DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on February 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 2, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “a valve spring” in line 1. However, it is suggested to amend to -a second valve spring-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites “the first seat” in line 2. However, it is suggested to amend to -the first valve seat-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elastomeric sealing member” in claims 6 and 11 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder “member” that is coupled with functional language “sealing” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “elastomeric sealing member” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “ring-shaped or annular sealing member”” as described in paragraphs [0038-0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosse et al. (WO 2021/151941 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Bosse discloses a fuel injector (Fig. 1) for providing gaseous fuel to a combustion chamber, the fuel injector comprising:
an elongated injector body (1) defining a longitudinally extending fuel passage therein (Fig. 1), the fuel passage extending from a gas inlet end (5) to a gas outlet end (7) of the injector body;
a valve assembly (8/9 and 25) in the fuel passage (Fig. 1), the valve assembly including:
a first valve (8/9) that is selectively opened and closed to control gaseous fuel flow through the fuel passage to the combustion chamber (a valve element 8 is arranged to be longitudinally movable, which has a valve sealing surface 10 on its end face facing the inlet opening 5, which is formed on a sealing element 9 which is part of the valve element 8 as shown in Fig. 1); and
a second valve (25) configured to control combustion gas flow from the combustion chamber into the fuel passage through the gas outlet end (6, when second valve 25 is closed, the fluid communication between combustion chamber and fuel passage is blocked), wherein: the second valve (25) is spaced longitudinally from the first valve (8/9) toward the gas outlet end (7, Fig. 1); the second valve (25) is biased to a closed position (biased by spring 29); and the second valve (25) is moved from the closed position to an open position by the gaseous fuel flow through the opened first valve (“The shut-off valve 25 therefore only opens when the gas pressure between the closing element 26 and the valve element 8 is greater than the gas pressure on the opposite side of the closing element 26 and can thereby overcome the force of the closing spring 29.").
With regard to claim 2, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Bosse further discloses that a nozzle (6) on the gas outlet end (7) of the injector body, wherein the nozzle (6) is configured to divert gaseous fuel flow through the gas outlet end into the combustion chamber (nozzle 6 has an divergent structure as shown in Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 3, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Bosse further discloses that the first valve (8/9) includes: a first valve seat (11) in the fuel passage, the first valve seat (11) supported in the injector body (1); a first plunger (9) biased into contact with the first valve seat (11) to close the first valve (Fig. 2); and an actuator (16) that is actuated to lift the first plunger (9) from the first valve seat (11) to open the first valve (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 4, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Bosse further discloses that the actuator is a solenoid (“electromagnet” 16) coupled to the first plunger (9, Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Bosse further discloses that a first valve spring (17) that biases the first plunger (9) into contact with the first valve seat (11).
With regard to claim 6, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Bosse further discloses that the first plunger (9) includes an end face (14) that contacts the first valve seat (11) with the first valve in the closed position (Fig. 2), the end face (14) including an elastomeric sealing member (12) that is engaged by the first valve seat (11) in the closed position of the first valve (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 8, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Bosse further discloses that the second valve (25) includes: a second valve seat (23) in the fuel passage, wherein the second valve seat (23) is supported by the injector body (1); and a second plunger (26) biased into contact with the second valve seat (23) to close the second valve (25).
With regard to claim 9, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Bosse further discloses that a valve spring (29) that biases the second plunger (26) into contact with the second valve seat (23).
With regard to claim 11, Bosse discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Bosse further discloses that the first plunger of the first valve (8/9) includes an elastomeric sealing member (12) that contacts the first seat (11) of the first valve (8/9) with the first valve in the closed position.
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strohl et al. (DE 10 2013 222 030 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Strohl discloses a fuel injector (Fig. 8) for providing gaseous fuel to a combustion chamber, the fuel injector comprising:
an elongated injector body (1) defining a longitudinally extending fuel passage therein (Fig. 8), the fuel passage extending from a gas inlet end (5) to a gas outlet end (7) of the injector body;
a valve assembly (2/3) in the fuel passage (Fig. 8), the valve assembly including: a first valve (2) that is selectively opened and closed to control gaseous fuel flow through the fuel passage to the combustion chamber (Fig. 9 and 11) ; and
a second valve (3) configured to control combustion gas flow from the combustion chamber into the fuel passage through the gas outlet end (7), wherein: the second valve (3) is spaced longitudinally from the first valve (2) toward the gas outlet end (Fig. 8); the second valve (3) is biased to a closed position (biased by spring 38); and the second valve (3) is moved from the closed position to an open position by the gaseous fuel flow through the opened first valve (“The pilot valve 3 , which by the pressure force of the second return element 38 is kept in the closed state, is now by the in space 7 rising fluid pressure opened” and shown in Fig. 8).
With regard to claim 2, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Strohl further discloses that a nozzle (41) on the gas outlet end (7) of the injector body, wherein the nozzle (41) is configured to divert gaseous fuel flow through the gas outlet end into the combustion chamber (Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 3, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Strohl further discloses that the first valve (2) includes: a first valve seat (51) in the fuel passage, the first valve seat (51) supported in the injector body (1); a first plunger (29/53) biased into contact with the first valve seat (51) to close the first valve (Fig. 9); and an actuator (23) that is actuated to lift the first plunger (29) from the first valve seat (51) to open the first valve (Fig. 11).
With regard to claim 4, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Strohl further discloses that the actuator is a solenoid (“actuator 23 with an anchor 24, a coil 25, an inner pole 26 and a magnetic return element 27”) coupled to the first plunger (29/53).
With regard to claim 5, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Strohl further discloses that a first valve spring (28) that biases the first plunger (29/53) into contact with the first valve seat (51).
With regard to claim 6, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Strohl further discloses that the first plunger (29/53) includes an end face (50) that contacts the first valve seat (51) with the first valve in the closed position (Fig. 9), the end face (50) including an elastomeric sealing member (“a soft elastomer or silicone”) that is engaged by the first valve seat (51) in the closed position of the first valve (Fig. 9).
With regard to claim 8, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Strohl further discloses that the second valve (3) includes: a second valve seat (31) in the fuel passage, wherein the second valve seat (31) is supported by the injector body (1); and a second plunger (39) biased into contact with the second valve seat (31) to close the second valve (3).
With regard to claim 9, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Strohl further discloses that a valve spring (38) that biases the second plunger (39) into contact with the second valve seat (31).
With regard to claim 10, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Strohl further discloses that the second plunger (39) includes a head (32) at one end thereof and a stem (39) extending from the head (Fig. 6), and the head (32) and the second valve seat (31) contacted by the head with the second valve (3) in the closed position are both metal (“between the second sealing seat 31 and the flange 32 an annular metallic seal may be formed”).
With regard to claim 11, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Strohl further discloses that the first plunger of the first valve (2) includes an elastomeric sealing member (50, “a soft elastomer or silicone”) that contacts the first seat (51) of the first valve (2) with the first valve in the closed position (Fig. 9).
With regard to claim 12, Strohl discloses the fuel injector as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Strohl further discloses that the first plunger of the first valve (29/53) is displaced toward the gas inlet end to open the first valve (arrow A direction shown in Fig. 8); and the second plunger of the second valve (39) is displaced toward the gas outlet end to open the second valve (arrow B direction shown in Fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
the combination of the cited references fails to teach elements: “the first valve seat includes: an outer seat member, the outer seat member including an outer inlet end in contact with the sealing member; and an inner seat member located at least partially within the outer seat member, the inner seat member including an inner inlet end in contact with the sealing member, wherein the inner inlet end is spaced inwardly from the outer inlet end to admit gaseous fuel flow from around the first plunger into the space between the outer inlet end and the inner inlet end in response to the first plunger being lifted from the first valve seat to open the first valve” in claim 7.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752