DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 8/18/26.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference of Hill is silent on teaching the limitation of receiving information representing the location of the device, it is the examiner’s position that the reference of Hill teaches the device transmit information to the verification system mobile device is in proximity to the verification system (abstract, paragraph 09-010,015). The receipt of the information from the mobile device is therefore an indication that the mobile device is at a location that is in proximity to the verification system, the mobile system therefore provide location information.
Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to the limitation of “determining using the location of the device, whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from a physical location" and "in response to determining that the location of the device is decreasing in distance from the physical location.", the reference of Hill teaches the interrogating signal is transmitted periodically and the mobile is detected when it move closer into the interrogation range and teaches monitoring the presence of the mobile device (paragraph 043-044).
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the reference of Dippenaar teaches the location of the device whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from the physical location comprises, determining whether the location of the device has moved from a first location boundary to a second location boundary (col. 3 lines 56-col. 4 line 16, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 13 lines 37-48).
Double Patenting
Claim 21, 29, and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,16, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,935,346. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generally broader than the patented claims.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 16 of US Patent 11,935,346 include the limitations of instant claim 21. Claim 21 is therefore a broader claim of Claim 16 of US Patent 11,935,346.
Regarding claim 29, Claim 20 of US Patent 11,935,346 include the limitations of instant claim 29 .Claim 29 is therefore a broader claim of Claim 20 of US Patent 11,935,346.
Regarding claim 37, Claim 1 of US Patent 11,935,346 include the limitations of instant claim 37. .Claim 37 is therefore a broader claim of Claim 1 of US Patent 11,935,346.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24,29-32, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill US Patent Application Publication 2012/0218078 in view of Gatt US Patent Application Publication 2007/0075246.
Regarding claims 21-24, Hill teaches a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
receiving data representing i) a location of a device ( paragraph 020), ii) an identity of a user (paragraph 013), and iii) materials associated with the user (personal information, driver’s license, paragraph 044);
determining using the location of the device, whether the device is increasing or
decreasing distance from a physical location (interrogating signal is transmitted periodically and the mobile is detected when it move closer into the interrogation range, paragraph 043-044);
in response to determining that the location of the device is decreasing in distance from
the physical location, determining, using ii) the identity of the user and whether one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii); and in response to determining whether the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location (paragraph 045-046). Hill is silent on teaching receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria. Gatt in an analogous art teaches receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria (paragraph 06-09). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes
associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprise:
whether the materials associated with the user are permitted transport through the
physical location (paragraph 06-09,037). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprises: whether the materials associated with the user require additional inspection prior to transport through the physical location (paragraph 031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Hill as disclosed by Gatt because such modification represent an improvement over the system by Hill by increasing the security at the border crossing by detecting and preventing unauthorized materials from crossing a border.
Regarding claims 29-32, Hill teaches one or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
receiving data representing i) a location of a device ( paragraph 020), ii) an identity of a user (paragraph 013), and iii) materials associated with the user (personal information, driver’s license, paragraph 044);
determining using the location of the device, whether the device is increasing or
decreasing distance from a physical location (interrogating signal is transmitted periodically and the mobile is detected when it move closer into the interrogation range, paragraph 043-044);
in response to determining that the location of the device is decreasing in distance from
the physical location, determining, using ii) the identity of the user and whether one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii); and in response to determining whether the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location (paragraph 045-046). Hill teaches the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprise:
whether the identity of the user is permitted transport through the physical location (paragraph 013-014,019,046). Hill is silent on teaching receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria. Gatt in an analogous art teaches receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria (paragraph 06-09). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes
associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprise:
whether the materials associated with the user are permitted transport through the
physical location (paragraph 06-09,037). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprises: whether the materials associated with the user require additional inspection prior to transport through the physical location (paragraph 031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Hill as disclosed by Gatt because such modification represent an improvement over the system by Hill by increasing the security at the border crossing by detecting and preventing unauthorized materials from crossing a border.
Regarding claims 37-40, Hill teaches a computer implemented method comprising:
receiving data representing i) a location of a device ( paragraph 020), ii) an identity of a user (paragraph 013), and iii) materials associated with the user (personal information, driver’s license, paragraph 044);
determining using the location of the device, whether the device is increasing or
decreasing distance from a physical location (interrogating signal is transmitted periodically and the mobile is detected when it move closer into the interrogation range, paragraph 043-044);
in response to determining that the location of the device is decreasing in distance from
the physical location, determining, using ii) the identity of the user and whether one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii); and in response to determining whether the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location (paragraph 045-046). Hill is silent on teaching receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria. Gatt in an analogous art teaches receiving data representing material associated with the user and determining if the material associated with the user satisfy the access criteria (paragraph 06-09). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes
associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprise:
whether the materials associated with the user are permitted transport through the
physical location (paragraph 06-09,037). Gatt teaches the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user comprises: whether the materials associated with the user require additional inspection prior to transport through the physical location (paragraph 031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Hill as disclosed by Gatt because such modification represent an improvement over the system by Hill by increasing the security at the border crossing by detecting and preventing unauthorized materials from crossing a border.
Claim(s) 25-27 and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill US Patent Application Publication 2012/0218078 in view of Gatt US Patent Application Publication 2007/0075246 and further in view of McIntire et al. US Patent Application Publication 20150088775.
Regarding claim 25-27, Hill teaches in response to determining that the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device (paragraph 046) and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting an approval message (paragraph 046). Hill is silent on teaching the one or more actions comprises opening a barrier. McIntire et al. teaches the one or more actions comprises opening a barrier (paragraph 092). McIntire teaches when the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user does not satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting a denial message; and wherein the one or more actions comprises maintaining a barrier closed (paragraph 099). McIntire teaches transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting a stop-for-verification message; and wherein the one or more actions comprises altering a barrier to route traffic to an inspection station (paragraph 099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hill in view of Gatt as disclosed by McIntire et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system Hill in view of Gatt by increasing the security at the border crossing by detecting and preventing unauthorized materials from crossing a border.
Regarding claims 33-35, Hill teaches in response to determining that the one or more conditions attributes associated with ii) the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device (paragraph 046) and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting an approval message (paragraph 046). Hill is silent on teaching the one or more actions comprises opening a barrier. McIntire et al. teaches the one or more actions comprises opening a barrier (paragraph 092). McIntire teaches when the identity of the user and iii) the materials associated with the user does not satisfy the access criteria threshold, causing a) transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting a denial message; and wherein the one or more actions comprises maintaining a barrier closed (paragraph 099). McIntire teaches transmission of a message to the device and b) one or more actions to occur at the physical location: wherein the transmission of the message to the device comprises transmitting a stop-for-verification message; and wherein the one or more actions comprises altering a barrier to route traffic to an inspection station (paragraph 099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hill in view of Gatt as disclosed by McIntire et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system Hill in view of Gatt by increasing the security at the border crossing by detecting and preventing unauthorized materials from crossing a border.
Claim(s) 28 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill US Patent Application Publication 2012/0218078 in view of Gatt US Patent Application Publication 2007/0075246 and further in view of Dippenaar US Patent 9491183.
Regarding claim 28, Hill is silent on teaching determining using i) the location of the device whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from the physical location comprises: determining whether the location of the device has moved from a first location boundary to a second location boundary. Dippenaar in an analogous art teaches the location of the device whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from the physical location comprises: determining whether the location of the device has moved from a first location boundary to a second location boundary (col. 3 lines 56-col. 4 line 16, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 13 lines 37-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Hill in view of Gatt as disclosed by Dippenaar because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Hill in view of Gatt by providing a more efficient and reliable means of determining the geographic boundary relating to the location and position of the traveler.
Regarding claim 36, Hill is silent on teaching determining using i) the location of the device whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from the physical location comprises: determining whether the location of the device has moved from a first location boundary to a second location boundary. Dippenaar in an analogous art teaches the location of the device whether the device is increasing or decreasing distance from the physical location comprises determining whether the location of the device has moved from a first location boundary to a second location boundary (col. 3 lines 56-col. 4 line 16, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 13 lines 37-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Hill in view of Gatt as disclosed by Dippenaar because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Hill in view of Gatt by providing a more efficient and reliable means of determining the geographic boundary relating to the location and position of the traveler.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686