DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a tie layer” and “one or more embedded elements” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 is rejected because it recites limitations “the upper is directly attached to the cushioning element via a tie layer”. It is not clear how the upper can be directly attach to the cushioning element but a tie layer in between? In addition, what is the tie layer?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 21-25, 28-34, 36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (2017/0119096) in view of Sokolowski et al. (2006/0048413).
Regarding claim 1, Greene teaches an article of footwear (figs 1-11) comprising: an upper (member 12) including an interior void, the upper comprised of a first material (i.e. plastic, para 0042); a sole (member 16) formed of a second material different from the first material (i.e. EVA, para 0045); and a cushioning element (member 30) formed as a fluid-filled bladder and comprised of a third material different (i.e. TPU, para 0046) from the first material and the second material, the cushioning element including a first surface facing the upper and a second, ground-facing surface, wherein the upper is directly attached to the cushioning element (fig 1, para 0045).
Greene does not explicitly teach a sole disposed within the interior void of the upper.
Sokolowski teaches a sole disposed within an interior void of an upper (fig 2A, members 21 and 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the footwear of Greene by having a sole within the interior void of the upper, in order to prevent damage to the bottom of the upper.
Regarding claims 2-3, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the cushioning element includes one or more openings (Greene, member 46) disposed between a plurality of bulbs (Greene, member 34, para 0051), wherein the one or more openings are areas of the cushioning element devoid of material between respective bulbs of the plurality of bulos (Greene, para 0051 and 0056).
Regarding claim 4, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the cushioning element is coupled to an outsole, the outsole layer forming a ground-engaging surface of the article of footwear (Greene, para 0045).
Regarding claim 5, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the cushioning element is wet cement bonded to the upper (Greene, para 0047 and 0071).
Regarding claim 6, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the cushioning element is thermobonded to the upper (Green, para 0047).
Regarding claim 21, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the second material of the sole is comprised of a polymer foam material (Green, para 0045).
Regarding claim 22, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the cushioning element is comprised of one or more barrier films formed of an elastomeric material (Green, para 0048).
Regarding claim 23, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the sole does not include any features that are permanently attached to the upper (any structure can be destroyed or detached from any structure depend on how the braking force is applied).
Regarding claim 24, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the sole includes a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite the first surface, and wherein one or more extensions protrude from the first surface of the sole (Sokolowski, fig 2A, member 50).
Regarding claim 25, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the second surface of the sole includes one or more textured elements (Sokolowski, para 0029).
Regarding claim 28, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses each of the one or more extensions includes a pocket (Sokolowski, fig 2A where members 50 sit in).
Regarding claim 29, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses each pocket of the one or more extensions engages a respective bulb of the plurality of bulbs of the cushioning element (Sokolowski, fig 2A).
Regarding claim 30, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the upper is formed as a textile skin (Green, para 0042).
Regarding claim 31, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the upper is directly attached to the cushioning element via a tie layer (Green, para 0045).
Regarding claim 32, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the upper includes a strobel, and wherein the strobel has an average thickness that is less than an average thickness of the sole and less than an average thickness of the cushioning element (Green, fig 1 and Sokolowski, fig 2A).
Regarding claim 33, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the sole includes one or more embedded elements (Sokolowski, fig 2A, member 50).
Regarding claim 34, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the outsole layer is comprised of a fourth material (i.e. rubber, Green, para 0045) different from each of the first material (i.e. plastic, Green, para 0042), the second material (i.e. EVA, para 0045), and the third material (i.e. TPU, Green, para 0046).
Regarding claim 36, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the outsole layer includes one or more textured elements disposed on a ground-facing surface of the outsole layer (Sokolowski, para 0029).
Regarding claim 39, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the second surface of the cushioning element forms a ground-engaging surface of the article of footwear (Green, para 0045).
Regarding claim 40, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski discloses the ground-engaging surface of the article of footwear includes one or more traction elements (Sokolowski, para 0029).
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (2017/0119096) and Sokolowski et al. (2006/0048413) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Grove et al (2004/0148803).
Regarding claims 26-27, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski teaches all limitations of the claim and Sokolowski further teaches a sidewall circumscribing the second surface of the sole (fig 2A, member 20).
Grove teaches a sole (fig 4) includes: one or more engagement zones disposed within the first surface of the sole, wherein the one or more engagement zones includes a first engagement zone and a second engagement zone, wherein the first engagement zone includes a first depression (members 24) surrounding a first plateau and a second plateau, and wherein the second engagement zone includes a second depression (members 34, para 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Green by adding the engagement zones and plateau, as taught by Grove, in order to enhance footwear comfort.
Claim(s) 35 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (2017/0119096) and Sokolowski et al. (2006/0048413) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Jensen (2020/0375312).
Regarding claim 35, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski teaches all limitations except the outsole layer is formed of a thermoplastic elastomer.
Jensen teach an outsole forming of thermoplastic elastomer (para 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the outsole of Greene by using Jensen material in order to provide more durable for the outsole.
Regarding claim 38, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski teaches all limitations except the outsole layer includes one or more traction elements.
Jensen teach an outsole forming having one or more traction elements (para 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the outsole of Greene by adding Jensen traction elements in order to provide more suitable ground contacting surface.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (2017/0119096) and Sokolowski et al. (2006/0048413) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of J. Glassman et al. (3,186,013).
Regarding claim 37, the modified footwear Greene-Sokolowski teaches all limitations except the outsole layer material is more durable than all the layers.
Glassman teaches a sole having the outsole making of the most durable material (col 2, lines 65-70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the outsole of Greene by using Glassman outsole material in order to provide more life for the sole.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 21-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/605,042. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claimed essentially the same elements such as an upper, a sole disposed withing the upper, and a cushioning element wherein the cushioning element comprising a fluid-filled bladder. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 and 21-40are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/605,050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claimed essentially the same elements such as an upper, a sole disposed withing the upper, and a cushioning element wherein the cushioning element comprising a fluid-filled bladder. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, date 11-03-2025, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented and they have been address as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732