DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuno et al. (JP 2016219804 A and English machine translation thereof).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5: Mizuno et al. teaches a piezoelectric film comprising having a total light transmittance of at least 90%, an internal haze value of 2.0% at a thickness of 33 µm (0.06%/µm), and a piezoelectric constant d33 of 22.3 pC/N (Table 1, entry 7 of JP 2016219804 A and [0013], [0076] of English machine translation). The piezoelectric constant of Mizuno et al. is higher than 21.6 and 20.6 pC/N in the Examples 1 and 2 of the instant specification before heating to 110 °C, therefore, the constant of Mizuno et al. is considered to also be higher than 10 after heating to 110 °C for 10 minutes.
Regarding Claims 2-3: Mizuno et al. teaches the film comprising a vinylidene fluoride/trifluoroethylene copolymer film ([0021] of English machine translation).
Regarding Claim 4: Mizuno et al. teaches the film wherein the vinylidene fluoride monomers are present in 78-82 mol% ([0024]).
Regarding Claim 6: Mizuno et al. teaches an embodiment wherein the film has a retardation of 0.5-200 nm ([0092]).
Regarding Claim 13: A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the present case, the film of Mizuno et al. is capable of being used as claimed.
Regarding Claim 14: Mizuno et al. teaches the piezoelectric film on a surface of an electrode ([0110] of English machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (JP 2016219804 A and English machine translation thereof) in view of Kanemura et al. (English machine translation of WO 2015064328 A1).
Mizuno et al. teaches the film of claim 1 as set forth above.
Mizuno et al. is silent as to the YI value of the film. However, Kanemura et al. teaches a piezoelectric film having a YI of 4 or less (Pg. 4). Mizuno et al. and Kanemura et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely piezoelectric films. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the YI of Kanemura et al. in the film of Mizuno et al. and would have been motivated to do so to avoid looking discolored (Kanemura et al. Pg. 2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (JP 2016219804 A and English machine translation thereof) in view of Kodani et al. (WO 2020/080382, English equivalent US Pub. No. 2021/0384411 used for citation purposes).
Mizuno et al. teaches the film of claim 1 as set forth above.
Mizuno et al. is silent as to the residual polarization of the film. However, Kodani et al. teaches a piezoelectric film having a residual polarization amount of 40 mC/m2 or more (abstract). Mizuno et al. and Kodani et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely piezoelectric films. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the residual polarization amount of Kodani et al. in the film of Mizuno et al. and would have been motivated to do so to lower power consumption and provide better material stability.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (JP 2016219804 A and English machine translation thereof).
Mizuno et al. teaches a method of producing an organic piezoelectric film comprising casting a solution of vinylidene fluoride to form a non-polarized polymer film (Step A), subjecting the film to a polarization treatment (Step B), and heat treatment performed at any point in time relative to Step B (polarization treatment) including before the polarization step (Step A3) ([0093]-[0105] of English machine translation). Mizuno et al. teaches the temperature of the heat treatment is in a range of (T-100)°C to (T+40)°C where T is the melting point of the polymer film ([0105]). M
Mizuno et al. does not teach claimed temperature range. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are allowed.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 9, 2026