DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the fil ing date of 3/14/2024 . Claims 1-30 are pending and have been considered below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -2, 6-8, 10, 12-14, 16-17, 21-23, 25, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng ( WO 2024092644 ) . Regarding claim s 1 and 16 : Cheng discloses a n apparatus and method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (abstract; figures) , comprising: one or more memories (figure 2 [memory 210]) ; and one or more processors (fig 2 [processor 205]; para 26-29) , coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration associated with one or more non-anchor cells (para 18, partially reproduced herein with emphasis { Throughout this description, the terms network energy saving (NES) cell and non-anchor cell may be used interchangeably to refer to cells that are serving the non-anchor carriers. More specifically, in the exemplary embodiments, these cells (e.g., NES cells or non-anchor cells ) will not transmit system information blocks (SIBs) on the non-anchor carriers. Thus, in some instances, these cells may also be referred to as SIB-less cells }; para 4-6; para 19 { include configuration information for NES cells being included in system information …} ; figures 4-5; para 35-40 ) ; monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission carrying a short paging message on a non-anchor cell of the one or more non-anchor cells (para 35 { … non-anchor carrier 420 includes a SSB 422, the PDCCH 426 and the PDSCH 428. The non-anchor carrier 430 includes a SSB 432, the PDCCH 436 }; see figures 4-5; para 37 { information elements (IEs) for the NES cells . These IEs may include … pdcch -ConfigSIB1 }; para 52 { the UE actively monitors the PDCCH }; para 61 { UE monitors paging in the NES cell for short message …}) ; and switch to an anchor cell for a paging reception based at least in part on the monitoring ( para 19,40 ,42 ; para 61 { Upon reception of a paging short message , the UE retunes back to the anchor cell to update the SIB or for a PWS message } [retunes back, is claimed switch to]; figs; para 67,88-89; and see throughout the disclosure ) . Regarding claims 10 and 25: Cheng discloses a n apparatus and method for wireless communication at a network node (abstract; figures) , comprising: one or more memories (figure 3 [memory 310]) ; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (fig 3 [processor 305]; para 30-34) , configured to cause the network node to: transmit a configuration associated with one or more non-anchor cells (para 4-6; para 18, { Throughout this description, the terms network energy saving (NES) cell and non-anchor cell may be used interchangeably … these cells (e.g., NES cells or non-anchor cells ) …}; para 19 { include configuration information for NES cells being included in system information that is transmitted …}; figures 4-5; para 35-40) ; and transmit, via a non-anchor cell of the one or more non-anchor cells, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission carrying a short paging message (para 35 { … non-anchor carrier 420 includes a SSB 422, the PDCCH 426 … the PDCCH 436 }; see figures 4-5; para 37 { information elements (IEs) for the NES cells . These IEs may include … pdcch -ConfigSIB1 }; para 61 { UE monitors paging in the NES cell for short message …}) , wherein a switching of a user equipment (UE) to an anchor cell for a paging reception is based at least in part on a monitoring for the PDCCH transmission (para 52 { the UE actively monitors the PDCCH }; para 19,40,42; para 61 { Upon reception of a paging short message , the UE retunes back to the anchor cell to update the SIB or for a PWS message } [retunes back, is claimed switching]; see figs; para 67,88-89; and see throughout the disclosure) ) . Regarding claims 2 and 17: Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the UE is associated with a connected mode (para 17 { UE may exchange data on the non-anchor carrier when the UE is operating in radio resource control (RRC) connected mode }; para 19,43,50-54; and throughout) . Regarding claims 6 and 21: Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the non-anchor cell is configured to monitor the PDCCH transmission carrying the short paging messa ge (para 18 [(NES) cell as non-anchor cell]; para 61 {on the current NES cell . In this alternative, the UE monitors paging in the NES cell for short message }; para 35 [PDCCH]; and throughout) . Regarding claims 7 ,13,22 and 2 8 : Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration associated with a time gap or a restriction for system information or paging reception in a connected mode according to a paging indication in the short paging message [ Note : the optional claim language “ or ” requires only one of the elements, here time gap is considered] (para 37 { configuration information for the NES cells such as … timer information such as ue-TimersAndConstants }; para 56 { NES cell should ensure the UE is not in an OnDuration during this time because there is no possibility of the UER receiving a transmission from the NES cell }; para 58 [ inactivity time r]; and throughout) . Regarding claims 8 ,14,23 and 2 9 : Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the UE is configured to monitor the PDCCH transmission for paging or system information or receive a scheduled paging or system information [ Note : the optional claim language “ or ” requires only one of the elements, here system information is considered] (para 37 { configuration information for the NES cells such as … pdcch -Config SIB 1 }[SIB is system information block]) , and the UE is not scheduled with one or more of a downlink channel, an uplink channel, channel state information, radio link management, radio resource management, or beam management in the non-anchor cell (inherently no scheduling information for UE; see throughout disclosure) . Regarding claims 12 and 27: Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above and the non-anchor cell is associated with a primary cell, the non-anchor cell is associated with a PDCCH search space configuration for the UE to monitor the PDCCH transmission carrying the short paging message, or the non-anchor cell is configured to monitor the PDCCH transmission carrying the short paging message [ Note : the optional claim language “ or ” requires only one of the elements, here the last element is considered] (see para 18 [(NES) cell as non-anchor cell]; para 61 {on the current NES cell . In this alternative, the UE monitors paging in the NES cell for short message }; para 35 [PDCCH]; and throughout) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim (s) 4,5,19,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng ( WO 2024092644 ) i n view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0234387). Regarding claims 4 and 19: Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the non-anchor cell is associated with a primary cell. However, Zhou in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for random access wherein the non-anchor cell is associated with a primary cell (para 168 {different base stations 102, the anchor cell 104 may be referred to as a PCe ll or PCC, and the non-anchor cell 103 may also be referred to as a PCe ll or PCC} ; and see throughout disclosure ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Zhou in Cheng in order to achieve network energy saving in non-anchor cells and load balancing [3-6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results ). Regarding claims 5 and 20: Cheng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that the non-anchor cell is associated with a PDCCH search space configuration for the UE to monitor the PDCCH transmission carrying the short paging message. However, Zhou in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for random access wherein the non-anchor cell is associated with a PDCCH search space configuration for the UE to monitor the PDCCH transmission carrying the short paging message (para 260 {CORESET associated with the RAR search spa ce, namely a CORESET of a PDCCH during a random access procedure } ; and see throughout disclosure ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Zhou in Cheng in order to achieve network energy saving in non-anchor cells and load balancing [3-6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results ). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3,9,11,15,18,24,26,30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alfarhan et al. (US 2025/0212291) discloses a system and method for discontinuous network access. Yi et al. (US 2021 / 0378047 ) discloses UE -assistance to support multiple systems based on frequency band combinations . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT HIRDEPAL SINGH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1688 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:00-5:00 M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Hannah S Wang can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-9018 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HIRDEPAL SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631