is comprised between the first fixing member (120) and the second fixing member (58, 62) along the first direction; fixing a device group to be welded (copper foils 12) by the fixing component; providing a welding part (optical head 132, 0036) that emits energy in a direction of an element to be welded in the device group to be welded (0036, focuses and irradiates a laser beam L toward a portion of the copper foil 12 that is being compressed by the injection of pressurized gas from the injection nozzle 130 in order to weld that portion); and providing a pressure application component (nozzle 130, 0035), an orthographic projection of the pressure application component on the first work plane at least partially surrounds an orthographic projection of the welding part on the first work plane, and the pressure application component emits gas to at least the device group to be welded at a position of the element to be welded to apply pressure (0035, nozzle 130 injects pressurized gas supplied through an air pipe 126 from a plurality of holes 128 at its tip).
Takatoshi discloses the claimed invention except for the method is a light-emitting element welding method and the device group to be welded comprises a light-emitting element to be welded.
However, Han discloses the method is a light-emitting element welding method (Abstract, 0004), and the device group to be welded comprises a light-emitting element (Figs 1-3, LED 530, 0034) to be welded (0041) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the component welding method of Takatoshi having a welding component silent to the type of component with the method is a light-emitting element welding method and the device group to be welded comprises a light-emitting element to be welded of Han for the purpose of adapting the method to a known light-emitting element component that is suitable for laser welding.
With respect to the limitations of claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 17 and 19, Takatoshi in view of Han discloses the device group to be welded comprises a first substrate and a second substrate, the first substrate comprises the light-emitting element (Han, Figs 1-3, LED 530, 0041) to be welded, and the second substrate comprises a signal line and a pad (0041, receiving substrate 600 includes a second base layer and pads); and the first fixing member is configured to fix one of the first substrate (Han, adsorption device 200, 0055) or the second substrate, and the second fixing member is configured to fix the other one of the first substrate or the second substrate (Han, base 100, adsorption holes 130, 0054);
the welding part comprises a laser welding part, the laser welding part is used to emit a laser (Han, Fig 3, laser component 300, 0042) in the direction of the current light-emitting element to be welded in the device group (Han, LED 530) to be welded, and at the same time, the pressure application component is used to emit the gas (Takatoshi, nozzle 130) to at least the first substrate or the second substrate at the position of the current light-emitting element to be welded to apply the pressure (Takatoshi, 0035) so that the current light-emitting element to be welded and the pad are in contact with each other and welded;
an orthographic projection, on the first substrate, of a landing point region of the gas emitted by the pressure application component on the first substrate or the second substrate is a first projection (Takatoshi, Fig 6, nozzle 130); and an orthographic projection, on the first substrate, of a laser spot of the laser emitted by the laser welding part on the first substrate or the second substrate is a second projection (Takatoshi, Fig 6, optical head 132, laser L); the first projection at least partially surrounds the second projection (Takatoshi, gas emitted from nozzle 130 surrounds laser L); or the first projection and the second projection are at least partially coincident;
further comprising: emitting, by the laser welding part, the energy in the direction (Takatoshi, Fig 6, optical head 132, laser L) of the current light-emitting element (Han, LED 530) to be welded in the device group to be welded, emitting, by the pressure application component, the gas to at least the first substrate or the second substrate at the position (Takatoshi, Fig 6, nozzle 130) of the current light-emitting element to be welded to apply the pressure, and at the same time, controlling the laser welding part and the pressure application component to move along a second direction (Takatoshi, sliding member 92, 0031), the second direction is parallel to the first work plane; along the second direction, an outer edge of the first projection is spaced apart from an outer edge of the second projection by a predetermined distance (Takatoshi, Fig 6, nozzle 130, optical head 132, laser L); and along an opposite direction of the second direction, the outer edge of the first projection is spaced apart from the outer edge of the second projection by a predetermined distance (Takatoshi, Fig 6, nozzle 130, optical head 132, laser L);
further comprising: activating the welding part after the pressure application component is activated (Takatoshi, 0036, the optical head 132 is mounted on the movable member 94 via a third mounting stay 118, etc., and focuses and irradiates a laser beam L toward a portion of the copper foil 12 that is being compressed by the injection of pressurized gas from the injection nozzle 130); and/or turning off the pressure application component after the welding part is turned off;
driving, by a drive part (Takatoshi, Figs 3-5, moveable member 94, 0032), the pressure application component (Takatoshi, nozzle 130) and the welding part (Takatoshi, Fig 6, optical head 132, laser L) to move together in a plane parallel to the first work plane so that the pressure application component applies the pressure at different positions of the first substrate or the second substrate, and at the same time, emitting, by the welding part, the energy to light-emitting elements to be welded at different positions.
With respect to the limitations of claim 20, Takatoshi teaches a component (Figs 3-6, multiple copper foils 12, 0034) welded by a welding device, the welding device comprises: a fixing component configured to fix a device group to be welded and comprising a first fixing member (pressing roller member 120, 0034) and a second fixing member (top plate 58, welding table 62, 0030) that are spaced apart from each other along a first direction, at least one of the first fixing member or the second fixing member is movably disposed (0034, the first mounting stay 100 is lowered by the switching cylinder 102, the pressing roller 120 presses against the welding table 61 at its central part in the axial direction) along the first direction, and the first fixing member and the second fixing member are capable of approaching or being separated from each other (0034); a welding part (optical head 132, 0036) disposed on a side of the fixing component along the first direction and movably disposed (slide member 92, moveable member 94, 0032) relative to the fixing component, the welding part is configured to be capable of emitting energy in a direction of a current element to be welded in the device group to be welded (0036, focuses and irradiates a laser beam L toward a portion of the copper foil 12 that is being compressed by the injection of pressurized gas from the injection nozzle 130 in order to weld that portion); and a pressure application component (nozzle 130, 0035) disposed on the side of the fixing component along the first direction and movably disposed (fixing block 133, 0035, attached to moveable member 94) relative to the fixing component (58, 62); in a case where the welding device is in operation, a first work plane (top surface of copper foils 12) is comprised between the first fixing member (120) and the second fixing member (58, 62) along the first direction, an orthographic projection of the pressure application component on the first work plane at least partially surrounds an orthographic projection of the welding part on the first work plane, and the pressure application component is configured to emit gas to at least the device group to be welded at a position of the current element to be welded to apply pressure (0035, nozzle 130 injects pressurized gas supplied through an air pipe 126 from a plurality of holes 128 at its tip).
Takatoshi discloses the claimed invention except for the component is a display device, comprising a light-emitting element and a second substrate, the second substrate comprises a signal line and a pad, and the light-emitting element and the pad are welded by using the welding device.
However, Han discloses the component is a display device (Abstract, 0001, display device manufacturing), comprising a light-emitting element (Figs 1-3, LED 530, 0034) and a second substrate, the second substrate comprises a signal line and a pad (0041, receiving substrate 600 includes a second base layer and pads), and the light-emitting element and the pad are welded (0041) by using the welding device is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the component welding device of Takatoshi having a welding component silent to the type of component with the component is a display device, comprising a light-emitting element and a second substrate, the second substrate comprises a signal line and a pad, and the light-emitting element and the pad are welded by using the welding device of Han for the purpose of adapting the component laser welding device to a known light-emitting element component that is suitable for laser welding.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takatoshi (JP2009119465) in view of Han (CN 218476160) as applied to claims 11 and 14, further in view of Stiers (US 2002/0125229).
With respect to the limitations of claim 16, Takatoshi in view of Han discloses the claimed invention except for the laser spot has a first length in a third direction and a second length in a fourth direction, wherein the first length is greater than the second length, and the third direction intersects with the fourth direction; and in a plane parallel to the first work plane, a movement direction of the laser welding part relative to the fixing component is parallel to the fourth direction.
However, Stiers discloses the laser spot has a first length in a third direction and a second length in a fourth direction (Figs 2-6, laterally elongated beam, 0031, 0032), the first length is greater than the second length, and the third direction intersects with the fourth direction (see figures 5, 6); and in a plane parallel to the first work plane, a movement direction of the laser welding part relative to the fixing component is parallel to the fourth direction (0029) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the LED welding method of Takatoshi in view of Han having a laser spot silent an elongated spot with the laser spot has a first length in a third direction and a second length in a fourth direction, wherein the first length is greater than the second length, and the third direction intersects with the fourth direction; and in a plane parallel to the first work plane, a movement direction of the laser welding part relative to the fixing component is parallel to the fourth direction of Stiers for the purpose of using a beam spot that is has a distributed heat distribution, which prevents distortion of the workpiece (0029-0030).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takatoshi (JP2009119465) in view of Han (CN 218476160) as applied to claims 11-13, further in view of Osborne (US 3,977,385).
With respect to the limitations of claim 18, Takatoshi teaches a first pressure application part (nozzle 130, 0035) and the method further comprises control the laser welding part and the pressure application component to move along a second direction, the second direction is parallel to the first work plane (Figs 3-5, moveable member 94, 0032). Takatoshi in view Han discloses the claimed invention except for the recited second pressure application part. However, Osborne discloses the pressure application component comprises a first pressure application part and a second pressure application part on a same side of the first work plane along the first direction, along the first direction (Figs 1-3, jet nozzles 1 and 2, or jets 3 and 4, Col 3), orthographic projections of the first pressure application part and the second pressure application part on the first substrate are located on two sides of an orthographic projection of the welding part (laser generator 12, Col 4) on the first substrate (tops surfaces of film sheets 7, 8, Col 3), respectively; the method further comprises the first pressure application part is disposed on a side of the welding part (12) along the second direction, and the second pressure application part is disposed on a side of the welding part along an opposite direction of the second direction (jet nozzles 1 and 2, or jets 3 and 4) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the LED welding method of Takatoshi in view of Han having a single pressure application device with the recited second pressure application device of Osborne for the purpose of providing a known duplicate pressure application configuration that improves a clamping effect due to impingement of air currents against outer surfaces of the workpiece (Col 3, Lines 40-50).
Takatoshi in view Han and Osborne discloses the claimed invention except for a temperature of gas emitted by the first pressure application part is greater than temperature of gas emitted by the second pressure application part. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have a temperature of gas emitted by the first pressure application part is greater than temperature of gas emitted by the second pressure application part, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable gas temperature ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/22/2026