Election/Restrictions
Upon further considerations all pending claims 1-6 and 17-19 are examined together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn WO2011075617 (herein after D1) further in view of US4470965, US9937230 and US11052094.
D1 discloses in claim 1 a composition comprising a selective a-2 adrenergic receptor agonist for use in increasing whiteness of an eye. According to claim 3, said selective a-2 adrenergic receptor agonist is selected from a group comprising inter alia apraclonidine. According to claim 4 of D1, said a-2 adrenergic receptor agonist is present at a concentration from between about 0.001 % to about 0.05% weight by volume.
However, D1 does neither disclose compositions comprising apraclonidine, nor in amounts of greater than 0.05% (w/v) to no more than 0.2% (w/v) or comprising a polymer. The difference is the presence of a polymer and the concentration of apraclonidine of 0.05-0.2% (w/v).
Document D1 provides compositions and methods for achieving cosmetic eye whitening which utilize low concentrations of selective a-2 adrenergic receptor agonists. Document D1 discloses in preferred embodiments compositions with concentrations of the selective a-2 adrenergic receptor agonists from about 0.0001 % to about 0.05%; more preferably, from about 0.001 % to about 0.025%; even more preferably, from about 0.01 % to about 0.025%; and even more preferably, from about 0.01 % to about 0.02% weight by volume of the composition, wherein the selective a-2 adrenergic receptor agonist is selected from the group consisting inter alia of apraclonidine, mivazerol, clonidine or brimonidine (see D1, page 3, first three paragraphs). Further D1 prefers brimonidine over apraclonidine and does not report experimental data for apraclonidine. As taught in Fig 12 of D1, brimonidine with similar biochemical properties is useful for reducing redness in the eye.
The limitations of depend claims are drawn to polymers, viscosity, buffer, citric acid or citrate, tonicity, osmolarity, chloride, benzalkonium and at different values/concentrations. Compositions to ophthalmic formulations with these parameters are well-known in the art.
The following are a sample of many relevant prior art relevant.
US4470965 section under claims teaches
Similarly,
US9937230 section under claims:
Similarly,
US11052094 section under claims:
The active agent apraclonidine in D1 (and in US11052094, topical) and other inactive ingredients such as polymer at various concentrations are known in the art for making ophthalmic compositions.
The issue therefore is the different concentrations of the active and inactive agents.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Again, the invention is a selective combination of the inventions by the prior arts done in a manner obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Patent for the combination of known elements wherein their functions remain the same withdraws “what is already known into field of its monopoly and diminishes resources available to skilled men”. Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.189 USPQ 449, 425 US 273, (1976).
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Nos. 9259425 11833245 11596600 8445526
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625