DETAILED ACTION
This is the third office action for US Application 18/604,821 for Devices, Systems, and Methods for Securing Cables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desard et al. in view of US 4,347,998 to Loree. Regarding claim 16, Desard et al. discloses an enclosure (200) and a device (see figure 1) mounted within the enclosure. The device comprises a first portion (104) and a second portion (102) that is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the first portion. There is a support (114) positioned within the first portion or the second portion, wherein the support enables differently sized cables to be secured between the first portion and the second portion when the second portion is in the closed position. There are one or more cables disposed within the device such that the one or more cables are secured in a desired position within the enclosure when the second portion of the device is in the closed position.
Desard et al. does not disclose the support as being a foam support cushion that enables compression of the foam support cushion to enable differently sized cables to be secured between the first portion and the second portion. Loree provides a teaching for providing a foam support cushion (40) between first (10) and second (12) portions of a cable support enclosure to enable differently sized cables to be secured between the first portion and the second portion. Because both Desard et al. and Loree disclose supports for securing cable within a first and second portion of an enclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have substituted one support for the other to achieve the predictable result of a foam support cushion in the enclosure of Desard et al.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desard et al. in view of US 4,347,998 to Loree, and in further view of US 5,564,163 to Barnett. Regarding claim 17, the enclosure of Desard et al. includes a fiber management tray (260). Desard et al. in view of Loree does not disclose the device as comprising an attachment clip disposed on a bottom side of the first portion such that the device is mountable to a fiber management tray. Barnett discloses a device or securing one or more cables, comprising a second portion (16) that is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to a first portion (14). There is an attachment clip (18) on a bottom side of the first portion to mount the device to an aperture in a support.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided an attachment clip on the bottom of the first portion of the device taught by Desard et al. in view of Loree, and an aperture in the support tray, to mount the device to the support tray as taught by Barnett.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, and 20 are allowed. Claims 18 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See pages 7-10 of Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 18 March 2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632