DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 12, 19, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 4, 12, 19, and 24, it is not clear how “a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) payload indicates a type of restriction” can be a member of a list of restrictions (this is not itself a restriction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19, 23-24, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715; this is the US application corresponding to D1 (W02023/132783) from the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority).
For Claims 1 and 16, Tang teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see paragraphs 285 and 289), configured to cause the UE to:
receive, via a non-anchor cell in a multi-carrier operation, a synchronization signal block (SSB), wherein the SSB is a cell defining SSB (CD-SSB) or a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) (see paragraphs 101, 127); and
initiate a procedure based at least in part on the SSB (see paragraphs 147-150, 151-154: measuring cell 2).
For Claims 9 and 24, Tang teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see paragraphs 299-300, 302), configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, via a non-anchor cell in a multi-carrier operation, a synchronization signal block (SSB), wherein the SSB is a cell defining SSB (CD-SSB) or a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) (see paragraphs 101, 127); and
perform signaling associated with a procedure based at least in part on the SSB (see paragraphs 147-150, 151-154: measuring cell 2).
For Claims 3, 11, 18, and 26, Tang teaches the apparatus, wherein the UE is configured to receive either CD-SSBs or NCD-SSBs via the non-anchor cell (see Claim 13, paragraphs 101, 127, 135, 142-144).
For Claims 4, 12, 19, and 24, Tang teaches the apparatus, wherein the UE is configured to receive either CD-SSBs or NCD-SSBs via the non-anchor cell with a restriction, wherein the restriction is associated with no system information block type 1 (SIB1) transmission regardless of SSB type (see paragraph 204), no random access channel (RACH) signaling regardless of the SSB type, or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) payload indicates a type of restriction (see paragraph 19: PBCH parameters indicative of restriction).
For Claims 8, 15, 23, and 30, Tang teaches the apparatus, wherein the procedure is associated with one of: an initial access, radio link management, radio resource management, beam failure detection, or quasi co-location (see paragraphs 22, 147-154: RRM measurements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 17, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715; this is the US application corresponding to D1 (W02023/132783) from the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority) as applied to claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 above, and further in view of CN 117676818 A (D2 from the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority).
For Claims 2, 10, 17, and 25, while Tang does indicate that MCD-SSBs and CD-SSBs are alternatively received via the non-anchor cell (see claim 13), Tang as applied above is not explicit as to, but D2 teaches the apparatus, wherein the UE is configured to receive only NCD-SSBs and not CD-SSBs via the non-anchor cell (see p. 14 lines 24-25, p. 9 lines 1-4 as indicated in the Written Opinion).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use only NCD-SSBs as in D2 when implementing the apparatus of Tang. The motivation would be to improve measurement accuracy by supporting an expanded range of signal measurement.
Claim(s) 5, 13, 20, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715; this is the US application corresponding to D1 (W02023/132783) from the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority) as applied to claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 above, and further in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2022/0264477).
For Claims 5, 13, 20, and 28, Tang further teaches the apparatus, wherein the SSB is received based at least in part on a synchronization raster regardless of whether the SSB is the CD-SSB or the NCD-SSB (see paragraphs 23-24: raster).
Tang as applied above is not explicit as to, but Akkarakaran teaches the one or more processors being further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a master information block (MIB) that includes a flag to indicate that associated system information is provided in another cell (see paragraph 110); and
perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure based at least in part on the SSB transmitted using the synchronization raster (see paragraph 110).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide signaling as in Akkarakaran when implementing the apparatus of Tang. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of allowing a low power UE to establish an appropriate connection to the network.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14, 21-22, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715; this is the US application corresponding to D1 (W02023/132783) from the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority) as applied to claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 above, and further in view of Han (EP4432735 A1).
For Claims 6, 14, 21, and 29, Tang as applied above is not explicit as to, but Han teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a master information block (MIB) that includes a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration system information block type 1 (pdcch-ConfigSIB1) field to indicate a global synchronization channel number (GSCN) that has a control resource set 0 (CORESET0) for an associated Type0 PDCCH common search space (CSS) set, wherein system information for the non-anchor cell is identified based at least in part on the GSCN (see paragraphs 4, 5, 195-100: SSBs on sync rasters, include MIB, flag, CORESET0, PDCCH config SIB1, SearchSpace0).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ the MIB as in Han when implementing the apparatus of Tang. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of using known signaling to convey known information and allowing for compatibility with established networks.
For Claims 7, 14, 22, and 29, Tang as applied above is not explicit as to, but Han teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
determine the GSCN of a synchronization signal or physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block having the CORESET0 for the associated Type0 PDCCH CSS set based at least in part on repurposed bits in the pdcch-ConfigSIB1 field (see paragraphs 4-5, 75-76, and 195-100).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ the MIB as in Han when implementing the apparatus of Tang. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of using known signaling to convey known information and allowing for compatibility with established networks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hong et al. (US 2025/0106794) teaches detecting sync rasters for primary and secondary cells. Huang et al. (US 2023/0354158) teaches signaling for NCD-SSBs. Cui et al. (US 2025/0254636) teaches measuring a neighbor cell using NCD-SSB.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 2/20/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466