DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received March 13th, 2024. Claims 1-20 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Priority
Application 18/604,962 is a CON of PCT/KR2024/003161 03/12/2024 and claims benefit to Korean Applications 10-2023-0033449 03/14/2023 and 10-2023-0046271 04/07/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 23rd, 2024 and March 14th, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, and 18 recite a first power lower than a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying the value based on the relative distance satisfying the second condition; and set a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying that the value based on the relative distance does not satisfy the second condition. It is unclear whether there are multiple third powers or if Applicant intended the second “a third power” to be “the third power”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the mapping table". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, Claim 5 does mention “a mapping table.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the second range". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the transmission" and “the failure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-6, 14-17, and 19-20 are dependent on Claims 1, 13, and 18, respectively and rejection for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2024/0031939) in view of Katagiri (JP 2001308767).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 18, Park et al. discloses an electronic device (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 0331-0333 [wireless device]) comprising: memory storing instructions (see Figure 21 [Memory 104]); and at least one processor (see Figure 21 [Processor 102]), comprising processing circuitry, wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to , cause the electronic device to: identify a position of the electronic device and at least one satellite from a GPS signal based on identifying a first event (paragraphs 0273, 0305 [power control settings based on the location of the estimated NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) and/or the location of the UE (acquired according to a GNSS or the like); the UE may receive configuration information related to an NTN]).
Park et al. further discloses the NTN may determine the locations of the plurality of NTNs (or the platform related to NTNs) requiring a change in the power control setting based on the satellite orbit information, and may pre-determine and configure the power control setting corresponding to the respective determined locations of the plurality of NTNs (or the platform related to the NTN). In other words, the NTN may previously configure or determine a one-to-one mapping relationship between locations of the plurality of NTNs (or the platforms related to the NTN) and a plurality of power control settings. The mapping relationship may be included in the configuration information and delivered to the UE, or may be previously transmitted to the UE through separate signaling (paragraphs 0315-0316).
Park does not explicitly disclose identify whether a value based on a relative angle between a trajectory axis corresponding to the at least one satellite and the electronic device satisfies a first condition; identify whether a value based on a relative distance between the electronic device and the at least one satellite satisfies a second condition based on identifying that the value based on the relative angle does not satisfy the first condition; set a first power lower than a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying the value based on the relative distance satisfying the second condition; and set a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying that the value based on the relative distance does not satisfy the second condition.
However, Katagiri discloses identify whether a value based on a relative angle between a trajectory axis corresponding to the at least one satellite and the electronic device satisfies a first condition (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0007 [When the elevation angle for viewing the orbiting satellite from the ground station is the lowest elevation angle at which communication is possible, the distance between the ground station and the orbiting satellite is maximum]); identify whether a value based on a relative distance between the electronic device and the at least one satellite satisfies a second condition based on identifying that the value based on the relative angle does not satisfy the first condition (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0021 [second condition is closest distance; first condition is minimum angle is not met]); set a first power lower than a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying the value based on the relative distance satisfying the second condition (paragraphs 0007, 0012 [when the ground station is directly below the orbiting satellite, the distance is minimum; when the ground station is directly below the orbiting satellite, not much transmission power is required; There is a step of controlling the transmission power to be maximum at the maximum and to reduce the transmission power as the distance becomes short]); and set a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying that the value based on the relative distance does not satisfy the second condition (paragraphs 0007, 0012 [There is a step of controlling the transmission power to be maximum at the maximum and to reduce the transmission power as the distance becomes short; when the elevation angle for viewing the orbiting satellite from the ground station is the lowest elevation angle at which communication is possible, the distance between the ground station and the orbiting satellite is maximum]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UE could reduce or increase the transmission power to the satellite based on distance and the elevation angle in order to communicate.
Regarding claims 2, 14, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 13.
However, Park et al. further discloses wherein the third power is a settable maximum power of the electronic device (paragraph 0259 [as the UL power control parameters (e.g., Pcmax, alpha, P0, f, etc.), a plurality of UL power control parameters (or a plurality of power control parameter sets) to be sequentially applied by the UE in consideration of satellite orbit information (e.g., velocity, position, and time) may be preset or defined as a series. In this case, the UE may determine which UL power control parameter (PC parameter) to apply at a specific time point (through GNSS, etc.) and may then perform UL transmission according to the determined UL PC parameter]).
Regarding claims 3, 15, 19, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 13, 18.
However, Park et al. further discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively cause the electronic device to: as at least part of identifying whether the value based on the relative distance between the electronic device and the at least one satellite satisfies the second condition based on identifying that the value based on the relative angle does not satisfy the first condition (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0007 [When the elevation angle for viewing the orbiting satellite from the ground station is the lowest elevation angle at which communication is possible, the distance between the ground station and the orbiting satellite is maximum]), identify whether the value based on the relative distance is equal to or greater than a first distance (paragraph 0307 [the UE may estimate the location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) based on the satellite orbit information, and may determine one power control setting (or first power control setting) corresponding to the location of the estimated NTN among the plurality of power control settings. In addition, when the location of the NTN is changed based on the satellite orbit information, the UE may determine another power control setting (or second power control setting) corresponding to the changed location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) among the plurality of power control settings and may change or update one existing power control setting to the other power control setting. In this case, the UE may determine transmission power of the UL signal based on the changed power control setting]); and wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether the value based on the relative distance is equal to or greater than a second distance based on identifying the value based on the relative distance being less than the first distance (paragraph 0307 [the UE may estimate the location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) based on the satellite orbit information, and may determine one power control setting (or first power control setting) corresponding to the location of the estimated NTN among the plurality of power control settings. In addition, when the location of the NTN is changed based on the satellite orbit information, the UE may determine another power control setting (or second power control setting) corresponding to the changed location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) among the plurality of power control settings and may change or update one existing power control setting to the other power control setting. In this case, the UE may determine transmission power of the UL signal based on the changed power control setting]); and set the first power lower than the third power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying the value based on the relative distance being equal to or greater than the second distance (paragraphs 0261,0302,0307, 0315-0316 [power set based on location of NTN]).
Regarding claims 4, 16, 20, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 3, 13, 18.
However, Park et al. further discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: set a second power lower than the first power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying the value based on the relative distance being less than the second distance (paragraph 0307 [the UE may estimate the location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) based on the satellite orbit information, and may determine one power control setting (or first power control setting) corresponding to the location of the estimated NTN among the plurality of power control settings. In addition, when the location of the NTN is changed based on the satellite orbit information, the UE may determine another power control setting (or second power control setting) corresponding to the changed location of the NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) among the plurality of power control settings and may change or update one existing power control setting to the other power control setting. In this case, the UE may determine transmission power of the UL signal based on the changed power control setting]).
Regarding claims 5, 17, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 13.
However, Park et al. further discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the value based on the relative angle satisfying a first condition, set the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on a mapping table associated with a setting of a transmission power corresponding to a time period (paragraph 0262 [The UE may additionally obtain information on a time or points in time at which each of the plurality of power control settings is applied from the configuration information, and may change or update a corresponding power control setting at each of the times]).
Regarding claim 6, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1.
However, Park et al. further discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: initiate a first timer after setting the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on the mapping table; and set the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on the mapping table until the first timer expires (paragraphs 0262, 0315-0316 [The UE may additionally obtain information on a time or points in time at which each of the plurality of power control settings is applied from the configuration information, and may change or update a corresponding power control setting at each of the times; one-to-one mapping relationships between a plurality of orbit ranges and a plurality of power control settings ]).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. discloses an electronic device (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 0331-0333 [wireless device]) comprising: memory storing instructions (see Figure 21 [Memory 104]); and at least one processor (see Figure 21 [Processor 102]), comprising processing circuitry , wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify a position of the electronic device from a GPS signal based on identifying a first event (paragraphs 0273, 0305 [power control settings based on the location of the estimated NTN (or the platform related to the NTN) and/or the location of the UE (acquired according to a GNSS or the like); the UE may receive configuration information related to an NTN]).
Park et al. does not explicitly disclose identify whether a latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is within a first range; and set a power lower than a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying that the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is not within the first range.
However, Katagiri discloses identify whether a latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is within a first range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0021 [As shown in FIG. 2, the orbiting satellite 1 of the present invention orbits a plurality of orbits at predetermined intervals in orbit, and a plurality of orbiting orbits exist on the earth. And, as shown in FIG. 3, the orbiting satellite 1 has an elevation angle within a range where the elevation angle is not less than the minimum elevation angle θ.; latitude travel of the satellite]); and set a power lower than a third power to a transmission power of a transmission signal corresponding to satellite communication based on identifying that the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is not within the first range (paragraphs 0007, 0012 [when the ground station is directly below the orbiting satellite, the distance is minimum; when the ground station is directly below the orbiting satellite, not much transmission power is required; There is a step of controlling the transmission power to be maximum at the maximum and to reduce the transmission power as the distance becomes short]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UE could reduce or increase the transmission power to the satellite based on distance and the elevation angle in order to communicate.
Regarding claim 8, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7.
However, Katagiri further discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: set the third power to the transmission power based on identifying the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device being within the first range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0007, 0012 [There is a step of controlling the transmission power to be maximum at the maximum and to reduce the transmission power as the distance becomes short; when the elevation angle for viewing the orbiting satellite from the ground station is the lowest elevation angle at which communication is possible, the distance between the ground station and the orbiting satellite is maximum]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UE could reduce or increase the transmission power to the satellite based on distance and the elevation angle in order to communicate.
Regarding claim 9, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7.
However, Katagiri further suggests wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: as at least part of setting the power lower than the third power to the transmission power based on identifying that the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is not within the first range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0007, 0012 [the transmission control section controls the transmission power so as to be proportional to the square of the distance]), identify whether the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is within a second range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0007, 0012 [the transmission control section controls the transmission power so as to be proportional to the square of the distance]); and set a first power lower than the third power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device being within the second range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0007, 0012 [the transmission control section controls the transmission power so as to be proportional to the square of the distance; suggesting a distance that is between maximum and minimum with a corresponding (proportional) transmission power]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UE could reduce or increase the transmission power to the satellite based on distance and the elevation angle in order to communicate.
Regarding claim 11, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7.
However, Katagiri further suggests wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: set a second power lower than the first power to the transmission power based on identifying that the latitude corresponding to the position of the electronic device is not within the second range (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0007, 0012 [There is a step of controlling the transmission power to be maximum at the maximum and to reduce the transmission power as the distance becomes short; when the elevation angle for viewing the orbiting satellite from the ground station is the lowest elevation angle at which communication is possible, the distance between the ground station and the orbiting satellite is maximum]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UE could reduce or increase the transmission power to the satellite based on distance and the elevation angle in order to communicate.
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2024/0031939) in view of Katagiri (JP 2001308767) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Wilhelmsson et al. (US 2024/0147387).
Regarding claim 10, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7, but do not explicitly disclose identifying whether the transmission succeeds after transmitting the transmission signal with the first power; and setting the third power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying a failure of the transmission.
However, Wilhelmsson et al. discloses identifying whether the transmission succeeds after transmitting the transmission signal with the first power (paragraphs 0062, 0101 [failure, increase transmission power by a step]); and setting the third power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying a failure of the transmission (paragraphs 0062, 0101 [failure, increase transmission power by a step]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a higher power transmission could be used when an initial transmission is not received. The motivation is to transmit such that the receiver can receive the signal.
Regarding claim 12, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 7, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether the transmission succeeds after transmitting the transmission signal with the second power; and set the first power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying the failure of the transmission.
However, Wilhelmsson et al. discloses wherein the instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether the transmission succeeds after transmitting the transmission signal with the second power (paragraphs 0003 [the network responds with a confirmation of this successful reception]); and set the first power to the transmission power of the transmission signal corresponding to the satellite communication based on identifying the failure of the transmission (paragraph 0098 [The set of power levels can be directly signaled as a set of levels (e.g., TX_pow1, TX_pow2, TX_pow3, . . . ). In a non-limiting alternative embodiment, the power levels are signaled as a minimum and a maximum transmit (or target receive) power level along with a step size to be used for generating a set of power levels spanning the minimum and maximum values]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a higher power transmission could be used when an initial transmission is not received. The motivation is to transmit such that the receiver can receive the signal.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE whose telephone number is (571)270-3937. The examiner can normally be reached 4pm-11:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465