Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 17 and 20 use abbreviation DRX, CPS without spelling it out and therefore scope of the claims 1, 17 and 20 are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2023/0337187 to Ye et al. (hereinafter Ye) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2022/0346180 to Tseng et al. (hereinafter Tseng)
As to claims 1, 17 and 20, Ye discloses a transmission method in discontinuous reception, comprising:
when performing sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, meeting, by a terminal, a third preset condition (Ye; Fig.6; [0089]-[0090] discloses when the sensing operation is not supported in the side-link DRX off duration (=DRX inactive state), contiguous partial sensing (=CPS)window is shifted from original contiguous partial sensing to updated contiguous partial sensing. The UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero. [0095] discloses the UE may delay the contiguous partial sensing window within the sidelink DRX off duration. FIG. 8 is an operational diagram 800 that describes generating an updated contiguous partial sensing window by delaying the original contiguous partial sensing window within the sidelink DRX off duration in accordance with some embodiments. This may be done under the assumption that a sensing operation is supported in the sidelink DRX off duration)
Ye discloses of degerming contiguous partial sensing in a DRX off state. Ye fails to disclose
wherein the third preset condition comprises: a first measurement parameter of the terminal is not less than a fifth threshold, the first measurement parameter comprises duration of sensing and/or measurement, and the duration of sensing and/or measurement comprises a CPS window length. However, Tseng discloses
wherein the third preset condition comprises: a first measurement parameter of the terminal is not less than a fifth threshold, the first measurement parameter comprises duration of sensing and/or measurement, and the duration of sensing and/or measurement comprises a CPS window length (Tseng; [0333]-[0334] discloses the UE may further be configured to monitor several additional slots within the sidelink sensing window and so the UE may further decide the value of k to fulfill the additional requirement of sensing slots. In some implementations, the UE may also be configured with contiguous partial sensing by monitoring the slots between the range [(n+T.sub.A), (n+T.sub.B)], where the (n+T.sub.A) may be M consecutive (logical) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0 and (n+TB) may be (T.sub.proc,1+T.sub.proc,0) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0. t.sub.y0 is the first slot of the candidate resources for periodic-based partial sensing. when the UE is configured/enabled to perform SL monitoring/reception of PSCCH and SL-RSRP measurement for partial sensing (e.g., PBPS and/or CPS) on slots in SL-DRX Inactive Time, the UE may monitor only (at least) one pre-defined/pre-configured default periodic sensing occasions (e.g., the most recent sensing occasion) from the slots. In some implementations, the UE may monitor a minimum of m contiguous slots from the slots if the UE performs contiguous partial sensing from the slots. In some implementations, the value of m may be configurable. In some other implementations, a default value of m may also be pre-configured/pre-defined to the UE. Minimum number of slots m means number of slots are not less than m. Here threshold is m)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention One would be motivated to combine the teachings to perform SL monitoring/reception of PSCCH and SL-RSRP measurement for partial sensing (e.g., PBPS and/or CPS) on slots in SL-DRX Inactive Time (Tseng; [03334])
As to claims 7 and 18, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein
the third preset condition further comprises: within a first time window or duration of a first timer, a first measurement parameter of the terminal, a sidelink process, a HARQ process, a communication link, or a communication group is not less than a fifth threshold and/or is not greater than a sixth threshold (Tseng; [0072] discloses the UE is staying in (sidelink/SL-DRX) Inactive Time while all of the active (/activated) SL-DRX operations are staying in SL-DRX off-periods. In some implementations, the UE may be the SL-Tx UE (for sidelink packet delivery with/without sidelink HARQ ACK/NACK information transmission) or SL-Rx UE (for sidelink packet reception with/without sidelink HARQ ACK/NACK information transmission. Here Tseng is applied for HARQ process).
wherein
the first measurement parameter further comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of transitions from a sleep state to a wake-up state, a battery or power level, or a first measurement quantity (Tseng; [03334] discloses the UE may monitor a minimum of m contiguous slots from the slots. m corresponding to a quantity of sensing. Here Tseng is applied for the 1st alternative).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein at least one of the duration of sensing and/or measurement or the quantity of sensing and/or measurement counts forward from a first moment or counts forward from a most recent Tᵗʰ window before a first moment, wherein T is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (Ye; Fig.6; [0089]-[0090] The UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated configuration partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero).
As to claims 9 and 19, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the duration of sensing and/or measurement further comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of sensing occasions, a quantity of time units for sensing, a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, a quantity of time units for CBR measurement, a quantity of time units for RSRP measurement, or a quantity of time units for CR measurement (Ye; [0057] discloses In NR V2X, if a resource pool is configured (or preconfigured) with at least partial sensing, a UE performs contiguous partial sensing, and resource selection (or reselection) is triggered in slot n, the UE may select (or reselect) resources by monitoring slots between [n+T_A, n+T_B] and identifying candidate resources in or after slot n+T_B based on all available sensing results, including periodic-based partial sensing results if applicable).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the first measurement parameter is calculated only in an inactive time period within the first time window or the duration of the first timer, or calculated in all time periods within the first time window or the duration of the first timer (Tseng; [0054] To enhance the power-saving gain on the PC5 interface, UEs may be configured with a timer-based SL-DRX mechanism to allow a UE (e.g., Tx UE/Rx UE in PC5 interface) to stop monitoring the Physical Sidelink Control CHannel (PSCCH) and the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), which may include the first stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (e.g., in the PSCCH) and/or the following second stage SCI(s) (e.g., in the PSSCH). In addition, the timer-based SL-DRX mechanism may be applied to a sidelink unicast group (e.g., based on the PC5 RRC signaling exchange between UEs), sidelink group-cast/multi-cast group, and sidelink broadcast group)
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the first time window is one of the following: N DRX cycles, M time units, or an entire communication process of a service, wherein N and M are positive integers greater than or equal to 1 (Ye; Fig.6; [0089]-[0091] The UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated configuration partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the time unit counts forward from a first moment or counts forward from a most recent Tᵗʰ window before a first moment, wherein T is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (Ye; Fig.6; [0089]-[0091] The UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated configuration partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the first time window, the first timer, the fifth threshold, and/or the sixth threshold are/is related to at least one of the following second parameters: a power saving mode, a resource allocation scheme, a DRX cycle, DRX on duration, a ratio of DRX on duration to the DRX cycle, DRX inactive duration, a ratio of DRX inactive duration to the DRX cycle, a transmission period of a data packet, power of the terminal, a priority of the data packet or a service, or a first measurement quantity (Ye; [0090] discloses he UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero. Here Ye is applied for the DRX on duration)
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS, a channel occupancy ratio, channel occupancy, a channel busy ratio, a channel blocking ratio, channel blockage, a channel idle ratio, channel idleness, a quantity of ACKs, a quantity of successful data packet transmissions, a data packet transmission success ratio, a quantity of NACKs, a quantity of failed data packet transmissions, a data packet transmission failure ratio, a quantity of discontinuous transmissions (DTXs), a quantity of missed sensing in sensing, or a quantity of false sensing in sensing of a system, a carrier, a BWP, a resource pool, a user, or a connection group (Tseng; [0349] discloses he UE may stop implementing Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) measurement during the SL-DRX off-periods. Here Tseng is applied for the a channel busy ratio).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the third preset condition further comprises at least one of the following:
performing sensing and/or measurement based on a resource allocation scheme or a resource sensing mechanism predefined in a protocol, preconfigured by a network side, configured by a network, indicated by a network, preconfigured by the terminal, configured by the terminal, or
indicated by the terminal;
performing sensing and/or measurement only based on PBPS (Ye; Fig.5; [0057] discloses periodic based partial sensing. Here Ye is applied for PBPS);
performing sensing and/or measurement only based on CPS;
performing sensing and/or measurement only based on full sensing; or
performing sensing and/or measurement only based on PBPS and CPS
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses further comprising:
measuring RSRP based on a PSSCH; and/or (Ye; [0051] discloses The sidelink RSRP measurement may be based on physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) DMRS. Here Ye is applied for the 1st alternative)
performing measurement based on a PSCCH at an RRC layer.
As to claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses further comprising:
when a first preset condition is met, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state; or when a second preset condition is met, skipping, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state (Ye; Fig.6; [0089]-[0090] discloses when the sensing operation is not supported in the side-link DRX off duration (=DRX inactive state), contiguous partial sensing (=CPS)window is shifted from original contiguous partial sensing to updated contiguous partial sensing. The UE may determine a delta value that, when added to T_A and T_B, shifts the window into the sidelink DRX on duration. The delta value may be added to both T_A and T_B to determine the corresponding parameters of the updated contiguous partial sensing window. For example, T′_A=T_A+delta and T′_B=T_B+delta. In some embodiments, the delta value may be just enough to set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration. In other embodiments, the delta value may set the beginning of the updated contiguous partial sensing window in the sidelink DRX on duration by some margin that is greater than zero. [0095] discloses the UE may delay the contiguous partial sensing window within the sidelink DRX off duration. FIG. 8 is an operational diagram 800 that describes generating an updated contiguous partial sensing window by delaying the original contiguous partial sensing window within the sidelink DRX off duration in accordance with some embodiments. This may be done under the assumption that a sensing operation is supported in the sidelink DRX off duration).
As to claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the first preset condition and/or the second preset condition comprise/comprises at least one of the following:
a priority of a data packet or a service is higher than or equal to a first priority threshold;
the priority of the data packet or the service is lower than or equal to a second priority threshold;
a packet delay budget (PDB) is less than or equal to a first PDB threshold (Ye; [0076] determination of T_A and T_B of the contiguous partial sensing window may be based on remaining packet delay budget (PDB) of data to be transmitted. The resource selection window parameter T_2 must be smaller than the remaining PDB of the data in order to transmit the data in the desired timeframe. This may allow data with a larger remaining PDB to have a larger T_B (or T_A). Further, in some embodiments the time gap between T_B (or T_A) and a remaining PDB of the data has to be larger than a threshold to ensure a large enough resource selection window. This threshold may be preconfigured by configuration information of the resource pool. In some embodiments, a value of T_B may be set such that T_B<=remaining PDB−Threshold). Here Ye is applied for the 3rd alternative);
the PDB is greater than or equal to a second PDB threshold;
the terminal is located in a specific resource pool;
an assisting terminal provides assistance information for the terminal; or
a second parameter meets a fourth preset condition, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a power saving mode, a resource allocation scheme, a DRX cycle, DRX on duration, a ratio of DRX on duration to the DRX cycle, DRX inactive duration, a ratio of DRX inactive duration to the DRX cycle, a transmission period of the data packet, power of the terminal, the priority of the data packet or the service, or a first measurement quantity;
wherein the fourth preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
a value of the second parameter is greater than or equal to a first threshold;
the value of the second parameter is less than or equal to a second threshold;
a level of the second parameter is greater than or equal to a third threshold;
the level of the second parameter is less than or equal to a fourth threshold; or
the terminal is in a specific mode or mechanism.
As to claim 23, the rejection of claim 22 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the skipping, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state when a second preset condition is met comprises:
when the assisting terminal provides the assistance information for the terminal, skipping, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state (Tseng; [0333]-[0334] discloses the UE may further be configured to monitor several additional slots within the sidelink sensing window and so the UE may further decide the value of k to fulfill the additional requirement of sensing slots. In some implementations, the UE may also be configured with contiguous partial sensing by monitoring the slots between the range [(n+T.sub.A), (n+T.sub.B)], where the (n+T.sub.A) may be M consecutive (logical) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0 and (n+TB) may be (T.sub.proc,1+T.sub.proc,0) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0. t.sub.y0 is the first slot of the candidate resources for periodic-based partial sensing. when the UE is configured/enabled to perform SL monitoring/reception of PSCCH and SL-RSRP measurement for partial sensing (e.g., PBPS and/or CPS) on slots in SL-DRX Inactive Time, the UE may monitor only (at least) one pre-defined/pre-configured default periodic sensing occasions (e.g., the most recent sensing occasion) from the slots. In some implementations, the UE may monitor a minimum of m contiguous slots from the slots if the UE performs contiguous partial sensing from the slots. In some implementations, the value of m may be configurable. In some other implementations, a default value of m may also be pre-configured/pre-defined to the UE. Minimum number of slots m means number of slots are not less than m. Here threshold is m).
As to claim 24, the rejection of claim 22 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein the performing, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state when a first preset condition is met comprises:
when the assisting terminal provides the assistance information for the terminal, and at least one of a priority of the assistance information, quality of service (QoS), or the PDB meets a corresponding threshold, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state (Tseng; [0333]-[0334] discloses the UE may further be configured to monitor several additional slots within the sidelink sensing window and so the UE may further decide the value of k to fulfill the additional requirement of sensing slots. In some implementations, the UE may also be configured with contiguous partial sensing by monitoring the slots between the range [(n+T.sub.A), (n+T.sub.B)], where the (n+T.sub.A) may be M consecutive (logical) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0 and (n+TB) may be (T.sub.proc,1+T.sub.proc,0) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0. t.sub.y0 is the first slot of the candidate resources for periodic-based partial sensing. when the UE is configured/enabled to perform SL monitoring/reception of PSCCH and SL-RSRP measurement for partial sensing (e.g., PBPS and/or CPS) on slots in SL-DRX Inactive Time, the UE may monitor only (at least) one pre-defined/pre-configured default periodic sensing occasions (e.g., the most recent sensing occasion) from the slots. In some implementations, the UE may monitor a minimum of m contiguous slots from the slots if the UE performs contiguous partial sensing from the slots. In some implementations, the value of m may be configurable. In some other implementations, a default value of m may also be pre-configured/pre-defined to the UE. Minimum number of slots m means number of slots are not less than m. Here threshold is m. Ye is applied for the last alternative sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state); or,
when the assisting terminal provides the assistance information for the terminal, and at least one of the priority of the data packet, QoS, or the PDB meets a corresponding threshold, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state.
As to claim 25, the rejection of claim 21 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Ye-Tseng discloses wherein
the first preset condition, the second preset condition, and/or the third preset condition comprise/comprises: a first parameter for performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state on each terminal, each communication link, or each terminal communication group meets at least one of a preset maximum value or a preset minimum value Tseng; [0333]-[0334] discloses the UE may further be configured to monitor several additional slots within the sidelink sensing window and so the UE may further decide the value of k to fulfill the additional requirement of sensing slots. In some implementations, the UE may also be configured with contiguous partial sensing by monitoring the slots between the range [(n+T.sub.A), (n+T.sub.B)], where the (n+T.sub.A) may be M consecutive (logical) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0 and (n+TB) may be (T.sub.proc,1+T.sub.proc,0) slots earlier than slot t.sub.y0. t.sub.y0 is the first slot of the candidate resources for periodic-based partial sensing. when the UE is configured/enabled to perform SL monitoring/reception of PSCCH and SL-RSRP measurement for partial sensing (e.g., PBPS and/or CPS) on slots in SL-DRX Inactive Time, the UE may monitor only (at least) one pre-defined/pre-configured default periodic sensing occasions (e.g., the most recent sensing occasion) from the slots. In some implementations, the UE may monitor a minimum of m contiguous slots from the slots if the UE performs contiguous partial sensing from the slots. In some implementations, the value of m may be configurable. In some other implementations, a default value of m may also be pre-configured/pre-defined to the UE. Minimum number of slots m means number of slots are not less than m. Here threshold is m. Ye is applied for the 1st alternative)
wherein
the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of transport blocks, a quantity of sidelink processes, a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, a quantity of media access control protocol data units (MAC PDUs), a quantity of sensing periods of partial sensing, a quantity of periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS), a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, or a quantity of contiguous partial sensing (CPS) (Ye; [0068] he UE only using contiguous partial sensing with aperiodic traffic. For example, the transmitting UE has aperiodic traffic whose arrival time is unknown. In this embodiment, T_A may be set to zero or one and T_B may be set to R or R−T_proc,0. R is a length of a resource reservation window, which may be 31 or 32 slots in some embodiments. T_proc,0 is a processing time of sensing results, for example, a number of slots required by the UE to process the sensing results. Ye is applied for the 2nd alternative)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478