DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 12, and 14 – 22 have been examined. Claims 4 and 13 have been canceled by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 12, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (JP3237516), cited by Applicant. In regard to claim 1, He discloses a vertical-bar connection assembly for a collapsible wagon, the vertical-bar connection assembly having an extended state and a folded state and being adapted to be hinged between adjacent vertical bars of the collapsible wagon, wherein the vertical-bar connection assembly comprises at least one vertical-bar connection member comprising a first connecting bar and a second connecting bar (Fig. 1, front and rear portions of item 32), wherein each of the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar has a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal ends of the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar are hinged with each other (Fig. 1, via item 321), and wherein the distal ends of the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar are respectively adapted to be hinged with the adjacent vertical bars of the collapsible wagon (Fig. 1, item 4), and are rotatable about their respective proximal ends to move away from or close to each other, so as to allow the vertical-bar connection assembly to be in the extended state or in the folded state (Figs. 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 2, He discloses wherein the vertical-bar connection assembly comprises at least two vertical-bar connection members, spaced apart (Fig. 1, right and left instances of item 32).
In regard to claim 3, He discloses wherein in the at least two vertical-bar connection members, the first connecting bars parallel to each other have same or different lengths, and the second connecting bars parallel to each other have same or different lengths (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 5, He discloses wherein in the extended state, the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar of the vertical-bar connection member are in a same straight line (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 6, He discloses wherein the vertical-bar connection assembly has a first stop portion adapted to unidirectionally restrain rotation of the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar when the vertical-bar connection assembly is in the extended state (Fig. 1, item 321).
In regard to claim 7, He discloses wherein the vertical-bar connection assembly further comprises a groove-shaped housing connector having a groove opening forming a groove bottom wall and groove side walls, wherein the groove bottom wall serves as the first stop portion, and wherein the proximal ends of the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar are inserted into the groove-shaped housing connector respectively from the groove opening and are hinged with the groove side walls (Fig. 1, item 321).
In regard to claim 8, He discloses wherein the wagon frame has an expanded state and a collapsed state and comprises a plurality of vertical bars arranged along a circumferential direction of the wagon frame (Fig. 1, item 4), and one or more connection assemblies hinged between the adjacent vertical bars and adapted to be extended or folded to allow the wagon frame to be in the expanded state or in the collapsed state, wherein at least one of the connection assemblies is configured as the vertical-bar connection assembly for the collapsible wagon according to any one of claim 1 (Figs. 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 9, He discloses wherein the wagon frame comprises a plurality of connection assemblies, wherein at least one of the plurality of connection assemblies is configured as a secondary connection assembly comprising at least two secondary connection members intersectionally arranged (Fig. 1, item 1), wherein each of the secondary connection members comprises a third connecting bar and a fourth connecting bar hinged with each other (Fig. 1, item 11), and wherein the third connecting bar and the fourth connecting bar are respectively hinged with the adjacent vertical bars (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 10, He discloses wherein in the secondary connection assembly, the intersectionally arranged secondary connection members have an intersection point and are hinged at the intersection point (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 11, He discloses wherein the wagon frame further comprises a chassis hinged between the plurality of vertical bars and defines a chassis plane in the expanded state (Fig. 1, item 2).
In regard to claim 12, He discloses wherein in the expanded state and in the vertical-bar connection assembly, the first connecting bar and the second connecting bar of the vertical-bar connection member are in a same straight line and are both in the chassis plane (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 14, He discloses wherein the chassis comprises a plurality of bottom support bars, wherein each of the bottom support bars has a convergence end and a divergence end, wherein the convergence ends of the bottom support bars are hinged with each other, and wherein the divergence ends of the bottom support bars are respectively hinged with the plurality of vertical bars and are adapted to rotate about their respective convergence ends to move away from or close to each other (Figs. 1 and 2, unnumbered components of item 2).
In regard to claim 15, He discloses wherein the bottom support bars have equal lengths (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 16, He discloses wherein the chassis has a second stop portion adapted to unidirectionally restrain rotation of the bottom support bars and to allow the plurality of bottom support bars to collectively define the chassis plane when the wagon frame is in the expanded state (Fig. 1, central hub of item 2).
In regard to claim 17, He discloses wherein the chassis further comprises a hinge seat having a plurality of hinge grooves, each of which forms a hinge-groove bottom wall and hinge-groove side walls, wherein the hinge-groove bottom wall serves as the second stop portion, and wherein the convergence ends of the plurality of bottom support bars are respectively inserted into the plurality of hinge grooves and are hinged with the hinge-groove side walls (Fig. 1, central hub of item 2).
In regard to claim 18, He discloses wherein the wagon frame further comprises a handle assembly comprising a handle seat and a handle bar mounted on the handle seat (Fig. 1, item 5).
In regard to claim 19, He discloses wherein the wagon frame further comprises a handle steering assembly comprising a handle steering bar, one end of which is hinged with a vertical bar, and the other end of which is hinged with the handle seat (Fig. 1, unnumbered lower crossbeam between item5 and items 7).
In regard to claim 20, He discloses wherein the handle steering bar is hinged with the vertical bar via a hinge block (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 – 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: He (JP3237516) discloses a collapsible wagon similar to the instant invention; however He, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a collapsible wagon comprising a telescopic bar including a lower tube body fixedly mounted on the handle seat, wherein an upper locking hole and a lower locking hole axially spaced apart are provided on a side wall of the lower tube body, and an upper tube body inserted in the lower tube body, wherein the upper tube body is provided with an elastic member and is connected to a movable button by means of the elastic member, and wherein the elastic member is adapted to bias the movable button towards the side wall of the lower tube body such that the movable button partially extends out of the upper locking hole or the lower locking hole. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vargas et al. (9,580,095) disclose a mobile cart;
Choi (9,896,118) discloses a connecting and stabilizing mechanism for a foldable cart;
Jiang (12,337,887) discloses a foldable trolley with a folding structure;
Banuelos (2003/0025301) discloses a folding wagon assembly.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613