DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received June 29th, 2026. Claims 1, 9 have been amended. Claims 4-7 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 8-15 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/605,0387 has US Provisional Application 63/452,023 03/14/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed Jun 29th, 2026, have been fully considered, but deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cain (WO 2015001351).
Regarding claim 9, Cain discloses a data communications system for providing two-way transmission of digital data within the 12 GHz band (see Figures 1-3 and page 11, lines 3-16, page 15, lines 25-27[UAV 8; the satellite 6 is connected to the UAV 8 via a second communications link 14. The second communications link 14 is a wireless communications link; the UAV 8 is connected to the ATC station 10 via a third communications link 16. The third communications link 16 is a wireless communications link; The seventh transceiver 52 is an RF transceiver for sending and receiving RF signals in the frequency band 12GHz - 18GHz. In particular, the seventh transceiver 52 is a Ku-band RF transceiver.]), the system comprising one or more radios (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]), each radio being capable of transmitting inbound and outbound digital data over a first frequency range associated with a default frequency over which the digital data is typically transmitted and over a second frequency range within 500 MHz of mid-band spectrum between 12.2-12.7 GHz of the 12 GHz band (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]), wherein each of the one or more radios comprises circuitry and logic (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]) allowing for each of the one or more radios to communicate both on the 5G common bands as well as the 500 MHz contiguous spectrum of the 12 GHz band (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]).
Regarding claim 10, Cain et al. discloses all the subject matter in claim 9 and further discloses wherein each of the one or more radios (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]) comprises: at least a first circuitry configured allow for communication, including transmission of data, using a 5G NR communications protocol and convey radio-frequency signals using component carriers in the Frequency Range 1 (FR1) frequency range and/or the Frequency Range 2 (FR2) frequency range of the 5G NR communications protocol (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]); and at least a second circuitry configured to allow transmission of 5G data over the 500 MHz contiguous spectrum of the 12 GHz band (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]).
Regarding claim 11, Cain et al. discloses all the subject matter in claim 10 and further discloses wherein the first circuitry and second circuitry (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]) are configured to cooperatively provide for upconverting of outbound signals for transmission over the 12 GHz band and downconverting of incoming signals from the 12 GHz band via logic associated therewith (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]).
Regarding claim 12, Cain et al. discloses all the subject matter in claim 10 and further discloses wherein each of the one or more radios (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]) comprises wireless communication circuitry allowing for communication over a IEEE 802.1 lax standard (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain (WO 2015001351) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2016/0315741).
Regarding claims 1, 8, Cain discloses a data communications system for providing two-way transmission of digital data within the 12 GHz band (see Figures 1-3 and page 11, lines 3-16, page 15, lines 25-27[UAV 8; the satellite 6 is connected to the UAV 8 via a second communications link 14. The second communications link 14 is a wireless communications link; the UAV 8 is connected to the ATC station 10 via a third communications link 16. The third communications link 16 is a wireless communications link; The seventh transceiver 52 is an RF transceiver for sending and receiving RF signals in the frequency band 12GHz - 18GHz. In particular, the seventh transceiver 52 is a Ku-band RF transceiver.]), the system comprising one or more radios (page 15, lines 6-27 [the UAV comprises multiple transceivers]), each radio being capable of transmitting inbound and outbound digital data over a first frequency range associated with a default frequency over which the digital data is typically transmitted and over a second frequency range within 500 MHz of mid-band spectrum between 12.2-12.7 GHz of the 12 GHz band (MPEP 2111.04 [Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed]).
Cain does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more radios are configured to communicate and transmit data over a network, wherein the network comprises a point-to-multipoint communication (PTMP) network, and wherein each of the one or more radios comprises a PTMP-enabled radio, and wherein the one or more radios comprises at least a first radio in the form of an access point (AP) radio and a second radio in the form of a consumer-premises equipment (CPE) radio configured to communicate with the AP radio.
However, Tsai et al. discloses wherein the one or more radios are configured to communicate and transmit data over a network (see Figure 1 [radios CPEs to/from AP]), wherein the network comprises a point-to-multipoint communication (PTMP) network (see Figure 1 [point-to-multipoint systems]), and wherein each of the one or more radios comprises a PTMP-enabled radio (see Figure 1 [AP has a PTMP transmitter]), and wherein the one or more radios comprises at least a first radio in the form of an access point (AP) radio (see Figure 1 [AP]) and a second radio in the form of a consumer-premises equipment (CPE) radio configured to communicate with the AP radio (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0049 [CPEs]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the system could be a PTMP system where the signals transmitted could be in the frequency band 12GHz - 18GHz. The motivation for this enable the UAV to communicate with multiple CPEs via a PTMP scheme using 12GHz - 18GHz frequency band.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain (WO 2015001351) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2016/0315741) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0407588).
Regarding claim 2, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the first frequency range is within a 5G frequency range.
However, Kim discloses wherein the first frequency range is within a 5G frequency range (paragraphs 0004, 0021 [UA such as drones; a drone is equipped with a mobile communication device for LTE or 5G communication and an unlicensed band device for Wi-Fi or direct RF signal communication, and uses them to perform communications through communication redundancy, a communication link switching between multiple communication links can be supported]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UAV could have a transceiver associated with 5G communication in order to communicate or relay via a 5G network.
Regarding claim 3, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 2.
However, Kim further discloses wherein the first frequency range is associated with a 5G NR communications protocol (paragraphs 0004, 0021 [UA such as drones; a drone is equipped with a mobile communication device for LTE or 5G communication and an unlicensed band device for Wi-Fi or direct RF signal communication, and uses them to perform communications through communication redundancy, a communication link switching between multiple communication links can be supported]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the UAV could have a transceiver associated with 5G communication in order to communicate or relay via a 5G network.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain (WO 2015001351) in view of Kitazoe et al. (US 2006/0229102).
Regarding claim 13, Cain discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the one or more radios is further configured to be remotely controlled and configured on-the-fly.
However, Kitazoe et al. discloses wherein each of the one or more radios is further configured to be remotely controlled and configured on-the-fly (see Abstract [ne or more of these configurations and their identifiers are sent to a mobile terminal in the network. The mobile terminal stores these configurations and identifiers for future reference. This enables an on-the-fly configuration scheme in which the network controller can reference a particular stored configuration by its identifier to cause the mobile terminal to use that configuration to setup wireless transmitter and/or receiver. The identifiers may have contiguous values so that the network controller can transmit a range (e.g., starting identifier and ending identifier) to the mobile terminal rather than each identifier. When a configuration is modified or removed, the network controller may reassign identifiers to maintain contiguous values.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a transmitter can be configured on the fly by a received configuration. The motivation for this is to allow faster transitions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious:
A method for providing two-way transmission of digital data within the 12 GHz band, the method comprising: receiving a signal associated with digital data over a first frequency range associated with a 5G NR communications protocol; and upconverting the signal to be subsequently transmitted over a second frequency range within a spectrum of the 12 GHz band (Claim 14) or
A method for providing two-way transmission of digital data within the 12 GHz band, the method comprising: receiving a signal associated with digital data over a first frequency range within a spectrum of the 12 GHz band; and downconverting the signal to be subsequently transmitted over a second frequency range associated with a 5G NR communications protocol (Claim 15).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465