DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 15, 2025 and July 7, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rungta et al. (US 20210084516 Al) in view of Ye et al. (US 20230337187 A1).
8. Regarding claim 1, Rungta et al. teaches a transmission method in discontinuous reception, comprising:, (“The DRX manager 820 may receive a discontinuous reception cycle configuration from a base station that indicates a set of discontinuous reception cycles within a discontinuous reception period that each have an ON-duration during which the UE is to be in an active mode to monitor for transmissions from the base station, and where the UE transitions to an inactive mode after one or more of the ON-durations until a subsequent ON-duration” [0090]). Teaches a transmission method in discontinuous reception.
In further, Rungta et al. teaches when a first preset condition is met, performing, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds teach a first preset condition for the UE to trigger a CSI-RS measurement during DRX inactive period.
In further, Rungta et al. teaches when a second preset condition is met, skipping, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). If missed_measurements and sub.RSRP or sub.RSRQ is less than their respective thresholds, then the measurement will not trigger while the UE is in DRX inactive mode; teaching a second preset condition is met, skip measurement in the DRX inactive mode.
Although Rungta et al. teaches a transmission method in discontinuous reception comprising; when a first preset condition is met, performing, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state; or when a second preset condition is met, skipping, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state, and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting a third preset condition.
In the same field of endeavor when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting a third preset condition, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). Sensing a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window teaches a third preset condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so, would be (“…to reduce power consumption. Some of these alternatives includes a no-sensing mode, in which random resources are selected for transmission without sensing the channel, and a partial-sensing mode, in which a UE is configured with specific monitoring periods of a sensing window” [0054]).
9. Regarding claim 2, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition and/or the second preset condition comprise/comprises at least one of the following: a priority of a data packet or a service is higher than or equal to a first priority threshold; the priority of the data packet or the service is lower than or equal to a second priority threshold; a packet delay budget (PDB) is less than or equal to a first PDB threshold; the PDB is greater than or equal to a second PDB threshold; the terminal is located in a specific resource pool; an assisting terminal provides assistance information for the terminal; or a second parameter meets a fourth preset condition, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: a power saving mode, a resource allocation scheme, a DRX cycle, DRX on duration, a ratio of DRX on duration to the DRX cycle, DRX inactive duration, a ratio of DRX inactive duration to the DRX cycle, a transmission period of the data packet, power of the terminal, the priority of the data packet or the service, or a first measurement quantity; wherein the fourth preset condition comprises at least one of the following: a value of the second parameter is greater than or equal to a first threshold; the value of the second parameter is less than or equal to a second threshold; a level of the second parameter is greater than or equal to a third threshold; the level of the second parameter is less than or equal to a fourth threshold; or the terminal is in a specific mode or mechanism, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds teach a first preset condition for the UE to trigger a CSI-RS measurement during DRX inactive period.
Following up with, (“the UE may determine one or more channel quality metrics (e.g., a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) metric, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) metric, etc.) of signals received from the base station” [0027]). The base station is the assisting terminal. The UE is a terminal that receives assisting information (e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR).
10. Regarding claim 3, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the skipping, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state when a second preset condition is met comprises, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). If missed_measurements and sub.RSRP or sub.RSRQ is less than their respective thresholds, then the measurement will not trigger while the UE is in DRX inactive mode; teaching, skipping by the UE (e.g. terminal) measurement in the DRX inactive mode.
Although Rungta et al. teaches skipping by the terminal sensing/measuring in a DRX inactive state, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach when the assisting terminal provides the assistance information for the terminal, skipping, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor of including an assisting terminal that will provide assisting information for the terminal, skipping by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state, Ye et al. teaches, (“If the SCI indicates a resource reservation is from a UE performing no sensing, the operation flow/algorithmic structure 1800 may further include determining a time gap indicated by the SCI is added with a time gap offset at 1816” [0163]). The SCI teaches an indication that the UE is not performing sensing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include SCI indication where the UE is performing no sensing, as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so is applied to notify the UE when the DRX is skipping sensing/measuring in the DRX inactive state (e.g. power saving state).
11. Regarding claim 4, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the performing, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state when a first preset condition is met comprises: when the assisting terminal provides the assistance information for the terminal, and at least one of a priority of the assistance information, quality of service (QoS), or the PDB meets a corresponding threshold, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds teach a first preset condition for the UE (e.g. terminal) to trigger a CSI-RS measurement during DRX inactive period. The RSRP and RSRQ is a form of QoS assisting information for the UE to meet a condition to perform measurement in the DRX inactive period. The thresholds require the value of RSRP and RSRQ in order to compare, teaching that the values are a priority of the assistance information.
Following up with, (“In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the channel quality metric includes one or more of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or a signal to noise ratio (SNR), or any combinations thereof, that may be determined based on one or more signals received from the base station” [0012]). The channel quality metric RSRP, RSRQ, or SNR is received from the base station. The base station (e.g. assisting terminal) provides the channel quality metric to compare the metrics to the thresholds as indicated above, for the UE to perform measurements in the DRX inactive mode. Teaching the assisting terminal provides assistance information for the terminal.
12. Regarding claim 5, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition, the second preset condition, and/or the third preset condition comprise/comprises: a first parameter for performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state on each terminal, or each terminal communication group meets at least one of a preset maximum value or a preset minimum value, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The comparison between missed measurements, RSRP, and RSRQ to their respective thresholds teaches the first and second preset conditions to triggering measurement while the UE (e.g. terminal) is in DRX inactive mode.
Although Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, the first preset condition, the second preset condition, and/or the third preset condition comprise/comprises: a first parameter for performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state on each terminal, or each terminal communication group meets at least one of a preset maximum value or a preset minimum value, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of transport blocks, a quantity of sidelink processes, a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, a quantity of media access control protocol data units (MAC PDUs), a quantity of sensing periods of partial sensing, a quantity of periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS), a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, or a quantity of contiguous partial sensing (CPS).
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of transport blocks, a quantity of sidelink processes, a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, a quantity of media access control protocol data units (MAC PDUs), a quantity of sensing periods of partial sensing, a quantity of periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS), a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, or a quantity of contiguous partial sensing (CPS), Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The resource selection window (e.g. [n+T_1, n+T_2]) teaches a quantity of partial sensing, a quantity of PBPS, and a quantity of sensing occasion for PBPS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include resource selection window (e.g. [n+T_1, n+T_2]) to carry out partial sensing (e.g. PBPS) as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the UE to reduce computation and save energy through the implementation of partial sensing within a quantity of sensing periods (e.g. one or more time slots).
13. Regarding claim 6, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein at least one of the preset maximum value or the preset minimum value is related to at least one of the following second parameters: a power saving mode, a resource allocation scheme, a DRX cycle, DRX on duration, a ratio of DRX on duration to the DRX cycle, DRX inactive duration, a ratio of DRX inactive duration to the DRX cycle, a transmission period of a data packet, power of the terminal, a priority of the data packet or a service, or a first measurement quantity, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds are a preset maximum value or minimum value. Performing measurements while the UE is in DRX inactive mode is related to a power saving mode. Thus, teaches that the preset maximum/minimum value is related to a power saving mode.
14. Regarding claim 7, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition, the second preset condition, and/or the third preset condition comprise/comprises: within a first time window or duration of a first timer, a first measurement parameter of the terminal, a sidelink process, a HARQ process, a communication link, or a communication group is not less than a fifth threshold and/or is not greater than a sixth threshold, wherein the first measurement parameter comprises at least one of the following: duration of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of transitions from a sleep state to a wake-up state, a battery or power level, or a first measurement quantity, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The metrics (e.g. missed_measurements, RSRP, RSRQ) are compared to their respective thresholds to perform or not perform CSI-RS measurement teaches a first preset condition (e.g. perform measurement) and a second preset condition (e.g. not perform measurement).
Following up with, (“The UE may then measure channel state information based on the subsequent CSI-RS transmissions, and provide a channel state feedback report to the base station that may be used to set transmission parameters for subsequent communications between the UE and base station” [0028] … “Further, by maintaining the limited active mode for reference signal measurements only when channel conditions have had a significant change, channel state information may be provided in order to allow for transmission parameters (e.g., modulation and coding scheme (MCS), transmission power, etc.) that are based on more up-to-date channel information” [0031]). The measurement of channel state information based on CSI-RS to set transmission parameters between UE and base station, teaches a first measurement parameter of the terminal and a communication link. Further, the transmission parameters include transmission power, teaching the first measurement parameter comprises a battery or power level.
15. Regarding claim 8, Rungta et al. teaches sensing and/or measurement, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). Triggering measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode.
Although Rungta et al. teaches sensing and/or measurement, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach where the duration of sensing/measurement counts forward from a first moment or counts forward from a most recent Tth window before a first moment, wherein T is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
In the same field of endeavor of including one or more factors that includes a duration of sensing/measurement counts forward from a first moment, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The n+T_1 represents the first moment and counts forward towards n+T_2. The window between T_1 and T_2 is where periodic sensing is carried out.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include the resource selection window to perform periodic sensing as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would reduce unnecessary computation and improve the use of power/energy.
16. Regarding claim 9, Rungta et al. teaches sensing and/or measurement, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [Rungta et al. 0073]). Triggering measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode if condition is met.
Although, Rungta et al. teaches sensing/measuring if a condition is met, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach the duration of sensing and/or measurement comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of sensing occasions, a quantity of time units for sensing, a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, a CPS window length, a quantity of time units for CBR measurement, a quantity of time units for RSRP measurement, or a quantity of time units for CR measurement.
In the same field of endeavor of including a duration of sensing that comprises a quantity of sensing occasions, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The window defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2] is a duration of a sensing window and a quantity of the sensing occasion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a sensing occasion within the sensing window defined by the resource selection window of [n+T_1, n+T_2] as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would help define a time to perform partial sensing, thus reducing unnecessary computation.
17. Regarding claim 10, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first measurement parameter is calculated only in an inactive time period, (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [Rungta et al. 0073]). The metric n.sub.missed_measurements, Δ.sub.RSRP, Δ.sub.RSRQ are parameters. Performing CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode if condition is met, teaches a first measurement parameter is calculated in an inactive time period.
18. Regarding claim 11, Rungta et al teaches N DRX cycles, (“In this example, a DRX cycle 415 is configured at the UE with DRX active durations and DRX inactive durations. In this case, each of the CSI-RS arrivals 405 is in a scheduled DRX inactive period of the DRX cycle, and thus the UE may skip measurement of the CSI-RSs in each instance of CRS-RS transmissions until the UE is triggered to measure a CSI-RS” [0075]).
Although Rungta et al. teaches N DRX cycles, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach he method the method according to claim 7, the first-time window.
In the same field of endeavor of including the method according to claim 7, wherein the first-time window, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The resource selection window [n+T_1, n+T_2] to perform sensing teaches the first-time window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include the resource selection window defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2] as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would help configure the time window of the DRX cycle to reduce energy consumption.
19. Regarding claim 12, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the time, (“In this example, a DRX cycle 415 is configured at the UE with DRX active durations and DRX inactive durations” [0076]). The DRX active/inactive duration is a measure of time.
Although Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the time, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the time unit counts forward from a first moment or counts forward from a most recent Tth window before a first moment, wherein T is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the time unit counts forward from a first moment or counts forward from a most recent Tth window before a first moment, wherein T is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The resource selection window is defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2], where the time n+T_1 counts forward towards n+T_2; teaching the time unit counts forwards from a first moment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a resource selection window defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2] as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would specifically indicate the range of time for the UE to perform partial sensing.
20. Regarding claim 13, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first time window, the first timer, the fifth threshold, and/or the sixth threshold are/is related to at least one of the following second parameters: a power saving mode, a resource allocation scheme, a DRX cycle, DRX on duration, a ratio of DRX on duration to the DRX cycle, DRX inactive duration, a ratio of DRX inactive duration to the DRX cycle, a transmission period of a data packet, power of the terminal, a priority of the data packet or a service, or a first measurement quantity, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The sixth thresholds (e.g. thresh.sub.RSRP, thresh.sub.RSRQ, thresh.sub.missed_measurements) are related to a power saving mode (e.g. DRX inactive mode).
21. Regarding claim 14, Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: QoS, a channel occupancy ratio, channel occupancy, a channel busy ratio, a channel blocking ratio, channel blockage, a channel idle ratio, channel idleness, a quantity of ACKs, a quantity of successful data packet transmissions, a data packet transmission success ratio, a quantity of NACKs, a quantity of failed data packet transmissions, a data packet transmission failure ratio, a quantity of discontinuous transmissions (DTXs), a quantity of missed sensing in sensing, or a quantity of false sensing in sensing of a system, a carrier, a BWP, a resource pool, a user, or a connection group, (“Devices of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., base stations 105 or UEs 115) may have a hardware configuration that supports communications over a particular carrier bandwidth, or may be configurable to support communications over one of a set of carrier bandwidths. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may include base stations 105 and/or UEs 115 that support simultaneous communications via carriers associated with more than one different carrier bandwidth.” [0061]). Teaches, that the UE and base station communicates through carriers and more than one different carrier bandwidth.
Following up with, (“Thus, in this example, as indicated at 420, the UE may move to the limited active mode to measure CSI-1, and transmit a feedback report to the base station (e.g., via an uplink transmission of control information) based on the measured CSI” [0076]). The measurement of CSI-1 is a measurement quantity and the uplink of the report from the UE to the base station represents the use of a carrier.
22. Regarding claim 15, Rungta et al. a first preset condition, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds teaches a preset condition for the UE to trigger a CSI-RS measurement during DRX inactive period.
Although Rungta et al. teaches a preset condition Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the third preset condition comprises at least one of the following: performing sensing and/or measurement based on a resource allocation scheme or a resource sensing mechanism predefined in a protocol, preconfigured by a network side, configured by a network, indicated by a network, preconfigured by the terminal, configured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal; performing sensing and/or measurement only based on PBPS; performing sensing and/or measurement only based on CPS; performing sensing and/or measurement only based on full sensing; or performing sensing and/or measurement only based on PBPS and CPS.
In the same field of endeavor of including the method according to claim 1, wherein the third preset condition comprises at least one of the following: performing sensing and/or measurement only based on PBPS and CPS, Ye et al. teaches, (“In NR V2X, if a resource pool is configured (or preconfigured) with at least partial sensing, a UE performs contiguous partial sensing, and resource selection (or reselection) is triggered in slot n, the UE may select (or reselect) resources by monitoring slots between [n+T_A, n+T_B] and identifying candidate resources in or after slot n+T_B based on all available sensing results, including periodic-based partial sensing results if applicable” [0057]). The UE can perform contiguous partial sensing and periodic-based partial sensing if results if applicable.
Following up with, (“Some embodiments describe how to determine a contiguous partial sensing window. For example, how to determine T_A and T_B for the contiguous partial sensing. For contiguous partial sensing, the UE may monitor slots between [n+T_A, n+T_B] and identify candidate resources in or after slot n+T_B. The T_A and T_B values may depend on sensing schemes performed at the UE and on traffic periodicity” [0062]. The monitoring slots for CPS teaches a third preset condition for performing sensing/measuring.
Following up with, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). Teaches sensing a channel within periodic-based partial sensing window (e.g. PBPS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a sensing window for CPS and PBPS as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be to reduce power usage through the implementation of CPS and PBPS (e.g. partial sensing methods).
23. Regarding claim 16, Rungta et al. teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: measuring RSRP, (“In such cases, the UE may in some instances determine to be in a limited active mode or UE-initiated active mode (referred to as “limited active mode” herein) in order to measure a reference signal based at least in part on a change in a channel quality metric (e.g., a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) metric)” [0005]).
Although Rungta et al. teaches measuring RSRP, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein measuring RSRP based on a PSSCH.
In the same field of endeavor of including the measurement of RSRP based on a PSSCH, Ye et al. teaches, (“The sidelink RSRP measurement may be based on physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) DMRS” [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include the sidelink RSRP measurement to be based on a PSSCH DMRS as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow “the UE will select resources from within a resource selection window” [0052].
24. Regarding claim 17, Rungta et al. teaches, a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform, (“An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a discontinuous reception cycle configuration from a base station… and where the UE transitions to an inactive mode after one or more of the ON-durations until a subsequent ON-duration, identify a channel measurement schedule that indicates a timing for one or more channel measurements of the UE, where at least a first channel measurement occurs when the UE is to be in the inactive mode of the discontinuous reception cycle configuration, determine that a change in a channel quality metric exceeds a threshold value during a predetermined period before the first channel measurement, and set the UE to be in a limited active mode to perform the first scheduled channel measurement based on the determining that the change in the channel quality metric exceeds the threshold value for at least the predetermined period before the first channel measurement” [0008]).
In further, when a first preset condition is met, performing sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The thresholds teach a first preset condition for the UE to trigger a CSI-RS measurement during DRX inactive period. If missed_measurements and sub.RSRP or sub.RSRQ is greater than their respective thresholds, then the measurement will trigger while the UE is in DRX inactive mode, else if metrics are less than thresholds, skip measurement in the DRX inactive mode; teaching a first (e.g. perform measurement) preset condition and second (e.g. not perform measurement) preset condition.
Although Rungta et al. teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: when a first preset condition is met, performing, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state; or when a second preset condition is met, skipping, by a terminal, sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting a third preset condition.
In the same field of endeavor when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting, by the terminal, a third preset condition, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). Sensing a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window teaches a third preset condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so, would be (“…to reduce power consumption. Some of these alternatives includes a no-sensing mode, in which random resources are selected for transmission without sensing the channel, and a partial-sensing mode, in which a UE is configured with specific monitoring periods of a sensing window” [0054]).
25. Regarding claim 18, Rungta et al. teaches the terminal according to claim 17, wherein the first preset condition, the second preset condition, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The comparison between the thresholds and their respective metric is greater than the threshold or less than the threshold to perform measurements or skip measurements, teaching a first preset condition and a second preset condition.
Although Rungta et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset condition, the second preset condition, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach and/or the third preset condition comprise/comprises: within a first time window or duration of a first timer, a first measurement parameter of the terminal, a sidelink process, a HARQ process, a communication link, or a communication group is not less than a fifth threshold and/or is not greater than a sixth threshold, wherein the first measurement parameter comprises at least one of the following: duration of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of transitions from a sleep state to a wake-up state, a battery or power level, or a first measurement quantity.
In the same field of endeavor of including the third preset condition comprise/comprises: within a first time window or duration of a first timer, a first measurement parameter of the terminal, a sidelink process, a HARQ process, a communication link, or a communication group is not less than a fifth threshold and/or is not greater than a sixth threshold, wherein the first measurement parameter comprises at least one of the following: duration of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of sensing and/or measurement, a quantity of transitions from a sleep state to a wake-up state, a battery or power level, or a first measurement quantity, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The resource selection window (e.g. [n+T_1, n+T_2]) teaches a first-time window, duration of a first timer, a first measurement parameter of a UE (e.g. terminal) wherein the first measurement parameter comprises a duration of sensing/measurement, a quantity of sensing and/or measurement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include the SL-DRX operation to perform partial sensing as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to include the sensing window (“to reduce power consumption. Some of these alternatives includes a no-sensing mode, in which random resources are selected for transmission without sensing the channel, and a partial-sensing mode, in which a UE is configured with specific monitoring periods of a sensing window” [0054]).
26. Regarding claim 19, Rungta et al. teaches the terminal according to claim 18, sensing and/or measurement, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [Rungta et al. 0073]). The UE is a form of a terminal and teaches performing measurements while the UE is in DRX inactive mode if condition is met.
Although, Rungta et al. teaches sensing and/or measuring, Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach the duration of sensing and/or measurement comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of sensing occasions, a quantity of time units for sensing, a quantity of sensing occasions for PBPS, a CPS window length, a quantity of time units for CBR measurement, a quantity of time units for RSRP measurement, or a quantity of time units for CR measurement.
In the same field of endeavor of including a duration of sensing that comprises a quantity of sensing occasions, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). The window defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2] is a duration of a sensing window and a quantity of the sensing occasion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a sensing occasion within the sensing window defined by the resource selection window of [n+T_1, n+T_2] as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would help define a time to perform partial sensing, thus reducing unnecessary computation.
27. Regarding claim 20, Rungta et al. teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor of the terminal to perform, (“A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor to receive a discontinuous reception cycle configuration from a base station that indicates a set of discontinuous reception cycles within a discontinuous reception period… where at least a first channel measurement occurs when the UE is to be in the inactive mode of the discontinuous reception cycle configuration, determine that a change in a channel quality metric exceeds a threshold value during a predetermined period before the first channel measurement, and set the UE to be in a limited active mode to perform the first scheduled channel measurement based on the determining that the change in the channel quality metric exceeds the threshold value for at least the predetermined period before the first channel measurement” [0010]). A non-transitory CRM at a UE is described.
In further, when a first preset condition is met, performing sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state; or when a second preset condition is met, skipping sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, (“In one example, the UE may trigger a CSI-RS measurement during a scheduled DRX inactive period if: (n.sub.missed_measurements>thresh.sub.missed_measurements) AND (Δ.sub.RSRP>thresh.sub.RSRP OR Δ.sub.RSRQ>thresh.sub.RSRQ), where thresh.sub.missed_measurements, thresh.sub.RSRP, and thresh.sub.RSRQ are UE defined thresholds for triggering a CSI-RS measurement while the UE is in DRX inactive mode” [0073]). The UE may trigger measurement within the DRX off state if a condition is met. The comparison between the thresholds and their respective metric is greater than the threshold or less than the threshold to perform measurements or skip measurements. Teaching a first preset condition and a second preset condition.
Although Rungta et al. teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor of the terminal to perform: when a first preset condition is met, performing sensing and/or measurement in a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive state; or when a second preset condition is met, skipping sensing and/or measurement in a DRX inactive state, and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement in the DRX inactive state Rungta et al. does not explicitly teach and/or when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting a third preset condition.
In the same field of endeavor when performing sensing and/or measurement, meeting, by the terminal, a third preset condition, Ye et al. teaches, (“The UE may periodically sense a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window. The periodicity of the sensing occasions within the periodic-based partial sensing window may correspond to candidate slots within a resource selection window. The resource selection window may be defined by [n+T_1, n+T_2]” [0066]). Sensing a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window teaches a third preset condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Rungta et al. to include a channel within the periodic-based partial sensing window as taught by Ye et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so, would be (“…to reduce power consumption. Some of these alternatives includes a no-sensing mode, in which random resources are selected for transmission without sensing the channel, and a partial-sensing mode, in which a UE is configured with specific monitoring periods of a sensing window” [0054]).
Conclusion
28. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
29. The relevance of this prior art, “POWER EFFICIENT MEASUREMENTS AT HIGHER FREQUENCIES” Document ID US 20230088597 A1; The art teaches power efficient measurements for high frequency operations. The invention includes a WTRU to measure for beam failure detection and/or mobility as a function of DRX or BFD configurations.
30. The relevance of this prior art, “TECHNIQUES FOR MEASURING SYNCHRONIZATION SIGNAL BLOCKS IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS” Document ID US 20200314673 A1; The art involves a plurality of processors configured to receive multiple SSB from a target cell over a measurement time window. As well as a serving cell initiating a handover to UE to perform measurements of neighboring cells when the DRX state is off.
31. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL THANH TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9841. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri Flex 8:00am-5:00pm.
/PAUL THANH TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
February 27, 2026
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465