DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a female terminal device” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, and 5 recited: “inhibiting a liquid potting material introduced into”. It is ambiguous that what applicant is trying to claim here. What exactly is inhibiting a liquid potting material introduced into that Applicant wanted to defy here. Does Applicant mean inhibiting a liquid introduced through potting material into the electrical device case perhaps or the potting material is inhibiting/preventing a liquid introduced into the electrical device case; or the liquid potting material inhibited to enter into the electrical device case while pouring the potting material into the electrical device case without intruding into the connector header?
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if it instead recited Examiner’s best understanding of the claim languages. Therefore, further clarification is required.
Claims 2-15 are depending on claim 1 and also are rejected due to dependency.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the electrical conductor" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 13-20 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichio et al. (US 2012/0295460).
As per claim 1: Ichio et al. discloses an electrical connector assembly 10 configured to be disposed within an opening of an electrical device case 40 surrounded by a sealing wall 30 extending from an internal surface of the electrical device case 40, the electrical connector assembly 10 comprising: a connector header 20 configured to be disposed outside of the electrical device case 40 (as shown in fig. 1); a material seal 80 formed of a resilient material (wherein the material seal is made of rubber) defining a conductor passage (not label, see fig. 1, wherein there are 5 apertures within the seal plug) configured to receive and engage electrical conductor (W) and an outer edge configured to engage the sealing wall 30 (as shown in figs. 4-5); thereby inhibiting a liquid introduced into the electrical device case 40 from intruding into the connector header 20; and a seal retainer 90 having an opening (not label, see fig. 1, wherein there are 5 apertures within the holder 90) in which an electrical conductor (W) is disposed and configured to retain the material seal 80 within the sealing wall 30 (as shown in figs. 4-5). However, Ichio et al. does not disclose a material seal 80 is a potting material seal.
On the other hand, Ichio et al. mentioned the seal plug is made of rubber. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the seal is made of potting material seal can only deal with preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector assembly after all but to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector assembly of Ichio et al. by having the seal is in a potting material seal as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Further, having a plotting material seal in the art of connector is well known, common knowledge and commonly used to produces a seal in the region and in addition is a barrier for penetrating atmospheric influences such as moisture along the individual wires, starting from the surroundings of the electric unit, through the plug into the housing of the electric unit (according to reference Arnoldi et al. (US 2020/0313343).
As per claims 2-4, 9-10; 13-15: Ichio et al. discloses the electrical connector assembly, further comprising a terminal position assurance (TPA) device 70 configured to retain a terminal within a connector housing (as shown in figs. 4-5), wherein the TPA device 70 is disposed between the connector housing (not label, see figs. 4-5) and the material seal 80 and wherein the material seal 80 is disposed between the TPA 70 device and the seal retainer 90 (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein the seal retainer 90 defines an alignment pin (not label, see fig. 5) that extends through an alignment passage in the material seal 80 (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein a tip (not label, see fig. 5) of the alignment pin is received within an alignment aperture in the TPA device 70; and wherein the electrical conductor is an insulated wire cable (W), and the terminal is attached to an end of the insulated wire cable (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein proper engagement of the TPA device 70 with the terminal 60 and the connector housing 11 ensures proper positioning of the material seal 80 within the sealing wall 30 of the electrical device case 40 (as shown in fig. 5); the seal retainer 90 includes a ridge (not label, see fig. 1) configured to extend to the sealing wall 30 (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein the resilient material forming the potting material seal is a silicone rubber material (wherein the material seal 80 is rubber seal); and wherein the electrical device case is a battery pack case for an electrical vehicle (wherein invention relates to a vehicle-side connector to be connected to a charging connector at the time of charging).
As per claim 16: Ichio et al. discloses a method of assembling a battery pack case 10, comprising:
attaching a connector header 20 to an external surface of the battery pack case 10 around an opening in the battery pack case 10, wherein the opening surrounded by a sealing wall 30 extending from an internal surface of the battery pack case 10 (as shown in fig. 1);
inserting a terminal (W) of an electrical conductor within a connector housing 11;
inserting a terminal position assurance (TPA) device 70 defining an arm configured to retain the terminal within the connector housing 11 (as shown in figs. 3-5);
inserting the electrical conductor (W) within a conductor passage of a material seal 80 formed of a resilient material and moving the material seal 80 along the electrical conductor until it is in contact with the TPA device 70 (as see in fig. 5);
inserting the electrical conductor (W) within an opening of a seal retainer 90 and moving the seal retainer 90 along the electrical conductor until it is in contact with the material seal 80;
inserting the connector housing 11 into the connector header 20 while simultaneously inserting the material seal 80 into the sealing wall 90. However, Ichio et al. does not disclose a material seal 80 is a potting material seal; and pouring a liquid material into the battery pack case such that the liquid potting material contacts at least a portion of the seal retainer.
On the other hand, Ichio et al. mentioned the seal plug is made of rubber. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the seal is made of potting material seal can only deal with preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector assembly after all but to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Furthermore, although Ichio et al. does not explicitly mention the method of placing the seal plug into the batter pack case. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having to place a seal material into the destination as manufacture desire can be use the method of injection-molded material such as silicone, rubber to further enhance a stability, reliability with high precision, low cost and effective outcome.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector assembly of Ichio et al. by having the seal is in a potting material seal; and pouring a liquid material into the battery pack case such that the liquid potting material contacts at least a portion of the seal retainer as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Further, having a plotting material seal in the art of connector is well known, common knowledge and commonly used to produces a seal in the region and in addition is a barrier for penetrating atmospheric influences such as moisture along the individual wires, starting from the surroundings of the electric unit, through the plug into the housing of the electric unit (according to reference Arnoldi et al. (US 2020/0313343); as well as the method of pouring a liquid potting material into the battery pack to provide a stability, reliability with high precision, low cost and effective outcome.
As per claims 17-20: Ichio et al. discloses the method of assembling a battery pack case 10, further comprising: aligning the TPA device 70, the material seal 80, and the seal retainer 90 by inserting an alignment pin defined by the seal retainer 90 through an alignment passage in the material seal 80 and inserting a tip of the alignment pin within an alignment aperture in the TPA device 70 (as shown in fig. 5); and further comprising: securing the material seal 80 between the TPA device 70 and the seal retainer 90 by inserting an attachment post through an attachment passage in the material seal and engaging attachment post with the seal retainer 90 (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein proper engagement of the TPA device 70 with the terminal (W) and the connector housing 11 ensures proper positioning of the material seal 80 within the sealing wall 30 of the battery pack case (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein the electrical conductor is an insulated wire cable (see fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13-20 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR-102571704) (referred as KR-1704).
As per claim 1: (KR-1704) discloses an electrical connector assembly 100 configured to be disposed within an opening of an electrical device case 111 surrounded by a sealing wall extending from an internal surface of the electrical device case (as shown in fig. 1), the electrical connector assembly 100 comprising: a connector header (not label, see fig. 1, wherein the connector header is opposite side of the sealing wall) configured to be disposed outside of the electrical device case; a material seal 130 formed of a resilient material (wherein the sealing member 130 flows, shape deformation and positional movement of the sealing member 130) defining a conductor passage 137 configured to receive and engage an electrical conductor 115 and an outer edge configured to engage the sealing wall (as shown in figs. 2, 5), thereby inhibiting a liquid introduced into the electrical device case 111 from intruding into the connector header (as shown in fig. 5); and a seal retainer 140 having an opening 143 in which the electrical conductor 115 is disposed (see fig. 2) and configured to retain the material seal 130 within the sealing wall (as shown in fig. 2). However, (KR-1704) does not disclose a material seal 130 is a potting material seal.
On the other hand, (KR-1704) mentioned the sealing member flows, the shape deformation and positional movement of the sealing member can be prevented, and the waterproof performance can be improved. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the seal is made of potting material seal can only deal with preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector assembly after all but to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector assembly of (KR-1704) by having the seal is in a potting material seal as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Further, having a plotting material seal in the art of connector is well known, common knowledge and commonly used to produces a seal in the region and in addition is a barrier for penetrating atmospheric influences such as moisture along the individual wires, starting from the surroundings of the electric unit, through the plug into the housing of the electric unit (according to reference Arnoldi et al. (US 2020/0313343).
As per claims 2-5, 9-10, 13-15: (KR-1704) discloses the electrical connector assembly 100, further comprising a terminal position assurance (TPA) device 120 configured to retain a terminal (115) within a connector housing 110, wherein the TPA device 120 is disposed between the connector housing 110 and the material seal 130 and wherein the material seal 130 is disposed between the TPA device 120 and the seal retainer 140 (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein the seal retainer 140 defines an alignment pin (not label, see figs.1, 5, the front surface of the retainer), that extends through an alignment passage (not label, see fig. 5) in the material seal 130; and wherein a tip of the alignment pin is received within an alignment aperture in the TPA device 120 (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein the alignment passage 133 in the material seal 130 is configured to engage the alignment pin (see fig. 5), thereby inhibiting a liquid material introduced into the electrical device case 111 from intruding into the connector housing 110 (as shown in fig. 5); wherein the electrical conductor 115 is an insulated wire cable, and the terminal is attached to an end of the insulated wire cable (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein proper engagement of the TPA device 120 with the terminal and the connector housing 110 ensures proper positioning of the material seal 130 within the sealing wall of the electrical device case 111 (as shown in fig. 2); and wherein the seal retainer 140 includes a ridge (not label, see fig. 5) configured to extend to the sealing wall (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein the electrical device case is a battery pack case for an electrical vehicle (wherein electrical connection between these connectors for charging may make it possible to charge the battery of the electric vehicle)
As per claims 11-12: (KR-1704) discloses the electrical connector assembly 100. However, (KR-1704) does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical conductor is a bus bar; and wherein the electrical conductor is a bus bar and a female terminal device is attached to an end of the bus bar.
On the other hand, (KR-1704) mentioned there are plurality of wire terminals in the electrical connector assembly that connected to other device/hub or to the destination of the manufacture desire. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the electrical conductor is a bus bar instead of wire terminal, and wherein the electrical conductor is a bus bar and a female terminal device is attached to an end of the bus bar can only deal with the manufacture desire choice to the device, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector assembly but to further enhance a stable, durable and secure connection due to busbar can offer high current capacity, better heat cooling, and better mechanical strength especially using in EV charger devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector assembly of (KR-1704) by having the electrical conductor is a bus bar; and wherein the electrical conductor is a bus bar and a female terminal device is attached to an end of the bus bar as taught by the instant invention to enhance a stable, durable and secure connection due to busbar can offer high current capacity, better heat cooling, and better mechanical strength especially using in EV charger devices. Further, having used bus bar instead of wire terminal/conductor is well known, common knowledge, and commonly used in the art of connector in a high current capacity connection areas.
As per claim 16: (KR-1704) discloses a method of assembling a battery pack case 100, comprising:
attaching a connector header (not label, see fig. 5) to an external surface of the battery pack case 100 around an opening in the battery pack case 100, wherein the opening surrounded by a sealing wall (see fig. 1, wherein adjacent to element 112 is located) extending from an internal surface of the battery pack case 100 (as shown in fig. 1);
inserting a terminal 115 of an electrical conductor within a connector housing 110;
inserting a terminal position assurance (TPA) device 120 defining an arm configured to retain the terminal 115 within the connector housing 110 (as shown in fig. 5);
inserting the electrical conductor 115 within a conductor passage of a material seal 130 formed of a resilient material and moving the material seal 130 along the electrical conductor 115 until it is in contact with the TPA device 120 (as see in fig. 5);
inserting the electrical conductor 115 within an opening of a seal retainer 140 and moving the seal retainer 140 along the electrical conductor until it is in contact with the material seal 130;
inserting the connector housing 110 into the connector header while simultaneously inserting the material seal 130 into the sealing wall 140 (as shown in fig. 5). However, (KR-1704) does not disclose a material seal is a potting material seal; and pouring a liquid material into the battery pack case such that the liquid potting material contacts at least a portion of the seal retainer.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the seal is made of potting material seal can only deal with preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the electrical connector assembly after all but to further enhance a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Furthermore, although (KR-1704) does not explicitly mention the method of placing the seal plug into the batter pack case. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having to place a seal material into the destination as manufacture desire can be use the method of injection-molded material such as silicone, rubber to further enhance a stability, reliability with high precision, low cost and effective outcome.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector assembly of (KR-1704) by having the seal is in a potting material seal; and pouring a liquid material into the battery pack case such that the liquid potting material contacts at least a portion of the seal retainer as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, durable to the electrical connector and to protect against harsh environments such as moisture, dust, extreme temperatures, also block out water, humidity, and corrosive chemicals, ensuring devices can safely operate in harsh environments. Further, having a plotting material seal in the art of connector is well known, common knowledge and commonly used to produces a seal in the region and in addition is a barrier for penetrating atmospheric influences such as moisture along the individual wires, starting from the surroundings of the electric unit, through the plug into the housing of the electric unit (according to reference Arnoldi et al. (US 2020/0313343); as well as the method of pouring a liquid potting material into the battery pack to provide a stability, reliability with high precision, low cost and effective outcome.
As per claims 17-20: (KR-1704) discloses a method of assembling a battery pack case 100, further comprising: aligning the TPA device 120, the material seal 130, and the seal retainer 140 by inserting an alignment pin (not label, see figs. 1, 5) defined by the seal retainer 140 through an alignment passage 133 in the material seal 130 and inserting a tip (not label, see fig. 1) of the alignment pin within an alignment aperture in the TPA device 120 (as shown in figs. 1, 5); and
securing the material seal 130 between the TPA device 120 and the seal retainer 140 by inserting an attachment post through an attachment passage 133 in the material seal 130 and engaging attachment post with the seal retainer 140 (as shown in figs. 1, 5); and
wherein proper engagement of the TPA device 120 with the terminal 115 and the connector housing 110 ensures proper positioning of the material seal 80 within the sealing wall of the battery pack case 100; and wherein the electrical conductor 115 is an insulated wire cable.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831