DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 07/07/2026, concerning Application No. 18/604,837. The amendments to the claims filed on 07/07/2026 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 1-7 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The claims are directed to a process and an apparatus, and therefore satisfy step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claims recite the following limitations that are directed to judicial exceptions (abstract ideas): “with respect to a scanning line in which a first change has been made to a depth of field, make a second change to a pulse repetition frequency in accordance with the depth of field after the first change…” in claim 1 and similarly claims 4 and 7; and “set a new transmission voltage corresponding to each of the scanning lines of the first and second depth of fields based on the pulse repetition frequency after the second change…” in claim 1 and similarly in claims 2-7; etc., which recite either mathematical concepts and/or mental processes that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea (i.e., the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts) as the generically recited computer elements only amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on the machine. Additional elements recited at a high-level of generality include the radial ultrasound probe having ultrasound vibrators (in claims 1, 4, and 7), the ultrasound transmission circuit (in claims 1, 4, and 7), the temperature sensor (in claims 1, 4, and 7), the processing circuitry (in claims 1-3 and 7), and the processor (in claims 4-6), etc., that merely implement the abstract idea and that are further merely capable of performing the insignificant pre-extra solution activity of data gathering as claimed (i.e., “output drive signals” in claims 1 and 7; “acquire a surface temperature” in claims 1, 4, and 7; and “output new drive signals corresponding to the new transmission voltage… to transmit an ultrasound beam” in claims 1, 4, and 7), which are components recited at a high-level of generality that merely links the judicial exceptions to a particular technological environment and/or a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2B: For similar reasons set forth above, the additional limitations also do not provide an inventive concept that would be substantially more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion: Claims 1-7 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo et al. (US 2015/0320398 A1, of record, hereinafter Honjo) in view of Murakami (US 2012/0277591 A1, of record, hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of Salgo et al. (US Patent No. 6,709,392 B1, of record, hereinafter Salgo).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 7, Honjo discloses a probe control apparatus for an ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Para. [0026-0031] and [0034-0039]) (and a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium including computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method of claim 4, and a corresponding ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of claim 7) comprising:
an ultrasound transmission circuit configured to output drive signals to drive ultrasound vibrators provided in the ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Fig. 1 with Para. [0029], “The ultrasonic probe 1 includes, for example, a plurality of elements of a piezoelectric transducer and the elements generate ultrasonic waves based on driving signals provided by a later-described transmitter 11 included in the apparatus main body 10”, and Para. [0034-0039]); and
processing circuitry (see, e.g., Para. [0026], “An ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus according to the embodiment includes reception circuitry, signal processing circuitry, image generating circuitry…”) configured to:
with respect to a scanning line in which a first change has been made to a depth of field (see, e.g., Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point”), make a second change to a pulse repetition frequency in accordance with the depth of field after the first change (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The transmitter 11 provides driving signals to the ultrasonic probe 1. The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113. The transmission delay unit 112, for example, converges ultrasonic waves generated from the ultrasonic probe 1 into a beam and provides a transmission delay time for each of the piezoelectric transducer elements necessary for determining transmitting directivity of the beam to the corresponding rate pulse generated by the rate pulse generator 111. The pulse transmitter 113 applies a driving signal (a drive pulse) to the ultrasonic probe 1 at a timing based on the rate pulse”, and Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point. If the transmitter 11 executes the multi-stage focus, the transmission delay unit 112 calculates the transmission delay time based on the depth of the transmission focal point and provides the calculated time to the pulse transmitter 113”), the depth of field varying among each of a plurality of scanning lines such that an ultrasound image formed by the ultrasound probe does not extend concentrically from a probe region of the ultrasound probe, wherein, in the second change, the pulse repetition frequency is set higher in a first scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a first depth of field than a second scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a second depth of field and the first depth of field is shallower than the second depth of field (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam)”, and Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point. If the transmitter 11 executes the multi-stage focus, the transmission delay unit 112 calculates the transmission delay time based on the depth of the transmission focal point and provides the calculated time to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Figs. 2-6C with Para. [0070], “The scan sequence in FIG. 5 illustrates that if the depth “F.sub.1” and the depth “F.sub.2” are set as a plurality of transmission focal points, the parallel and simultaneous reception is executed with overlaps while shifting the position of “the transmission aperture L.sub.T0” between the transmission rates using the transmission beam with the transmission focal point position “F.sub.1” and the transmission beam with the transmission focal point position “F.sub.2”. […] With the scan sequence illustrated in FIG. 5, the depth where the transmission beam is mostly focused is changed whereby the depth where the stripes at intervals of the simultaneous reception are likely to occur is changed”, and Para. [0071], “the transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment may change the transmission focal point position on a transmission scanning line for each transmission ultrasonic wave”, and Para. [0072], “FIGS. 6A to 6C illustrate the scan sequence that changes the depth of the transmission focal point while walking the transmission beam”);
set a new transmission voltage corresponding to each of the scanning lines of the first and second depth of fields based on the pulse repetition frequency after the second change (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Para. [0038], “The transmitter 11 has the function of instantly changing a transmission frequency, a transmission driving voltage, and the like under the instruction of the controller 19 described later, in order to execute a certain scan sequence. Changing a transmission driving voltage, in particular, is achieved by a linear amplifier outgoing circuit that can instantly switch the voltage values”); and
control the ultrasound transmission circuit to output new drive signals corresponding to the new transmission voltage to drive the ultrasound vibrators in the ultrasound probe to transmit an ultrasound beam in accordance with the set new transmission voltage (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The transmitter 11 transmits an ultrasonic wave from the ultrasonic probe 1. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the transmitter 11 includes a rate pulse generator 111, a transmission delay unit 112, and a pulse transmitter 113. The transmitter 11 provides driving signals to the ultrasonic probe 1. The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113. The transmission delay unit 112, for example, converges ultrasonic waves generated from the ultrasonic probe 1 into a beam and provides a transmission delay time for each of the piezoelectric transducer elements necessary for determining transmitting directivity of the beam to the corresponding rate pulse generated by the rate pulse generator 111. The pulse transmitter 113 applies a driving signal (a drive pulse) to the ultrasonic probe 1 at a timing based on the rate pulse”).
Honjo does not specifically disclose [1] wherein the ultrasound probe is specifically a radial ultrasound probe; [2] a temperature sensor configured to acquire a surface temperature of the radial ultrasound probe; and [3] wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that the surface temperature of the radial ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging systems, Murakami discloses wherein the ultrasound probe is a radial ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Abstract, “An ultrasound diagnostic apparatus capable of obtaining a high-quality ultrasound image while suppressing the temperature rise in an ultrasound probe”, and Para. [0007], “an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus wherein the conditions for actuating the transducer array are automatically changed according to the surface temperature of the ultrasound probe. The surface temperature of the ultrasound probe is kept at an appropriate temperature by reducing, for example, driving voltage”, and Para. [0067], “The ultrasound probe 12 may be an external type probe such as linear scan type, convex scan type, and sector scan type or a probe of, for example, a radial scan type used for an ultrasound endoscope”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe control apparatus, the non-transitory computer readable medium, and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Honjo by including [1] wherein the ultrasound probe is specifically a radial ultrasound probe, as disclosed by Murakami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to perform the desired scan type, such as a radial scan type for an ultrasound endoscope, as recognized by Murakami (see, e.g., Para. [0067]).
Honjo modified by Murakami still does not specifically disclose [2] a temperature sensor configured to acquire a surface temperature of the radial ultrasound probe; and [3] wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that the surface temperature of the radial ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging systems, Salgo discloses wherein the probe control apparatus comprises a temperature sensor configured to acquire a surface temperature of the ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Abstract, “A system and method for controlling the heat of an ultrasonic transducer is disclosed. In the presently preferred embodiments, the system and method controls the temperature of the transducer by changing operating system parameters based on feedback from temperature sensing elements placed in the transducer”, and Col. 7, lines 62-67 to Col. 8, lines 1-10, “In FIG. 3, a controller 301, which may take the form of a microprocessor, controls the overall functioning of the ultrasonic device. Controller 301 receives measurement signals from temperature sensor(s) 310. Possible temperature sensors include any known conventional temperature sensor, such as, for example, thermistors, thermocouples, resistance temperature detectors (RTDs), and fiber optic temperature sensors which use thermalchromic liquid crystals. There may be one or more temperature sensor(s) 310, and their appropriate placement within the ultrasonic system will depend on the use and type of system, as would be known to one skilled in the art. In the preferred embodiments, the appropriate placement of the temperature sensor(s) 310 is the most suitable location to ascertain the surface temperature of the patient contacting surface 390 of the ultrasonic transducer”); and
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that the surface temperature of the ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value (see, e.g., Abstract, “A system and method for controlling the heat of an ultrasonic transducer is disclosed. In the presently preferred embodiments, the system and method controls the temperature of the transducer by changing operating system parameters based on feedback from temperature sensing elements placed in the transducer”, and Col. 7, lines 62-67 to Col. 8, lines 1-10, “In FIG. 3, a controller 301, which may take the form of a microprocessor, controls the overall functioning of the ultrasonic device. Controller 301 receives measurement signals from temperature sensor(s) 310. Possible temperature sensors include any known conventional temperature sensor, such as, for example, thermistors, thermocouples, resistance temperature detectors (RTDs), and fiber optic temperature sensors which use thermalchromic liquid crystals. There may be one or more temperature sensor(s) 310, and their appropriate placement within the ultrasonic system will depend on the use and type of system, as would be known to one skilled in the art. In the preferred embodiments, the appropriate placement of the temperature sensor(s) 310 is the most suitable location to ascertain the surface temperature of the patient contacting surface 390 of the ultrasonic transducer”, and Col. 9, lines 9-42, “the system will be reset when the current temperature is below the threshold temperature T.sub.th. In other embodiments, the system will be reset when it reaches a reset temperature T.sub.res which is below threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] The mutable system parameters which can be altered in order to decrease the ultrasonic transducer temperature include, but are not limited to: […] Applied Voltage--the system decreases the voltage applied to the transmitting elements, which will result in reduced intensity (and temperature). […] Pulse Repetition Frequency (PRF)--the system decreases the number of beams formed per second. Aperture--the system decreases the size of the aperture. (Imaging) Depth--the system decreases the scanning depth. Sector Width--the system decreases the width of the zone being scanned”, and Col. 10, lines 51-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-2, “the current temperature T.sub.cur is monitored in step 410 and, in step 420, it is determined whether the current temperature T.sub.cur has exceeded a threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] Next, a predetermined mutable system parameter is changed in proportion to the difference .DELTA. in step 633. For example, if the predetermined mutable system parameter was the applied voltage (i.e., the voltage applied to the transmitting ultrasonic transducer elements), the applied voltage would be reduced by an amount proportional to the difference .DELTA.. This type of proportionate response provides a very precise adjustment of the system parameter in order to get the intended effect, i.e., reducing the temperature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the probe control apparatus, the non-transitory computer readable medium, and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Honjo modified by Murakami by including [2] a temperature sensor configured to acquire a surface temperature of the ultrasound probe; and [3] wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that the surface temperature of the ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value, as disclosed by Salgo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a very precise adjustment of the system parameters (i.e., transmission voltage) in order to desirably reduce the generated heat/temperature, as recognized by Salgo (see, e.g., Col. 10, lines 51-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Honjo modified by Murakami and Salgo discloses the probe control apparatus according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 4, respectively, as set forth above. Honjo further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set, as the new transmission voltage (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Para. [0038], “The transmitter 11 has the function of instantly changing a transmission frequency, a transmission driving voltage, and the like under the instruction of the controller 19 described later, in order to execute a certain scan sequence. Changing a transmission driving voltage, in particular, is achieved by a linear amplifier outgoing circuit that can instantly switch the voltage values”), a value obtained by multiplying a transmission voltage with the pulse repetition frequency before the second change by a square root of a ratio of the pulse repetition frequency before the second change to the pulse repetition frequency after the second change (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Para. [0038], “The transmitter 11 has the function of instantly changing a transmission frequency, a transmission driving voltage, and the like under the instruction of the controller 19 described later, in order to execute a certain scan sequence. Changing a transmission driving voltage, in particular, is achieved by a linear amplifier outgoing circuit that can instantly switch the voltage values”, and Para. [0090-0095] and Expressions (1)-(3)).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Honjo modified by Murakami and Salgo discloses the probe control apparatus according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 4, respectively, as set forth above. Honjo discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set the new transmission voltage (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Para. [0038], “The transmitter 11 has the function of instantly changing a transmission frequency, a transmission driving voltage, and the like under the instruction of the controller 19 described later, in order to execute a certain scan sequence. Changing a transmission driving voltage, in particular, is achieved by a linear amplifier outgoing circuit that can instantly switch the voltage values”).
Honjo modified by Murakami does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that heat generation caused by the transmission of the ultrasound beam becomes equal to or less than the allowable value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging systems, Salgo discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that heat generation caused by the transmission of the ultrasound beam becomes equal to or less than the allowable value (see, e.g., Abstract, “A system and method for controlling the heat of an ultrasonic transducer is disclosed. In the presently preferred embodiments, the system and method controls the temperature of the transducer by changing operating system parameters based on feedback from temperature sensing elements placed in the transducer”, and Col. 7, lines 62-67 to Col. 8, lines 1-10, “In FIG. 3, a controller 301, which may take the form of a microprocessor, controls the overall functioning of the ultrasonic device. Controller 301 receives measurement signals from temperature sensor(s) 310. Possible temperature sensors include any known conventional temperature sensor, such as, for example, thermistors, thermocouples, resistance temperature detectors (RTDs), and fiber optic temperature sensors which use thermalchromic liquid crystals. There may be one or more temperature sensor(s) 310, and their appropriate placement within the ultrasonic system will depend on the use and type of system, as would be known to one skilled in the art. In the preferred embodiments, the appropriate placement of the temperature sensor(s) 310 is the most suitable location to ascertain the surface temperature of the patient contacting surface 390 of the ultrasonic transducer”, and Col. 9, lines 9-42, “the system will be reset when the current temperature is below the threshold temperature T.sub.th. In other embodiments, the system will be reset when it reaches a reset temperature T.sub.res which is below threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] The mutable system parameters which can be altered in order to decrease the ultrasonic transducer temperature include, but are not limited to: […] Applied Voltage--the system decreases the voltage applied to the transmitting elements, which will result in reduced intensity (and temperature). […] Pulse Repetition Frequency (PRF)--the system decreases the number of beams formed per second. Aperture--the system decreases the size of the aperture. (Imaging) Depth--the system decreases the scanning depth. Sector Width--the system decreases the width of the zone being scanned”, and Col. 10, lines 51-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-2, “the current temperature T.sub.cur is monitored in step 410 and, in step 420, it is determined whether the current temperature T.sub.cur has exceeded a threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] Next, a predetermined mutable system parameter is changed in proportion to the difference .DELTA. in step 633. For example, if the predetermined mutable system parameter was the applied voltage (i.e., the voltage applied to the transmitting ultrasonic transducer elements), the applied voltage would be reduced by an amount proportional to the difference .DELTA.. This type of proportionate response provides a very precise adjustment of the system parameter in order to get the intended effect, i.e., reducing the temperature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the probe control apparatus and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Honjo modified by Murakami and Salgo by including wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that heat generation caused by the transmission of the ultrasound beam becomes equal to or less than the allowable value, as disclosed by Salgo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a very precise adjustment of the system parameters (i.e., transmission voltage) in order to desirably reduce the generated heat/temperature, as recognized by Salgo (see, e.g., Col. 10, lines 51-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 07/07/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Honjo (US 2015/0320398 A1) in view of Murakami (US 2012/0277591 A1) and Salgo (US Patent No. 6,709,392 B1), Applicant argues that “the '398 application does not disclose the specific features recited in amended Claim 1. In particular, the '398 application fails to disclose processing circuitry configured to with respect to a scanning line in which a first change has been made to a depth of field, make a second change to a pulse repetition frequency in accordance with the depth of field after the first change, the depth of field varying among each of a plurality of scanning lines such that an ultrasound image formed by the radial ultrasound probe does not extend concentrically from a probe region of the radial ultrasound probe, wherein in the second change, the pulse repetition frequency is set higher in a first scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a first depth of field than a second scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a second depth of field and the first depth of field is shallower than the second depth of field; set a new transmission voltage corresponding to each of the scanning lines of the first and second depth of fields based on the pulse repetition frequency after the second change in such a manner that the surface temperature of the radial ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value, as recited in amended Claim 1”, as stated in Page 13 of the Remarks filed 07/07/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that Honjo modified by Murakami and Salgo does disclose each and every feature of the independent claims, as set forth above. Specifically, Examiner emphasizes that:
[1] Honjo discloses with respect to a scanning line in which a first change has been made to a depth of field (see, e.g., Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point”), make a second change to a pulse repetition frequency in accordance with the depth of field after the first change (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The transmitter 11 provides driving signals to the ultrasonic probe 1. The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113. The transmission delay unit 112, for example, converges ultrasonic waves generated from the ultrasonic probe 1 into a beam and provides a transmission delay time for each of the piezoelectric transducer elements necessary for determining transmitting directivity of the beam to the corresponding rate pulse generated by the rate pulse generator 111. The pulse transmitter 113 applies a driving signal (a drive pulse) to the ultrasonic probe 1 at a timing based on the rate pulse”, and Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point. If the transmitter 11 executes the multi-stage focus, the transmission delay unit 112 calculates the transmission delay time based on the depth of the transmission focal point and provides the calculated time to the pulse transmitter 113”), the depth of field varying among each of a plurality of scanning lines such that an ultrasound image formed by the ultrasound probe does not extend concentrically from a probe region of the ultrasound probe, wherein, in the second change, the pulse repetition frequency is set higher in a first scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a first depth of field than a second scanning line region corresponding to scanning lines with a second depth of field and the first depth of field is shallower than the second depth of field (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam)”, and Para. [0036], “The transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment is capable of executing, for example, the multi-stage focus in which the ultrasonic beam is transmitted a plurality of times on a common scanning line while changing the position (the depth) of the transmission focal point. If the transmitter 11 executes the multi-stage focus, the transmission delay unit 112 calculates the transmission delay time based on the depth of the transmission focal point and provides the calculated time to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Figs. 2-6C with Para. [0070], “The scan sequence in FIG. 5 illustrates that if the depth “F.sub.1” and the depth “F.sub.2” are set as a plurality of transmission focal points, the parallel and simultaneous reception is executed with overlaps while shifting the position of “the transmission aperture L.sub.T0” between the transmission rates using the transmission beam with the transmission focal point position “F.sub.1” and the transmission beam with the transmission focal point position “F.sub.2”. […] With the scan sequence illustrated in FIG. 5, the depth where the transmission beam is mostly focused is changed whereby the depth where the stripes at intervals of the simultaneous reception are likely to occur is changed”, and Para. [0071], “the transmitter 11 according to the present embodiment may change the transmission focal point position on a transmission scanning line for each transmission ultrasonic wave”, and Para. [0072], “FIGS. 6A to 6C illustrate the scan sequence that changes the depth of the transmission focal point while walking the transmission beam”); and set a new transmission voltage corresponding to each of the scanning lines of the first and second depth of fields based on the pulse repetition frequency after the second change (see, e.g., Para. [0035], “The rate pulse generator 111 repeatedly generates a rate pulse at a certain pulse repetition frequency (PRF) to form a transmission ultrasonic wave (a transmission beam). The rate pulses pass through the transmission delay unit 112, thereby including different transmission delay times and apply voltages to the pulse transmitter 113”, and Para. [0038], “The transmitter 11 has the function of instantly changing a transmission frequency, a transmission driving voltage, and the like under the instruction of the controller 19 described later, in order to execute a certain scan sequence. Changing a transmission driving voltage, in particular, is achieved by a linear amplifier outgoing circuit that can instantly switch the voltage values”); and
[2] Honjo is then modified by Murakami and Salgo, in which Salgo discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the new transmission voltage in such a manner that the surface temperature of the ultrasound probe acquired by the temperature sensor becomes equal to or less than an allowable value (see, e.g., Abstract, “A system and method for controlling the heat of an ultrasonic transducer is disclosed. In the presently preferred embodiments, the system and method controls the temperature of the transducer by changing operating system parameters based on feedback from temperature sensing elements placed in the transducer”, and Col. 7, lines 62-67 to Col. 8, lines 1-10, “In FIG. 3, a controller 301, which may take the form of a microprocessor, controls the overall functioning of the ultrasonic device. Controller 301 receives measurement signals from temperature sensor(s) 310. Possible temperature sensors include any known conventional temperature sensor, such as, for example, thermistors, thermocouples, resistance temperature detectors (RTDs), and fiber optic temperature sensors which use thermalchromic liquid crystals. There may be one or more temperature sensor(s) 310, and their appropriate placement within the ultrasonic system will depend on the use and type of system, as would be known to one skilled in the art. In the preferred embodiments, the appropriate placement of the temperature sensor(s) 310 is the most suitable location to ascertain the surface temperature of the patient contacting surface 390 of the ultrasonic transducer”, and Col. 9, lines 9-42, “the system will be reset when the current temperature is below the threshold temperature T.sub.th. In other embodiments, the system will be reset when it reaches a reset temperature T.sub.res which is below threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] The mutable system parameters which can be altered in order to decrease the ultrasonic transducer temperature include, but are not limited to: […] Applied Voltage--the system decreases the voltage applied to the transmitting elements, which will result in reduced intensity (and temperature). […] Pulse Repetition Frequency (PRF)--the system decreases the number of beams formed per second. Aperture--the system decreases the size of the aperture. (Imaging) Depth--the system decreases the scanning depth. Sector Width--the system decreases the width of the zone being scanned”, and Col. 10, lines 51-67 and Col. 11, lines 1-2, “the current temperature T.sub.cur is monitored in step 410 and, in step 420, it is determined whether the current temperature T.sub.cur has exceeded a threshold temperature T.sub.th. […] Next, a predetermined mutable system parameter is changed in proportion to the difference .DELTA. in step 633. For example, if the predetermined mutable system parameter was the applied voltage (i.e., the voltage applied to the transmitting ultrasonic transducer elements), the applied voltage would be reduced by an amount proportional to the difference .DELTA.. This type of proportionate response provides a very precise adjustment of the system parameter in order to get the intended effect, i.e., reducing the temperature”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798